Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Tryp by Wyndham Kassel City Centre This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Erzberger Straße 1-5, Mitte, 34117 Kassel, Germany

#49 of 54 hotels in Kassel

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 484 hotel reviews

6.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.3

  • Comfort

    6.3

  • Location

    7.2

  • Facilities

    6.2

  • Staff

    7.9

  • Value for money

    6.4

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 59

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    7.9
    I am just referring to my stay of one night for a very low...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Common areas need to be refreshed Location is close to the train station (kind of red light district): definitely not where to spend one week.

    I am just referring to my stay of one night for a very low rate. The room was very large, with a big bathroom (bathtub) with a lounge and a separate bedroom. On the 3rd floor so we were not unconvenienced by noise. Location is very close to the city centre. Based on the price paid, i was satisfied with my stay

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    6.7
    Charming but could use a renovation
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    While charming the hotel could use a renovation. Dim lights, a slow elevator, etc. Internet not blazingly fast.

    Charming hotel in old, historical style, conveniently located next to the central train station. High ceilings, real wood furniture and real metal keys an interesting change in a world so used with the usual standard, mass-produced offerings from most chains.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    9.6
    Excellent location and value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms may look a bit dated, but they are very clean and spacious. The hotel is very close to the central station and offers excelent value for the money. Also, the staff was very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    5.4
    Noise from the night club, breakfast wasn’t good.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from the night club, breakfast wasn’t good. There’s a night club (techno) right next to the hotel and the music doesn’t stop nearly all Friday and Saturday

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    7.1
    Low room price but dated rooms.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were very dated and need refurbishment, musty smell and depressing atmosphere, couldn’t wait to leave. However reflected in low room price.

    Friendly staff, quirky lobby, close to train station and centre, reasonable breakfast. Good price.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    9.6
    Comfy quiet room, superb stay!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi Slow... didn’t reach up to my room in the second floor

    Breakfast was very good. Lots of choice available. Staff very helpful and friendly. Clean room. Will book again if visiting Kassel next time:)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    7.5
    Pleasant, and well located for my purposes
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was one employee who was a bit touchy and snipped at me during the serving of coffee at breakfast. It was busy and I do understand that a bit os stress could be an ingredient... breakfast could have been included in the room price which is becoming a more common practice.

    The bedding was terrific... the rooms were generous in scale and efficiency. Good breakfast buffet... too bad it was not included in the room price.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    9.6
    Great. We loved it.
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The techno party non-stop outside was very disturbing.

    None of the above. Also, you should let your occupants know that there is a 24 hour techno club that will keep them up all night if they don't have ear plugs.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    8.3
    The hotel staff was friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was rather dated. The carpet in our room had been there a long time and kinda felt it. There was a cabinet where there had once been a small fridge, the cabinet is now empty, but the fridge would have been nice.

    The hotel staff was friendly. Our room was very large.and the bedding was very comfortable, which is most important. There was a room safe, which is always nice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    5.0
    Good location but in dire need of a refresh
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel is in dire need of a refresh, it would seem Tryp by Wyndham took over an existing hotel but hasn't done any updates to its facilities. The lift is rather slow, the corridors are rather dark and low ceilings (think "The Shining"). New and brighter light fixings and new curtains would make a big difference to the ambience. Not enough light in the WC. The room is spatious but the furniture is rather shabby. The TV is on a cupboard that looks as if once had a fridge but not any longer. Breakfast was €12 per person, but didn't take it after reading reviewers.

    Location is convenient, 5 min from main train station. Rooms are spatious but rather basic. Appreciate the staff leaving a free bottle of water upon arrival, but it was warm...and no fridge in the room :(

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    7.5
    Convenient hotel for city centre visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioner but there was a fan in the room.

    Very conveniently located near station and town centre. Large room. Comfortable bed. Complimentary water in room and coffee in lobby. Not the cheapest in Kassel but very convenient.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    8.8
    The staff was welcoming and really helpful on a problem not...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • First Class Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately the elevator got broken, and as I was at the last floor, it was a struggle. They were helpful by allowing us to use the service elevator thought. The lack of blackout curtains were also a problem.

    The staff was welcoming and really helpful on a problem not related to the hotel. They were patient and helped me to manage it.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    7.5
    The hotel was good, clean and good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That there was no air conditioning in the rooms, weather was hot and could not open windows due to the loud noise from the 24hr night club/bear garden two doors up.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    9.0
    Comfortable, friendly, noisy!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As many have noted, sound is an issue. My work includes popular music, but I still found the thud of dance music from the clubs behind the hotel all a bit too much. By 4am, one just wants to sleep! The lack of A/C meant a choice between being too hot or trying to cope with the noise. This is only an issue Thur-Sat, but it is an issue.

    Very friendly staff. Always helpful. Room was a bit dated, but still clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    4.6
    MUCH too expensive, lied about wi-fi
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room rate was completely ludicrous, obviously doubled or even tripled on the occasion of Dokumenta14. Dark, gloomy, stuffy, old-fashioned furniture, no safe, no fridge, hot as an oven, no air-con, noisy (since the windows had to be left open at night, and I had a room facing the street despite asking for a quiet room), TV did not work (screen totally pixellated) (but as far as I could tell there was neither CNN nor BBC World anyway), and wi-fi so slow that most of the time it was practically unusable despite the fact that they pretend to have wi-fi all over and this is the 21st century where internet access is as crucial as running water. And the receptionist virtually laughed at me when I complained. The area seemed a bit dodgy since there were people shouting and screaming in the street all through the night. The things hotels get away with during Dokumenta …….

    NOthing

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    7.9
    Good standard, price worth it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was freezed down when we accessed it. As windows could not be opened the first night was not very pleasant.

    Breakfast was very good, for tourism the location of the hotel is not perfect, but still ok because of the close Metro Station, the roof top has a swimming pool and gives a good view over the neighbourhood.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    7.5
    The common area with bar, pool table and wonderful leather...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No kitchen for cooked meals and the area didn't have much either and looked a little seedy.

    The common area with bar, pool table and wonderful leather lounges was a relaxing area to spend a few hours.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    8.8
    good stay, but too expensive for what it was
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - there weren't many people using the communal area at any point, even though the hotel was supposed to be fully booked, it was a bit lonely - although the buffet was supposed to last from 6pm to 11pm there was basically nothing left at 8:30 and they didn't refill it, that really annoyed me - they couldn't give me points for their bonus point system because I had booked with booking.com instead of directly - breakfast was ok, but I would have expected a bit more for the price, something a little bit special like salmon for example, the rolls were old and dry and the scrambled eggs were bland; then again there was the buffet in the evening - my room had the oldest valve TV in the world :)

    - very close to main train station - spacious room and bathroom, very clean - atmsopheric decor, especially downstairs - nice communal area with pool table, large TV, hot drinks, all night bar - very friendly ladies at bar & check in - cold and hot dinner buffet included, was not very varied but of good quality, which is especially nice since Kassel is so ugly you don't necessarily want to set foot outside again unless you have to - free bottle of water in the room - comfy bed, I slept well - although my room wasn't marked as non-smoking, I couldn't detect any smoke smell there or anywhere else in the hotel

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    7.1
    Location was amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was amazing

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    10
    Excellent
    • Couple
    • First Class Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    n/a

    n/a

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    10
    Perfect if you are staying for one night In Kassel and your just after a place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    The rooms are dated but they are clean, comfortable and spacious.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    5.4
    Noise from night club/s that seemed to go on all night!
    • Group
    • First Class Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from night club/s that seemed to go on all night! Technology that was reminiscent of the 80's!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    8.8
    nice rooms good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    very noisy on a fri sat night

    nice rooms good location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    8.8
    Old world atmosphere.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Old world atmosphere.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    6.3
    Great location but not Comfort
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed & there is a fan but noisy one

    Location was great

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    7.5
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning but there was a fan in the room.

    Spacious room. Comfy bed.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    6.3
    Me and my wife got a smoking room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Me and my wife got a smoking room. We did not book this and are both non smokers. That was the downside of the hotel. Other facilities where nice!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    5.8
    160 euro per night for a room without an aircon, no breakfast and a dusty carpet room is a rip off
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    it's near from train station, spacious room

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    6.3
    Hotel with style in a good central location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Style of the hotel

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    8.3
    Very good for a business trip near to the main train station
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Free small buffet for dinner (only have to pay drinks, but they are cheap)

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    10
    9
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ok, clean and near railstation . Big room, wifi

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    5.8
    One night only
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old tv Old bathroom

    Old hotel in desperate need of renovation

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    8.8
    Nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice hotel. Big and clean rooms. Friendly staff. About 3- 5 min walking to city center. Good value for money.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    7.9
    A Comfortable Hotel to Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No Nice Surprises

    Friendly and Helpful Front Desk Staff. Close to Train Station. Spacious Room

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2016

    7.0
    A spacious room, pleasant staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Room/bathroom show signs of wear; small but noticeable. TV is definitely behind the times

    A spacious room, pleasant staff. Additional, comfortable chair in the room.

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2015

    6.7
    The room was spacious and the entrance hall as well as the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Three female staff members who were stationed at reception when we arrived were standing on the front steps at the entrance of the hotel smoking and chatting when we left the building shortly after check-in - I find this utterly unacceptable. Smoke breaks should be taken out back and not all together. Also, we had to specifically ask about breakfast, what was available and what the cost per person would be - this is standard information that should be communicated on arrival.

    The room was spacious and the entrance hall as well as the breakfast and billiard rooms are well furnished and provide a relaxing environment

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2015

    7.1
    Cheap, central and clean hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very old and dark and definitely not my taste. Also the technological standard is from the 80ies. The worst thing though is there is virtually no sound proofing at all, but a busy street and a night club outside.

    Cheap, central and clean hotel.

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2015

    8.8
    Good basic large room, great breakfast, nice downstairs...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi was very erratic. Old style analogue TV.

    Good basic large room, great breakfast, nice downstairs chillout areas. Very friendly staff that spoke enough english.

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    5.4
    Free wifi, close to town centre,
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Stayed twice - rooms on the road side are very noisy because of the traffic, room at the back was noisy because of the nightclub nearby (loud music and people screaming till 6am). No tea/coffee making facilities. Only one receptionist was friendly and helpful and spoke good English. Breakfast- poor choice and overcharged

    Free wifi, close to town centre,

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2015

    6.3
    Nice, clean room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Breakfast wasn't good value for money, staff not very friendly. Hotel on a very noisy street once the windows are open. No English speaking TV

    Nice, clean room.

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    3.3
    nice staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Extremely outdated. Pillows were nasty. Mattress is horrible. I don't understand how it can be a Wyndham. overall, I regret staying there.

    nice staff.

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2015

    8.3
    The evening buffet dinner was especially welcomed as we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There were no non-smoking rooms, so we had to take a smelly smoking room.

    The evening buffet dinner was especially welcomed as we arrived rather late.

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2015

    8.8
    We had a lovely stay at this authentic German accommodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Beds were good but could have been softer. Also pillows were a little soft.

    We had a lovely stay at this authentic German accommodation. Very close to Central train station and shopping centre. Astrid made us feel very welcome and nothing was a bother. The hotel manager was a great help and lovely lady.

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2015

    9.6
    Room good size & warm whether this was due to hotel...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No tea/coffee facilities in bedrooms but staff only too willing to rectify that

    Room good size & warm whether this was due to hotel being 10% occupied. Shower good, Breakfast good. Staff friendly & helpful

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2016

    3.8
    rooms are very old.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    rooms are very old. No a/c in room.Room very hot. No dark curtains. beds are very short. Price too high for a hotel like this.

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2016

    8.8
    I'm completely satisfied with the hotel and staff as...
    • Business trip
    • Group

    I'm completely satisfied with the hotel and staff as well as price for a service provided!! Nice and pleasant stay!

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2016

    6.7
    Small evening meal fred of charge
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Not an attractive area

    Small evening meal fred of charge

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2015

    8.3
    The location of the hotel is close to the center of Kassel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location of the hotel is close to the center of Kassel. The lounge, with bar open 24 hours, is very nice. Staf is realy nice and helpfull.

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2015

    8.3
    We had a lot of fun playing pool in the beautiful hall.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had a lot of fun playing pool in the beautiful hall. Great parking.

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    7.5
    Good location
    • Group

    Good location

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    7.5
    Near city center
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Dark a bit gloomy

    Near city center

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2015

    9.2
    All Good.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    All Good. Thanks

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2015

    8.3
    City centre location
    • Business trip
    • Group

    Could have a better food bar in the morning

    City centre location

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2015

    7.9
    Very pleasant staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very pleasant staff. Light supper included.

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2015

    4.2
    The pictures does not show reality.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The pictures does not show reality. The hotel is old dark and unpleasant.

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2015

    9.2
    a nice interesting hotel good staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    a nice interesting hotel good staff

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2015

    4.6
    STAFF
    • Business trip
    • Group

    TOO OLD

    STAFF

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2015

    7.9
    Good access to main station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Traffic noise.

    Good access to main station.

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2015

    10
    Very helpful reception staff with excellent English.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very helpful reception staff with excellent English. Few minutes walk from station and trams.

There are also 25 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 59

Browse Tryp by Wyndham Kassel City Centre traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: