Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Maximilianstraße 20, 83471 Berchtesgaden, Germany

#19 of 19 hotels in Berchtesgaden

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1250 hotel reviews

7.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    6.7

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    6.5

  • Staff

    7.8

  • Value for money

    6.9

  • Free WiFi

    5.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    6.3
    Disappointing and won't be staying there again unless I'm advised the hotel has been refurbished.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Most of the hotel needs refurbishing. We had a single bedroom, a normal double with twin beds, a normal double with double bed and a superior double. We were told we were upgraded to a junior suite and the normal double to a superior double. The junior suite was acceptable as a superior room but the superior double was extremely disappointing. Very rundown. The room was tiny with a tiny bathroom. I can't imagine what a normal double bed room would be like. I am 190cm tall and could not have slept in that bed. We stayed here 6 years ago and very little has been done to it since. The parking now has a block of apartments on it so a pity some of the profit made from that was not invested into the hotel. The breakfast was very basic.

    The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The view from the breakfast room is spectacular. One of our rooms (we rented 4) had the same view. Excellent location. The hotel has a lot of character with reading rooms, etc.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    9.2
    Charming hotel with view of the valley, good value stay in Berchtesgaden.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Grand Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel is up on the hill and doesn't have elevator from ground floor, a bit hard to get to if you are dragging big luggages - but because of this you have a better view from the room, and guess hiking is what we come here to do anyways. I hope in the end they get to fix the credit card payment issue as during my stay it was cash only because card payment connection was lost and they had to get a technician to come and look (the hotel was nice enough to leave payment/deposit till the end of my 3-night stay, but the issue had not been solved till then so I used most of my cash reserve for the trip there). In fact I find the Bavarian region not quite smooth with credit cards (even in Munich), so I would suggest other foreign travellers like me to prepare enough cash in Euro and a few different credit cards (in terms of a mix of MasterCard, Visa, Amex, or unionpay etc.), and check ATM cash withdrawal limit before your trip.

    Very friendly staff, and provide useful information at check in. The hotel provides bus card that waives your bus ride costs. The room has balcony and a stunning view of the mountains and the town. Good variety of buffet breakfast (and eating at windows to the view). Close to quite a few cafes and restaurants that are also on the hill. Good value overall and you get to experience the Bavarian style. If you are going for the first time, after arriving at the train station, you need to go across the platforms to the other side opposite to the train station building. You will find a steel/metal ladder on the left. Follow this up hill until you reach a street with car/bus traffic, the hotel is right opposite the street. If you have large luggage, you can take bus 841 or 839 to a stop by the hotel name "Vier Jahreszeiten", and the entrance is just steps away. But you may need to take a bit wait for the bus sometimes. To note: Room doors are to be opened, and locked, both from inside and outside with the key. The door can be opened from outside if you don't lock it from inside with the key.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    6.3
    Good location, clean, decent breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property was dated. Front desk was not helpful. At check out, they informed me that they could not accept credit cards, which made check out much more taxing.

    Good location, clean, decent breakfast

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    8.8
    Clean clean and super clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Plus Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite a bit of tiring walk from the train station esp when carrying bags.

    Clean clean and super clean. Friendly staff. Comfortable bed. Great view if facing the valley.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    8.8
    Delightful in Bavaria
    • Couple
    • Grand Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The furniture in my room was outdated and a bit worn. I don't care about that as long as everything is clean and it really was.

    Wonderful staff. Nice breakfast. Perfect location. WiFi worked great, I think it was new. Really liked the indoor pool. The view: WOW!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    9.6
    BRAVO IN BERCHTESGADEN/
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Plus Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    If you have to walk to the train station direction its a bit of a hike along a gravel path.Go the other way...lol

    The staff...Mr S from Croatia was very helpful and personable! The room was very comfortable and had a FANTASTIC view of the Bavarian Alps.! The breakfast was very good and the dining area had a GREAT view too!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    7.9
    Had a great time in Salzburg and hotel staff was friendly :)
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Had to pay a 50 Euro deposit to make sure house key is returned upon departure.

    A quiet location, it provided close walking distance to train station, sight seeing and restaurants.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    7.1
    The hotel room is ideal for a couple and had a outside area...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I booked for two adults and one child, yet only two towels were provided and we were not able to reserve another bed for our son. I found the hotel to be expensive compared to the other accommodation booked during out holiday. A kettle with coffee facilities in the room would have been a great value add.

    The hotel room is ideal for a couple and had a outside area with a great view of the mountain. The room was clean and neat and the hotel is in town with a short walk to the town center. The reception staff was extremely friendly and a good breakfast was served. The hotel has a nice pool and sauna that can be used.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    5.8
    Pretty good stay but hard on the knees.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Grand Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It states in the 'facility section' that their is an elevator. This is not entirely true. There are stairs to get to the reception desk and then lots of stairs to get to the next floor where my room was and then there is an elevator to the next level. Their are far too many stairs for some people. This should be made clear in the 'facility section.'

    They had a good breakfast and the room was clean. Good view from my window but was on the roof line.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    7.1
    We liked the location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Grand Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't like the bedrooms and the beds were hard and had to have blankets on the mattresses to be able to sleep.Too many steps so not suitable if you have problems walking.

    We liked the location. The swimmingpool and sauna was good. To be able to get a drink untill 10 pm but was not told untill the day before we left.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    8.8
    Good to be there! Perfect view
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Grand Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is quite good but it will be more convenient if you are driving a car.... because the hotel is right there up to the mountain, so we need to carry our luggage and pull it hardly... But finally we know there are some buses can go straight to the hotel, so not that bad actually.

    Th view of the room and restaurant are excellent!! The staff are so nice and helpful!! The room is big enough..... There is a bus going straight to the Königssee, and that’s great!!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    9.6
    The room price including the breakfast which is good and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room price including the breakfast which is good and breakfast delicious and the location is perfect just beyond the train station with great view and easy to walk around besides the bust stop just in front of the hotel could drive you straight to king’s lake!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    9.6
    I would stay there again. Staff are super friendly and pool is warm and clean. Views exquiset.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Save yourself the walk uphill there is no easy way get a taxi. Once at hotel there is no lift and you have to walk up a flight of stairs before entering hotel.

    The mountain views from the bedroom and are spectacular. The staff I could not fault.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    8.8
    Very good, we are returning there to spend christmas 2018.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very good location. Minutes walking to town. Bus stop few metres away. Very friendly and helpfull staff. Excellent breakfast. We are retuning to this hotel at the end of the year, booking has been done.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    10
    The breakfast was amazing, lots of variety and very tasty.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was amazing, lots of variety and very tasty. The pool was small but still really enjoyable and relaxing. Front desk help was very thorough and helpful. They were very knowledgeable about skiing in the area and bus times.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    10
    Loved this place. A credit to its owners and Staff .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Took 18 (9 Rooms) family and friends to Berchtesgaden for my 60th Birthday. This hotel lived up to and exceeded expectations. Allowed us in rooms early without any fuss. Rooms were all Mountain facing with balconies, they were spacious, clean and inviting. Lovely quality furniture and very German. Wonderful Breakfast in the panoramic restaurant. We used the pool and Sauna and for those who need it WiFi was available in all our rooms. The location is perfect for the town and all its wonderful restaurants and attractions. Looking forward to our return and will be using the Hotels Restaurant and Bier Keller when it re-opens after renovations. Great place to stay

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    5.4
    I think this can not named as hotel but as homestay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    1. It has mentioned that it is free charge of the extra bed if with kids(my kids are less than 6 years old), but the additional cost(30e per night) was request for the extra bed. the issue is, the extra bed(sofa) was original belonging to the room and they only provide the two beddings 2. The breakfast is not good and you can see the picture. at least the cucumber is not safety. I told the service guy and he was so calm and finally he changed the cucumber but looks quite normal for him

    Actually the location is good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    7.1
    Location were good if you are travelling without car, next...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi was broken. Shower in the room was broken I had to fix it myself. Employers english skills were not good but all of them were nice and friendly.

    Location were good if you are travelling without car, next to train station. Breakfast was also very good. Quiet hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    10
    When I go back I will stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The parking was a bit hit and miss but we managed to find a space each time.

    Lovely views and a great location. The staff were helpful and the rooms were comfortable. There is a wonderful view from the dining room while you have breakfast. There is plenty of character about the hotel. It was also very convenient for restaurants in the area. I would go back again!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    9.2
    The staff was very friendly and accommodating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The front desk clerk when we arrived was brand new and didn't understand the tourist card policy. We were able to get it resolved with the help of other staff. However, he was very polite and followed up on all items he didn't know about.

    The staff was very friendly and accommodating. Great location, short walk to the bus/train station. Very close walk to downtown area. Rooms were comfortable and very clean. Breakfast was excellent, served scrambled eggs every day! The fresh juices, fruit, bread, meats and cheeses were delicious.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    6.7
    Old hotel, but clean and good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Panoramic View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Internet was odd. Every device I attempted to connect took hours to overnight to have access. Connected devices on different days and same problem.

    Had scrambled eggs which is not always common in European hotels. Breakfast included, and had a machine for your choice of coffee.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    9.6
    Charming old hotel in central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The WIFI was a bit patchy, but seemed to improve when there were fewer guests (trouble obtaining an IP address when busy). Although I think this is something they are trying to improve and did not distract from my enjoyment of the hotel.

    The hotel was lovely with real charm and character that is often missing from more modern buildings. Staff were very friendly and lent me a visitors card that provided free transport on local buses and discounts at some attractions. This was an unexpected bonus and very useful. I think you need to stay a certain number of days to qualify for this (think they said 3, but I stayed for 4 nights). The location of the hotel is excellent being close to nice restaurants and shops in the town center. It is also very close to the railway station (and bus terminal), but you must exit the station form the rear platform (through a car park) and follow a public footpath up the hill that comes out in front of the hotel (turn right when the path forks). There is also a foot bridge, but this seems to be permanently closed with a diversion through the car park instead. Breakfast was very nice with plenty of variety and numerous hot drink options including hot chocolate. Views from the dining hall are spectacular so it pays to get up early to grab a table by the window! Although my room faced the back I was able to enjoy the views from a balcony attached to the guest lounge area.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    10
    Gorgeous view with attentive staff, and felt like home.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite with Mountain View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet was down, but they recently bought the property and are working on it. For desk work needed a brighter light space.

    Staff was very helpful, and included breakfast phenomenal with vegetarian and vegan options. I enjoyed the extra common spaces to enjoy the mountains and to have quiet spaces to go to.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    7.5
    Excellent location, great view of the mountains from the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Parking - public carpark across the road from the hotel but you can only pay for 4 hours max during the day

    Excellent location, great view of the mountains from the balcony, decent breakfast selection. Comfortable spacious room in a traditional style

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    9.2
    Breakfast very good selection and quality.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast very good selection and quality. Parking across strret in public lot, free overnightfrom about 5 pm till 10 am. We chose room on backside, very quiet with small balcony.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    6.7
    Will be better after renovations! Ok if you travel light and spend most of your time outside.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Panoramic View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Sounds like there was a recent change in ownership (between the time we booked and our stay), which may explain why the restaurant was closed due to renovation and the scaffolding outside the window, as a 'temporary' emergency exit route. The rooms were clean, but everything looked as if it came straight out of the 70s. The main street was noisy at night, so we couldn't open the windows and there was no air-con. Lastly, we had several heavy bags to carry up from the car, up the hotel entrance stair case, up the main and side stair cases... One additional problem was that we had to pay for public parking on a daily basis and the number of all-day parking spaces was limited...

    Location was good - with 5min walk down a steep hill to the train station. Breakfast was ok and service was friendly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    7.5
    Quaint old hotel w views, but in need of upgrade
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Most amazing views from restaurant and balcony rooms over Barvian Alps. Restaurant breakfast was scrumptious, quality and variety. Restaurant and reception staff are lovely, friendly and efficient . Hotel very dated and beds hard, but that is common we've noticed. Note: Don't get room 44 at end on a Sat night. Only nightclub in town is next door and goes till 3am. A few rooms down you hear nothing.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    10
    Cozy, comfy and clean
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking was a little confusing. They had spot marked off at a nearby Parking Area but I didn't know if I had to pay or not. Luckily I didn't get a ticket.

    Very friendly staff greeted us and spoke English. Room was cozy and just the right size with a gorgeous view of the mountains. All of our planned activities were within 20 minute drive. Breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    6.3
    You can do better
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No Internet. In 2017, having Internet in a hotel is almost as important as having a bed. There's really no excuse for not offering Internet in a hotel, especially for a hotel in the center of a city this popular. Aside from that, the furnishings in this hotel are decades old. They charge a lot for the rooms here, so they're making money... they're just not investing anything back into the property. Also, this hotel seems to be popular with Americans. If you want to come to Germany to meet Americans, this might be a good hotel for you.

    The breakfast was much better than I expected from this place. There was a lot of choices, in a nice room, with a nice view of the city. That's about the only thing above average in the hotel. Parking was nice (right across the street) if you're lucky enough to find a spot. I don't know where else you would park if there are no spaces available there. The staff is very helpful and friendly. They

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    7.5
    I really enjoyed it. The owner and reception were helpful and informative.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was amazing ! And this view from dining room ! Breathtaking. BTW big thankyou to the owner of hotel for lending me his personal umbrella so I wouldn't get wet. Shows real customer care ! Once again, big thank you. Bog recommendation for this hotel price = quality big OK !

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    5.8
    The hotel is tried and is not value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As the car parking was off site and there are stairs carrying our luggage was difficult. The hotel needs a mayor renovation , the fittings and fixtures are old. Wi-Fi is only available in the reception area and not in the rooms.

    Overall the service was good. Help with our luggage, as there are stairs. Breakfast was good and the service was excellent.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    7.5
    In the hotell, the view was exquisit!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Att rummet inte hade AC.

    In the hotell, the view was exquisit! Outside the hotel - The Marketplace - you must eat at Bier-Adam! If you are out for a drink - go in to the hotell Edelweiss, take the elevator (situatef att the left from the reception) to floor 6. There you will find the nicest bar in Berchtesgaden.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    8.8
    Great views from mountain facing rooms, great breakfast, very traditional but rather old fashioned.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 14 nights

    I was very disappointed that the famous Hubertus restaurant was closed as this was the main reason for choosing this hotel. There is a lift from 1st to 3rd floor but you still have to drag your luggage up over 50 steps to get there. Not suitable for people with walking difficulties. The safe in our room kept locking us out and the second time it happened we had to wait hours for the only guy who could deal with it to finish his kitchen duties first. He couldn't fix it so we had to leave it open and stow our valuables elsewhere in the room and take passports and money with us. I wasn't happy about that. The cushions for the sun loungers on the balcony could do with a wash, very sweaty smell.

    This is a very traditional, slightly old fashioned hotel. Loved the typical German breakfast buffet - great selection of cold meats, cheeses and breads. Fantastic view to Watzmann mountain from breakfast room. Friendly and attentive staff in breakfast area, reception and chamber maids. Plenty of storage space in our generously sized junior suite. Lovely big balcony with fantastic views over town and mountains. Appreciated the big bathroom with separate bath and shower as well as a double sink.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    9.6
    Loved the view!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Panoramic View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would've been greater with a mini bar. But you could buy some drinks in the reception instead and we even got some ice when we asked for it.

    We had the perfect view from the balcony and the rooms were old but in good shape! After reading some reviews my expectations were low so it was a nice surprise to find out how good it was. We booked a room with panorama view and it was totally worth it, the view really was stunning. The breakfast had a lot to offer, mostly cold dishes but good ones. The hotel was very close to some cozy stores and restaurants.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    10
    Nice Hotel, great location, superb views
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel could do with some modernisation, however that is a personal choice as some may particularly like that charm.

    Rooms adequate and Clean. Staff very nice and helpful. Breakfasts very nice with an absolutely stunning view to be enjoyed while having breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    2.9
    2 stars hotel and not 3 stars
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First of all, we were still on the road when the receptionist called us to check if we are arriving after 10:00, because they close the reception at 10:00pm, the young girl at the front desk said she normally leaves at 10:00 and closes the main door, but had to wait for us because we were late. that sounded Weird!!!. Secondly, when u enter the hotel, u have to climb a set of stairs to enter to the reception. Bringing up your heavy luggage after a tiring long day of driving, leads to a 1st impression of the hotel that is not good at all. Then u have to go up more stairs, then a corridor, then stairs, then another corridor to reach the elevator which takes u up to the floor where your room is. At this point the whole group got Pissed off. The Single rooms are tiny, the beds are small, we had in the group 2 big guys of probably over 190cm, their feet passed over the bed edge.... Ah i forgot, there is NO WIFI in the rooms...to cut the story short we stayed only one night out of 2. And the worst thing is that the lady obliged us to pay both night because that is what was booked via booking.com. This hotel should be downgraded to 2 stars. I DON'T RECOMMEND VIER JAHRESZEITEN ( FOOR SEASONS, What a joke)

    Nothing is likable in this hotel

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    10
    Nice hotel in good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We enjoyed our stay here! The location was good and within comfortable walking distance of the historic downtown. A parking garage was available for a very reasonable price. Great staff, too!!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    7.9
    Comfortable bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    On two occasions, the toilet had not been flushed adequately (and it wasn't me). The first time was upon check-in and again on the second day after I returned from hiking. Mold in shower grout - needs some scrubbing. I would definitely recommend paying a little extra for mountain view room. My "garden" view room really had no view of even a garden, just a wall and vines.

    Comfortable bed. Very large for a single bed. Convenient liquid soap wall dispensers next to sink and in shower. Great breakfast with stunning view of the mountains to the south. Old hotel that needs renovations, but has very interesting antique paintings and objects on display. There are sitting rooms with balconies available to all guests. The mountain view is really amazing.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    9.2
    Between the Alps!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is no wifi in the room.

    If you have traveled to Berchtesgaden by train or bus, from the bus station take the local bus to the Hotel, unless you like steep walk with your luggage !! The highlight of your stay will be the view of the Alps from your room. Nearby you'll find a lot of restaurants. We tried Akropolis, Greek restaurant, they serve some sumptuous meal.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    10
    Hidden Gem !
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We arrived to train station. With google map's help, it seems that we took a short cut by walking to hotel. It's kind of bumpy by carrying a big luggage all the way up to the hotel. After arrival to hotel, we need to go up a few stairs (carrying our big luggage again) so we can take elevator.

    It has gorgeous mountain view in the Breakfast section for us to start a day. Breakfast has plenty of choices which are very delicious. Deco is very classic and nice, telling the history kind of feel. We got upgraded to a suite which has a nice living room with TV. Our room has mountain view. Hand craft feel of wood deco makes it nice and cozy. I fell in love with all those when I walk into this hotel. Staff is friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    7.9
    A great base to explore the Obersalzburg & Konigssee.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Panoramic View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No 'in-room' brew facilities but this seems to be the norm in Germany.

    Good location, fantastic view from balcony above main road at front of hotel and we were issued with free bus travel card which really made our holiday.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    4.6
    Book elsewhere - tired hotel and an unpleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked a room described as having a king bed, walk in shower, balcony and a view of the garden, mountain or street. What we got was a shower over a bath, no balcony and the view of a lower roof. We spoke to reception who wanted us to pay 40 euro a night to get the southern side rooms that have a balcony even though he rate outside said 79euro for this room which is what we paid. After emailing booking.com they contacted the hotel and we were changed to a room w a balcony which was very small without a king bed, a tiny bathroom and right at the top of a flight of stairs. The staff were unfriendly and the hotel is very dated and worn. There are many flights of stairs to drag bags up and only wifi in public areas which was slow. This was our worst experience in a 5 week holiday.

    The location was an easy walk to the centre. The free parking was two spaces only across the street up on the kerb.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    7.1
    The area is stunningly beautiful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Panoramic View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to park in a lot across the road and pay for parking which was not always available.

    We were disappointed to find out the restaurant was closed, apparently the manager disappeared and they have a contract with him until June so couldn't even open it if they found someone else. One of the reasons we booked this hotel was the positive remarks about the restaurant.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    5.8
    Very helpful staff at reception and at breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We felt that we booked under false pretenses. We had stayed there previously and we were looking forward to eating in what was a superb restaurant. Despite the menu being on line and in the room, the restaurant was in fact closed. Our previous room was in the old part of the hotel, it was a delight. This time our room was in a soulless, tired annex, totally unoriginal and very dated (70's style). The street noise was horrendous, with late night revelers singing and shouting on the street below until 04:00. And one little tip, the only WiFi in the hotel is at reception.

    Very helpful staff at reception and at breakfast. A really good indoor pool.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    9.6
    Classic Tyrolean Comfort
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Panoramic View
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was all good.

    We had a room with an amazing view of the mountains, with a balcony! The hotel is classic, old-school Bavarian, with ample space, a split bath, public lounges, and vintage curtains. Breakfast was ample, with eggs, assorted meats and cheeses, yogurt and muesli, juice and coffee. The view from the breakfast room was gorgeous--snow covered mountains and a bustling town below. There was parking across the street in (an apparently) free public lot. The hotel was in walking distance of several restaurants and a longer walk to the salt mines. We drove but could have walked there in 15 minutes.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2017

    8.3
    Lovely old-fashioned, quirky hotel - great breakfast and location - but avoid if WiFi is a priority
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    No working WiFi/ WLAN except in front reception downstairs - and seemed to be in a mobile internet black hole

    Great breakfast served in a room with wonderful views, quirky old fashioned rooms, fab location, lots of personality

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    10
    Part of my experience on the first visit of Königssee.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I cannot think of anything right now, i really enjoyed my stay there!

    The staff was very friendly and helpful; they also speak 3 languages: German, English and Russian (at least, the ones that i know of), so it was very easy to communicate with them. There is a parking lot right across the street, so if you came with a car,- you don't need to worry about driving around the city forever to find a parking spot. Rooms are clean and cozy, and cafeteria...breakfast was delicious, and there was a good variety of food to choose from, and that breakfast (which did not cost anything extra) was made even better by the mesmerizing view of the mountains that you can see from the huge windows! The room itself was made very nice, home like, cozy. Lets not forget to mention the silverware and the dishes! It was really nice to use metallic silverware, and ceramic (maybe?) plates, especially after seeing plastic silverware and paper/foam plates in some 3 star (!) hotels in the States! They also have an indoor pool, but on the day of my stay they were making some renovations, so i didn't get to see or try it, so i cannot say anything about it other than that it is there as well. Overall, i enjoyed my stay in this hotel, and i will come back to it next time i will be visiting that area! I strongly recommend it!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    8.8
    Nice lodge in the center or Berchtesgaden
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet only worked in the lobby. Hotel isn't on the water as some of the photos suggest.

    Comfortable rooms in a good location, close to the main strip of stores and restaurants. Good breakfast. Nice place to stay to explore the area including Konsignee. More character than the hotels in Salzburg.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    10
    We booked room 23.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Panoramic View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I cannot think of what to improve.

    We booked room 23.30 and staff called to verify arrival and let us in long after they had locked up for night. Offered my adult son a free single as double only had one duvet. In my stress I forgot my purse at Reception but received it next morning absolutely untouched. Views from room and breakfast incredibly beautiful. Breakfast was among best I have had: excellent breads and pastries, variety of very good cheeses, fruit. Not eat meat so cannot judge those offerings. If only we had had time to swim in the pool! I very much look forward to returning. Berchtesgaden is a bit of heaven on Earth. Location is close to rail station in town centre yet on a mountain with great views. I cannot thank the staff enough for their compassion and generosity.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    7.5
    Has the basics covered
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Panoramic View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked extra pillows as the ones provided were very flat. Hotel has all basics but would not score hotel 4.5

    Great location, all the basics you need from a hotel. Heater in the room was working really well and the breakfast selection was really good. Also had a lovely view from our room.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2016

    8.3
    We would definitly book the same hotel on our next visit to Berchtesgaden
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As it always happens when we travel to Germany we find that the pillows are too extra soft 😊

    We only stayed 1 night nd we found everything up to standard.Location was central both to centre nd bus and train connections.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2016

    8.3
    Good hotel, good views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room service staff knocking on the door 40 mimutes before the checkout time.

    Our room had a balcony with a great view of the mountains. The same view could be seen from the breakfast room. Generous sized bathroom.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2016

    8.8
    Clean and convenient.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator on the first two floors. Not handicap accessible.

    Rooms were very comfortable and the location was easily accessible to the town and main roads.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2016

    7.5
    A very friendly Place
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Wifi only at lobby area and speed was sometimes slow, even interrupted. Slow check-out because staff was on phone and even wanted to take another phone-call while I was waiting.

    Great location only minutes away from city center, friendly and helpful staff, free sparkling water at lobby, freshly made scrambled eggs upon request, daily newspaper in breakfast room. Sumptuous breakfast buffet.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2016

    9.2
    Pleasant stay, excellent food, old-style gracious Bavarian hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet is slow and very limited: in reception and meeting room area only. Though there is an elevator in the hotel, it is a bit of an adventure finding it, as this is an older hotel with rambling halls....it won't help people with true mobility issues.

    Great location, center of everything, classic atmosphere, outstanding hotel restaurant and terrific Italian and Greek in a 2-3 minute easy walk. Comfortable, spacious junior suite, nice breakfast buffet included (our eggs were cooked to order for us). Convenient across the street parking. Our guest card got us a ten percent discount at the nearby Thermal bath.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    8.3
    Great location, bad wi-fi
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was unclear where to park and not much parking was available. The most disappointing thing, however, was that wi-fi was not available in the guest rooms. I specifically looked for that amenity, and I did not realize that meant wi-fi would only be available in the lobby.

    The view was spectacular, provided you were on the mountain-view side of the building. The breakfast was efficient and satisfactory. Checking in and out was seamless.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    7.1
    Good view and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although the room we booked was spacious, the decor really needs some updating! The whole hotel is very old fashioned for the price paid. A bit of a disappointment. Reception staff could do with more training in customer service. Thankfully there was a guest from Adelaide there who gave us loads of info on getting to Eagle's Nest. (But when we asked whether it's best to go Sat or Sun, reception staff told us to go on Sat, whereas she should have said wait until Sun for better views.) Pool is very cold. I think there are nicer hotels in the area with a google search instead of booking.com. Wouldn't recommend unless you get a very good deal. Next time I think we'll stay at the hostel by the station!

    We liked the room we booked with the balcony. The views were lovely, but it's located right at the top of a hill after the train station if you're walking. Although it's a bit of a hike, the location is great. Breakfast is enough to fill you until lunch, with a good selection. Sauna was nice - but we saw signs saying it's a paid extra?! We didn't pay as the sauna was already warm - but this is something that shouldn't be an extra at a hotel like this.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    5.8
    Nice location but would not recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathrooms are in really bad shape: dirt, old fittings, paint chipping off. The wifi which was promised only works at the reception desk and not in the rooms. There are only 3 places available for parking. Also it was very cold in my room though the heating was turned on to max.

    The location is great and bery close to all intresting places of the area.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    7.5
    Nicer hitel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi is only available in the reception area. Some of the staff were more friendlier and happier than others. The breakfast often ran out of eggs, as the only hot item available this was a little disappointing. The safe in our room was locked open, we reported it on day 1 and it was never fixed.

    Great location in the middle to Berchtesgaden. Breakfast included and there was a large variety buffet style.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    3.8
    the view of restaurant having breakfast is superb!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    photos shown are not accurate, we booked a double room but everything we found was not what was shown in the photos: room is dark and very small, could only get on the bed from 1 side only, bed is too small. Even when we complained to the receptionist and her answer was only "that is it!" and ignored all our feelings and questions. WiFi can only be accessible at the lobby, next to the reception. Hot water can only be got when the restaurants open, i.e. from 1800 ~2200 and 0700 ~1000. We had to wait for 4 minutes to get some hot water as the waiters in the restaurant were busy in serving customers. Think about how important of hot water in cold weather! the hotel is located at the back of the train station and well-prepared to hike up the hill if you are not driving or taking transport, so it is advisable not the bring your luggage (backpack is recommended) to the hotel if you walk there and there's no lift that you have to take your luggage to your room by stairs!

    the view of restaurant having breakfast is superb!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    5.4
    Disappointing because of the stairs, Wifi, and hidden costs
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    While there is a lift available, to get to it you need to climb a lot of steps. Difficult especially since we had to carry a stroller everywhere. I wish we knew this before booking. Wifi is NOT available in all public areas and when it is available it is extremely slow. When we checked in, we were given a tourist card that we were told it is free. When we checked out, we were told it costs about 10 Euro (or maybe 9 Euro) which we didn't need. Breakfast was not that good

    Location, view from the balcony

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    7.1
    Very good if you're not fancy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi available only at front desk area. The cleanness could be better. A little bit noisy because of the main road.

    Excellent landscape from the balcony, if you book the room to mountain view. Good food and a very receptive staff. Very good location near from historic center.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    2.9
    The worst hotel I've ever been, don't go!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    - Staff didn't speak a word of English (even when they said they did on the website) which makes impossible to non-German clients to ask or request any type of information. - The worst pillows ever - totally flat with not filling - No coffee/tea on rooms - No internet on common areas (even when they said they had it there) - Super old carpets - Jacuzzi and other facilities they said to have did not work - Not very good service at breakfast time

    Only location

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    9.2
    Exceptional breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The WiFi only works next to reception. This was the only, but a very significant, disappointment in a hotel of this standard and location. I would expect a good WiFi signal accessible in every room.

    Exceptional breakfast! Very clean and comfortable room. I had a room with a balcony and view of the mountain which was wonderful.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    7.1
    Nice stay in Berchtesgaden
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wifi kept dropping out. We ended up going to the Information Centre to get Wifi.

    The location was central and Berchtesgaden was a lovely Bavarian town. 'Eaglesnest' was easily accessible from here and the hotel gave us a guest card which gave us free buses anywhere.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    3.8
    Cutting corners
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Miserable staff, cheap stale breakfast, sore neck from excuse for a pillow said they'd provide another they didn't, room not cleaned properly dirt etc under radiator after dropping a coin and dead insects on window sil...Not good

    Location

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    10
    Perfect vacation stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing! It was great!!

    The breakfast was delish, the room was cozy and what a BEAUTIFUL view to watch up to the next morning!! Wish we could have stayed longer.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2016

    9.6
    The staff were extremely friendly and always helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The wifi connection was only strong in the lobby and the building layout was confusing at first.

    The staff were extremely friendly and always helpful. If you can, request a south-facing room-- the views are unbelievable! Overall a nice, clean, family-run hotel, that is a great value for the money.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    2.9
    Exceptionally unpleasant reception staff, barely a word of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Exceptionally unpleasant reception staff, barely a word of greeting or a thank you. Lift hidden along a corridor, no explanation from the staff. If you're going to run a hotel in 21st century, try not to make it feel early 20th. Extra charge for credit and debit cards. We left early because it was spooling our visit to Berchtesgaden.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    5.4
    The gap between the value and the money is consiserable.lots of room for improvement
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No internet in the rooms which was to our Great dismay Additional bed was extra charged even though booking.com price of 149euro wa shown to be the final price. Despite this On the check out I was asked to pay 190 Euro whichtook my by surprise and find unacceptable. The staff at the reception leaves a lot to be desired.

    Good breakfast and friendly staff Watzmann views from the restaurant were spectacular

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    7.1
    Close to the city center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you have heavy luggage, take a taxi! I dragged my luggage from train station to the hotel ( I walked a short way -- after the train station). I thought it should be okay. However, I regret to do this. After I arrived the hotel, I was exhausted.

    Close to the city center.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2016

    7.5
    Good hotel but check for hidden extras
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very disappointed to be told when checking out that we were expected to pay an extra 30 Euros for a child bed (basically a sofa bed that was in the room anyway). We booked explaining that we needed a room for 2 adults and a child and at no point was this mentioned until we were checking out. There was nothing on our paperwork or booking saying this and the person on the desk told us we should have checked the hotel website - we booked through booking.com not the website. The receptionist was friendly and in an awkward position as the hotel manager wasn't there, when she called to clarify he wanted us to pay the full amount on credit card (with a 1.8% charge that wasn't mentioned either) and that they might refund part of it. We refused and paid cash for the amount on our booking form. A shame as it was a good hotel in a central location.

    Great views and location

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    9.6
    Wunderbar Nationalpark Berchtesgaden
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    WiFi Internet ' only works in public rooms' but was completely unavailable during my stay , repeatedly told it would be fixed by 'tomorrow' but was not .

    Views from room/balcony comfy bed spacious room good facilities extensive choice at breakfast...superb friendly and polite staff This is an excellent location ...free transport with guest card just 5 mins from bus/trains and excellent proper joined up local travel connections into the National Park which is great for walking or taking the boat down Koenigssee etc lots of historical interest in and around Berchtesgaden and Obersalzberg area Also just a stone's throw from Salzburg an easy day visit....could go on and on

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2016

    8.3
    Characterful hotel in the centre of Berchtesgaden
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was very old fashioned and had no view. Wi-fi only available in some of the common rooms.

    The breakfast was very good. The hotel had a lot of character. Near to the centre of Berchtesgaden. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2016

    3.8
    Pretty bad.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The the fixtures and fittings in the rooms look like they've just been picked out of the 1950s. They were terrible. The dried flowers were dusty, the rooms are crying out to be modernised. Trust me, pick somewhere else.

    Location (only)

    Stayed in August 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: