Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Carolinenhof 3 stars

Landhausstr. 10, Charlottenburg-Wilmersdorf, 10717 Berlin, Germany

#228 of 579 hotels in Berlin

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 577 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 62

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    My room faced the street and was rather noisy both at night and very early in the morning. There is no airconditioning in the hotel and no fridge or kettle in the room. The fitness room and the sauna were closed.

    The hotel's location is excellent, just a few mintunes' walk from two underground stations. The garden is tranquil.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Single Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    1) Wifi was broken, 2) the hotel seems to be still going through renovation, which means construction noise in the morning and paint fumes that ignite the worst allergies, 3) In recent years, German summers are becoming more like southern California than Europe, yet the hotel lacks air-conditioning!

    The location was somewhat convenient.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Style and layout of the room are very old, small desk, TV on the desk, no place to work and place your stuff, useless furniture in the room to fill up space, no mini bar, mattress so old like in military barrack beds, my vertebrae had to stay parabolic all night, wash sink so small had to wash my hands one by one, and no shampoo, typical one fluid for all hair and body. Curtains were almost transparent, it woke me up very early, the whole room was full of sunlight!

    Flexible cooperative staff, old style, customer friendly and practical. Nice breakfast. Good wi-fi. Well illuminated.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was very nise and comfortable. So was the employees. Breakfest was average, but every client gets warm thermos with coffee on his table, so you can refill your cofee without standing up. And there is wery nice option to breakfest with a nice view to sommer garden.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spacey and bright room. Nice and clean bathroom. Large enough bed for one. Decent Wi-Fi (good enough for Skype and Netflix). Lots of scrambled eggs and bacon for breakfast. Very friendly staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    i would like it to be closer to the city center and our sheets be changed at least once. the breakfast could be cheaper. The room supposed to have a view to a garden.

    Clean and spacious room with a desk, a small living room and lots of storage. 24hour reception. daily cleaning. very warm.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking. There was a lot of space before the hotel, a little free tho. Not free of charge also.

    Bed was OK. 1extra small pillow was on the point. WiFi signal was perfect. Good location.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There could be kettle in the room (since this is a 3 stars hotel), particularly during the winter time. The door of the shower cube does not function properly.

    The staff at the front desk is extremely helpful; thanks for the help. Although facing the street, our room is very quiet and clean.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This hotel claims to be in Association of Christian Hoteliers. However, there was no sign of Christian "Love thy neighbours". Extremely unhelpful staff, no place in their Parking lots. On the question "And what shall we do with our car?" just a shrug with the shoulder "On the street, if you find something". So, in the middle of night, my friend (who is 70 and a Catholic Priest from New Zealand) and I had to look for a Parking House and carry our heavy suitcases back to the Hotel. Because it was an Edeka Parking House, we had to go there next morning to check how long the max. parking time was (24 h) , and then we had to go there again in the evening, to renew the ticket. We lost a lot of our valuable time in Berlin. As an absolute Lowlight point of the Hotel I found that the Guests had even to pay for the mineral water and the peanuts, which were placed on the table, not as a small friendly gesture to the Guest but just as an another money trap. I found it terrible. We stayed in 18 Hotels and Pensions in Germany and never experienced something like this. It was only a mineral water and a packet of peanuts, but it was the thinking behind it, which upset us - just grab money where you can. Regarding to the parking : It could be very easy to paint one parking lot in front of the Hotel with sign: Loading Area, then make an agreement with the Edeka Parking House for long time parking. When the Hotel runs out of their Parking slots, then the Guests could just be given a parking card an a map how to get to the Parking House. Simple and effective suggestion.

    The only positive point - friendly service at Breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    None.

    The hotel was so clean, quiet and comfortable. It takes only 3 minutes to U9,U7,U6 which take you to downtown where you can explore most of attraction.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi is extremely slow. Check-in process could have been better orchestrated

    Very accessible by public transportation and within walking distance of grocery stores and restaurants

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Weather was cold and they did nothing about that. Also eventhough staff was having breakfast they didn't let me have it bevause of being late for 5 mins.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Wifi had some issues - probably needs more capacity. No in-room tea/coffee making facilities - inconvenient. Tea/coffee available from reception at a cost.

    Good location in a quiet, suburban area away from the tourist traps. Friendly, welcoming attitude. Great breakfast with local, home-made touches. They did a load of washing for us - quick and efficient.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Bed cover didn't reach the edges. Towels threadbare and hard. Wifi erratic. No additional toiletries.

    Great breakfast. Comfortable bed. Very spacious room with a lovely garden. Staff really friendly and helpful. Lovely garden, good for transport and quiet.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The parking lot was only on the street, and I did not have a reserved place, if I could find a spon, lucky me, if not, I had to park somewhere else. And it was a paid parking.

    The staff was very nice and helped me with anything that I've requested.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No Safe in the bedroom

    Very clean and spacious room, decor is a little dated, but other than that the hotel is very good. Just round the corner is a bar called Rickenbackers, very very good if you like blues/rock, bands play there most evenings.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Curtains were too thin, not really darkened the room.

    Friendly staff, good room and a great bed. Breakfast was fine and the location is very quiet for a big city.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 15 nights

    In the room is not the fridge.

    Breakfast very good. On the street is possible to park for free from 19:00 to 8:00 at morning (over the night). Stuff very friendly. U-bahn (metro) is very close, but by walk is no so far to Tiergarten.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    An exclusive and quiet corner of Berlin. Property very accessible by Ubahn. Restaurants in area very good

    Breakfast was high quality service was excellent and dining area delightful

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    2 singles beds pushed together instead of a double, kept sliding apart during night. Rude and obnoxious head cleaner who was so rude to me at reception 2 ladies and a young girl walked out without taking a room. Slight damage was caused to a bedside locker when my medicine spilled during night, told receptionist next day and asked what damage was to be paid, we agreed 25euro which I paid on the spot, on checkout they tried to make out that this was an extra cleaning charge saying the room was very dirty the previous day, we checked in on Tuesday but they didn't bother coming to clean room until Thursday and then had the cheek to make out like it was our fault. No tea/coffee making facilities, refreshments were available at reception with each receptionist appearing to charge whatever extortionate price they wanted, on one occasion it would 2 euro for a bottle of coke on another 2.50 or 3. Workmen making lots of noise with hammers and drills in next bedroom from very early in the morning. I expect to see this establishment on Hotels From Hell fairly soon.

    Checking out and getting away from there

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very simple hotel, for that price perfect. For me the most important was that the bathroom was soo new and clean. Simple room, but the bed was comfortable. And stuff at the reception was very nice.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I should have asked for a sturdier mattress in advance, which I'm sure they would have provided.

    The location is perfect: very short walking distance to subway U9, which takes you everywhere every 5 minutes. And for being that central, it was very very quiet, with a balcony facing a nice garden. I had a spacious room with everything I needed. Breakfast was excellent, in a room with a nice winter garden extension. Staff at the front desk was very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    bit of a creepy atmosphere with crucifixes and bible quotes up all over the place, but i guess some ppl like this sort of thing.

    quiet hotel, which was GREAT!! very very clean and functional

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Water in the shower drains slowly. Initially the room wasn't clean enough, there was some hair in the shower even, but it was cleaned next day. In general, the hotel offers pretty basic accommodation, which is fine, but the price was waaay to high this time.

    Neighborhoods around are pretty cool, some beautiful buildings, fancy streets. Two U-Bahn lines are within 5 min. walking distance. And breakfast was good and pretty various.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was not too happy with the water heating system. It could not keep the tempersture of the hot water constant through even a short shower.

    We loved the freshness of the breads...and the helpful staff. We love the location.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no breakfast bag available for early checkout.

    Nice view on the garden. Hotel is located in a quiet street.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not as close to Berlin central as I would like

    Great location on a very quiet street. Easily located by UBahn, S9. Staff are amazing 😁

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent place, near U-Bahn, relax place!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Good location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast seems a bit expensive in relation to the room rate

    Spacious room, plenty of sockets, comfortable bed, reception manned h24, friendly staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No fridge in the room

    Room was spacious and very warm!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small bathroom

    Good room size.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing. Everything was really fine.

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Spacious and comfortable room. Generous and tasty breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small bathroom in old style, but that was not an issue

    Very nice big room, stuff also was great :)

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Beautifully fitted rooms in a quiet residential street near metro and very reasonably priced. A very happy stay.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 6 nights

    very nice stuff, were always nice and welcoming. Very clean!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean and beds comfortable. Quiet area near to public transport links. Friendly, helpful and polite staff. Excellent value for money.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The halls smelled weird, may be old carpet? Bath room and bathtub could be cleaner.

    Comfy bed.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    bad quality of the bath towels ! it corresponds to a 1* hotel

    the garden, the room and every thing else.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast not great value

    Excellent staff. Quiet neighbourhood

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air in the room was a bit stuffy.

    Close to underground, quiet room, convenient parking.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room had a beautiful view of the courtyard below and a lovely balcony. The hotel is around the corner from a metro station.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The hotel was quiet and peaceful, particularly as I had a garden facing room

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff there were very nice ..the place is clean and calm ...it is near to the train ..nice garden is near ..

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Well located; near city west Good breakfast Quiet hotel Friendly staff

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Some of the staff were very abrupt. The bed was uncomfortable and the wifi was slow.

    Some of the staff were very nice. The breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location, near the subway. Safe neighborhood.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thin wall

    Great staff and location

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the heat system didn't work.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2016

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast overpriced at 11 euros pp.

    5 minute walk to subway, quiet location and local amenities nearby.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel was quite old, with not so nice furniture. The heat installation was quite noisy.

    The hotel was in a quiet place and close to the metro.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Close to S Bahn and accessible to downtown, very clean, friendly staff.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    friendly staff, spacious clean rooms, comfortable beds, great location near the metro stations, the ratio of price and quality is excellent

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Kitchen lacked some basic utensils, but this was remedied very quickly.

    Fantastic location, lovely view, very helpful staff.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    WLAN not usable on 5th floor due to weak signal. Noisy rooms, you could hear footsteps and doors closing.

    Central location, only 10 minutes to Bahnhof Zoo. Friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    No fridge or freezer , no freezer available for my medication (used fridge of reception , but to be good , I needed to use a freezer curtains to thin , sun comes true in the morning.

    clean nice room and bathroom good shower. friendly staff . no to far of train .

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Water from shower is not sufficiently powerful. No air-con, quite hot during noon time in the summer.

    Quiet room, nice bed, clean toilet, responsive staff.

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hot water in shower was not stable. Were placed 2 beds instead one big. Lots of authentication pages need to be passed for WiFi.

    Calm hotel in calm area.

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Large comfortable room and a great location for the metro.

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Water temperature of the shower changed from boiling hot to ice cold and vice verse .

    Availability

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bare rooms - difficult shower

    Well organised and very helpful staff who understand needs and mostly speak good English.

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The breakfast is just so so.

    The hotel is near the metro station. The room is clean.

There are also 24 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 62

Guests also reviewed these properties: