Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Van der Valk Hotel Hildesheim This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Markt 4, GPS: Jakobistraße, 31134 Hildesheim, Germany

#3 of 25 hotels in Hildesheim

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1070 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    9

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was awfully soft - worst I've had in many years. Lunch and dinner options are kind of OK, but nothing brilliant - typical of small-town Germany. The chef could be way more adventurous.

    Great room with lovely view of the historical market-place. Excellent breakfast buffet. Spacious room. Really helpful and friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very nice and clean hotel. Room is luxury wonderful, waterpool is modern and spacious. Breakfasts in restaurant is perfect: fresh juice, vegetables and fruits, different cheeses, a rich choice of coffee. Staff is kind and helpful. Location of the hotel is also very good - it is situated in the center of the old part of the city.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Van Der Valk hotel is situated in the beautiful market square in Hildesheim, the room we had was overlooking the Christmas market , the room was absolutely spotless . We couldn't fault our stay , a lovely hotel in a prime location.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A very beautiful hotel that couldn't be located better. Parking is in a garage underneath the house and quite affordable for 9.50. The room was lovely, the minibar can be used free of charge. Nothing could have been better.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I'd say the cleaning work was well done, but more than expected. "More than expected" is because a cleaning lady took away my apple from the fridge. :-(

    (1) perfect location (2) relatively cheap (I got a great discount offer because of luck) (3) clean (4) friendly reception

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They gave me an upgrade, so I could enjoy a fantastic room! Double king size bed, douplex distribution with 4m high walls, very modern bathroom. I also enjoyed a lot the spa with sauna and swimmingpool.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Leaving.

    Excellent shower. Comfy bed. Location is perfect, with tourists constantly taking photos of the hotel from outside. Good wifi (even worked in the restaurant next door!) Breakfast very good too.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The plaza adjacent to the property was picturesque & wonderful to sit in (see the picture). Nice places to walk for shopping, browsing, eating about a short block away. Got to watch some weddings take place at the City offices while having breakfast outside.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel accepts dogs, but the restaurant doesn't. Be prepared to leave the dog in the room while you are taking breakfast.

    This is an excellent hotel in a beautiful location. Next time, I will ask for a room facing the square.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room's AC wasn't working and had to wait 3+ hrs until we get news for the room change/upgrade. The change could have been quicker. But I did get the room upgrade to a corner room with fully working A/C!

    Nicely renovated room and facilities with great decoration and cleanness including Gym and restaurant. Be aware that the sauna doesn't work and no staffs are around in that area for assistance. But the location is hard to beat with everything (restaurant, Unesco places, shopping areas) in walking distance !

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The price of breakfast, but if you want convenience within the hotel, or a huge amount of food, the hotel's breakfast will suit you perfectly.

    The hotel, well decorated and well maintained, has an excellent staff. I recall mentioning Marcel G, a trainee, as being courteous in a natural way, multi-lingual, and efficient, but there were other helpful people as well. The hotel is suitable for both leisure and business guests, and there were some of both. There is a restaurant in the building, and others nearby. I think I recall that the abundant breakfast, nicely presented, was quite expensive but there are alternatives very close to the hotel, from bakeries to cafe-restaurants. Our room did not face the market square, but it would be good to ask for that amazing and beautiful view. That may require an upgraded room price, but you are likely to think it is worth paying for. We had no complaints about our room, however, and it was quiet. The location is central, so that you can easily walk to the major sights. They include the churches of St. Michael, the cathedral, and St. Godehard. Be sure to visit the cathedral treasury. A chief work of medieval art is the two-paneled bronze door slightly hidden behind the western wall in its church. It shows the story of Adam and Eve on one side, and the story of Jesus's redemption of their sins on the other side, in vivid storytelling.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Best location, in heart of old town and near train station. Fair value.Good wifi, inroom, safe, quiet room, no noise, helpful staff, conditioned air.Good enough fitness center, Nice view from room, Perfect

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Would be nice if the breakfast was included in the price of the room

    The room was very well decorated and clean and appealing. The bed was very comfortable and the swimming pool an extra bonus.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 415 was without a proper window, the window very very small and is not accessible I felt that I was in a storage room, the photo below describes it , very disappointed as the hotel management consider it normal in their response to my complaint and justify it for high demand on cebit week event, will never back again

    Location is good and breakfast well served

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It would be good to include more information on the transportation options (taxi and public transport) and approximate costs to/from the airport and the Deutsche messe.

    Beautiful hotel. Comfortable stay and wonderful staff.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is very clean, and set in a beautiful location. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. The room had a great view of the market square. Upon return I will stay at this hotel.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    1] Wifi signal was very unstable in the room; we could not even use it to check maps. 2] The sauna was separate for men and women; rather disappointing for a couple. 3] There was no soap for washing hands in the bathroom (if we did not want to wash them in the shower).

    1] Free non-alcoholic minibar in the room. 2] Generally well equipped and comfortable room.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Great Location and facilities,Good breakfast,Extremely professional and helpful staff. Most impressed when the waitress brought my dog a bowl of fresh water outside with breakfast !

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A misleading photo on the booking.com website of the old front of the building led us to believe that the hotel was in a historic building and with rooms and decorations in keeping with it; when in fact the construction which lies behind the façade is modern and characterless with even the historic front rooms decorated unsympathetically and in a 1990's "corporate" fashion. This was not what we were expecting from the booking.com site and was disappointing to us.

    Excellent city centre location

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked a double deluxe room and didn't really find anything that deluxe about it. It was a nice room but too small. Nowhere for 2 people travelling to unpack sufficiently.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking is rather difficult. Our second night we had to park a few blocks away from the hotel.

    The location was beautiful and the hotel was amazing. We had a suite and could not have been more pleased.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi was only disappointment.

    Well located and superb room. Lovely decor.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I did not find anything to dislike...

    Wonderful place - can only be recommended…….

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking path

    Everything was great!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The path to parking place was narrow.

    Everything was great. I will stay there again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Central Location, Great breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had problem with their wifi which caused huge frustration

    Great location and lovely rooms

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too oily bacon / sausages. Maybe better drained the oil first before serving.

    More selection on breads.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice staff, big family room, great breakfast and nice pool area. Good parking and location. Hildesheim is a beautiful village!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They Could have hair conditioner in the bathroom.

    Excellent breakfast and parking under the hotel.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful place, simple procedures for check in and out, great breakfast and excellent wifi if you need to work

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the setup and the room was very clean and the bathroom is prepared

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wonderful bed, fantastic thoughtful yet unobtrusive staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Restaurant cleanliness

    Good breakfast good accommodation and facilities (fitnes+ pool)

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Room, location, breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property and service was outstanding. The location could not have been any better. Really is an outstanding hotel all around.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    5th stay. Great hotel, great location in a great city. Nuff said :-)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A perfect stay, a very good breakfast, the place is beautiful just at the old town square and the swimming pool is a bonus.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    breakfast

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If it was not so noicy from the corridor I would give the hotel Excellent. The door to the room was very thin.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The city outside the square was not especially interesting.

    Nice location, comfortable beds and great breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic place :)

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, all good

    Had a lovely quiet room to the inside

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Orange juice machine! Great breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The one who clean the room

    Sir gut

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was not as clean as it could of been, stairs mainly

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked breakfast included.

    Location was perfect with the Christmas Market directly out the hotel doors.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows too high and staff refused to change, restaurant service way too slow, heating constantly turned off every day

    Central location

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking cost

    Location is brilliant

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing was bad

    Nice hotel Nice bar Kind reception Parking

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location and quality

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room smelled bad

    Great Location, friendly staff, easy booking, bar and restaurant on the main level

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking was BAD and you need to be sure we can park for free next time

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Nothing negative.

    Rooms were cleaned when requested; laundry service; excellent breakfast selections; good evening menu; English-speaking staff.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    there was odd smell in the room and no paper tissues in the toilets (box was empty)

    great location, big room comfortable bed

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice hotel, lovely staff and great breakfast. In a great location leading on to Market Square

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We liked it all

    Wonderful position on the superb market square. Excellent, comfortable hotel, on site parking,outstanding breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2016

    • Business trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    bed too hard

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel is in the very center of town incorporating three historic buildings on the historic town square. We were in the center of everything and could walk to the World Culture Heritage sites in town. The room we had overlooked the square and it was a large bright room. The hotel had a great bar and the restaurant was wonderful.

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Small duvets instead of one large cover for king bed. Pillows could have been better

    Nice room; Great location in town square; really good restaurant on site

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The single rooms are surprisingly spacious as are the superior doubles. The hotel itself is absolutely gorgeous. Breakfast was a marvelous spread, and catching dinner at the hotel is an absolute must. While there is no official parking, there is a parking structure located beneath the hotel with direct access, getting your parking validated by the hotel will give you a discount on the price. Overall this is a wonderful hotel, and if you're looking to stay in Hildesheim it is the best place you could choose.

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Trying to find hotel in the car - desperate through the Hildesheim one way streets!

    Very nicely decorated room with all amenities kept very clean, very good value for money.

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent central location with underground parking and large comfortable well-equipped room. We also stayed in their Sneek hotel in The Netherlands on this trip and will definitely be looking to use van der Valk hotels again.

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing, everything was as it should be.

    The location and the attention to detail of the restaurant staff when they were told my wife had a lactose intolerance.

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Prime location in Hildescheim market square-room overlooked square so stunning view Free mini bar (soft drinks) Tasteful modern decor Bustling bar and restaurant Nice pool (although no jacuzzi if being picky) Very convenient parking Staff delightful Superb value for money

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    We felt the personal didn't go that extra mile. Not that they were unpolite or did not answer questions we had. They even fixed a problem with the ventilation in our bathroom (from which it smelled from the kitchen in the restaurant in the same building). But the feeling was a bit stiff. A smile doesn't cost anything and would considerably add to the charm of the establishment.

    Lovely situated at the picturesque city square, comfortable and clean rooms with great view of the square. Nice facilities (especially the pool, and a small but nice gym) and a great restaurant in the same building.

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The check-in was a little more compliclated than expected for a hotel in this category. The staff member had big difficulties understanding our reservation and who we were though we told her many times conferring to the printed booking confirmation. Eventually we got our 2 rooms but not next to each other though they were in the same category.

    The location

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent hotel in a perfect location. Make sure you book a room with a view over the old market. We had a three course dinner sitting outside (dog is not welcome in the restaurant) and that was great too.

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Smell of smoking was coming from the bar into the restaurant, it was annoying. Wifi was not stable whole weekend.

    The room was clean and comfortable, free mini bar is plus.

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    We were expected to collect our gowns and slippers from the front desk as they were not available in our rooms. The internet failed and was not fixed upon request. The changing rooms for the swimming pool was non-existent and shower rooms were limited to one. The Sauna was within the changing room area and there was no steam room. The surface around the pool was extremely slippery although clean and well presented.

    The hotel is beautifully presented and has lovely features with the lobby. Staff are very helpful and welcoming. Rooms are of a good size and clean with a modern touch. The swimming pool is nicely laid out with private access. There is a secure car park downstairs with private access to the hotel.

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The restaurant was overcrowded and suffocating, and it smelled strongly of fish.

    The room was quite large and well equipped. The staff at reception was very friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Modern and commfortable hotel in one of the most faschinating part of Hildersheim.

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The bed was not good.

    The best location in town you could wish

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    ..... ?

    Lunch packet 10/10

There are also 50 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Van der Valk Hotel Hildesheim traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: