Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Alte Thorschenke This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Brückenstraße 3, 56812 Cochem, Germany

#27 of 32 hotels in Cochem

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 318 hotel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    6.9

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    6.9

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.1

  • Free WiFi

    6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 43

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only thing I would have enjoyed more, is a larger window of opportunity to obtain an evening meal from the establishment. Everything on the menu looked delicious. I arrived too late to experience it.

    The property was beautiful and elegant. The bath tub was extra deep and exceptionally comfortable. The staff was friendly, informative and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Other than the WiFi did not work above the ground floor, there was nothing not to like. Just a comfortable, reasonably priced antique property.

    This is a good, solid and well broken-in hotel that’s ideally located in the center of Cochem. The staff was spare, but more than ready to please. The breakfasts were tasty and generous, a perfect start to our beautiful three days enjoying the Mosel Valley.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The lovely restaurant and wine bar were both closed, so we missed a chance for a romantic dinner and drinks, but many options in town... Parking was far and very complicated...

    Excellent location, charming hotel in a very old building next to the pedestrian street.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had a four poster bed which was very nice but very creaky when turning over at night.

    For the price the hotel was good, nice location in the town and friendly staff, excellent food.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms are very warm, but we brought our own fan and it worked out very well.

    This old hotel has a lot of character and we enjoyed that part of it very much. The location was also perfect for us.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed in the room was very hard. No air conditioning in warm, humid conditions made it difficult to sleep. In addition, a nasty smell always came from Treven-suite. Finally, and the most important to note is that a bar, casino and other night life venues lie direct to the hotel and are open till 0200 hrs. As you can see no good sleep occurred at this hotel.

    Public rooms were very old looking, rustic and charming. Breakfast was typical continental.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The wifi connection password is only valid for two hours, very limited and slow.

    The hotel is located in a central area in Cochem, very typical and picturesque decoration. The breakfast is also copious and tasty.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    - Cleanliness. In one of our 3 rooms, there was a huge mould spot on the bathroom ceiling and the toilet brush was filthy and stained - Wi_Fi: Of 6 people, only one could get a connection in the room, and that dropped out every few minutes - An old, fatty cooking smell pervaded the hotel

    - Good location - Beautiful historic building - Quite good breakfast

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The toilet was very cramped if, like me, you are "cuddly". This is nit-picking.

    We would definitely stay here again. The staff were ALL very friendly and helpful. The location was excellent. The restaurant was excellent (rather expensive, but you definitely got what you paid for). The town is pretty and worth a visit.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    As the weather was very hot the room could have done with a fan as it was not air conditioned. Couldn't access website. Couldn't watch news channels on television as very old and reception prevented us from doing so.

    Excellent location, fantastic historic hotel with friendly and accommodating staff, who also welcomed our dog.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great hotel. The staff are fantastic. This is a very old building with great character.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice hotel with helpful staff. Pretty dining room with nice breakfast options. Great location!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    best place in Cochem

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Spacious room with 4-poster twin beds! Excellent breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price, no fridge in the room

    Historic athmosphere

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Smell of cooking and stair areas. Public car park 400 metres up a busy road.

    Location excellent. Dining room, breakfast and bedroom all fine.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was a little chilly

    Being close to town, the owners were both very nice, the Frau was very helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    No double bed, suite is exaggerated a commercial advertisement for Maria Theresa.

    Typical German hotel

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Disappointed with the facilities for the price.

    Good central location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great hotel. Very friendly and helpful staff.Very quiet room. Breakfast was excellent

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bed was comfy, location was excellent, great breakfast and an excellent evening meal.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great room with modern bathroom. Breakfast was excellent and included with meal. Bring earplugs because you may hear people at night walking home.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No information was provided about the wifi and we couldn't access it.

    Everything was generally good.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The four poster bed was beautiful but hard to get in and out of😊

    The historic old building. The cute town. The breakfast was good

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The 'historical bed' was small and had an uncomfortable hard matress.

    Good location, friendly staff, impeccably clean

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not there long enough to explore more

    Excellent location and breakfast was more than sufficient

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Medieval atmosphere

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small beds.

    Great breakfast. Fresh and big diversity.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi

    Properheid

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Large twin bed with canopy excellent breakfast choice very friendly staff

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly helpful staff

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facilities to old

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff was great, They let us choose from an handful of available rooms. Location in the town and breakfast was also perfect.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the showers were a bit tricky if your tall, but manageable. Room for improvement.

    Great location, very friendly staff, nice food. Read previous complaints about beds, but ours was quite nice. They were also very friendly to our dog.

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It appeared that there was a wi-fi hotspot, but no information was shared regarding passwords, etc. Staff members were not always at the desk, so we decided to use wi-fi at the local IO Coffee Shop. The hotel was not well lit..this might be a problem for older travelers or those with poor sight when trying to climb the stairs.

    We are always looking for unique,and charming accommodations when we travel. The Alte Thorschenke was the perfect base for our trip to Cochem. The half-timbered construction adjacent to the city gate, and antique furniture in the rooms was the perfect setting for exploring the town. You can easily walk to the Senfmuehle Mustard Mill, Reichsburg Castle and many other locations from this hotel. We are vegetarian and we didn't try the restaurant based on the menu. The breakfast was standard for what you find in an included breakfast: muesli, yogurt, eggs, toast and breads and a variety of meats and fish. If you are a light sleeper, the beds are creaky and there are kids that gather on the steps before school. We found both to be charming and part of the experience.

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything was perfect. Excellent staff both at the hotel and in the restaurant. Hygiene fantastic, every day the room was cleaned and stocked (toilet paper, shower gel, towels etc). Bedroom and spotless bathroom. Fresh and full breakfast, good wifi signal (ask a code at reception, a code per user lasting 5 hours). Very good location, parking near the hotel. We also greatly appreciate the helpful staff to answer our questions very quick via email. We will definitely return. We loved it.

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The beds in one room were so old, that we all could feel the springs in the matrices. The other room had nice foam matrices, very comfortable.

    The historical building was wonderful, location was great, staff and breakfast were just as expected.

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location and history of building

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I didn't like their breakfast.

    The ambiance was great.

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Internet-wifi connection did not work anywhere but in the lobby. Rooms were very simple and not worth for the money.

    Location and charm

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The atmosphere is unique in this old hotel. We have stayed there several times. Central location to everything in Cochem and parking available.

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was very noisy at night due to a restaurant outside our windows.

    We enjoyed staying in a historic building.

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bed was too soft.

    We just loved the age of this hotel. The breakfast buffet was yummy and elegant.

There are also 8 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 43

Guests also reviewed these properties: