Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Tyros Hotel und Gästehaus am Weidendamm

Weidendamm 35, Nordstadt, 30167 Hannover, Germany

Review score

Based on 475 hotel reviews

5.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    5.5

  • Comfort

    4.9

  • Location

    6.3

  • Facilities

    4.9

  • Staff

    6.8

  • Value for money

    6.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 54

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    7.5
    Room was fine and the shower was fantastic!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel smelt quite strongly of cigarette smoke despite being advertised as non-smoking. Pillow was weird and lumpy, and I had to fold it over three times in order to have some sort of comfort. Hotel was also a little out of the way from the city itself (but that wasn't a problem for me because I don't mind walking).

    Room was fine and the shower was fantastic!! The staff were very friendly and welcoming, and the bed was comfortable. Amenities such as supermarkets and restaurants very close by. Will definitely come back if I visit Hannover again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    6.7
    Best bed in Hannover, worst decor!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor is very old and tied, reminds me of a bed-sit/student house but looks like they are starting to refurbish.

    Bed was very comfortable. Shower was hot and powerful. Staff were friendly and helpful

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    4.6
    I was looking for cheap accomodation for one night, so I...
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room smelt like cigarettes, I found a small glass shard on the carpet and when I pulled the curtain back I found a dirty pair of underwear left (most likely) by a previous guest.

    I was looking for cheap accomodation for one night, so I wasn't expecting much luxury. The fact that the building and furniture was older didn't bother me so much. The matress was comfortable, which is important.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    2.5
    The worst place I ever stayed
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing that I liked it!very poor standards,in the whole building smell of smoke,some of the electrical socket unsafe!!!bathroom not clean properly Wouldn’t stay again and wouldn’t recommend to anyone

    There is nothing that I liked

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful helpful staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very helpful, forthcoming and nice staff, got a bigger room and early check in as I was arriving early. Good rooms, big bathrooms, easy to reach with a little walk from Nordstadt station. Thanks for everything!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    7.9
    Low cost vacation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little bit Noisy at night.

    It's a low budget property located in hanover,20 minutes walk from main station.want you pay,what you get.I won't recommend for people with high expectations.no toiletries,bathroom towels are not in good standard and too close to the road which makes noisy at night.the staff was really nice and helpful.I stayed for 2 nights and even they cleaned my room which doesn't happen in most cheap hotels.I requested for an extra pillow and a glass and when I arrived at night, everything was there.there is a big Rewe storearound the corner if you need to buy something.found a pizza/döner shop also within 4 mins walk from the premises.i'm happy as I didn't spend much for 2 nights.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    4.6
    Very cheap stay, very basic, don't expect much. Bad neighbourhood, so arrive during day time.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location of the hotel is in a bad neighbourhood next to the railroad tracks. The room is old and shabby.

    This hotel offers a very cheap bed and shower in a private room. It is all old and shabby, but clean.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    2.9
    The worst hotel I have ever stayed at.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was quite frankly the worst hotel I've ever stayed in. The room smelt musty and I was concerned about the electrics. It was way overpriced because of the Cebit exhibition. Very, very poor.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2017

    2.5
    worst hotel i have seen in my life !!!
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    this was worst hotel i have seen in my life ! everywhere dirty , no soap shaampoo and shower jel , towel has a holes and too old !! even when we ask they say thy dont give jel and shampoo rooms are too bad

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2016

    2.9
    Unless you like staying in a "dose house with curtains", avoid this place!!!!!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Prison cell of a room, hugely inflated price, (£120 per night for a single bed) broken shower and still broken after a feeble attempt to repair, smell of damp, smell of smoke, worn out appearance, uncaring staff and when asked for a refund due to the above I was greeted with a shrug of the shoulders. Twice the guy behind the desk tried to make out the room had not been paid for, chancing his arm that I didn't know my company had already paid. Broken light fittings and exposed wiring. I would not associate myself with this hotel and would not be using them again. Very disappointed with booking.com to recommend this "dose house with curtains" as I've used them many times in the past.

    Nothing!!!!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    3.3
    Old and poorly maintained
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is old. That is not a bad thing but this hotel is in serious need of investment or closure. Less than half the light bulbs worked. Towels were thin and over used. I could go on.

    We only stayed here for one night.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    3.5
    Run-down and overpriced, twin bed instead of booked queen size bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked a queen size bed but only got a room with a twin bed even after asking about it (Apparently there are just very few rooms with queen size beds, so it's likely it will happen to you as well). The first room we were assigned had a window to the street that did not close in any handle position (the wind could just blow it open), so constant loud noise and cold air from the street. When we went to the reception, luckily a family was just furiously coming from their rooms declining to stay at the property, so we could get their rooms. One room was spacious but reeked of old cigarette smoke, so we got the keys to the third room, which was tiny, but didn't smell too bad and had a working window. If we had any opportunity to stay at another affordable place on short notice, we would have left. Not recommended.

    shower was hot and had good water pressure

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    7.5
    Definitely stay here if you want a decent room at a low price
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That there was no hot tub with a sex mad model but we can't have it all - even on booking.com 😁

    The price is really competitive for Hannover.the rooms were a good size,decent size ensuite facilities,really genuine staff member on reception and the owners son was also a decent warm guy.everything you need was within 5 minutes walk,supermarket,ice cream cafe,pizzas,kebabs,underground station where its a few stops to the main station.the bed was comfortable and the WiFi was really good.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    10
    I was here 5 years ago and I would like to be here while future visiting Hannover university.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nothing. Therefore if I visit Hannover for the next world congress on Leibniz, I would like to stay in this hotel again.

    Everything. Therefore I decided to stay in this hotel again (5 years ago I visited this place for the first time.)

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    6.7
    Satisfactory stopover in Hannover!
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was under the impression that this hotel was close to the main railway station!

    Proximity to Metro Station!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    7.5
    It's very economy and enough just for sleep!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Maybe if they do room renovation, will be better.

    It's very economy and enough just for sleep!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    8.3
    It is a very modest but clean property, very good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It is a very modest but clean property, very good price/quality relationship. The host is amazingly helpful and very kind.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    2.9
    Room very dirty and stinky.
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room very dirty and stinky. Hotel dirty, center reachable only by foot almost 2 km. not 500 meters as indicated in BT

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    7.5
    Good
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Good service

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    7.1
    Nice room and good bathroom
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lighting

    Nice room and good bathroom

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    2.5
    easy to come in
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    cleaning bett bähh

    easy to come in

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    4.2
    arabs with ugly faces und behavior
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    arabs with ugly faces und behavior

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    7.1
    value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    somewhat cold in the room even though the heating was on max

    value for money

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    7.1
    Great for busyness trip. Reception very helpful.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location for Tram. 5 mins strol.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    6.7
    Cost
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cost

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    5.8
    Close to U-Bahn
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Noisy (the window is not adequately isolated)

    Close to U-Bahn

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    4.2
    Three nights-two persons- with the same only one bath towel !
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Three nights-two persons- with the same only one bath towel !!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    7.1
    Fair
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    low cost of the hotel

    Wi-Fi worked poorly

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    6.3
    Spacious and clean room, cordial staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wifi connection was almost absent and the signal very low

    Spacious and clean room, cordial staff

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    5.0
    No restaurant / breakfast, even though offered as extra...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No restaurant / breakfast, even though offered as extra on booking.com site Room smelt of stale tobacco smoke

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    3.3
    Stay here if You need only a bed and will spend few hours
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is said that Kitchen is under construction so they can not serve breakfast. Room was cold and the toilet was in bad condition.

    Nothing

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    6.3
    Ok, wouldn't recommend for business travelers however.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No toiletries

    More room in single bedroom than most german hotels

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    3.3
    Nightmare
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything poor rated

    Bad experience

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2016

    2.5
    Room felt dirty, was falling apart.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Room felt dirty, was falling apart. Junk yard outside cracked window. Check-in was disorganized and un professional. "Free Wifi" doesn't work... too slow. Was a bit scared in the room and area it was in.

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2016

    7.1
    The staff was nice and helpful.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    There is a noisy street in front and the noise came through the ventilation.

    The staff was nice and helpful. The Hotel is very simple but clean. Excellent price-quality-relation.

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2016

    6.3
    the price was convenient.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    old building, it is really in need of refurbishing and renovation. Towel were cleaned but stained, bathroom was really small. Carpet very dirty..

    the price was convenient. nice and polite staff

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2016

    5.0
    Probably the one positive point is the location as it's...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    - Floor tile made of ceramic not wood which is the standard in Europe for insulation - No bathroom amenities - The room was essentially in the basement - The window had no curtain so no privacy - The room door can be opened by any one even without a key. to prevent entry you have to explicitly lock the room using the key, simply closing the door is not enough. - At night there were some strange sounds from outside enough to prevent sleep - Cleanliness is an issue

    Probably the one positive point is the location as it's close to TU Hannover

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2015

    5.0
    Super location, very close to the underground station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The towels were worn out and stained. They all should be changed with new ones. The walls were too dirty, a small renovation wouldn't harm.. There is no reading light in the room, no little extras at all There was not even shower gel! Upon check out the credit card reader didn't work and when paid with cash, the receptionist couldn't give any change back as the management hadn't left him any! He had to borrow it from an other staff member.

    Super location, very close to the underground station. Only 3 stops to city centre. Friendly staff, polite and ready to help. It's Ok for a couple of nights when going for no frills!

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    7.9
    I stayed 4 days in hannover at this hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    There was humidity smell in the room and the street in front on the hotel can be very noisy sometimes, but at night is relatively ok

    I stayed 4 days in hannover at this hotel. The room was large enough and quite clean. I don't know about all the rooms, but mine had a good wifi signal. All in all, it is very good for the money

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2015

    2.5
    Nothing
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I didn't like in general all about this place,because is very poor and not safety i think. This place should not be propose by Booking.com . Olso this place should has to be visited by the local autorities to be controlled deep . No safety place and not clean and the atmosfera is depressing special in the room . I will never propose this place to anyone in the future and hope olso booking take out of his offers.

    Nothing

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2016

    9.6
    The room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Not much space between the bed and TV.

    The room.

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2016

    7.9
    Close to my working place.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Close to my working place.

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2016

    6.7
    Comfortable bed, spacious room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The room smelt like smoke.

    Comfortable bed, spacious room. Strong wifi signal. Good value for the cheap price paid.

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2016

    2.9
    Bad neighborhood, smelly rooms, very old and outdated hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bad neighborhood, smelly rooms, very old and outdated hotel.

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2015

    6.3
    Staff were helpful
    • Business trip
    • Group

    Breakfast was poor. Rooms were not as warm as it should have been.

    Staff were helpful

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2015

    2.5
    Breakfast appalling.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast appalling. Cleanliness bad

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    6.7
    Good Internet Signal
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Location. It's on a big road, but 1.6 km from Train Station on the opposite side of the old town. There's nothing there.

    Good Internet Signal

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2015

    8.3
    Cheap and cheerful everything clean, everything working no...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Cheap and cheerful everything clean, everything working no problems.

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2015

    5.0
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Although the place is clean it has got a soviet style hotel feeling about it. Bad smell in the room.

    Nothing

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2015

    4.6
    Room was bad smell.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Room was bad smell. Old furnishing.

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2015

    7.9
    Great value for money, okay location and easy parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No services within hotel

    Great value for money, okay location and easy parking

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2015

    6.7
    The bathroom was very cold.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The bathroom was very cold. Everything needs to be updated, as the overall impression is, that the hotel is worn.

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2015

    9.2
    Two nights for 64€ - although the hotel was maybe not for...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Two nights for 64€ - although the hotel was maybe not for honey moon - I have to be honest and say: thank you very much.

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2015

    5.8
    when I arrived at 9 am to left my luggage I got a room
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    smell in the room

    when I arrived at 9 am to left my luggage I got a room

There are also 33 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 54

Guests also reviewed these properties: