Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel an der Stadtmauer This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

An der Mauer 1, 73614 Schorndorf, Germany

#5 of 5 hotels in Schorndorf

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 265 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    7.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 37

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They did not have a room for 3 people and we were traveling with our niece so we had to pay for two rooms which made it an expensive visit.

    The property was immaculate, you could walk to the main Platz in 5 minutes and the breakfast was wonderful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room didn't have aircon and was extremely noisy when opening the windows being near the train station. No bar or restaurant in the hotel, so you are forced to go out for dinner. Room could have been cleaner ....

    Staff was very forthcoming and friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room overlooked a bar which was full of noisy and drunken young people until 2 or 3. I bought ear plugs and resorted to pulling the mattress onto floor to get away from window. Even a sleeping pill did not work. To book an elderly couple into this was totally unacceptable and ruined our stay in the town. We travel quite regularly in Europe and this experience was the worst we have ever had.

    Breakfasts very good and excellent choice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The WiFi connection was very poor. No connection inside the room. Only could be connected outside of the room. If connected, the line was not stable and it was slow too. Very bad for those travel for business.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    As previous reviewers pointed out, the Wi-Fi at the hotel was spotty at best but it was not a major issue since I already had access through my cell phone carrier. If Wi-Fi is important during your travels, I would probably pre-arrange cell and data service with your phone carrier before arriving.

    Overall, I really enjoyed staying at this Hotel. If you are planning on visiting or touring Schorndorf itself, this is the hotel I would recommend staying. I felt the breakfast was very delicious and the staff were very helpful. Also learning about the property's history was very interesting as the hotel is built on top of the wall which used to protect this area. Schorndorf is a very beautiful town and the proud legacy of Daimler is displayed all over Schorndorf as he is their ultimate hometown hero.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No evening food - but this forced you to go out and explore the area.

    The hotel was located within easy walking distance of the central area of Schorndorf. Modern hotel, with everything a business traveller required. Quiet in the evening, excellent breakfast choice included in the price. Staff very welcoming and willing to help with taxis etc.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Minibar not working. We were here when it was very hot. the staff was so friendly that they provided a fan!

    Very happy with the comfortable bed the minibar was a plus, but unfortunately it did not work, but no problem.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Chose this hotel because of the convenience to work. It was decent. Parking situation was not the best. Had to pay to park underground. Seems this should be free.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room a bit too light; can't darken window with some kind of shade. Would prefer that Laugen Bretzeln were also offered at breakfast.

    Location is excellent and it is not too noisy despite being close to train station. Very clean and orderly. Bathroom is wonderfully appointed.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's very close from the station. We stayed there to enjoy Lokomotive. It's perfect location. Also, the breakfast is good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    WiFi access was quite low.

    Enough space for car parking.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lights in room, wifi

    Poor Wifi, but great location.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No WiFi in the rooms

    Modern

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Matelas moux

    La situation en centre de schorndorf

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy, no air conditioning.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Free Wifi didn't really work and poor facilities in room

    Decor was lovely and staff very friendly

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The terminal was not working 1 double bed had 2 small mattresses which were sliding to the side Empty mini bar

    Breakfast was very good Location

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The facade was in renovation, but I suppose it's temporary ;-)

    Very clean, great breakfast, personnel very helpful.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy location

    Room, bed, bathroom were good, especially the breakfast

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I had a room facing the train tracks which made the room noisy. I had to keep the window open to keep the room cool enough to sleep

    The facility and rooms were clean and modern

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    No facilities. Curtain in room did not fit the window. One coat hanger in the small wardrobe. Lighting was very dim. Requested an iron which was delivered quickly but no ironing board.

    Good location. Breakfast was pretty good

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wifi is most of the time unavailable and when available, very slow. Room was cold and took very long time to heat up.

    comfortanble bed, clean bathroom, close to train station. Nice breakfast buffet.

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Inflexible hotel rules; the reception staff however did their best. Very loud noises from street kept us awake. Cleaner never filled any empty soap and cream dispensers. Thick down duvets were too much in the very well heated building. Wifi connection slow.

    Great varied breakfast buffet and friendly waitresses. Rooms functional, minimalistically furnished. Location close to railway station and the old town.

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Check in time was strictly at 3 pm. We were a group that reserved 5 rooms. Four of us had flown overnight from the US one of us had flown in from Shanghai. The rooms were vacant but the desk person would not let us check in until 3 pm.even though we had booked 4 nights. Also no hotel staff is on the premises after 11pm.. No airconditioning in the hotel.

    Location in Schorndorf was perfect. A lovely walking town lots of cafes and restaurants.Good breakfast. Nice modern rooms. Very close to train station easy walk with baggage. Nicole was a great desk clerk.

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The Internet and TV didn't work during our stay. One day, the room had not been cleaned. Once the used towels were removed from our room and were not replaced. The toiletry kits were empty. Everything was falling apart - the stores, the lights, the handle of the door… It was over 30c in our room during the entirety of our stay. This used to be a very good hotel but our last stay was a big disappointment.

    Very well located.

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Really friendly and helpful staff.Location was perfect for the train station (2 mins walk) and for exploring the town. Great rail links to Stuttgart (30 mins) and to the airport (70 mins)

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    My room was very noisy (room 4 on the streets) but it is a holiday time tho

    Very good hotel, people nice and helpful. The train station is right there very convinient Awesome breakfast

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    room to backstreet was noisy due to neighbours playing loud music after midnight, rooms not climate controlled so I couldn't Close Windows (high summer season), towels were not cleaned properly, the welcome of receptionisthis not worth 129,- EURs

    Located right in the center of Schorndorf, Discount on public parking

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Room was a little Spartan for my taste.

    Great breakfast. Good location near train station.

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Comfortable room with just the right amount of space to relax in. Very happy that breakfast was included. It was very filling.

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Air conditioning was centralized. Too hot temperatures and food was too German didn't eat anything but fruits

    Liked staff

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The internet speed could be improved.

    Breakfast is very good and the location is excellent.

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Really slow reception team

    Good breakfast

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Close to train. Close to everything (Schorndorf isn't exactly huge). Very clean very nice and great look.

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Parking place is not available and the staff was not able to help me.

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    No hot drink or ironing facilities in room

    Location and breakfast, top quality coffee

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    poor / no wifi in room

There are also 12 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 37

Guests also reviewed these properties: