Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Union This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Münchener Str. 52, Bahnhofsviertel, 60329 Frankfurt/Main, Germany

#215 of 221 hotels in Frankfurt/Main

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 458 hotel reviews

6.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    5.7

  • Comfort

    5.1

  • Location

    7.2

  • Facilities

    5.2

  • Staff

    7.1

  • Value for money

    6

  • Free WiFi

    6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a disaster. At least 2 out of us 7 had a skin rash after sleeping one night there

    It was a disaster. At least 2 out of us 7 had a skin rash after sleeping one night there

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I asked them to clean the room but they always forget to clean the bathroom ..the noise was horrible outside at the street .rooms very very small ..too many drunk and addicts hanging around

    Staff are kinde

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms not clean, small, really hot and sweaty rooms, shower didn’t work properly. On a really noisy street, very little sleep you will get here, especially in the summer

    Location good. Desk staff friendly

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Got RIPPED OFF 30 euro by bus company EURO LINES.MISLEADING advertising & instructions !! Their office is close to the station at Frankfurt.

    Hotel & staff were fine.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom cramped restaurant below was very noisy and smelly. It was worth 45€ but not the €175 charged during the festival. I

    Handy for trams and trains

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One star is even too much. What a horrible stay. The rooms are old and dirty. The shower was not usable, it was not hygienic at all. The towels and bedsheets smelled so bad that I used a worn t-shirt to cover up as much as possible. The breakfast was not even to mention, disgusting. The worst part was the awful noises and constant music coming from outside, we couldn't close the window, because it was broken. If you can afford 10-20€ more for a night, don't hesitate to check in somewhere else.

    Nichts.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No sockets to charge phone. One room TV was disconnected. No shower curtain in one room. Toilet light switch was difficult to access.

    Staff friendly and rooms were clean and large space available.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The room was not soundproof.

    Staffs are friendly and helpful. 3mins walk to central train station which is very convenient. although the street doesn't look safe but actually its safe. The street has many different types of food variety

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Neighborhood is dreadful. Would not stay again on Munchenstrasse in general. Homeless people (mostly immigrants), beggers, etc. Room was not clean, cleaning lady not precise(didn't replace towels she took from room), asked reception to get new ones, they never arrived. Wifi was down all the time. (even they tried to reboot it three times.)

    Location is central

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean, well maintained rooms , new mattresses . Cozy room with a home feeling. Delicious breakfast served in clean and nice dining room. 10 min walk from the town centre . Free parking on site for 4 cars . Nice and polite owners.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    After an 11 hour flight from the tropics, into a cold raining Germany, a smiling frond desk gentleman welcomed me and who did all possible to check me in faster and help me with a hot tea to get warm. + Clean Room, Good Heating, Excellent Location.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy because of busy street. Curtains are not good to stop light coming from streetlamps.

    Location is good. Room is smaller but enough for two persons.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Im not happy that the wifi didn't work on any device we had, the shampoo was empty and wasn't restocked. At one point we had no towels in the room so that evening I had to go to reception and collect some. The biggest negative is the room was advertised as having soundproof rooms however we had a thin door between our room and next door, we could hear everything they did including the TV on all night to coughing and them using the toilet which was absolutely disgusting 🤢

    I liked the friendly staff and breakfast,also the location was perfect 5 min walk from station

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Grubby. Shower gel not replaced even if I had unmounted the empty tube and put it above the wash basin. Worst of all, my luggage was searched while in custody of the reception, and a considerable amount of cash stolen. Unfortunately I have realized it only when it was too late, after departure by train.

    The only detail that speaks in favor of the hotel is it's location near the main station.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dirty, smelly, and on a loud/busy street. Won't stay here again even if it's the cheapest option.

    Cheapest room during our travel dates. Close proximity to train station.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wasn't clean (especially carpets and the bathroom) and very old. The neighborhood is also very dirty, extremely noisy (during the night) and really unsafe. The staff was not helpful either as I had an argument with him due to early (check-in date at 4pm) withdrawal of money from the card I used for booking even though it appears as "direct payment to hotel" in booking.com. He asked for a 10% cancelletion cost which I didn't accept. I would warn anyone going to Frankfurt to stay somewhere else.

    Basically nothing

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms need aircon as it was incredibly hot and with windows open it was impossible to sleep given the partying, noise and drinking taking place in the area.

    The property had no aircon and with windows open it was impossible to sleep, given the partying, noise and drinking taking place in the area. Positives were that the staff were very friendly and helpful and the hotel was incredibly close to the station.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was no AC in the room. Because of that we had to keep the window open and the view was on the street that turns into party place during the night. Felt a bit like sleeping on a bus stop. The water was too hot and there was only hot water. We got another room with a fan this time, but the fan was taken away the next night for some reason. Breakfast ok, but rather cheap.

    The location is very convenient, close to the Hauptbahnhof, and you can leave your luggage when checked out.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Everything specific to the hotel was fine. There was a family located on my floor and when they open and close the door and run around, the door was not that sound proof to hear nothing of that.

    Very close to the train station (4 minutes away and then a 12 minutes train ride to the airport). Only a 20 minute walk to the city center as well. Many little restaurants and bars in the streets close to the hotel. Breakfast offered enough variety to be able to eat something different each of the 4 mornings.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I found a cigarette in the toilet that would not flush down after multiple attempts. The electrical lamp next to one of the beds was missing and the wiring was sticking out of the wall (looked dangerous). The lamp was wall mounted next to the other bed. Noisy neighbours.

    Value for money.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is noisy....lot's of drug addicts.things in the Frankfurt city are changing drastically. So I'll be not staying near the station again

    Staff is nice

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This Hotel is close to the Central Train Station, which is not a nice Zone. This is more a refugee's lodging than a Hotel per se

    This Hotel is close to the Central Train Station.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We found cockroach in the room,the toilet brush had feaces on it which was disgusting,the shower curtains was to small and water goes everywhere when u bath,tv placed too high for comfort to watch.Overall felt sick cos could not have fun cos I was physically irritated.

    It was close to where we wanted to visit

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff really friendly, I had to reach the airport and I got from them timetables, directions etc...

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    worst hotel ever

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything is comfortable

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Too much noise from the ventilation unit on the terrace outside the room!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No Internet... even though they said there will be.

    The friendliness of the staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is poor, dishes are sometimes not so clean. Soundproofing is bad.

    Location is convenient. The room is small but clean.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    location and price unbeatable

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    room is too small.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not properly furnished inside of rooms and wash rooms is bad conditioned even no lights, value paid not worth.

    Central location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The noise from the street. The window was not soundproof.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I have found bed worm in my room. Breakfast is awful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Every single bit, noise, bright light, drafty no sleep and rotten breakfast

    Nothing

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very poor breakfast.

    Clean bathroom.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    3 out of 4 nights without light in the bathroom, 2 days without hand soap - no discount offered

    nothing

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was disturbance from outside through out the night. Very noisy location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms not very clean, one of the rooms was not soundproof at all, some room equipment was broken (phone, one light)

    Close to the main station

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    no complaint

    yes ok

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    View from the room window.

    Very convenient location. Friendly personal. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The annoying sound of music and people shouting on the street during the night untill morning! Also it was too hot in the room.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lot of street noise (depends on location of the room i think), no aircon in the room :(

    Good breakfast, good bed, perfect location, nice people.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff slept and it was hard for us to come in at night since the keys we were to leave them at the reception.

    Close to the RAILWAY station.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No breakfast

    Location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Mattress could've been better, as well as curtains.

    Friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    old property, small rooms

    near to the railway station

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Street with lot of noisy, drug's and girls

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Room was too small

    Location, Breakfast, Stuff,

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing good

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Close to central station. Nice connection with public transport

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    good location

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    WiFi kept switching off time to time

    Friendly staff and great location.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel has a funny smell, what you see in photos it's not what you see in hotel.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    noise from street level, and no fan in the room. The only way to get any air movement in the room was to open the window....

    The price was good.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Noise from the street

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no adequate ventilation, too small

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was clean but they had a problem with bugs! In the toilet when it's evening the bugs were in there! At least none in the room. Just avoid the toilet in the evening

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The station area around the hotel is decidedly unpleasant, so the proximity of the hotel to the station is a bonus if one stays in that area

    Staff were eager to help and obliging

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Bad booking rating and description of the stars and accommodation.

    Nothing. In booking it was a 3 star hôtel and when I get there I knew ut was only 2 star

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast was unusually frugal for Germany but it suddenly improved after the owners visit. Otherwise the hotel was adequate, clean and convenient for the rates charged.

    Very convenient for main station and trams

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    According to booking.com american breakfast was to be served. In reality there was nothing American whatsoever about the tiny breakfast that was a sad joke really

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The negligence of maintenance would have led to casualty as the toilet door for Room 16, 1st floor sudden fell on the bed almost chopping off my legs on the 29th July 2015. The door pulled out from the frame and almost demagong my legs. Thank God I was saved. I later saw a sole tape on the hinges meaning the door was defective. A bad experience!

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I stayed there for two nights on a business trip. I am use to low standard hotels but I think I will not stay there again. The bathroom door was loose and actually fell off the hinges. Seeing that it had previously been fastened with some painters tape I just but it back in its place. When coming back to the hotel from a meeting I waited in the empty lobby for an employee to give me my room key. After about twenty minutes I decided to go behind the counter and fetch the key myself. The problem with leaving the lobby empty for so long is that abyone could do that. On my second day there were no towels in the room and I had to get them from the lobby. I'm not sure it's because.the roomkeepers just forgot to renew the towels because I found out that other guests had the same problem.

    On the plus side: wifi works fine, location is great and the breabreakfasr was not all bad.

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2015

    • Group

    Cleanliness was average No iron,breakfast ordinary No tea No drinking water No beverages

    excellent location Market Resturant halal Mosque City centre near

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    small sized room

    Nice place and people

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2016

    • Solo traveller

    small room, bathroom curtain in the shower

    comfortable bed, friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Extremely dirty; cockroaches, hair, stains...

    Pleasant staff, excellent location

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2016

    • Solo traveller

    Pay cheap. Get cheap.

    Great location for train station. Very cheap

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Cleaning

    Staff

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    room is quite old. The worst is wifi signal which is unstable and cannot connect finally.

    Staff is nice. Location is best.

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2015

    • Solo traveller

    Very friendly staff. Very good location.

There are also 43 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Union traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: