Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel und Gasthof zur Sonne

Hafengasse 11, 91541 Rothenburg ob der Tauber, Germany

Review score

Based on 864 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very warm, did not get a good night of sleep. Recommend they put an oscillating fan in each room.

    Facilities were very nice, clean. Staff was very friendly. Location was great for exploring Rothenberg.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's hard to find anything to complain about. We enjoyed our stay and would recommend this hotel for others.

    The family room was very large with both a shower and a jacuzzi style bath tub. The hotel has private parking in the middle of the city which is very convenient. The hotel is located right in the middle of all of the attractions for Rothenburg. When driving to the hotel we had some difficulty to find the hotel entrance because the hotel is located in a pedastrian zone. We called the hotel and the owner came out and walked to our car and rode with us to the parking garage which is only 50m behind the hotel accessible from a different street.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s above 80 degree the day we arrived, there is no AC, not even a fan in the room, so no circulation. No elevator in the hotel, it’s not easy to carry all the luggages to the third floor without any help. Most people in the hotel don’t speak English, the woman, likely the owner, at the front desk does speak English, although not particularly friendly and helpful.

    The location is very good, right by the center of the town.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were less comfortable than my 15in memory foam, but I think that's just how they are in germany. Go out and get tired and you won't even notice.

    The staff was fantastic, and the location could not have been better. Just steps away from the square! We plan to stay here the next time.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a lukewarm, rather aloof, reception by front desk staff which persisted through checkout time the next morning. We also found a spot of black mold on the sheets in the other room where my brother was sleeping so they removed the sheets and slept on towels instead.

    There is on-site parking in a secure garage. To utilize this, you incur and extra fee which is reasonable. The location within city center is amazing.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff wasn’t helpful and the one who checked us in was rude. Breakfast was overpriced for what we got.

    Very clean and close to the main square. Bed was uncomfortable. The staff wasn’t helpful and one was rude.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really. Was a good stay!

    Hotel was nice. Room was good size, bathroom was nice. The hotel is located in downtown and easy to get to all the sights. We booked the garage to keep our motorcycles in and it was nice, clean and secure. Breakfast was very good and they even made eggs to order.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Don´t bring your pram if you are located at second floor because there is no elevator.

    Location is perfect, right in the middle of Rothenburg. Breakfast room is charming, staff is proactive, and the breakfast itself is complete.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room got a little warm in the evenings, so we had talked turn the heat down.

    This hotel is in the perfect location to walk easily to all of the attractions with in the city. We parked at the property with ease and were greeted by the staff. The breakfast is plentiful and they were glad to bring any extras that we may of wanted. The room was very clean and the beds were comfortable. Our room was quiet. They do not have a lift but the stairs are wide and it is easy to get your bags up.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was extremely friendly and helpful. We arrived early and even though room wasn’t ready we were able to park in the garage. The hotel worker got in our car with us to show where it was since it was a little confusing to find (not far just a round about way with the roads you could drive on). Breakfast was typical European breakfast! Best customer service we have had at a hotel since arriving in Europe! Location was excellent! A 2 minute walk to the city center!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was a little uncomfortable but really it wasn’t bad.

    Friendly staff, perfect location, very nice hotel, newly renovated, great parking, pretty comfy beds, i would stay here again. Location was amazing, great view, good food and beer, clean! All around great.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not that it bothered me, but the room still has that classic 80s furniture

    Very friendly staff and great location, right next to the main square. The breakfast was simple but good. Big room with a view to the street. There's a public car parking a few meters from the hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the walls are paper thin. One side was a newlywed couple. -- I don't need to say more, I had to leave to room more than I had intended. I almost belted out..omg... yes daddy get it over with already, and No-it was not her daddy" lol... I will admit I called my friend stateside-during , it was loud enough she could hear and , We ...did have a long laugh.. ;0) The other side was a family with 2 small children one of which cried a lot.. but sometimes because of the newlyweds I was thankful for that... but the price was great and location was perfect. I did not come there for the room but the location so... I did enjoy and would stay again because of the price but next time bring ear plugs

    Location was fantastic, within walking distance of all the restaurants and sites. the room was small but it was a single room with everything I needed. clean and the owners were very nice. breakfast was normal European breakfast with the exception of eggs...most places do not have eggs they did.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing most people won’t like is that there is no elevator. I didn’t mind at all.

    The location is right down the street from the main square, the hotel is very clean, the staff is VERY friendly, and the breakfast is excellent! We come to this hotel every time we come to Germany!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room is very basic. Don't expect any extras. No coffee pot or kettle in room. Also no clothes iron in room, I guess you'd have to ask for one. Bring your own washcloth- none is provided. This seems to be the trend at smaller hotels, this is my second visit to one that had no washcloth.

    Very central location. Easy walk to town center, restaurants, the wall, shops. There is also a restaurant downstairs. Breakfast included was ok- basic bread, eggs, cheese, some jellies, coffee or tea.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I didn't like that you can hear people talking outside your room door and next rooms. Not really soundproof walls.

    The location was perfect to visit the town, especially during Christmas market season. It was literally a two minute walk into the main square. The room was comfortable and bathroom was clean.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed or mattress was a little worn or soft. If you are not a big eater at breakfast time it is probably best to eat outside of the hotel.

    The location and staff were both excellent. Staff were friendly, gave reliable advice and were keen to help. The restaurant was so good we ate there three times as the prices were very competitive with high quality food and a good range of dishes on the menu.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately the room smelt strongly of smoke even though it was a non smoking room. We notified the hostess on our departure and she was quite upset.

    The location was excellent. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The bathroom has the most awesome rain shower!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A wonderful experience! The staff came to our car. They waited patiently as we unloaded several children and bags, and they assisted with carrying bags to the room. The room was comfortable, clean, and modern. The shower was great! The hotel is perfectly located about 100 meters to the Christmas market, yet the room is completely quiet. The hotel’s restaurant provided a great dinner, and the breakfast was a typical German style fruhstuck! We will stay here again.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Housekeeping vacuuming the room next door at 8:00am while we were trying to sleep. No safe. No tea kettle. No English stations (CNN) on TV ( I know this sounds petty, but we had it at other locations in Germany).

    Location was perfect. It was a convenient place to stay. The room was as expected nothing was above average.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea or coffee facilities in room.

    Hotel in an excellent location with parking and a really good restaurant. Although, the bathroom was small, it was modern with a good shower.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My room (can't speak for other rooms) had an odor. Like walking into grandma's, hard to describe, not unpleasant, but the kind where you try to air out your room by opening a window even though its winter.

    Location, Location, Location - The perfect spot for the Christmas Market & exploring the city.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    street parking but for an extra 10 euros, the woman at reception arranged private parking behind the hotel.

    Perfect location to walk to Christmasmarket. Friendly, helpful staff, restaurant on premises, room was large and warm, bathroom very clean, lots of towels. I would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We arrived late after a long day on the train and instead of empathizing with our struggles of not feeling well and missing train connections, the hotel owner gave us a lecture on how late we arrived and that it was unacceptable. Instead of feeling like a customer, I felt like a scolded child.

    The place was very nice and clean. The location was perfect and in the centre of the beautiful town. The wait staff were impeccable, courteous and kind.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Come beds. Stayed with my husband and 3 year old son in a triple room. We stayed on the third floor in a newly renovated triple room. It looks much newer and comfortable than in the photos shown for a triple room on the site which much be the older rooms which hVe yet to been renovated. The entire hotel is newly renovated, modern and clean. The location is excellent. TIP: make sur your reserve parking spot n advance and receive confirmation of your booking. They do offer parking at a cost of EUR 10, but spaces are limited. All in all, I would definitely book there again if I return to Rothenburg ob der Tauber and I would recommend it to everyone.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rothenburg is wonderful, and this hotel is right in the center of everything you'll want to see in town. Restaurant downstairs is excellent, staff are wonderful, rooms are clean, and we really enjoyed our stay here!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    The food was great. We were able to try local food and loved it. Breakfast was very good also. Being in the middle of the walled city was very convenient. Despite having to pay $10 Euros per day, the available parking was great for car travelers.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pretty basic room, very small. Not what we were looking for. Very displeased with the booking.com experience for this hotel. Tried to cancel and Booking 4 weeks prior to stay. Booking indicated the hotel wouldn't allow a refund. Found out later the hotel hadn't been contacted. That it was booking that wouldn't let us cancel. Think twice about using booking.com.

    Location near the Market Square.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was up on the 3rd floor without lift. It was ok for us but other guests might have a problem with it. You have to walk through the restaurant to enter/exit the hotel. We had to leave early in the morning before the official breakfast hours and asked for a simple breadroll, piece of toast etc. the night before, to have something to eat in the morning but didn't get anything (this has been offered to us for free, without even asking for it, in other hotels)

    Great location in the old town, the room was very spatious and comfortable. Immediately felt at home.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The ENTIRE village wakes up at 7 - even if you don't plan to be up at 7 - you will be. Makes the visit "real" to see the village wake up.

    Rooms are located above the restaurant and garage parking is about a block or so away from the property. Food was fantastic as we had dinner there on our night of arrival. Wait staff were not all English speaking but that was not a problem at all. When staying in Germany you must be prepared for a different bed type - there are no pillow tops. Would stay again!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is not really relative to the hotel, it the town literally rolls up by 8pm, so eat dinner early! Or you will be like my sister and I, eating peanuts and some chocolate lol

    Fabulous location, breakfast included which was nice, rooms simple but adequate and very clean

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only minor for us was that the beds are hard, but this is personal.

    Rooms were clean, spacious. Bathroom was ok, shower rather small. Breakfast was ok, everything was available so you could have a good breakfast. Breakfast ends at 9.30 h. Perhaps a little early in the weekends. We had also a diner in the restaurant, which was great and tasteful. Location is excellent, really in the center of Rothenburg. The only minor for us was that the beds are hard, but this is personal.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was pretty hard. Other than that it was spacious and clean.

    Parking was secure and in a garage around the back of the hotel. We had a very nice, large room and our 2 dogs stayed for free. We ate lunch there and it was very good. Prime location close to the market square. Had a great bakery across the street called Brot and Zeit

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was great!

    Gasthof zur Sonne was in the middle of the adorable medieval village of Rothenburg ob der Tauber. It was a great place to stay! The beds were comfortable, the rooms clean and the staff was very friendly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    I really like this hotel, and this does not affect me, but if you have mobility issues, you should be aware that the hotel does not have an elevator. Other than that, you can't go wrong staying at this hotel.

    This was our second time staying here. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The breakfast is pretty good and includes hot choices. The location does not get any better, and parking is available on site.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The nasty attitude of the man Klause He was condescending non welcoming and actually rude Have been traveling many years never came across this in any stays

    The town itself

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was 10 euros which is separate from the hotel could have been free considering the walk to hotel not far but down steps difficult with cases and if your disabled although lady from hotel did help us

    Lovely hotel right in the centre staff lovely

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Friendly Welcome by hosts themselves. Convenient parking, good size bathroom with bath, clean and comfortable bed. Excellent location and excellent Degustation menu with samples of regional foods and wines.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    One of the waiters didnt seem able to cope with splitting the restaurant bill for 6 parties which caused some confusion, but we got over that OK in the end.

    Secure garage parking for our motorcycles was most welcome. The manager and staff were (mostly) efficient and friendly. And the location...first class.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Limited dining options around town that are open till after 8:30pm which is a bit restricting as after such an early dinner there is positively nothing to do there.

    Cosy room, excellent parking facility, fantastic location around the corner from main square, good service, breakfast was nice (nothing special) RodT is the epitomy of a medieval town with a rich and fascinating history. Can't recommend a visit here highly enough.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was at 2nd floor, it was not that easy to bring there heavy case and stroller. Noisy at the night time as windows were oriented to the street with restaurant below. No air conditioning.

    Clean. Location is good - right in the Old Town. Garage near to the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking Garage is not in the same building as the hotel...it wasn't too far but it was still pretty inconvenient when getting our luggage back in the car.

    Great location in the heart of the downtown. We had a great view of the street side.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower very small. Bed very stiff. Very noisy hotel.

    Staff was friendly, let us check in right away because we wanted to stay another night in Rothenburg Ob Der Tauber but couldn't keep same hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very spacious and very well-located. The hotel also operates a restaurant, but there was a little gated backdoor patio that we could use to wander in and out without disturbing anyone.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our navigation system took us through pedestrian zones and we could not reach hotel. Parked and walked to hotel and then our wonderful host went with us, drove our huge van to the parking garage, and parked for us. So, use a map and avoid pedestrian zones!

    Location is right off the town marketplace. Very friendly and helpful hosts.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No dislikes but word of warning for bikers - the streets are cobbled and narrow and very slippery in the rain (which we experienced briefly) which can make navigating them a little 'hairy' for those on two wheels.

    The hotel is centrally located so shops, bars and restaurants are right on your doorstep. The hotel has a large, secure garage which is located nearby - key access code is provided on checking in. As we were travelling by motorbike this provided us with peace of mind knowing that the bike was secure overnight. The hotel itself was lovely. Our room was bright and airy as was the bathroom. The staff were friendly and accommodating. The hotel has a restaurant which is also open to non-patrons but we didn't eat there as we are both vegetarians and so opted for a nearby Italian restaurant which we knew would cater for our needs. We didn't take the breakfast option as we wanted to be up and out early to continue our tour of Germany but were able to purchase a coffee at the hotel bar prior to our departure. Lovely hotel centrally located for the main square and easy access to the city walls which you must take a stroll around during your visit to this pretty city.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was nice, but it opened in the rear to a small walkway with a garbage can. Also, there is no air conditioning, and it was extremely warm in the room.

    Staff were extremely accommodating. I had trouble getting to the hotel on the narrow streets in the town, and a very nice woman actually walked from there to the parking lot I called from and accompanied me to the hotel garage. She even carried in two of our bags for me. Breakfast had lots of variety and was good. The staff was helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    breakfast was missing a few things that couldve made it better like fried eggs and fried tomatoes and bacon every morning. But this certainly was not a deal breaker! This place is just wonderful!

    The largest parking garage in Rothenburg which easily fitted our large 9 seat van. Parking was free. Location was perfect. The manager was so lovely and helpful. Rooms were georgeous and spacious. Restaurant and bar just downstairs.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very difficult to find and get to in the middle of the pedestrian area if in or on your own transport. Great garage once found!!

    Excellent staff, great food, good beer!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location was perfect and the free breakfast was great. The hotels private, locked parking garage is on Jakob St. on the corner, just temporarily park in the reserved parking lot nearby, walk back the 1 block to the hotel or call them and they will come unlock the door to the garage. Google will tell you how to navigate the tight, one way streets. Our rental car sat happily and safely in it's spot till we returned for only 10 euros a day. Took only a minute or two to walk to everything!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The first room we were shown was extremely hot and stuffy and when we pulled back the drapes, our view was an ugly, exposed silver exhaust pipe with yellow, fluffy insulation hanging around it. How charming when we wanted to see a pleasant terrace or patio or street scene. A total turn off. However, we were given a new room with a better view after voicing our dissatisfaction... But the new room cost us $40 Euro more. Also, breakfast was NOT included even tho' it stated that it was on Booking.com. Buyer beware on this place.

    Great location, right around the corner from the town square. Resturants and shops all around.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great place, great location just off the town center. Easy to find. We had room on 3rd floor, be prepared to carry your bags. There is no elevator. We did have a beautiful view of the town. were able to park car in indoor garage just a few steps from hotel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Unfortunately I got what appeared to be a nasty case of food poisoning the night of arrival, making the one full day we were there not as enjoyable as we had hoped. It started right about 6 hours after dinner (~2-3am) and I did not recover until about 2-3 pm (12 hours later). The hotel people tried to help, but my wife ended up having to get medication to get past it. When we left they told us that there was a major 24 hr virus outbreak in Germany, implying this is perhaps what I caught. Stairs and no elevator which can be hard on those with back issues.

    Location - right in the middle of town. Very convenient walk from the hotel to explore Rothenburg. Helpful staff (helped carry suitcases upa nd down stairs and with parking in their secure garage).

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wish the room had a fan in it to make it more comfortable. Was hard to find due to the road layout in the walled old town, just have to be alert when looking for the property.

    Great staff, comfortable and large room. Good restaurant on property.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Placed in a heart of the Rothenburg`s old town, Hotel und Gasthof zur Sonne is a fantastic place to stay. Old town`s market is a few seconds walk from the hotel`s door. The room we stayed in Was nice and tidy with a view on a old town`s street (last floor). The breakfast may be not offering the greatest variety but everything was fresh and tasty. The hotel`s restaurant is offering superb taste of local cuisine. Really enjoyed our stay in this hotel :) Lack of an elevator may be some discomfort when somebody has to climb up few floors with heavy luggage but all the rest is making this little flaw less important

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Light in the bathroom and children roomwas not properly functioning.

    In the center of rothenburg, very nice staff, very nice room for a family. Breakfast also was quite nice

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good, suited us nicely.

    Very pleasing all round, great location in a beautiful town. Easy walking and it snowed for us and looked magical. Had delicious dinner at hotel one evening.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Least impressive breakfast of the 20+ European hotels we have stayed at, breakfast server lady was flippant and seemed agitated when we had questions.

    Location, location, location! Free breakfast, close to museums and walkplatz. Secure parking for €10 day, they allowed us to park longer than checkout so we could continue to enjoy the city.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is great, on the nice road leading to Christmas market in just a few minutes. Excellent breakfast. Staffs are friendly and very helpful. I will definitely stay here again if I have a chance.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only thing I didn't really like was the bed, but it isn't often that I find a hotel bed that is as comfortable as what I have at home. I thought it was a bit firm.

    Location was great. I didn't have a long walk to my car or to the Christmas Market. It was easy to walk to wherever I wanted and swing back by my room to drop stuff off or just relax for a bit. Breakfast was great and the staff was very friendly and helpful. I would stay here again.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Access to some rooms is via stairs. If one or two flights of stairs will be a problem, be sure to check with the hotel.

    Great staff, very helpful and friendly. Super location.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was treated very rudely by the hotel owner at check in, never in my life have I seen such arrogance so I will never return nor will I ever recommmend hotel und gasthof Zur sonne to anybody

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Felt it was a little overpriced compared to other accommodation we had stay in in the area, considering the room was fairly basic.

    Very central location, yet rooms at the rear were very quiet. Helpful staff. Reasonable breakfast choices.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We enjoyed our stay. It met expectations. It would have been nice to have a kettle in the room, but the staff happily provided hot water to make up a baby bottle.

    Great location. Restaurant was good value.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's a great pity care have to move around in the Altstadt by car to find the place. Cars detract from its beauty and from every great photo one could have taken without them. There's gotta be better ways of access by dumping cars outside and ferrying baggage on carts, etc. to and fro. Come on, let's get into the medieval spirit just a little!

    Everything was pretty good; the way into the garage was not easy to find as the navi didn't find any way other than the most busy lanes and narrowest streets to get there. "Aufregend" but a great adventure. Place itself pretty good without being extravagant. Go for it!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was warm with little breeze and noisy with the windows open, as it was right above the restaurant bathrooms. We heard lots of flushing from about 7-10 in the evenings.

    The family room had plenty of space for our family of four and our dog. Even the bathroom was a nice size. The beds were comfortable (for German beds), and the staff was super friendly and helpful. The location was right off the main square and they had a garage for parking.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some improvements in the breakfast (however it's good :)) would give a massive 10 :) One of the waitress was rude in the restaurant but...this is not changing our positive opinion.

    Perfect location. We got help with luggage and in getting to the private parking as well. We really enjoyed our stay and would stay again.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Street noise, couldn't be controlled by hotel.

    The hotel was on the main street, and really an excellent location. If you drive in, parking in the P4 lot worked wonderfully. Staff was helpful, but not overly friendly.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The owners were very accomadating. they helped us carry heavy luggage from the parking garage to the room (there is no elevator). The bathroom was spacious and clean. breakfast was good. The hotel is very conveniently located inside the town walls so it was close to everything.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There's no lift. When I went to eat breakfast, there are no warm foods like eggs and sausages. They didn't refil the warm foods for late customer.

    It's a beautiful, neat and comfirtable hotel. It's also a good place to look around the city.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    parking area difficult to get to with motorbike, luggage and pillion. bike took up very little space but still charged

    location is right in the middle of the town fantastic

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift, 3 flights of stairs to our room, good thing we only brought carry-on sized luggage. Need extra pillows.

    Clean room. Nice breakfast spread. Close to the center. Restaurant on the first floor. An easy 10 minute walk from the train station

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room's window opened directly above the kitchen vent so having the window open meant everything smelled like French fries. This would normally not be an issue, but we stayed during a few really hot days and needed the window open.

    Fantastic location and exceptionally helpful staff! The food at the restaurant and the breakfast were both very good. We also used the parking garage - very convenient!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool selection of breakfast items, no pastry! Small bathroom

    Large family room, relatively quiet. Parking in hotel garage is convenient; friendly staff member came out to lead us.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    did not realize that train station was not in center of town, had to take a bus. bus was very easy to navigate.

    it was right in center of town, easy to walk around historic area.

    Stayed in June 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: