Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Graupner This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Langestr. 5, 96047 Bamberg, Germany

#35 of 36 hotels in Bamberg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 447 hotel reviews

7.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.8

  • Comfort

    6.1

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    6.1

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    6.3

  • Free WiFi

    5.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 47

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    3.5
    lack of compassion by the owners for their guests
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Describe accurately, cleanliness, parking, safety (smoke alarm broken). Lack of amenities, negative response from owners to our concerns (they put the phone down on us).

    Nothing!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    7.9
    Really good location, the old town is 2-4 min walks from the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Related to booking.com, parking is available. It is not true. There is no space to stop for 3 mins while you take out your baggage from the car, you have to carry all of your stuffs in your hands from the parking spots you find. At the reception you will get a map which is contains the nearest parking spots. No aircondition - which is acceptable, but no fan in the room. Windows from room 4 opened ro the street. We had 2 choice: some fresh air with terrible noise from the street, or 30 degrees hot in a relatively quiet room. We chose noise..

    Really good location, the old town is 2-4 min walks from the hotel. Nice and friendly staff. Charming, traditional, small hotel-pension. Breakfast is OK.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    5.0
    The manager was friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is no air conditioning in these rooms. Guests should know this in advance, especially if staying in the summer. The heat wave in Germany has been almost unbearable and the reason we took this trip was to get some rest in an air conditioned room. We were unable to sleep due to the heat. The room was like an oven. It was quite dated and I don't feel it was worth the cost we paid. We stayed at a five star Sheraton the next night for almost sixty euros less and with many more amenities including air conditioning and a swimming pool.

    The manager was friendly. I had booked a suite but when we arrived apparently the room was too small for our party so he said he would "make things work", charged us a little extra and moved us to a one bedroom apartment about a block away. I appreciated his willingness to accommodate our family.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    6.7
    Location, location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked fans to be available like other places we have stayed. In room phone didn't seem to be working. Weak internet accessso. In this day and age, good secure internet access is not a luxury, it is a necessity for many travelers.

    Location, location. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    8.3
    Good for a short stay, very central, great ice cream.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing, though I imagine a room at the front might have been noisy.

    My single room was large and pleasant and quiet. Although I knew it was over a café, I hadn't realised it was not only a super cake type café but also a gelataria! I thought I'd gone to heaven. Very friendly staff, in spite of being busy.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    7.9
    Just beside the inner pedestrian zone in the amazing Old...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Just beside the inner pedestrian zone in the amazing Old Town. Charming, traditional, small hotel-pension. Excellent breakfast in the hotel's own Konditorei.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    5.8
    Breakfast was wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Housekeeping. Room was clean when we checked in but during the course of our 4 day stay the floor was not swept; I wanted a clean hand towel on the 3rd day so I put it on the floor along with the extra towel which had dark stains. Upon my return the stained towel was refolded and placed back on the shelf as was my used towel (it was still wet).

    Breakfast was wonderful. Location to old town was great.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    4.6
    Very bad
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had a very bad experience with hotel Grauptner. We booked rooms at Hotel Grauptner in the center of Bamberg, Lange Strasse, but the host told us that our rooms are under the roof and suggested to rent rooms on the first floor at his guesthouse, which is situated at five minutes from the center (so he said). Everything turned out to be lies. The rooms were on the second floor and the guesthouse is situated at Kapellen street, 40 minutes from the center, near railway and building site. No places to eat, so we had to take a taxi to get to the center. And he took 28 euros more for each night. I tried to speak to him, but he didn't want to discuss and hanged the receiver. I will never recommend this hotel and guesthouse to anybody.

    We liked the woman who served in the guesthouse.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    7.5
    Spacious appartment on two levels, centrally located in the old town centre, plentiful breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wi-fi did not work.

    Great location, a very spacious family room/appartment (on two-levels) with two bathrooms, as we were two adults and two teenage children. Friendly owner, replied promptly to my query about a left-behind sweater.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    6.3
    we happen to encounter a musical festival that held annually, the platz is close :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    we stayed in the 4ppl (room otto) on the top floor (3rd), in the room there is no wifi so we all had to go down to the 0 floor to use. no elevators, is understandable in such an old house, but just to remind you ppl with big luggages :P

    breakfast and location very Good :) the whole building and room are both beautiful. in the 0 floor there are restaurant, ice creams are good!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    7.9
    Nice small hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel says that they offer parking. But NOT!! you have to drive away and use the public parking garage. Approx 10 min walk from hotel. We paid 7 eur from 8pm to 10am.

    We got two bed apartment in the top. No aircond. so very hot. No dark curtains so very braight. But very nice staff. Very big room. In the middle of town.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    5.8
    It was good but I would not stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    it was said that there were satelitte television, however there were 8 channels and not the good ones. The rooms could also use air conditioning or at least fans

    the staff was very friendly; breakfast was pretty good. It was right in the middle of town and you could walk to everything

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    6.3
    Breakfast was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was 250 yard walk from the breakfast room and hotel. This was not mentioned anywhere in the write up. If I had known we were not in the main hotel I would not have booked this hotel as we both have problems walking any distances.

    Breakfast was good. The room was good but too far to walk each time.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    5.8
    The location is super great, you are within walking distance...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were told shortly before arrival that there is a problem with our room - and we're given a guest apartment where they had to close one bathroom entirely due to some water damages. Also, in the other side of the apartment, I couldn't turn the lights on. This wouldn't be too big of an issue except now it became one more negative experience and we arrived late in the evening with young children where all you want to do is come in and relax. The next morning, there was a mix up in breakfast where staff had confused my family for regular paying guests when we knew that breakfast was included. Not sure if we'd go back. Parking was incredibly difficult especially with a large car.

    The location is super great, you are within walking distance of everywhere! Their bakery shop looks very inviting and I would have loved to have tried it!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    5.8
    Hotel fine, shame about the club across the road
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was opposite a bar which became a club later; it was impossible to sleep before 4-5am, so we left a day early.

    The staff were very pleasant and the breakfast was decent. The hotel itself was average.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    7.5
    Charming well located.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very hot and we had to plead for a fan to cool the room so we could sleep. Even though there were two open windows the ventilation was very poor. We did get a fan it worked but it was broken and only the night manager took the trouble to provide it. The other staff didn't care. Also the breakfast was very ordinary especially for a restaurant. Nothing was fresh.

    We loved the room. It was beautifully furnished and didn't mind the climb up the stairs because it was a pleasant doom.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    10
    Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wish there was a fan in the room.

    The location is perfect. Breakfast is inexpensive and served.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    5.4
    Läget
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Warn. No aircondition, slqmmer from toilet/piping througout the nights..

    Läget

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    8.3
    Everything was basically fine. I enjoyed it. And given the location, it's great value for the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room a bit bigger, a bit airier

    Breakfast was very good. Very friendly and efficient waitress.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    9.6
    Great value
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Water pressure a bit low, but ok

    Beautiful Antique furnishings, excellent location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    7.9
    bad quality of wifi connection
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    bad quality of wifi connection

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    8.8
    Very enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi fi did not reach the 3rd floor

    Very central location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    5.0
    Location, space in room n feel of the place historic. Staff at reception was not rude
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The man at reception was quite rude. The heating was not working despite complaining multiple times.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    6.7
    the bed was very comfortable, breakfast was very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    no kettle, no glass!!

    the bed was very comfortable, breakfast was very good

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    8.8
    Great city
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing

    close to relatives

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    9.6
    Very friendly staff, cosy hotel in the middle of the city...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly staff, cosy hotel in the middle of the city center. The room was clean, the bed was nice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    7.9
    Breakfast was great
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was great

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    7.5
    Great location- within walking distance to everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great location- within walking distance to everything. Breakfast was wonderful!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    6.3
    No air conditioning shower to small room to noisy at fromt
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning shower to small room to noisy at fromt

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    7.5
    very big breakfast selection
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    very big breakfast selection

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    7.5
    Very well located
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The water pump made a lot of noise every time you used the bathroom

    Very well located. Friendly service. Comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2016

    10
    Just as comfortable as it was 21 years ago on our first visit!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was excellent! Buffet with many offerings. Great location near old town and shopping.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    6.3
    Acceptable if all other hotels are booked.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Garage is 10 min. walking distance away. Maintanance shall be better.

    Fine location in downtown.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2016

    6.7
    Location in the center of Bamberg
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Pillow somehow didn't work for me not one, not two. Too much noise goes to the room from outside - single glass windows. No safe in my room - room 5 there's something like "smoking terrace" behind the windows of room 5 so you have to keep your curtains closed all the time. no elevator

    Location in the center of Bamberg Friendly and helpful staff Sweetshop

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2016

    4.6
    looks clean.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    No elevator, no internet connection on upper floors, very old building, very limited selection on breakfast. We booked two seperate rooms but they have given us something else. They charge extra if you pay with credit card.

    looks clean. Cheerful staff.

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2016

    2.5
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room was hot and couldn’t adjust temperature, towels were frayed, light in bathroom was falling down. Staff walked into room without knocking. Didn't get room we booked and were charged for.

    Location

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2015

    9.6
    Kind and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Kind and friendly staff. We got in much later than expected and the staff were accommodating. We wish we had time to take advantage of the attached gelateria. Good location for exploring the old town. Good wifi.

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2015

    6.7
    Clean room, very good geographic situation, quite friendly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I stayed at this hotel on hot friday night. There was no AC nor fan. When I opened the window, it was too noisy because of the club across the street from the room. Even though this hotel has many good qualities, what is point of staying here if you can't sleep at all?

    Clean room, very good geographic situation, quite friendly staff, breakfast is ok

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2015

    8.3
    The room was comfortable, the breakfast was relaxing, and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had no idea when we booked the room that we were in the guest house over a mile away from the main hotel. And since our room opened to the eating area, it was noisy in the morning when the breakfast was being served

    The room was comfortable, the breakfast was relaxing, and the free parking was a real bonus

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2015

    5.4
    Good location just a short walk over the bridge into the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Whilst the staff were friendly and helpful, the hotel business seems a side show from the very busy and popular bakery. If you need to feel valued and attended to, this will not be for you - a little more attention on the customer would go a long way. The room decor was dated and a little tired, but they are doing some discrete work to improve the rooms it seems.

    Good location just a short walk over the bridge into the Aldstadt. The apartment we took had two bedrooms and a living room, which was basic but clean and comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2015

    7.9
    atmosphere, location, apartment
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    atmosphere, location, apartment

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    7.5
    Very central.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Decor was a little dated. Shower not v good and pillows were not great. No free wifi

    Very central. Great breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2015

    9.6
    Room
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Price

    Room

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    5.8
    Late ckeck-in hotel, no wifi account being given
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Check-in service is closed at 9pm!

    Late ckeck-in hotel, no wifi account being given

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    9.6
    Hotel is in a convenient location in the centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hotel is in a convenient location in the centre. Staff are friendly, room was comfortable and breakfast was great.

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    8.8
    Great location, helpful staff and spacious room (the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Wifi did not work on the top floor of the hotel

    Great location, helpful staff and spacious room (the apartment for four)

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2015

    8.8
    Get a room off the main street and you will be comfortable...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Service, location, and mostly German nationals.

    Get a room off the main street and you will be comfortable and quiet.

There are also 9 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 47

Guests also reviewed these properties: