Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Uhl This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Am Plönlein 6-8, 91541 Rothenburg ob der Tauber, Germany

Review score

Based on 582 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2018

    10
    Beautiful place and a great value!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast buffet selection was small.

    Absolutely everything was amazing! We booked the room a mere 2 hours before getting there, because we accidentally went to Rothenberg. We basically had our own little apartment and our own gated driveway. We were sad that we could only stay one night!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2018

    6.3
    Good location, big room and good shower.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedding seemed not to be clean and we were charged an unannounced parking fee of 8 euros. The staff are also not very friendly.

    Good location, big room and good shower.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    9.2
    Rothenburg is amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lady who scoops ice cream has a very stingy scoop

    Wow great location within city walls, close to main square. Cute and cozy room, good breakfast included

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    8.8
    Great location, very friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had a 4 person apartment on two levels for one night in the middle of the old town (on a 3 minute walk from the actual hotel). Very friendly staff and great service. Breakfast (from 7.30) was nice. Car parked safely behind a gate.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    10
    Hotel in the Iconic Photo
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was warm...but summers are warm without ac. We are used to it. A fan would have been a helpful touch.

    Location was in the heart of the city, the breakfast was simple and good, the view out of our window was beautiful, the staff was friendly. The price was great.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    10
    I have stayed here three times. I will stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Located at southern tip of Rothenburg within the second wall. 10-minute walk to the central square and city hall. Excellent restaurant and bakery.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    10
    Wonderful location, exceptional accomodations,accommodations, food!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved our little apartment that slept a family of 5! Everything was clean, cute, and we felt right at home. We wished we could have stayed longer. The breakfast was wonderful also! Highly recommend everthing!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    8.3
    Great location in Rothenburg
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location in the middle of Rothenburg. The hotel is located inside the wall and is a short walk to the Marktplatz. You can easily walk to many restaurants and other attractions. The hotel also offers garaged parking about a 5 min. walk from the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    9.2
    Fairytale stay in Rothenburg!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Located just inside old city walls and close to the town square and everything else! Robert our host was very helpful. Breakfast was wonderful. Our room had a great view across to the north-western part of town. If we ever get back to Rothenburg we will definitely stay again!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    9.6
    Great location in a neat town, food sub par
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Other than the soup, the food in the restaurant left much to be desired. The soup at dinner was good, but the breakfast was overpriced and limited and the other foods served at dinner meals were not very good. The host told us parking was available but did not disclose that it’s available for a price. I would’ve preferred the upfront honesty as there was plenty of parking outside the walls, just a Short walk away.

    The room was comfortable and gave a nice view of Plonlein. The host was friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    7.9
    Very comfortable stay in great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn’t realise private parking was not adjacent to the hotel so had difficulty knowing where to go.

    Location was great. Breakfast was really good too. Staff friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    8.8
    Great location, we would likely stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The parking was off sight and cost extra. The breakfast was just so so. The rooms felt dated.

    The check in was easy, the location ideal and the staff friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    6.7
    Great location, inside the medieval walls!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the price I expected a bit more comfort and the breakfast could be included. There was a problem with the heating but it was resolved quickly.

    Location is excellent and the parking is just across the street (but you need to pay extra tough).

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    8.8
    One night stop, heading for the Alpes.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Really nice breakfast. The hotel is placed in the old city-centre, so it was nice they have arranged for parking possibilities (in door) just a short walk away.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    10
    The hotel was full, so we get their whole...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was full, so we get their whole "Ferienhouse". So for the price of room we get the whole fully renovated holiday house, 200 m a way from hotel, still in city center, by the wall.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    3.8
    The location of the room was not in the hotel, but far away,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location of the room was not in the hotel, but far away, there was no restaurant in the hotel. The restaurant that belongs to the hotel it is probably the worst in the town. They made reservation for us and when we arrive to the restaurant they did not have it. As everything was full they did not care at all about customers even more if you have children. The worst experience I had.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    8.8
    Great location with friendly staff to a beautiful mediaeval town in Germany!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was very friendly and accomidating. HE (OWNER?) spoke English very well and gave us maps of the area. Hotel was a perfect location in the old square. We had 3 kids with us and the room was of adequate size, restroom was nice. Would recommend!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    8.3
    Amazing place. Will definitely come again
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The cakes were too tempting!

    This hotel is in the classic photo of the town, couldn't be better placed. We had to stay an extra week as we had car trouble. The staff could not be more helpful with sorting our problems and transport arrangements.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    10
    Amazing location and excellent value!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is honestly just being nitpicky but the bathroom is a bit tight when trying to exit the shower without dripping all over. But this is literally me TRYING to find something negative. This place is great!

    The staff was extremely accommodating, due to construction on the autobahn we arrived just after midnight and the guy stayed to wait for us (we called ahead to alert them). Really nice and helpful we really appreciated it! Breakfast is AMAZING, if you're not a breakfast person go anyways, there was so much - coldcuts and cheese, coffee/tea, hardboiled egg, fruit salad, assortment of bread, jams, spreads etc. It also has a perfect central location that is within the walls of the historic town center BUT not so far in that driving becomes a pain. Excellent location and we will try to stay there again next time we come through Rothenburg!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    9.2
    Lovely place in the centre of the old town.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Could hear people in next room talking very clearly. There was a charge for the parking space which we didn't know about.

    Lovely place in the centre of the old town. It is also a cake shop and bakery. Friendly and helpful staff. Car parking space.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    8.8
    Room was quiet, large, clean and lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have appreciated a good quality coffee maker and coffee in room. There seemed to be some dissection among desk staff. We were inquiring about how to see a performance during our time in Salzburg. One person at the desk was giving us verbal information in response to our request. The two persons seated at the desk kept looking st the person who was doing the speaking as if the info she was communicating to us was incorrect. However, neither of those people volunteered any information. As it turned out, some of the information turned out to be incorrect. Luckily we were able to see the performance but needed to do a fair amount of footwork on our own. Also, the coffee provided in the room was instant. A hot pot was provided. For a hotel of this caliber, a quality coffeemaker and coffee would have been appreciated. We had to go out for coffee in the evening to a place within walking distance which was fine. The next morning we planned to visit the same coffee shop but upon arrival, we learned they were closed. Consequently, there was no coffee available except a pricey choice in the hotel's restaurant. Quality coffee available in the room would have been wonderful.

    Room was quiet, large, clean and lovely.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    7.9
    They give us room not in the exact hotel UHL
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We book hotel UHL 30days before arrival but when we arrived they let us stay on another apartment uphill,feel upset but did not complain because maybe UHL is full on that day..

    perfect location if....Hotel UHL Excellent breakfast

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    9.2
    Wonderful experience at hotel and within the town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were 2 adult women with our 19 and 16 year old Granddaughters on a trip through Germany. Our room was a Queen bed and 2 twins, exactly as we expected. The Hotel Uhl was very conveniently located within the town for our short, 2 night stay. Wonderful pubs, restaurants, bakeries and quaint shops were an easy walk. The hotel was above a cafe and bakery where breakfast was included with the room. German food was abundantly available for us to sample. Getting from the tiny train station to the hotel was a bit of an issue as we needed to call he hotel and have them send us a taxi.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    10
    Fsntastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    I loved everything about this hotel. Love this town. Staff very accommodating. Loved the Night Watchman tour. So much history and the guide was so knowlegable and made history fun. We need more of that😀

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    10
    Amazing rooms and fantastic location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately we forgot to ask about wifi and there was no information in the room about it so we were without internet.

    The rooms were incredible! We requested a double room and it was like an apartment! Beautiful and very clean. The staff were very friendly. The breakfast was lovely too! The location was perfect right in the old town. We loved every moment!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    9.2
    Charming small hotel, great for solo or couple traveling w/o tour group
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No elevator. Make clear that there is not lift/elevator. Would have packed so we didn't have to shlep two bags up 3 flights of stairs.

    Small hotel with friendly staff. Breakfast included. Coffee shop/bistro on premises. Parking and location were perfect for us. Our room on 3 floor, in gabled roof, had a daybed that provided extra seating.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    5.8
    Good breakfast but rooms poorly maintained
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we reached at the reception the man in reception took us to the another hotel which was in the interror lane..we had booked this hotel for the location tw/o months prior..after arguments and discussions he gave us the rooms in uhl hotel which is poorly maintained

    The location. We booked hotel because of the location breakfast was good.we had booked 3 rooms

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    7.5
    Affordable accomodation in lovely medieval town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room windows opened to the street which made things really loud. Closing the windows wasn't an option because it was hot with no air conditioning. In addition, Monday was garbage day, and they dumped the dumpsters right outside of the room which made our room smell like a land fill for a while. Breakfast was ok, but if you like eggs you might be out of luck unless you want hard boiled. They also didn't put out the better baked goods that they have at the cafe, it was more rolls and bread as opposed to croissants and danish. The hotel feels more like an upscale hostel so as long as you know what to expect, and bring ear plugs you'll be ok.

    This hotel was in a good location close to the center of town. The wall walk is easily accessible from here. The rooms were clean and large. It was a good value.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    8.8
    The Bathroom in our room was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stairs were fairly steep. A small elevator would have been useful. But these are *older* buildings and those sort of upgrades would be difficult to fit in. Parking was quite a distance away.

    The Bathroom in our room was excellent. So was the view form the top floor over street and City scene. Breakfast was fine ~ great coffee and good choices.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    10
    Incredibly romantic, scenic, comfortable, and amazing place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Fridge was not in the room, neither was a coffee maker. However, you are right above a cafe, so coffee / tea / etc. could be easily retrieved. Fridge was downstairs, held my insulin there during my stay.

    Amazing location, both for pictures and getting around the city. City Center was only a few minutes walk away, and most major locations inside the city were as well. Rooms weren't large, but very comfortable and cozy. Perfect couples spot, and the staff was very friendly as well. Breakfast was included and simple (yogurt, cereal, toast, muffins, etc.). All questions answered, no problems at all. Overall, a scenic, beautiful, comfortable, and amazing hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    7.9
    With my booking (weeks ahead) I requested a very quiet room...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    With my booking (weeks ahead) I requested a very quiet room (based on former reviews) and I told that we were on our honeymoon. Once arrived, we got a room at the streetside, so absolute not quiet, because of the traffic. (The bricks in the old city makes you hear the wheels of the car. And with this hot summer, you would like to sleep with the windows open, because there is no airco.) Also there was nothing done with our honeymoon. Of course we don't expect all kind of fancy free stuff, or free upgrades (although always welcome, haha) but a simple "congratulations" would have been appreciated. We requested another room. The only other room they had, was an apartment a bit further up the street. Although we had to pay an extra 10 euro per night (and the room wasn't cheap in the first place) it really was worth the extra pay! Very new, very quiet, very clean and comfortable! Just two side notes: the bedcovers were made of 100% polyester, and that will make electricity when you sleep in it...... (when I asked why they choose this type, they told me it is because of the hot summer... Which is funny, because they made up the bed with a stuffed blanket......) They other thing, but that's pretty much everywhere in Germany (and Austria,) is that the curtains don't really keep the lights from the street out. Not the worst, unless you really like a dark room. Breakfast was nice. Different types of small breads, cheese, ham, cereals, yogurt, boiled eggs. Typical western Europe breakfast :)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    7.1
    Rational and well-finished
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    I liked the style and quality of the internals and furniture, except for the back lighted poster, over the bed, but it's a matter of personal taste. In summertime you should take care of keeping the windows closed, in order to avoid unpleasant spiders invasions.

    The accommodation (quadruple for family) was in a depandance near the structure, but well organized for space and modernly fully equipped for independent long staying. The double level accommodation is nice expecially for the attic sleeping room

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    10
    Immensly enjoyable hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our only regret is that we only were staying for one night.

    What a GREAT hotel! The hotel actually has units in the hotel building and up the street a-ways. At first, I was disappointed that we were not staying in the hotel, but only until I saw our apartment. It was a very short distance from main street, and was next to the old city wall. We had private parking within a gated courtyard and we could not believe the room. It was immaculate and large and included a loft, microwave, refrigerator, range, dishes and utensils. Robert Uhl, proprietor, was extremely friendly, courteous and helpful. The breakfast included in the rate was a very nice buffet. Uhl also owns a restaurant, Goldenes Lamm, located in the Market Plaza, that we found really enjoyable.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    9.2
    The staff at Pension Uhl is very, very kind and helpful and...
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was very hot outside at the time we were in Rothenburg, aircondition would have been wonderful. On the other hand the room was quiet and the windows could be standing open all night, there wasn't noise (traffic or other) from the street.

    The staff at Pension Uhl is very, very kind and helpful and does make the extra effort for the guests. Our best memory of Pension Uhl would be to think back on all of them.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    9.6
    The hotel was very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very warm in the rooms. AA fan would have made it more comfortable

    The hotel was very helpful. They allowed us to leave our bags after check out so we could see more around Rothenburg.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    7.5
    Slightly disappointed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We should have been advised in advance that we were to stay in an apartment and we could have been better prepared. We asked to buy a few teabags from the hotel and were charged 2.50 euros for 6! The apartment was up a small hill and could have been a difficult climb for some. I feel we missed out on a room with a view which is what I expected from a hotel in that location. The apartment was in a featureless courtyard with no view. There was noise from the apartment upstairs (not belonging to the hotel) until 11-12 o'clock at night. The pillows were not very comfortable. None of this would have mattered had we had the chance to decide for ourselves.

    We were allocated an apartment a few minutes walk from the hotel. It was clean and spacious and well appointed. The bed was comfortable, (except the pillows.) The apartment came with it's own parking space. (But we still got charged!)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    9.6
    Excellent location, beautifully renovated room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location, beautifully renovated room. Breakfast was delicious, especially the coffee and the baked goods. Staff were wonderful, extremely helpful and spoke perfect English. We really enjoyed our stay at Hotel Uhl, and highly recommend it!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    8.3
    Beautiful place to visit and stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I know in Europe there are very few places that use air conditioning, but the first night was miserably hot. A suggestion would be to have fans or small portable air conditioning units. The second night it was quite a bit cooler. We also had a misunderstanding at the end of our stay, our fault, but never the less I think it is worth mentioning. We were in Europe almost 8 weeks and stayed in more than 14 different properties. Hotel Uhl was the only property that was not paid up front. Everything that we received said that we would pay the hotel, but we hadn't paid attention. So we were surprised at the end of the stay that we owed. Not their problem but still worth mentioning. Just confusing because everywhere else had been taken care of before the trip. Just want to make sure that the hotel doesn't think we were trying to skip out on the bill.

    It was great except we were on the third floor and the room was unbearably hot.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    9.2
    A great location in the heart of historic Rothenburg.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is a noisy location, but really this is to be expected! The drive to get to the hotel is an experience as you battle with tourists in the narrow street. Just drive carefully and keep going - it is not pedestrian only!

    The hotel is situated in the heart of Rothenburg so really convenient for exploring the town. Car park was available nearby. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    7.5
    Reasonable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking arrangements unclear Some staff are surly-almost unwelcoming

    Location to historical sites Balcony Breakfast had good variety Accommodation size was large

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    7.5
    central location but small room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    may be just me being sensitive but the lady staff seems not too friendly. The room is very small, so after adding 2 beds there is not much room left.

    perfect location, downstair is the most famous postcard look of the town.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    9.2
    Excellent staff and nice a new apartment, perfect stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was great!

    We received a newly renovated apartment with a loft. It was amazingly clean and very spacious. Pretty good location, only a few minutes to walk to the main square. The staff were so nice and friendly and the breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    10
    Very friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly and helpful staff. They provided a secure parking garage for my motorbike. Good breakfast and excellent bakery/cafe attached to the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    9.2
    Must be one of the best valued hotels in Rothenburg
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    In the peak season, it might be difficult to find a temporally parking spot near the hotel while you're trying checking in. Once you check in the hotel, a hall porter would go together with you to the private garage (3-5 min by walk from the hotel). So, you would not get lost in the busy tourist town.

    The location was great. It took about 5 min to get the center of the town. My room was at the 3rd floor (or the 2nd floor in American style count), and view from the window was fantastic. Breakfast was also great. In the walking distance, you can find many shops, restaurants and bakery.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    7.9
    Terrific location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No elevators, so you might have to carry your bags up a couple of flights of stairs - but management is helpful.

    The property is well positioned within the Old City of Rothenburg. You are far enough from the Rathalle to miss the bell ringing, but close enough to get to any point of interest easily. Cafe is wonderful and their Konditorei is exceptional!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    9.6
    An Excellent Choice
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Be sure to watch your step in going between the bedroom and bathroom. Because of the location in a historic building, there's a half-step change in elevation.

    The location could not have been better. With a room looking out on the surrounding countryside, the view out our window was worth several photographs. The cafe served good, tasty, reasonably priced meals, and the breakfast buffet was just fine. The sites we wanted to see were just a short walk away. We would have gladly stayed an extra day, and would look to stay here again on a return visit.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    9.2
    Comfortable, affordable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast is a meager affair; the hotel is also a bakery, but the good German bread is not included in the breakfast that I paid for with my reservation. It seemed just... cheap. Then again, such is the price of tourism in this most touristy of tourist towns.

    The location is prime. The hotel is comfortable. The facilities are modern. The staff speaks English. It's in the Rothenburg aldstadt. Parking is available and the staff is helpful in directing you there. Location, location, location.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    7.9
    The view was remarkable and the staff was very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is a little far, but not all too bad. Walking up 2 flights of stairs with luggage was exhausting.

    The view was remarkable and the staff was very friendly.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    9.2
    Great experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small bathroom, no kettle or microwave.

    Excellent location in the heart of Rothenburg, comfortable setup with the coffee shop restaurant below. Fairytale beautiful.. Clean and neat. Friendly helpful staff

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    7.9
    This hotel is in an excellent location right in the heart of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is in an excellent location right in the heart of the old town. The service from the staff were very pleasant and they take time to attend to your needs. Most touristic hotspots are located within walking distance.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2017

    9.2
    All and all, a very good experience with accommodating hosts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was a bit small, but this may very well be standard for the price we paid so I wouldn't call it unfair or a compliment.

    All and all, a very good experience with accommodating hosts. This place had a wonderful clean small about it and our breakfasts were good.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2017

    9.2
    A pleasant stay in Rothenburg.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My wife and I were repeat customers of Café Uhl. The proprietor and his wife made us feel welcome and the property is excellent for an overnight stay in Rothenburg. Highly recommend this property.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2016

    5.0
    Poor beds
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hostile looking lady owner who wears short blonde hair (maybe she doesn't like Chinese). I booked a standard double room with bathtub. They gave us a queen size bed with TWO mattresses, one of the mattress was only a third the size of the queensized bed! I have never encountered such kind of a bed, as I sleep at the side of the one third mattress I have to either sleep at edge of the bed or over the gap between two mattresses, it was very uncomfortable. The pillows super thin n flat. Not sure why they provide this sort of bed. We emailed the hotel a week before arrival on room special request but nv got any reply until repeated emails

    Location. A lady staff with dyed purple hair who works at the restaurant was amazingly helpful. she offered to top up our water botte.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    9.2
    Hotel and Bakery
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No lift so travel light.

    This is a bakery/hotel,breakfast included,looked out our window to the valley below,wandered along the wall(mostly all replaced surrounding old town).Restaurants and shops outside our door and oh, did I mention the bakery,delicious!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    9.6
    Hotel Uhl in Rothenburg ob der Tauber - a wise choice!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The ground floor cafe and konditorei were superb. Our room was comfortable with a window on the scenic street. Modern bath and tall shower were a pleasant surprise. The Uhl was cheerful, efficient, and accommodating. A great find at reasonable price.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2016

    10
    Cozy hotel in a great location.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were very comfy. Our room was in the attic which felt very cozy, safe and homey. The room had a great bathroom and all was very clean. We enjoyed walking to the Christmas market and the walls. Great hotel in a beautiful city. We tried to extend our stay but they were all booked up.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2016

    9.6
    This is the place to stay for location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stairs only,reception assisted with luggage.

    Location,right in old town and hotel is bakery too. Delicious display of cakes and chocolates, superb. Breakfast included.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2018

    10
    Great view and clean hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great view and clean hotel. The check in was quick and the breakfast was amazing!!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    10
    Short visit to this lovely town!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was extremely nice and accommodating.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    8.3
    Location is perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room had a funny smell but all in all it was clean

    Location is perfect!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    10
    Great location, clean room and hospitable owner!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, very nice staff

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    10
    Rooms clean, location good, so friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms clean, location good, so friendly

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    10
    Great location, very clean, the gentleman at the desk was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints at all.

    Great location, very clean, the gentleman at the desk was very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    7.9
    Nice stopover in RodT
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom could do with an update

    The staff were lovely and the breakfast awesome. The location was perfect.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    8.8
    A good choice. Exceptional location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great location. Friendly staff. Comfy beds. Clean.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    9.2
    Everything else.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too hot in the room. No aircondition.

    Everything else. Nice and very friendly personal.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely stay. Very comfortable. Loved the picture of Rothenberg above the bed.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    10
    Fantastic stay in Rothenburg o.d.T
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff. We arrived late and the host stayed up for us. Fantastic breakfast. The car was parked in a yard behind a locked gate.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    8.3
    a night at Rothenburg a/d Tauber
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Old-fashioned structure. No lift

    Good position in the center town. Nice view from the window of the room. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    9.2
    No a/c
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No a/c

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    9.6
    The location is perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is perfect. Lovely breakfast in the café. Parking place in the garage a short walk away.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    8.3
    Lovely location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Try and travel light. There is no elevator. Owner did help carrying our bags

    Good location, friendly staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    10
    Great Hotel in good position with friendly staff.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was great

    -Very good positon -Nice clean room -Very friendly staff -Best Hotel i've stayed at since a while.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    8.3
    perfect location to short trips in Rothenburg
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no reception just some desk connect with restaurant

    perfect location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    8.8
    Really good location beside of Plölein.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really good location beside of Plölein. The breakfeast was really good and the room had a beautyfull view from the city.

    Stayed in December 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: