Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Schnookeloch This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Haspelgasse 8, Altstadt, 69117 Heidelberg, Germany

#6 of 14 B&Bs and Inns in Heidelberg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 990 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    10
    Great experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is not that far away but with all the baby stuff out would have been better if it was on the premises

    Extremely friendly reception. Very helpful. Room was clean and nice, bath was super.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    10
    Magnificent old town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location could not be better: edge of Heidelberg Altstadt; a 1-minute walk to the river Neckar. No need for a car to go anywhere. Idyllic for a 2-night stay: so much history; restaurants to suit all tastes and a good range of shops.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    10
    I enjoyed my stay at Hotel Schnookeloch
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The breakfast was good but could have included more fresh fruit choices.

    The room was lovely with a nice outdoor space. A little noisy at times due to the biergarten down below but quiet by 11 pm. The room was clean and the bed comfy. The hotel is in an old building so it has character.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    9.2
    We loved the hotel's accommodations and the staff who...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The strange part was that the Check-in, which was around the building and the signage to the Check-in was not clear so that made it a bit unclear and confusing. Secondly, The bathroom smelled like pee upon entering. We tried to flush a couple of times but that didn't help. When taking a shower the water completely came out, which was not good when trying to shower a little child when your standing on the outside.

    We loved the hotel's accommodations and the staff who provided directions as we were there.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    9.6
    Excellent location in the old town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast! Really wish we hadn’t paid for it. Terrible. Tricky carrying a heavy suitcase up the stairs.

    Friendly, helpful staff. Very thoughtful with map & marking out paths of interest to travel . Excellent location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    3.3
    Shower room
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Found the hotel but there is no reception, luckly bumped in to another guest who sent us to hotel two buildings down, from there was sent to underground Car park which was a good distance away which had no spaces marked for our hotel and tow away signs for incorrect parking so after driving round for 10 min phoned the hotel who told us to park in spaces marked for another hotel. Lugged our bags all the way back to hotel where we were shown our room and had my driving licence taken as a deposit for having a key to the carpark. We were on second floor but there were no lifts and didn't bother with breakfast, I presume it was in another hotel as there were no facilities in ours.

    Shower room

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    8.8
    Excellent value for money, would highy recommend for the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Single beds seemed narrow but I am a big guy...

    Excellent location near the bridge and restaurants, exceptionally friendly staff, the pub below is also great with a lovely atmosphere and a pianist Friday and Saturday playing modern stuff. Direct buses to the main station are 33, 34 and 735 and drop you outside or just over the old bridge.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    7.5
    Good. I could stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is a Restaurant at the entrance. Although I was staying at the top floor, there was a heavy and disturbing odour in the corridor. Fortunately not in the room. Bu the way the restaurant is great.

    Location was great. Decoration was minimal and calming.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    10
    I always feel welcome here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My only reservation is that as I get older the stairs are a bit of a problem. There is no lift and if you have one of the rooms on the top floor, which I did this time, hauling your bag up there is a real adventure. I am sure that had I asked the very friendly desk clerk, he would have helped me, but there is no bell service.

    I have stayed in this hotel every few years since 1977. I know the rooms before and after several renovations. They are very well done and the bathrooms are beautiful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    5.4
    I didn't like the cobwebs and the broken lamps.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I didn't like the cobwebs and the broken lamps. Also, previous guests had left two dirty pillows in the wardrobe. This should have been noticed by cleaning staff or at least the Manager!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    4.2
    Never again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room at third floor with no lift. No front dest. Check in has to be several blocks away with no sign in the building. Carpark was some 15 minutes walk, run by another hotel. I should have choose that hotel instead. Breakfast was served by a cafe nearby. Everything seems to be scattered.

    none

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    4.2
    Dark and small room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely rude receptionist. Not the first time he behaves this way have i heard from friends living in town. I had to pay for my 4 days stay at the reception before I was even showed the extremely small room. I guess they know well how little they have to offer and in their own way keeping the guest captive. I noticed all though it was Christmas, there were many other hotels nearby to choose instead. I would have canceled my reservations and moved to a real hotel instead. Will never go back and advice no one to do so.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    8.8
    Very enjoyable if a little exhausting enjoying Heidelberg Old Town and Castle.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing really. All good.

    We really like the fact that we were just around the corner from the truly brilliant Christmas Markets we wanted to visit. The three markets we used were well within a 5 minute easy walk and regard this hotel as a lucky find as others offered were more expensive and a long way walk from Heidelberg Old Town.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    8.3
    Very nice room in excellent location, great breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Guy at the reception didn’t know where the breakfast was and what time (he told us wrong location and times), besides couldn’t help us much with parking the car :|

    Very nice room in excellent location, great breakfast

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    5.4
    Very average rooms. Hope you like lots of stairs. Nice bathroom renovations in my room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking options are a joke. They referred me to a parking garage a kilometer away. Oh and good luck finding the hotel’s check-in office. It’s unmarked and is located around the block from the actual hotel.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    10
    A cosy, comfortable and convenient place to explore Heidelberg.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is one of several managed from a single service desk around the corner; parking is undercover at a garage a short walk away, and breakfast is provided at a local cafe. It worked well for us, but is not the 'usual' hotel arrangement.

    This hotel is in a very central location, close to the center of Heidelberg and an easy walk to sights, restaurants, shops, etc. The decor and facilities were modern, though the hotel is in a very old building. Our room was in the eaves, up many steps!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    9.2
    Right in the heart of it
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only negative (aside from the steep and narrow stairs) was the frustrating wifi. It was good once connected but logging on to it was a bit of a pain!

    Excellent position, close to the Alte Bruecke and good restaurants. All the key sights and transport close by. Good breakfast in a nearby cafe. The singe room was small but we'll equipped. Very clean.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    8.8
    Great quiet location, great restaurant and pub downstairs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking almost double the price quoted and not easy to find. Breakfast located up the street, not very friendly didn't come near us, not a lot of food left, no boiling water for tea.

    Excellent location, bright airy room, clean, comfortable beds.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    7.5
    It is locate near the tourist places, very easy to walk to.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The check in desk is elsewhere from the hotel. It is difficult for 1st time guest to find the check in desk. The parking place is a bit far from hotel and quite expensive. Also the breakfast place is elsewhere from hotel but it is just a few minute walk.

    It is locate near the tourist places, very easy to walk to.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    6.7
    The overall location was great but I would not stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed in the annex. I didn't feel very safe and it was hard to find. The parking was quite far and we had a lot of luggage so it was not very convenient.

    I liked being in the Aldstadt of Heidelberg

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    8.8
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Two flights of steep stairs. Parking at the public garage is quit a walk.

    Great location. Nice room with a modern bath room. Good value for the money. Very good breakfast at a restaurant up the block.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    7.5
    Nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some noise but mainly smell from the restaurant downstairs. On the second day bread was only ready at 8.00 when breakfast started at 7.30 which was a bit inconvenient since we had to leave early. We were told we were able to get in and out of the parking with a trailer but that was unfortunately not the case.

    Awesome location. Nice, decent room (nr 24) with a lovely little terrace. Safe parking in garage a few hundred meters away. Did not have to pay extra for our camper-trailer which was much appreciated. Breakfast was simple with lovely fresh baked bread.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    7.5
    Enjoyed trip very much.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Our room overlooked the street which was very noisy on Saturday night, other nights were ok. No lift in hotel, ok if you are young and fit not so good for OAP's Tea/coffee making facilities in room would have been a nice touch.

    Location excellent for restaurants, shops, castle and river. Breakfast was good in cafe 50 yards away. Restaurant within hotel was very good, only used once as we wanted to try other places but would use again. Worth buying a "Heidleberg Card" gives free travel and discounts to attractions and some shops.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    9.6
    A super position right in the middle of all the action.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no parking at the hotel and one had to park at one of the parking garages at least 6 minutes walk away. Also breakfast was not served at the hotel but at a restaurant 2 min walk away, however the breakfast was adequate. We would visit again but next time would request a room lower down, we were on the 4th floor and steps were very steep, not suitable for elderly people

    It was in a super position in the Alstadt to enable one to see everything. We found it very comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    4.6
    Never again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast is in a restaurant a distance from the hotel and reception is located in another Street. The pillows were non existent. The pillow wasn't even a lump of Form,very poor hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    8.8
    I liked the staff proficiency, the bed comfort, the overall...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The parking is 5 min away from the hotel : take notice ! Their are good windows but you ear the truck traffic in the morning. Yet, nothing too disturbing...

    I liked the staff proficiency, the bed comfort, the overall quietness and the nice big bathroom

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    7.1
    Great location in old town near oak bridge. Lots of restaurants and shopping close by.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning. Very noisy outside until almost 4:00AM (on a Saturday night) Not really a hotel, just rooms above a bar. Check in location not easy to find.

    Excellent location in old town. Staff were very nice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    7.1
    Great location, friendly staff, good food in the restaurant!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very noisy at night! Had to keep the windows open due to very humid/hot weather and no A/C. People coming and going(loudly) all hours of the night from apartments directly across the biergarten. If I ever stayed at this hotel again it would be in the Fall/Winter, and not in Room 15!!

    Great location, friendly staff, good food in the restaurant!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    8.3
    Staff was excelent (Thomas is very nice).
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lots of narrow long stairs. Could be a problem for older people.

    Staff was excelent (Thomas is very nice). Location is just behind the main square, very near all major attractions. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    9.2
    In the centre of Old Heidelberg.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We would be glad if there was a kettle in the room.

    Very friendly welcome at the reception which is in the next building. A good breakfast is served at the Café Knösel. A comfortable, spacious and clean room. All major attractions are in the walking distance.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    7.5
    Clean in historic building
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    access to 2nd floor difficult for people with mobility problems. Check in, hotel and breakfast all in separate locations. Late night revellers make room noisy late on.

    Airy room clean and spacious bathroom

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    7.5
    Excellent location, not so great for bigger families
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Guest bed was a very loud and uncomfortable sofa. No elevator and 3 floors were hard with the baby and stuff.

    Bathroom was great, breakfast at the nearby cafe was also very good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    7.1
    The location is very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was a dissapointment. Very limited choice and the table were not topped up when something was finished. The rooms are not sound proof, so it was quite noisy from early in the morning.

    The location is very good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    8.8
    Excellent location with clean rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location with clean rooms. Unfortunately our stay was for one short night with a quick turn around the next morning. Definitely going back to explore the city!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    9.2
    Liked it!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel lobby around the corner from the hotel, breakfast was up the street from the hotel. Discounted parking was a good bit away from the hotel. No controlled access to the hotel rooms.

    Great room, updated bathroom. Had plenty of room for two.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    9.2
    No complaints. A most enjoyable trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit noisy in the street the first night but quieter after that. Better with the windows closed.

    The room and bathroom were very spacious and spotlessly clean. We had a front facing room which was a bit noisy one night but ok with the windows closed. Would not stop us going back to the same room.There are rooms to the back which may be quieter. Beds and pillows were comfortable. Location was perfect. We had a front facing room. Staff were very cheerful and helpful at all times. The breakfast was taken in a restaurant almost next door and was fresh and sufficient with fresh orange juice, cereals, yoghurt, cold meats, cheese, tomatoes, cucumber, olives, a good selection of rolls and croissants and jam.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    6.3
    Great town centre and river location though little sleep as small rooms noisy & stuffy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was not a hotel but a small bed room above a noisy pub on a noisy street which was hot and stuffy and Ill to ventilate due to noise from the bars and restaurants in the street. The car park was far away and though with a reduction still had to pay 8 euros. Realistically you can only sleep once all the public and staff have left at about 11:30pm until 6am when all the noise starts again. Also there were stains on the seat covers of the arm chairs, one of which looked highly suspect so we didn't use them. There is also no lift so only bring overnight bag as difficult to get luggage up the stairs. We should have done more research before booking, book with haste and repent at leisure! Wifi was also not brilliant.

    Bathroom and shower was good, modern interior and good matress on bed. Although the breakfast is served at a cafe down the road, the restaurant was nice and the breakfast basic but ok. If you are young and want to stay out late and are not worried about getting much sleep then this is the perfect location for you. It is right in the old town and close to the river which gives a nice breeze on what was a very hot day!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    9.2
    Great stay! Comfy room with modern bathroom. Close to the bridge and Philosopher's walk.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    not really anything. only thing was i asked to check out a half hour later than check out time and got MAJOR attitude from the cleaning woman. but perhaps that's not something people do in germany. who knows. other than that, great!

    the room was great, overlooking a courtyard. the complimentary breakfast was at a restaurant down the street, tasty albeit regular german fare

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    8.3
    Great location, comfortable room!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was difficult to locate because you had to check in at another location around the corner. Also, there were lots of stairs and no elevator.....but that was okay with us because we like the exercise!

    The bathroom was the best part of the room! It was modern and very nice! The room was rather plain but the beds were comfortable and we enjoyed our stay here.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2017

    10
    Great place to stay!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet reception on the 3rd floor would sometimes disconnect out of the blue.

    Great breakfast and excellent staff. I liked the room design and the cleanliess.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    8.3
    Everything was really nice, except the poor quality of wifi...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was really nice, except the poor quality of wifi and 3rd floor room with very steep stairs, no lift. But that's Heidelberg, a beautiful city. Wonderful bathroom, a bliss!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2017

    9.2
    A great spot
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The website should give instructions on the fact that the hotel has a parking arrangement with one of the garages in town.

    The location of Hotel Schnookeloch is brilliant, the price is very reasonable, and the facilities are modern and comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2017

    7.1
    Nice location, nice bathroom.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Reception and breakfast in another hotel around the corner, so you have to get outside to take breakfast. Breakfast quite simple, but staff very friendly. For couples: double beds are two single beds put side by side.

    Nice location, nice bathroom. Modernized rooms in a (former?) fraternity building.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2017

    8.3
    Location excellent - Hotel is in walking distance of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Sleeper couch for 3rd person very uncomfortable.

    Location excellent - Hotel is in walking distance of everything! Will definitely stay here again. Heidelberg is a must see in Germany.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    9.6
    Great place, newly renovated, definitely recommend it, just no easy parking / access
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is a ~8 minute walk away and you cannot drive up to the hotel, you need to unload at the neighbouring Four Seasons. They offer to carry your bags for you but this is clearly 1 disadvantage of being in the old city pedestrian area. Overall doable though and worth the inconvenience to stay at this historic and high quality hotel.

    Fantastic location, clean and tasteful rooms, very modern and updated, great showers, really fun, traditional restaurant with old student fraternity regalia that alone is worth the visit, good and cheap, tasty eats and beer, friendly service, overall happy with our visit and would definitely return. Oddly, the mashed potatoes were the best I've ever had in my life. Also liked the 1 liter beer in a boot. Kids were very happy with the whole experience.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2016

    10
    Great location, good rooms, overall great and would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast is terrible - I'd skip it and go somewhere else personally. They had a few different breads, a pretzel roll, soft eggs only, maybe some cheese (can't remember), butter and jam, juice, and coffee. I believe that was it.

    Overall this hotel was perfect for us. The rooms were a good size, the bathroom was updated and the shower had great water pressure, the location couldn't have been better, it was mostly quiet although you could hear people in the hallways if they were close, and the bed was comfy enough for me.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2016

    8.8
    Nice stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Finding the reception took a while as it was around the corner from the hotel, which was weird, not clear and a but confusing. A sign or something on the door for the Schnookeloch entrance would have been nice. And if there was a sign, it definitely was not clear. Also the internet, while free, didn't work in the rooms, which was not appreciated by my family visiting from the states.

    The location is excellent! Easy walking distance from everything. Loved the rooms! the decor and the bathrooms, where modern while the feel of the building had old charm to it. We even had a balcony! Breakfast selection was good. Standard breakfast fair, eggs, meats, veggies and bread, all served in the restaurant downstairs. Staff was friendly. And there was a discount at the parking garage which was nice.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    8.8
    Characterful pub with tasteful accommodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I found it a little hard to locate the reception entrance to check in. It is on the Neckar riverside and doesn't bear the hotel name; whereas the entrance to the accommodation is around the corner on Haspelgasse. Not a major issue, just a little confusing and worth noting as a tip!

    The location and proximity to the attractions is excellent. The hotel is located right near the old bridge (Alter Brücke) so all sights, such as the town squares, markets and the Philosopher's Way, are within easy walking distance. Room was clean and bright, compact yet very practical. Breakfast was basic yet tasty, served at the hotel's pub which is well worth a look at too! Staff were always very courteous and helpful. I would happily stay there again.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    10
    The right place to see the City.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wi Fi quit in the evening and could not get on in the morning. It would be nice to know there are several flights of stairs involved. THis wasn't on the page when looking at the Hotel.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    5.8
    Smells bad
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was a terrible smell in the room. Don't have elevator. Breakfast very simple, The wood floor makes a noise.

    Location and the room space were good

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    8.8
    Location is very good, room is nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only problem is that it took like 10 minutes for them to find my reservation, it had never happened with booking.com. The lady found it, but at the beginning she was more challenging that helpful

    Location is very good, room is nice.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    2.9
    Although the location is good , don't stay in this (H)Motel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    1. There is no lift if you have luggages. 2. The breakfast was horrible 3. The light was broken in my room 4. The internet connection was worse 5. The bed sheets and duvet was not clean as I was itching almost the whole night 6.The reception was away from the main building and there was no sign. 7. It was like a MOTEL.

    Location however there are other hotels which are better than this one So next time I am staying in another hotel.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    7.9
    Can't beat the location and room size.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Noisy- kept awake first night with noise from bars below- need to sleep with windows shut and recommend ear plugs. Quieter on second night.

    Large bright rooms and location is impossible to beat-central and a two minute walk to market square, castle station, Alte Bruke gate and the Philosopher's Walk. Nice modern and clean bathrooms.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2016

    8.8
    Excellent place, close to town centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking limited round hotel Not good if you have mobility problems as no lift

    Walking distance to all attractions in the town. Inclusive ticket on fernicular railway good value for money

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    8.3
    Excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was excellent and the bathrooms very well appointed. The restaurant downstairs looked good and had a small beer garden. The nearest parking was a five minute walk away but was discounted for hotel guests.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    9.2
    Short stay in Heidelberg
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location was excellent, walking distance from where we wanted to go. The bathroom was new and everything was working fine. We had a fantastic stay in Heidelberg.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    4.6
    Pay for the location and bear the rest
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel is located in a very noisy street (loud until ca. 3am). Best not to have street-facing room. Parking requires finding a car park off-site and is not included in the price. Breakfast is not good. Service is truly awful. Coffee, joghurt, milk only replenished with resentfulness. Croissants not replenished at all. Not a pleasant experience.

    The room had plenty of space and the bathroom had good fittings. The location is in the Altstadt and therefore very convenient for sightseeing and for eating/drinking.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2016

    7.1
    Nice room with walk-out patio which created a nice...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    breakfast included with room, but rather limited.

    Nice room with walk-out patio which created a nice cross-breeze. Bathroom was fantastic, huge shower.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    10
    Nice little hotel, good rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice little hotel, good rooms. Good service, Good evening restaurant. Dog no problem

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    10
    Location - perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    5th floor difficult stairs

    Location - perfect Staff helpfull

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    10
    Brilliant, would definitely stop here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Fantastic little hotel, right in the centre of town, the staff were very helpful

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    7.9
    Very nice bathroom, comfortable beds and cleanliness.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    No hot dishes for breakfast.

    Very nice bathroom, comfortable beds and cleanliness.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    6.7
    The old lady...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Access with car is complex. Lot of old style stairs. Noisy - missing modern noise reduction windows. Too hot for summer.

    Location is central

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    8.8
    We are looking forward to staying here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Were very happy, no complaints

    The hotel was very clean. The staff's ability to communicate clearly was perfect. The food was fresh and good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    6.3
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    9.2
    Great staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great staff. Great location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    9.2
    Highly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception and the breakfast room are located in another hotel.

    Very friendly staff and awesome room (beautiful bathroom).

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    6.3
    Good Location
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Furnitures in the room might be better. The breakfast was limited.

    Location and very helpful personals

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    9.2
    I would advise to have more items for breakfast like eggs...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would advise to have more items for breakfast like eggs and different types of cheese which are basic food items in breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    8.3
    Easy to access, 24h parking nearby, great location to enjoy old town
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reastaurant near the accomodation is worth a try (same entrance) live piano on Fri & Sat

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    10
    Very close to the historical center and marketplace.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very close to the historical center and marketplace. Very clean.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    9.2
    Great location, friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, friendly staff

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    7.5
    Location and cleanliness
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast room not in same building.

    Location and cleanliness

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    7.1
    View and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds

    View and location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    10
    Enjoyed a lovely few days in the beautiful city of Heidelberg.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!!

    Perfect setting right in the centre of the old own. Very old property with a lot of charm but tastefully renovated and decorated.

    Stayed in October 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: