Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Max Brown Hotel Midtown This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Kreuzstr. 19a, Stadtmitte, 40210 Düsseldorf, Germany

#32 of 197 hotels in Düsseldorf

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2311 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    6.3
    It was fine but we moved to another nice hotel in the old town on the next day.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The location was disappointing. I thought it would be in the old town but it was ~15 min walk.

    The Hotel is quite nice. We liked the record player in the room.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    10
    Cute boutique-type hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not so much didn't like but, personally I like slightly larger rooms so next time, I'm going to book a bigger room which are available at the property. I had the "snug" version and the room was really tiny. But all in all, perfectly alright for a one-night-stay. But the more you know, right?

    Friendly staff, great decor, squicky-clean everywhere! Breakfast was delicious with a good selection on offer. The bed was extremely comfortable. I really liked the insane amount of different fluffy pillows. It's a leisurely 8-minute walk to the Königsallee and 10 minutes from the main train station.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    7.9
    A good one day stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fan in the room did not help that much on that hot evening, as it was turning the other way around and not blowing air down. When changing the turn-direction it became even more unstable (potential metal deathcopter style :P), so changed the direction again to what it was and left it that way and had the window a bit open to allow the hot air to get out that way. For the rest, all else was good with our stay.

    Look and feel of the room and design of the bathroom.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    7.5
    Not suitable for me, but may appeal greatly to others.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's a matter of taste, but I didn't like the decor of my room, which was very small and cluttered with knickknacks etc decorations that were in keeping with the 'funky' decor of the hotel but made it almost impossible move about in the room or in the bathroom. Less is more - at least in the case of small rooms! But for me the real problem was the failure to connect with wifi anywhere in the hotel and the absence of a hotel computer for guests. I needed to work and I couldn't.

    Bed very comfortable; desk staff polite and helpful, especially when trying to resolve the wifi problems - but unable to fix them for me; breakfast good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    6.3
    This is a 3 star hotel and not a 4-star. The room was small for the price
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was quite small and there was no place to put the luggage, I was travelling with a carryon. It had a open wardrobe if I can call it that at the foot of the bed. The bathroom was quite small, I had to sit side ways on the seat and I'm an average size. The breakfast selection could have been better.

    The staff was friendly.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    8.8
    The staff members were friendly and nice and the room was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only negative point was that it was way too loud! Our room 101 was located at the staircase landing. Because there was a bar on the ground floor, I could hear people laughing and talking soooo loud even in the middle of the night that I could hardly sleep! It was such a pity that I got this room, although I asked them for a "quiet" room. You really should avoid rooms at the staircase landing...

    The staff members were friendly and nice and the room was very clean and modern.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    9.6
    Very enjoyable stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one thing. The metal/enamel cups in the room got so hot with tea/coffee in them they were impossible to pick up until cooled! Minor!!

    Clean, comfortable, excellent location. Great value for money! Also the breakfast was very good!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    9.6
    Amazing hotel, incredible interior, great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast looks great, however quite poor, but great quality and taste. Room is a bit smaller, than expected.

    Amazing hotel, incredible interior, great location. Friendly staff and VERY comfortable bed!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    5.4
    I booked conform room, but room was very small and...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I booked conform room, but room was very small and claustrophobic. Very bad equipped, no mini bar, wardrobe, no AC in room on the roof. Breakfast very poor and bad, coffee terrible. No come back for sure. There is much better choice in this price level.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    9.6
    Perfect for exploring the Altstadt area, we one had one night but wished we could have stayed longer
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some rooms and bathrooms are on the bijou side so grooving to the music was a bit difficult!

    A very cool hotel with some funky retro touches, like a working record player and some LP's in the room! And if you liked them, both the player and LP's were available to buy! Bed was super comfy.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    8.8
    Location was between the city center and the main train...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning; limit choices on breakfast buffet.

    Location was between the city center and the main train station; both only a 10 minute walk away.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    9.6
    Great hotel, great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was difficult to be without air conditioning during the heat wave. The rooms were very hot.

    Very kind and excellent reception at the front desk. Wonderful free breakfast! Very interesting interior design, you'll never be bored just by looking around.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    9.2
    The hotel decor is great, and the location is half way...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    When we were in Dusseldorf there was a heat-wave and there room had no air-con, which we knew booking but it was. This was obviously was nothing to do with the hotel but it was quite warm at night- they had fans in the room which helped a lot!

    The hotel decor is great, and the location is half way between the train station and down town. The staff were really helpful and the breakfast was great! The reception area is really comfortable and feels like somewhere you could easily pass an hour or two reading a book or relaxing.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    4.6
    Not worth the price
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Elevator was out of service Wifi was very poor No air conditioner No clothes box No refrigerator Price comparing with other hotels is so high 83€, I moved to holiday inn with 58€ with a great facilities

    Room is large Location is kindly good Staff was helpful

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    7.9
    Nice design of rooms and rest of hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy other guests, broken elevator due to construction. No airco (35 degrees outside)

    Nice design of rooms and rest of hotel. Good value for money breakfast, nothing fancy but fine. Room is very small, but good layout and fun features. Good location with parking closeby

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    10
    Gorgeous. Lovely being in the Japenese community
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was unusually very warm in Düsseldorf, fan in the room felt a little weak. Great having large windows, out of hotels control weather having no breeze.

    Beautiful venue, Brilliant atmosphere

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    8.3
    very kind staff, great breakfast, pretty room &...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    ok, the heatwave we had/have, is not common for Europe, but no airco or not even a fan, and a weird window system so you can't open all 4 windows at same time, make it very hot in the room when the outside temperature exceeds 30°...Luckily for us, at night it cooled down outside!

    very kind staff, great breakfast, pretty room & comfortable bed!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    9.2
    Location is good all major attractions are within 5-10...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was small for 2 adults. I would consider an option for the hotel to develop an investment in personal A/C units which are small and effective. It's not even funny to sleep with 37 degrees inside a room with or without a fan. It's a fantastic place to be for short stays.

    Location is good all major attractions are within 5-10 minutes walking distance. Stuff is friendly and cooperative, breakfast is nice and the quality is good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    8.3
    Perfect Style, Personel & Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Due to extreme warm weather and lack of airco the rooms were very hot but solved with an additonal ventilator. Breakfast could be better, mainly cold drinks and quality of coffee. Nevertheles we had a great time!

    The strong Style throught the hotel, friendly Personel and great Location within Little Tokyo was perfect! Good job guys!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    7.1
    Tha atmosphere is very nice and the room decorated in a very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room, bed and bathroom were very small. No AC just a fan.

    Tha atmosphere is very nice and the room decorated in a very nice and fun way. We laughed and got very happy when we got into the room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    8.3
    The concept is fun and the breakfast and in room products excellent. Work more on the rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed at the hotel during a very hot season and the rooms were hot and the ventilators were noisy unlike at the restaurant area! The rooms were also a bit more plain than what the advertisement photos let understand. I would think about ways to cool the rooms on such days more and add pictures on walls.

    The breakfast was really great. Nice choice of tasty breads really made me happy! The rooms are fun and the Dead Clean products were a nice addition.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    8.8
    The price is reaonable with a reaonable location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room is a little small. Just a place with a bed.

    The location is close to the Schadow plaza. The staff is nice. There are many Asian supermarket around the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    10
    Excellent stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decor is great - in the lobby, the breakfast room and in the bedrooms. We absolutely loved out stay. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We will definiely try other Max Brown hotels in out next travels!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    7.1
    Nice hotel but the room is too small.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room is too small for long trip travellers because there is almost no room for 2 big luggages. And the design of window is not so reasonable cannot open during night so that will cause the room frowst in even spring night.

    The decoration of the hotel is really nice and modern. It is a clean and tidy place to stay. Attentively in detail. Also the staff is nice and have 24h reception.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    7.9
    OK for business travel but wouldn't return
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No onsite parking, Rooms a little small with no air-conditioning and no coffee in the room. Limited hot breakfast options (No english breakfast or toast options)

    Lovely staff in good location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    8.8
    Clean, amazing location, friendly staff and breakfast included.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was included, but the fruits were really old. There is not much to chose from (no bacon, no pancakes or special breads). Adding: there is a limited amount of space in the break fast room. So be a bit early or you might have to wait a bit.

    The receptionists are super friendly. Room and reception toilet are very clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    10
    Fell in love!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There can be a mini fridge in the room

    The hotel was amazing with its cosy and retro decoration and it is located at a walking distance to the city center, the old town, the shopping streets. There is a parking just next door and costs 18 € for daily parking; The staff were really polite and helpful. The room was again very nicely decorated with retro furnitures with Tea/coffee facilities (there was even a little vinyl player with some records which is so cool :) and super clean, The bed was so comfortable, big and cosy. The breakfast was so delicious, varied and rich. price/quality superb. I would definitely suggest this hotel to everyone who plan a trip to Dusseldorf.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    7.9
    Comfortable room in good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Whilst the room was otherwise comfortable, the lack of air conditioning would put us off staying again in summer. The night we stayed was particularly hot.

    Most comfortable bed!! Quirky decor, record player with LPs and basketball were fun touches.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    8.3
    Highly recommend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Clean the floors below the desk and the sofa better ))

    An unusual design catches your eye and makes you feel pleasant and cared for as if everything was made specifically for you ))

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    6.3
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We knew the room was small, but we hadn't thought it would be so small that when we showered the whole bathroom was wet. The bed was pushed in to corner because otherwise it wouldn't fit. The room was also very hot when we arrived. Breakfast was good but basic.

    Trendy hotel, great location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    8.8
    Cool design hotel centrally located
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was quite cosy. Would have appreciated some more space. Bathroom for example was quite small.

    New and nicely designed hotel. Bar and reception areas are great to chill out. Location is walking distance from all the important sights and sounds of the city. Room design was cool, beds were comfortable. Breakfast was nice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    3.8
    The room was advertised and charged as a double room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was advertised and charged as a double room. It was so small that there was no room to move. No wardrobe; no chairs; no dressing table. It was a single room and they had crammed a double bed in.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    7.1
    not that comfortable as I thought
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    First of all the bathroom is very small and shower extremely narrow with curtain sticking on your back while having the shower. The window between bathroom and bed is totally unnecessary and unpleasant. Average breakfast.

    Friendly receptionists. Hotel is "different" from the typical hotels. There is a sofa in the room which I liked.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    10
    I loved it an cant't wait to go back!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel entrance, the room and the staff at the hotel were extremely helpful in every way, from making dinner reservations, guiding us to be the best restaurants in town. Just everything was exceptional and we will be back!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    9.6
    Splendid !!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Appealing design and decoration, very friendly staff and an affordable stay. The rooms are a bit small but that wasn't an issue for us, however not very suitable for people who are on business trips. Moreover, and that's what made me give them 4 instead of 5 stars, is the breakfast. The breakfast wasn't up to our expectations, and the coffee was really bad.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    9.6
    Great hotel full of personality
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Towels were a bit small, walls were quite thin so showers on adjacent room and voices in the corridor were very audible. Wifi was at times slow.

    Beautiful room with great amenities and details, staff very nice and helpful

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    7.9
    nice design hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Well, it was a bit disappointing having to take a shower being more worried not to wet the floor because of the small size of the bathroom and shower. Also, it was a bit difficult to have a good night sleep. The walls look like carton and it was possible to hear everything outside our room (people speaking in the corridors or simply people flushing upstairs). It compensates with a beautiful room and comfortable bed.

    The hotel, in general, is really nice. Modern decoration with a hip and vintage design. Location is also a plus.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    5.8
    Despite great staff, extremely unlikely to stay here again.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    SMALLEST, MOST TIGHTLY CRAMPED HOTEL ROOM THAT I'VE EVER HAD, IN ALL MY LIFE!!! All for ONLY ca. EUR 375 per night. Hotels were full for city events - but REALLY!!??

    Very nice, accommodating and courteous staff. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    10
    Excellent location. Would recommend this hotel to anyone.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That I couldn't stay another night.

    I'm a flight attendant, so it takes a bit to impress me at a hotel. This was a wonderfully different hotel. I had room 502 and loved it. It was clean, comfortable and unique. The rotary phone and door bell light switches added a nice touch. I played the record turntable every chance I got..yes, it works! And the best surprise, the softest most comfortable bed I've ever had in Europe! The excellent breakfast (don't miss it!) will be the only thing to help pull you out of bed. Great hotel!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    8.3
    Comfortable rooms,good location, friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is too basic, little upgrade of the breakfast would help better justify the price /quality

    Comfortable rooms,good location, friendly staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    10
    I will stay at Max Brown again!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My room was quite small but there are bigger ones.

    Cool hotel very stylish. Urban. Living room concept for lobby, reception and bar. Staff super friendly during check-in and at breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    6.7
    Staff was nice and helpful and the location is pretty good
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Pray you don't have loud neighbours, as it sounds as if they're in the same room -sound isolation is really poor. Also, note that the rooms are really, really small, so if you're travelling with a bigger suitcase, you might have problems finding space to open it.

    Staff was nice and helpful and the location is pretty good

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    9.6
    My favorite hotel in Dusseldorf.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The free wifi requires repeated log-ins. Would be much easier if it could just stay connected.

    I stay here at least twice per month. Love the friendly staff and the location between Old Town and Japan Town. Bed is amazingly comfortable. Rooms have a retro-chic design. Record players + vinyl albums are a unique touch. Free breakfast is a nice change from other German hotels. There's no A/C during summer, but in winter, the heaters are fine. Favorite touch is the travel-themed posters in most rooms and all hallways.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    7.5
    Quirky butt small!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room is very small with very little room for movement or bags. I didn't like that the bathroom was not private and instead there was a large clear window between the bedroom and the bathroom.

    The bed and pillows were very comfortable. The room was quirky in appearance. Lovely hot shower with excellent pressure.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    9.2
    Super helpful staff and overall good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was tiny, but that was balanced out by the beautiful design. Breakfast was tasty but not very substantial.

    Super helpful staff and overall good value for money. Very clean and cozy.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    7.1
    Dusseldorf is an under-estimated citytrip-location. Great vibe and lots of interesting stuff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We slept next to the elevator, and it was quite noisy. Old building with new paint.

    Good location between city centre & train station, stylish interior & fun details

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    9.6
    Excellent hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sound isolation is a bit bad. You can hear everything that happens in the corridor.

    Amazing place, we did have the chance to check in early. Staff is super friendly and hotel is so nicely decorated. One of the best hoteles I have stayed in. Great value for the money.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    5.0
    My money is stollen !!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My money is stollen by the house keepers and I informed the manager about the situation. Then they gave my money back after 3 hours that I cheked out. So, I do not recomemend to stay.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    2.5
    Dirty small smelly place
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small, dirty (I had to clean the toilet as there was dirty from past guess!!!!), cold... had everything for not going back again

    Nothing, breakfast poor, no heater for bread, dirty (very)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    10
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great location. The vibe of the hotel was uber cool with awesome midcentury furniture. I meet my friends in the lobby one evening and enjoyed a drink and conversation in a great setting. I got a tiny room (which I purposely booked) and loved it. All I needed was a great shower and cozy bed to crash into after sightseeing in Dusseldorf. My room was quiet and clean. I would book again without question, and plan on it for me next trip.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    6.7
    The particular room is on first floor and is affected by...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The particular room is on first floor and is affected by noises in lobby. Having room higher up and/or not opening to staircase don’t have this issue (only small portion of rooms with this problem).

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    8.3
    Nice stay in Düsseldorf
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    - Noise-protection is absent. You hear everything from the rooms next to yours and corridor. - Room is a very small. - Due to the size (very small) of the shower cabin the water is all around.

    - Perfect design. - Perfect location. - Comfortable bed. - Good breakfast. - Kind staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    9.2
    Charming, modern, clean and cosy -- like staying at a super stylish friend's place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The walls felt a little thin... or we were just unlucky to have a very clumsy but determined neighbour struggling with the complexities of inserting a plug into a wall socket.

    A cosy boutique feeling with modern retro styling (Crosley record players, brass fittings), great staff, quality breakfast and a welcoming lounge space with a pool table.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    9.2
    Lovely little retro hotel, nice continental breakfast,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Lovely little retro hotel, nice continental breakfast, comfortable clean rooms, loved the record player touch. Great location just a 10min walk to the old town which has lovely markets, shopping, bars and restaurants

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    8.3
    Staff was fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was not prepared for the fact that the rooms were only a bed; no room to even turn around. Also, rooms not consistent...the rest of our group had rooms with ceiling fans, which I sleep with, but ours did not.

    Staff was fantastic. Breakfast was very good. Rooms and general areas very clean.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    10
    Max Brown is a beautiful hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Max Brown is a beautiful hotel. The staff are friendly, helpful and create a home away from home. It's clean and quirky and quite frankly I never wanted to get out of bed they're so comfy!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    10
    Great
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was great. Nice detail. Small but nice and who needs a large hotel room when visiting Christmas Markets anyway? Nice lounge downstairs, just great design throughout the hotel. Friendly staff. Very nice breakfast too.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    8.8
    Enjoyable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The feather pillows/duvet not to my taste and rooms a little noisy from adjacent rooms, walls seem very thin.

    The staff were really friendly and very helpful. Liked the styling of the hotel and lovely bar area. Breakfast simple but very good and buffet always refilled quickly and fresh.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    6.3
    Was ok for one night. Nothing I could rest at...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - It was not 100% clean. There was a not of hair at my showerhead (?) and a bit of strange dust on my bedsheet (below one of the nice pillows), like the sheet was dropped to the floor and not "cleaned" after. --- This would not be a big problem, as the rest was good. But there was a huge issue for me. Due to the old building and very poor doors, you hear everything! Between the door and the floor, there was a 3-5 centimeter gap, which basically made the door useless in terms of sound blocking. Also you can hear someone in the bath (above or below) by every word they say. Also you hear very clearly anything else through the old walls. So if you a person who can relax near a group of people like a baby, go abhead. If you need your own, quite surrounding, I definitve can`t recommend...

    + Very nice design with a great sense for detail. + Comfy bed (Kingsize), though when you are taller then 1,80m, you have to sleep horizontally. + The entrence/bar/front desk is somehow a bit like a hostel, with games, pool-table, etc. Nice staff when I was there.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    9.2
    very pleasant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were given two very small rooms, there was hardly any space to walk let alone our numerous luggages as it was a long trip for us.

    love the funky interior, lots to entertain with pool table and bar area. very functional and snug. Staff were super helpful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    9.6
    Great location, breakfast and ambience. Perfect for the Christmas Markets and staff are friendly!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom was too small for comfort, however the shower was lovely.

    Breakfast was fantastic - simple and great quality. Our twin room was small but had everything we needed and the decoration was quirky and it was clean.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    9.6
    Couldn't have been better - 11 out of 10
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No hot breakfast options other than scrambled or boiled egg

    The hotel is lovely inside and out, really quick to get to from Dusseldorf Airport (approx 11 mins, 26ish euros by taxi) and is a 5 minute walk to the Christmas Markets and 10 minute walk to the main train station. Also, a couple of mintues walk to the main road to the Whats Beef Burger Restuarant which was highlight number 2 of our trip (the hotel being number 1)!! The rooms are aqeduately sized, the breakfast (continental), bar service and entertainment on offer (board games, pool table) are great. Given all of this though, its the staff that really make this place so good. The staff are exceedingly friendly, polite (they very much mind their P's and Q's) and they always make sure you are looked after. When our flight was cancelled and we had to stay in Dusseldorf for 2 more days they accommodated our extra stay and made sure we were entertained, even the hotel manager played a few games of pool with me (and beat me...but hey ho!). They also offered to arrange VIP treatment for us if we stayed at any of their other hotels (Amsterdam and Berlin). I have to say, one of, if not the best hotel I've stayed at - 11 out of 10 from me!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    9.2
    Comfortable. Stylish. Recommended.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room didn't have a heating control. Cooked breakfast was limited to boiled or scrambled eggs (would be nice to have some bacon/sausage etc.).

    Stylish hotel. Good service. Good location.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    8.8
    really enjoyed our stay in Düsseldorf but disappointed with the size of the comfort room and bathroo
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bigger bathroom, bedside lights too bright. A kettle provided but no coffee and only 3 tea bags, also no milk.

    Bed was very comfy, lovely bed linen and spotless. Room and bathroom quite small. Breakfast good with a bigger choice at the weekend. Staff very friendly. Great location very close to the city centre and Christmas markets.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    8.8
    This hotel makes you smile
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The rooms and decorations of this hotel make you smile. The room for one person was small, but why not invite to a game of basket in your bed or listen to music on the travel gramophone? Don't be surprised if their is a pink unicorn in the hall in the morning, and enjoy the simple but perfectly satisfying breakfast with fresh fruit, juices, eggs, bread and youghurt.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    7.9
    A pleasant enough hotel but perhaps not our cup of tea (you can’t even get a good cup of tea)!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom and bathroom were VERY small Nowhere to unpack your case, no wardrobe or drawers for your undies!! Only a couple of hangers

    Staff were very friendly and helpful Very clean

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    9.2
    Cozy hotel with excellent staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room needs a bedside reading lamp. None of the lighting is for evening. It is either all on and bright or off. A full length mirror somewhere in the room would also be good.

    The room we had was an upgrade with plenty of sitting space, a very comfortable bed, and tasteful, cozy decor. The breakfast had a lot of good options and we were offered freshly baked croissants at the table. The staff were so accomodating and really friendly that we felt instantly comfortable there.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    9.6
    Great quirky rooms and ideal location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really quirky hotel in a good way, great beds, rooms and breakfast. Ideally situated 5 minutes from both the main train station and the touristy Aldstadt.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    5.8
    OK overall but too pricey.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Horrible charge for 2 nights , apparently due to Mick Jaggers concert. Got charged double than usual rate. First ever hotel we stayed where they would charge us for a bottle of water ! ( 5.50 euros !! ). Tiniest bathroom we have encountered of all hotels.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    7.5
    The Booking.com room rate was fair.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I stayed in room 111. There was allot of noise from the drainage system and users of the nearby elevator as well as noise from the room above. The design features in the room were amusing and unique. (A small basket ball hoop and a record player and records). However, the bathroom was not well planned. There was no space to place my personal belongings: The space above the sink is a thin glass shelf which has a large space between it and the wall. Items would easily fall away from the shelf. All of the brass shower features made it impossible to move without injury.

    The bed was extra comfy.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    7.5
    Worth for the money, good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room 107 was looking back side of the building. Since the room is 12 sqm and there is no view at all, we couldn't have stayed more than 1 night which was also what we had planned. I am totally against shower curtains. Water leaks outside and also one could step on curtain which might cause an accident either inside or outside of the shower.

    Double bed and pillows were quite comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    8.8
    I have appreciated the attention to details, might book again.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom rather small, so difficult to move around and store toiletries. Cool dinning room, but breakfast selection could have been better, nevertheless it was included in the room rate.

    Very nice hotel and extremely friendly staff. Loved the queen/king size bed.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    8.8
    Lovely, quirky hotel, friendly staff, and comfortable beds!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a bit of an issue with the bathroom drain. The shower room is very small so it's impossible to stop water escaping onto the floor. It is decorated in a sort of wet-room style and there is a drain on the floor but it wasn't working very well and the bathroom floor was soaking for a good hour or so.

    Beautifully styled hotel with quirky design features. The room wasn't big but it was well equipped with everything we needed. The breakfast was lovely, good quality and good selection. The staff were really friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    8.3
    if it hadn't been for WiFi problems, would have been great
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms too small (same complaints from my family and friends) - as I stayed for almost two weeks very troublesome that WiFi ceased to work and could not be reinstated. Disastrous for me as well as for my family and friends.

    Location was great - staff extremely friendly and helpful

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    9.2
    Very good, unique hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was on the small side, but fits the quirkiness of the hotel.

    The style of the hotel is great. Very unique The staff were very friendly Good breakfast

    Stayed in August 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Max Brown Hotel Midtown traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: