Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Ulmer Stuben

Adolph-Kolping-Platz 11, 89073 Ulm, Germany

#23 of 42 hotels in Ulm

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 718 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    7.1

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    7.2

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 58

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s an average city view & the walk to the river had a few less-desirable type shops not ideal for kids, but we had no problems. It’s a short walk to the river, cost-effective & great staff.

    Hosts were all very pleasant & accommodating. Gave us bottled water upon check-in & check-out with no charge. Appears to be a family run place with everyone taking great pride in their work. Greek style restaurant very tasty. Breakfast was extensive. Our room opened onto a deck with table & chairs for outdoor relaxing in evening. Close walk to Fisherman’s Quarter on the river Danube for eating, shopping & pictures.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A little bit narrow No fridge Snoring of the next room was noisy

    Reasonable, like 'Japanese business hotel' Hotel staffs were kindly Close to train station 5min on foot

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think there should have a air conditioning and what is the most important is - the heating need to be checked before ! Because it's not work when I come!

    The staffs are really nice and kind. The location is very convenient only need 5min walk to the Ulm hbf. However the facilities are old but clean enough. The bed is comfortable compared to the same price hotels.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very difficult to park at this hotel.Offered the hotel garage which had an additional cost but was secure and very close to the hotel.

    pleasant stay in the city centre.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The coffee was awful, but that's not all that important. The rest made up for it.

    Staff were very friendly and accommodating, location was perfect, breakfast was really good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed from ~1980, creaks on every move. Throw the mattress on the floor if you want to sleep. (Seriously.) Facilities are simple but adequate, the room was quite clean and reasonably sized. I would have expected a useable bed though. Room somewhat noisy; you WILL hear if someone's walking in the corridor. (You can also hear trains passing but I didn't find that objectionable.)

    Pretty good location close to the station, friendly staff. Free wifi with good signal. Shutters instead of curtain, which are very effective.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It seems that hotel allow pets, which is OK in general. But, room walls are thin, and (i think) there was a dog in the room next door, which made a lot of noises during the night, so sleeping was almost impossible. This would be our only major complaint.

    Lady at the reception was geat, verry helpfull. Location at city center.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms are a bit on the small side but minor criticism only. Main problem was right next to the railway line and very noisy. Several people on balcony below our room continuing loud conversations and laughter until early morning didn't help either.

    Family run hotel with good facilities. Rooms comfortable. Elevator helpful with heavy bags. Free parking on street right outside. Five minute walk to Old Town.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A self for shampoo etc is missing in the shower.

    Large room and bathroom, of new construction and perfectly clean. Very convenient location near the train station and the center of the city. Good food at the nicely decorated restaurant of the hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillow was fluffy but not comfortable. Train noise next to street was noticeable but not enough to bother sleep.

    Short walk from the train station. Owners have put a lot of work into this hotel. Beautiful renovation. Dinning area is spotless. Breakfast is good. No fried items. Bedroom nice.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    railway .... you will have problems with sleep in the night if the window is open ( no air condition)

    Good location. Very friedly staff. What more?........just a hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit noisy at night due to trains (and opened windows). Not many parking places but we managed

    Very good location to town center. Owner absolutely charming. Good food. Possibility to eat outdoor - nice terrace

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Price was a bit high. The garbage wasn't removed from our room. Even though the staff told us to leave the car parked where we parked, we got a ticket

    Perfect Staff, friendly always ready to help, just awesome! Good food

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owner shouted at my wife in German and she doesnt speak German, because of where bike was parked when we arrived, as I was checking in. Had her in tears. No air conditioning, very noisy as it's next to trains running all night. Too hot to close window because of noise and no air con.

    There was a clean bathroom and clean room. Staff were nice enough.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Was quite close to the railway so occasionally noisy, especially with the window open. That proximity is my plus point too...

    The hotel was conveniently located near the station, walking distance, even with luggage and close enough to the centre.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - rooms come without balconies - no 24/7 reception (but: very nice staff offering to stay until later arrival, if necessary) - one key per room, i.e. suboptimal for double rooms in case one person would wish to stay in town longer than the other

    + highly accommodating staff + all major sightseeing points of interest are within walking distance (= city center including the cathedral "Ulmer Münster", old town quarter "Fischerviertel", city wall, Danube) + within walking distance to the central station + free parking directly in front of the hotel (but: limited space, i.e. "first come, first served") + very good and stable Wi-Fi reception + solid breakfast

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The parking could have given for free

    Very good value form money hotel The room was very large and confy the Hotel is very clean and well maintained The staff is very nice and very kind

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - Wifi not working. - The room had the feel of an old retirement home with old carpets and a wheelchair-friendly bathroom. Practical (and to be praised as very few hotels are wheelchair-friendly), but cosy itb was not. Far from it. Felt like I slept in a hospital. - Downright ugly Greek (partly religious) art on the walls in the room. Don't do it (I don't care if the owners are Greek) - It's a family-run hotel and they try hard, but's it not very professional. For these prices, they should improve. - No airconditioning or ventilation (there's ventilation in the bathroom, but only of you turn on the light). Opening the windows not really an option as it's right next to a very busy street (and the railway line as well) - One of the first cold October nights, but the heating didn't work.

    Location close to the train station and the old town. Breakfast was pretty good.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very hot in warm weather especially on top floor. Had to ask for change of room. Second room was better. Very noisy as hotel is close to railway line and no air con so can't close windows in hot weather. Beds in both rooms small and made a noise every time you moved! Didn't sleep well. Parking limited and extra charge for garage parking. Driving around Ulm is a nightmare!

    Location near to the old town.Very pleasant staff.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing - everything is at a very good level

    - The hotel is located near downtown (a historical center), shops, restaurants.... - Parking is just in front of the hotel, - Extremely friendly and cooperative staff; - Our room was big, proper and comfortable, - The hotel has special rooms for 3 guests where there are beds (not a sofa! as in many other hotels) for 3 persons - it is VERY appreciated, - Marvelous breakfast with fresh bred of various kinds, cereals, jus, jams, etc - brief, complete and delicious.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Limited choice for breakfast. Doors that had to be slammed to shut properly - noisy nights. Parking could be difficult if you turn up late.

    An easy walk into Ulm. Garage parking if booked in advance.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed in the family room (apartment) in the attic, up an extra flight of stairs from the highest floor served by the lift. One of the rooms was up a further staircase-cum-ladder. The furniture was a motley selection of junk and there were plastic containers of food left in the kitchen. If we had wanted to use it, the poorly equipped kitchen would have been a huge disappointment. The apartment smelt and was stiflingly hot, with no net curtains or blinds to stop insects entering through open windows. And the price per night, even though we weren't charged for what was a very bland breakfast, was simply outrageous.

    Nothing really. I suppose it beat sleeping in the car.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One side can be very loud due to the proximity of a railway. Combined with last floor and heat in summer months brings some discomfort during night.

    Staff, cleanliness, location

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location: close to the station, to the town centre, to the main tourists attractions, to a good playground and to what seems to be the most awesome gelati place in town. The room was clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows were rather puffy and very soft.

    The breakfast was excellent, including a fried egg if you ask! Cereal, meats, cheese, bread, toast, yogurt, fresh fruit salad etc. Fruit juice, coffee, tea, chocolate. Great start to the day! Also being within eight to ten minute walk of the city centre.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very noisy, next to the railway. The comfort of the bed was mediocre.

    The staff is very friendly and the breakfast was outstanding.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location- very nice and uncomplicated stuff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very functional and perfect for traveling with my dog. The internet was also very fast. The restaurant was yummy!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The family is really nice! Highly recommended. Home away from home in Ulm.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Excellent location, very close to the historic downtown of the city, clean, comfortable, excellent breakfast, friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good Greek restaurant

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room decoration :)

    Disponibility of the staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Noise from railway meaning that window couldn't be left open.

    Floor fan provided in room, due to high temperature

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive charge for parking charge for breakfast

    Location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite noisy untill late due to it's proximity to major road

    Close to the old center and provided (limited) parking in front of the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    personal attention. Good breakfast. Convenient location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Near the city center, parking in front of the hotel was possible, large room, polite staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I don't like two beds pushed together as one.

    The friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the first time why did we have to pay more than the amount we have been quoted?

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My WC was blocked

    parking in front of the hotel, they awaited me after midnight very friendly there was a terrace with my room, but shared

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bread little bit old

    Staff very nice

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    -

    The girl who reach me at the reception

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They need more parking

    The Greek restaurant attached to the hotel is magnificent!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice pleasant hotel. We had a quiet room at the back and comfortable too. Breakfast was a reasonable extra 7 Euro and was good.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    God

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A overpriced hotel! Would not recomend to anyone!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were noisy. You could hear the people next door

    Great staff, very good service

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy, my room facing an heavy trafficked intersection. However, most of the rooms are facing Donau....and less noise.

    The staff!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    This is first time for me to check earlier even paid penalty for remain reserved days. I couldn't slept due to TV sound of next door room. I can expect my neighbor did who stay next room wit clear sound of doing something.

    Clean & staffs are kind.

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Our GPS gave perfect directions but the final "right" turn we had to make was so hard to actually spot on the road (at night) that we missed it three times. That got frustrating. It is a tiny right that takes you directly to the front of the hotel some 15 feet off the main road. We did hear trains going by - sounded like a great gush of wind each time for several seconds, but it was somewhat in the distance.

    This is not a luxury hotel. It can't be for the rates they charge. BUT it is clean, comfortable, has a great location - can walk to all the Old Town sites - and very friendly staff - so why pay more for frills? The room we had was small but as described.

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff was very direct and at times unhospitable. Lights were off even in the stairwell. Decor was plain and uninviting.

    The location was central and breakfast buffet was above average. Everything was clean , chocolates on the pillows , etc.

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room wasn't ready when we arrived mid-afternoon so we had to wait about half an hour. Only one key between us which caused problems as the door to the floor was locked in the evening.

    Friendly, attentive staff. Within walking distance of centre. Fresh fruit salad at breakfast. Was able to park outside.

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    not much, stayed here for one night passing by.

    super friendly staff, decent rooms, good value for money. Underground closed parking garage which was very welcome in winter.

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    None

    Highly recommended for both family and solo stay. Very friendly and helpful staff, near to Hbf, Bus/Train connectivity is few mins away, very clean rooms and excellent breakfast and last but not the least very reasonably priced rooms especially for last min bookings (compared to competitors like Ibis or Intercity)

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2016

    • Family with older children

    Staff wad very kind and helpful. Room quiet, although the hotel location is very downtown. Good position. Nice family place.

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    None

    Great location, Very friendly and helpful staff, Excellent service, great breakfast and very good rooms.

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group

    The bed was very confortable and the room was big! I'll come back for sure!

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Staff was very helpful. Breakfast was abundant and fresh.

There are also 29 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 58

Browse Hotel Ulmer Stuben traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: