Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Romantik Hotel Tuchmacher This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Peterstr. 8, 02826 Görlitz, Germany

#3 of 25 hotels in Görlitz

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 693 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 35

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    10
    Comfortable stay in a quality historic hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I found nothing I could fault.

    Lovely character hotel in a historic building, very close to the main sights of beautiful Görlitz. Large room with bath and shower. Comfortable bed. Elevator. Wonderful breakfast in a special old dining room. Charming staff. A big bowl of apples at reception.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    8.8
    Pleasant hotel with nice staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast room was really busy with customers coming and going through to the buffet. Although the breakfast at euros10 was exceedingly good value we felt there was far too much unnecessary variety. The room was quite hot and there was no airco or fan.

    Location in the town was good and the atmosphere was quite pleasant.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    9.2
    Excellent Hotel in the middle of town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    For the rate I would have liked typical toiletries, not the jug of soap on the wall, and the internet speed was terrible, good connection just VERY slow.

    The staff provided a level of service not often experienced in Germany, staff were friendly and helpful. The car park was nearby, and secure with a reasonable cost. Food in the restaurant was excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    8.8
    Great place to stay breaking your long journey.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed in Junior Suite with no direct lift access to the room - easier stair access. Parking slightly off site with a short walking distance.

    Great breakfast. Very good, but pricey, hotel restaurant. Gorlitz being a surprisingly nice town.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful hotel in a beautiful town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Having stayed at the Hotel Tuchmacher on previous occasions it is good to return. Building perfectly situated, and extremely well maintained. Rooms more than merely spacious, spotlessly clean, with excellent bathrooms. Breakfast is good, although the attractive breakfast room is rather small.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    5.4
    Easy parking , nice garden
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food in restaurant , breakfast, the room and the facilities, the lack of interest of staff for giving information !perhaps too much work for very few staff! They looked tired , upset or not interested!

    Easy parking , nice garden

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    7.5
    Nice Hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    noise insulation of the rooms, you can hear your neighbor snoring

    everything good, car park is not directly at the hotel but safe. restaurant quality is excellent

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    8.8
    Very helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing that I can think of.

    Very helpful staff. Reasonable room size. Good outside parking just a block or so away. Breakfast good. Very attractive, renovated old building.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    9.6
    Perfect stay and a perfect reason to splurge
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing.

    Perfect stay and a perfect reason to splurge in this fairy tale town. One of the most memorable experiences in all of Europe and Best of Germany! Staff is classy and attentive, parking is convenient, breakfast buffet is sumptuous, view from the room window is lovely, bathroom is huge and gorgeous. Just walking through this hotel feels nice with all the vaulted ceilings, artwork and photographs. I am running out of superlatives. Oh, the Spa in the basement equipped with sauna, whirlpool, infrared steam room, espresso machine,- all these make Tuchmaster a Superb hotel.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    10
    Lovely hotel for our family
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The parking was a just a little far off, but it really was not a problem.

    The room was lovely and spacious. The breakfast was excellent. It was super easy to walk around downtown. I would recommend this hotel to friends and would stay there again. It felt very luxurious!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    9.6
    Well Located in Old Town of Gorlitz
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautiful hotel, centrally located in the old town. Had a wonderful dinner in the restaurant, would highly recommend it. Our room was spacious, with high ceilings and view of a stunning church. Enjoyed the sauna and whirl pool in the wellness room, a nice treat after a day of sight seeing.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    10
    Lovely hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We liked everything

    Everything

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    10
    Very relaxing and enjoyable time in Goerlitz!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great location next to Peterskirche with easy access to the rest of the Altstadt. Friendly staff and very comfortable accommodations.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    10
    Lovely old building, nice rooms, good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely old building, nice rooms, good breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    10
    Very helpfull staff, nice placement, good location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very helpfull staff, nice placement, good location!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    10
    Everything about this hotel was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing

    Everything about this hotel was excellent. Great room, great breakfast and great location. So glad we stated here!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    8.8
    Nice decor throughout the historic hotel, excellent location...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice decor throughout the historic hotel, excellent location in the old town, good breakfast

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2016

    9.6
    Everything was absolutely perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was absolutely perfect. In addition, the hotel location in the city center is great

    Stayed in December 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2016

    10
    Wonderful location right in the middle of this hidden jewel...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wonderful location right in the middle of this hidden jewel of a town: all the beautiful architecture, shops and museums within a ten-minute walk - and a five minute stroll across a footbridge into Poland...Hotel can be proud of its friendly and obliging staff and the excellent breakfast buffet.

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    9.6
    We liked best the room, the location & the breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was nothing that we didn't like. If you're rolling your luggage from the train station, make sure your rollers can take the cobblestones.

    We liked best the room, the location & the breakfast. We reserved a regular room and were offered an inexpensive upgrade to a suite. It was luxurious with a good size sitting area and a large bathroom with a separate shower and bath. The internet was easy to use and fast enough. The location is perfect, in the middle of things but in a quiet area by the St. Peter's Church. I would definitely come back here.

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    6.3
    Location is good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Staff is the least helpful of the 7 hotels we have stayed in this past two weeks. Breakfast also was poor in comparison. Our pricier room was large but had one small window less than 12" by 18 inches. Many flies and smelled bad. Their porter recognized the problem at check-in but they were full. Kids room they say was average.

    Location is good. Parking and directions for parking are a challenge. Not a big deal if you planned ahead more than we did.

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    9.2
    Located within walking distance to the Polish side as well...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Be aware that the church bells will ring 24/7 and there's no AC in the room.

    Located within walking distance to the Polish side as well as to town center.

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2015

    7.1
    location in the old part of time
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Front desk staff good until we asked to change rooms and then for two days we were treated with coolness. there was nothing special about the room, no amenities, no clock but breakfast was very good.

    location in the old part of time

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2015

    9.2
    Charming hotel, quiet but central location in the Altstadt.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Charming hotel, quiet but central location in the Altstadt. The restaurant accepted us to eat 15 minutes after it had closed as we went to the theatre.

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2015

    10
    Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Great location! Easy walk to all the sights in Gorlitz. Room was very large! (as was the bathroom.) You probably could find something a little less expensive in Gorlitz, but this place is definitely worth it. Beautiful old building with modern conveniences.

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2015

    10
    We enjoyed staying here and took pleasure in visiting...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There is nothing we didn't like!

    We enjoyed staying here and took pleasure in visiting Görtlizt. A good night’s sleep is the key ingredient to a delightful day. We were in room 605 which is easy access from the elevator. Some rooms are only accessible by steps. The room is large with comfortable beds and a nice bathroom. In this particular bathroom, the fan was wired backwards. When the light switch was off, the fan came on. Also the breakfast is a must!! Nice assortment of items is offered. Görtlizt is a town with a great soul. It hasn’t been exposed too much to the commercialism of tourists yet. We arrived at Romantik Hotel Tuchmacher by car. The building sits at the corner of Peterstraβe and Nikolaistraβe which are very narrow streets. There is no long term parking on the street (one hour maximum) but luckily the hotel offers parking at the corner of Bogstraβe and Nikolaigraben which is about 1 block from the hotel. The lot is nice in size and easy parking. As you walk through the hotel, it is worth looking at the before and after pictures on the walls of the hotel depicting the renovated buildings. If you like porcelain and are looking for something unique, we highly recommend visiting Porzellanhandmalerei Heidi Klinger Neiβstraβe 18. These handmade items are gorgeous! Our unique hand painted porcelain rabbit egg was the perfect size for our carry-on luggage. We would definitely visit and stay at Romantik Hotel Tuchmacher again!

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2016

    8.3
    Beautiful hotel terrific location very quite.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room was a bit small.

    Beautiful hotel terrific location very quite.

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2015

    9.2
    The suite I rented was kind of coolish.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The suite I rented was kind of coolish.

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2015

    9.6
    perfect facilities throughout
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    perfect facilities throughout

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2015

    9.6
    a lovely conversion of some old townhouses in an excellent...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    a lovely conversion of some old townhouses in an excellent location

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2015

    10
    the luxury and the staff, who helped us in many ways.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the luxury and the staff, who helped us in many ways.

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2015

    8.8
    beautiful hotel in historic restored Renaissance house
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    beautiful hotel in historic restored Renaissance house

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2015

    8.8
    The atmosphere of a lovely building in a beautiful location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The dining area could be more inviting and have more flexible opening hours

    The atmosphere of a lovely building in a beautiful location

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    8.8
    Atmospheric and historical public areas
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Room décor is very simple

    Atmospheric and historical public areas

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2015

    7.1
    I saw that in the kitchen they put croissant and bread on...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I saw that in the kitchen they put croissant and bread on top of the heater at the wall, to get warm :/

There are also 16 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 35

Guests also reviewed these properties: