Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel am Viktualienmarkt This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Utzschneiderstrasse 14, Altstadt-Lehel, 80469 Munich, Germany

#125 of 349 hotels in Munich

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 895 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our only note is that this place does not have air conditioning.

    We booked a room with a double bed and a pull out sofa bed for four people. The room was large! We all had our own space and felt comfortable. The shower had great water pressure. The room and bathroom were very clean. We couldn't check in until 3pm but were told we could drop off our bags early.. We got there around noon and they told us the room would be ready in an hour, so we grabbed a recommended bite to eat around the corner (yum!) and then got to check in early! The breakfast was an amazing added bonus! It was great to wake up, eat a great meal and then go explore Munich!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    too small bathroom, no hotel parking options available but near the hotel there is a parking garage, mattress too hard

    top location, nice breakfast, very nice & friendly staff, we felt very welcome with our 3 kidz, room was good for the 2 days we spent in munich

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast could be improved a bit.

    Excellent location...walking distance to everything we wanted to see. Not fancy but we really liked our top floor apartment and it was very light and comfortable. The front desk staff was very helpful and friendly. Good value and would stay here again!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could be troublesome for light sleepers. Would need a fan at night if there was a heatwave.

    The location was fantastic. The local open-air market was a block away as was the “Eataly” and Der Pschorr restaurants. The staff was very helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast every day was excellent. Did not realize that the rooms were not air conditioned and it was extremely warm for that time. When the windows were open there was a lot of noise on the street. Walking distance to everything.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    If my husband had joined us, as originally planned, there was not space for 5 of us in a room so we would have had to get two rooms. I couldn't tell when booking if they had adjoining rooms at this hotel. Once there, it appeared we could have gotten rooms across the hall from each other. Also, the elevator is incredibly small - - we sent one kid up (and later down) in the elevator with all of the luggage while the rest of us took the stairs.

    We absolutely LOVED the location of this hotel. My children (all girls) and I felt very safe, even walking around late in the evening. We were SO close to the Marienplatz and we fell in love with the Viktualienmarkt. A gem of a neighborhood. We also enjoyed the breakfasts - - there was something delicious for all of our tastes. And we thought the man at the desk was very helpful with his suggestions for everything from where to catch the tram, to the best way to get to the train station, to a great place to have a small late dinner. He was very accurate in describing how long it would take us to walk to different places.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    For the reservation I noted 3 times [Booking.com, email to hotel, phone call to hotel] that we required a room and elevator that was wheelchair accessible and got 3 times the assurance that this requirement would be met. This was not possible and to reach the 4th floor room required separate trips with the wheelchair (collapsible) and our 13 yr old (had to hold him up) grandson.

    Awesome location and accommodating except for 1 issue

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom is tiny but that’s common in Munich

    The staff and location were fantastic!!! The check in process was so easy and the man who helped us greeted us by name before we even introduced ourselves!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our room was very small - big enough for a couple of nights, but if we'd had two suitcases we would have fallen over them.

    The breakfast buffet was great. We even had mozzarella and tomato salad! A great start to the day. Coffee was from a bean to cup self serve machine - excellent!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was nothing that I didn't like.

    The location was perfect, the room was extremely clean, the morning breakfast was awesome, and the staff was exceptional.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room faced the street and bright lights from Santander Bank. The drapes should be room darkening.

    Check in was a breeze. Staff were so friendly. Maps of Munich were given. Breakfast was included in our price. They had a good selection. Location was close to Marienplatz and the market. It was perfect and in a safe neighborhood.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing we didn't like. It would have been nice to have tea/coffee making facilities in the room

    Breakfast was excellant, good choice of cereals, cheeses, ham, salmon, fruit, tea/coffee, etc. Location was superb, 3 minute walk to the Marienplatz. 10 minute walk to the Deutsches Museum.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The shower is dreadful, it dribbles. There is no grab bar for safety for someone unsteady on his feet like my elderly husband. The bathroom overall could be better.

    The room was small but comfortable and clean. The staff very friendly. Breakfast very good and position excellent.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was hard. 1st floor, including dining area, smelled of cigarette smoke. After breakfast hours for guests, staff sat in dining area and smoked cigarettes.

    Room was very clean.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is really hard to find the parking place near the hotel (even for a few minutes). The room is rather (very) :) small. Cleaning women were very loud at the hall discussing there lives!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Would definitely stay at this hotel again. The staff were friendly. Breakfast was as good as the reviews we had read had indicated. Room was spacious enough for two adults and two teenage children. Location was perfect and a short walk to the nearest train station, which made travel from the airport simple.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea / coffee facilities in the room. We were on 1st floor & noise from room above was evident at times but not a huge issue.

    Staff turned over backwards to look after us. Made us cups of tea anytime at no charge & made sure we got to the airport when our chaeffered car decided not to turn up in the rain. I would definitely recommend anyone to stay here.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room service didn’t happen until 3pm and reception was slow at times. WiFi regularly cut out in the bedroom. Pillows were very soft- couldn’t sleep properly during the night.

    Very central location. Clean rooms with all the necessary facilities. Good range of fresh local breakfast items although all no hot food served.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very friendly personal. We arrived quite early (ca. 10:30), the room was already ready and they offered us additional breakfast (in arrival day!) for free!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Tea and or coffee facilities in the room would have been ideal.

    Location of the hotel relative to the city centre: friendly staff; good storage space in the room; room on the compact side but very comfortable and kept clean; fresh towels on demand. Would recommend.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was small

    Great Location - close to all the attractions but on a quiet street. Short walk to S-bahn & U-bahn. Helpful Staff. Good Breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We have stayed here many times. The location is fantastic and the staff are really friendly and helpful. A must stay if wanting to stay in the heart of Munich. ☺

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit old structure but have friendly and attentive staff, ample breakfast and great location. New espresso machine in the breakfast room. I'd love to stay at this lovely hotel again :)

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location was perfect. Very close to most main attractions -- including the glockenspiel. The room was large enough for my friend and me to spread out our stuff and not feel cramped. At first we were concerned about noise because our room was next to the elevator (literally, our room's door was directly next to the elevator door), but it was surprisingly quiet. The breakfast hours were generous and the offerings were quite varied and of excellent quality. The staff was attentive and professional. Excellent hotel. Highly recommend.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cannot say we did or did not like the staff, because they were essentially invisible. When we came back after dinner (around 9:30 pm) the lady at the reception did not lift her eyes from her book as we went by. A band of armed robbers could have walked in and nobody would have ever known.

    Perfect location, a very short walk from the center of Munich, close to a delightful open air market. Just a perfect place. The hotel itself is good, but not exceptional. Very small room, but comfortable beds. Only people who are intimate with each other should use the microscopic elevator...

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Couldn't fault it.

    Excellently located across from Viktualienmarkt and a very short walk to many other great attractions in Munich, such as the town centre, cathedral and Oktoberfest grounds. The room was spacious, very comfortable and had a modern decor.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is not a 4 star hotel, it's more like a bed and breakfast hotel. Not enough breakfast choices. There is no staff available past 9pm.

    the best part to this hotel is it's location, next to the Marienplatz. Good coffee. Very clean.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The first thing that strikes you is the cleanliness of the hotel and rooms. Rooms are small but comfortable, breakfast is good and the coffee is the best! The hotel is perfectly situated in Viktualienmarkt and everything is within walking distance.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not really a whole a lot of negative here. The breakfast was delicious and the beds were comfortable, although the shower was a little bit hard to get in and out of.

    See above.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Cost of hotel for what we received was very over priced. For a Rick Steve hotel it was not a good value. Breakfast was nothing special but efficient and clean. We expected price to be higher given October Feast starting as we were leaving but really found cost to be very high given quality of hotel in general. I would search for a better priced hotel. Our quote was $700 plus and we paid $862 for three nights.

    Location was excellent. Room was large but nothing special.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We only had one night at this hotel and had to leave early in the morning. They offered breakfast to us before the normal breakfast time, which was very nice!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    We love this place ,we try to book there first every time we're in Munich! Great location in a nice area .Nice friendly helpful staff, super clean rooms ,super breakfast!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms and common areas lacked a little personality - no big deal, but would have been nice to be a little 'happier'

    Good location near the old town, market and other amenities. Great restaurant cafe next door.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is the big challenge, as expected in the center of the city, even unloading the car in the narrow packed street (we got a ticket in the process). Overnight parking is in a public garage ca 10 walking minutes away (IF it is not occupied..) and costs 20 Euros. Loading the car after check out was also a major challenge and got us another ticket.

    Practical no nonsense rooms, very friendly front desk staff. Room was clean and quiet. Breakfast was good ( expanded continental), plentiful, but not outstanding.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are on the small side, but because of very high ceilings they feel spacious and serene. I slept so well there! Breakfast is included and is fantastic, with fruit, yogurt, cheeses, meats, smoked salmon, rolls, pastries, and fresh vegetables. The staff is friendly and helpful, and the location is steps from the Victualienmarkt and Marienplatz, and can't be beat. A great value-- I will always stay there when I go to Munich!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Feather pillows. Would have been great to have foam ones available in wardrobe. To be fair didn't ask at reception to swap - they may well have been able to. Very tiny lift but stairs kept us fit!

    Confortable and although no air con (it was very hot on arrival) the room had a fan which was fine. Right next to the Viktualianmarkt.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    While they have an elevator, it is TINY. Also, no A/C when the booking.com site said they did have A/C. The fan and window worked fine, but it got a little toasty/warm at night.

    It was super clean and close to the center of Munich without being on a busy street. I found easy access to transportation and lots of restaurants to choose from nearby. The breakfast was just right (buffet) and the parking garage was a few blocks away but easy to navigate.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No a/c, and with windows open too much noise from street and balconies across street; bathroom very tiny.

    Location was terrific, room nice size, beds comfy

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was extremely clean. The bed was comfortable. No street noise at all and was able to sleep with the window wide open which I love to do. There was a great variety of items at breakfast and we were able to get exactly what we wanted in a timely manner. Coffee great too..... Advice to others: if you drive here on your own or take the train, bring a detailed map. I looked at a map before I left home but was over confident of my ability to find the hotel with out one as I didn't live far from Munich at one time. I should have brought a detailed map. This hotel is around a sharp right corner and I didn't see it right away. A map would have helped me. It's location contributes to it's quietness. I will stay here next time....:)

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing.

    Location to Viktualien Market and Marienplatz. Close to S Bahn and U Bahn, many, many restaurants, attractions, shopping, etc. Great price for the location and the neighborhood was quiet at night for sleeping.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff was excellent. We arrived at 8am after a very long flight and they gave us a room immediately. Breakfast was nice. The rooms were small but worked fine. The room did not have A/C which was not a issue for us as the weather was mild and we were able to open the windows without being disturbed.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The front desk clerk was very helpful and kept the breakfast bar open an extra 30 minutes for my wife. It was so close to everything! 7 min walk to Marienplatz, 2 min walk to an amazing open market.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This hotel is in a great location: around the corner is a tram stop that's 5-6 stops from the Hauptbahnhof, and the hotel is within easy walking distance to the Viktualienmarkt, Marienplatz, the Hofbrauhaus, various restaurants, and other sights in the city. The room was great! I kept thinking the pull out sofa would be uncomfortable, but my family slept soundly. We had fantastic light in the room with two big windows and the room was big enough for us (with room for our backpacks). We even had a little table with 4 chairs! It was tastefully decorated (modern, but not stark). Breakfast was good, too!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    wifi didn't work in my room which is an issue when travelling for business

    Very helpful staff. Excellent location - a stone's throw from the centre, and a number of restaurants nearby. One of the quietest rooms I've ever stayed in.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room just near the lift,somebody's hairs in the bathroom(I am bald), just 1 small blanket and 1 normal size pillow for a double bed, cleaners speaking loudly in the corridor every early morning!

    Central location,big and warm room.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We did not care for the pillows, and the bottom sheet came untucked every single night and was uncomfortable.

    The location is excellent. We found a parking spot that was very affordable. The breakfast is excellent. The employees were friendly and nice. The hotel room was well stocked.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms were very small with tiny bathrooms. Didn't feel overly safe walking this neighbourhood of a night time. Streets were not well lit and very quiet. Breakfast was fair with cereal, toast, coldmeat cheeses etc. Don't expect a big buffet. Rooms were very close together with 1 small shared corridor, not ideal if you have small children/Babies.

    Hotel Was in a good location within walking distance to the markets. Lots of lovely cafe and resturants close by. Staff were pleasant.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lift is a little small and an odd shape

    Nice hotel located in a central part of Munich. A lot of the main sites to visit are within walking distance like Marienplatz, Viktualienmarkt, etc. Spacious rooms and good breakfast offerings

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bathroom was really small, struggled to get out of the shower cubicle and dry off as not a lot of floorspace.

    Location was fantastic and the room was spacious, clean and tidy.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    In this casy stay in this hotel was not so nice that it was 2years ago. TV- does not work in a one of room, light was very dark and a lamp can not swich on. A hairdrier did not work.

    Good location. Nice and good breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    wifi did not work in my room.

    Great location next to Viktualienmarkt and Marienplatz. Comfortable and clean room, nice bathroom. Breakfast is also good.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No mini fridge, bit too soft bed, water pressure inside the shower not powerful enough

    Big rooms with lots of outside light,simple and modern furniture,

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Wifi was out on the 2nd floor several days and front desk didn't seem to care. Staff smoked in the back room off the lobby which made the lobby smell while we sat in the lobby for the wifi.

    Wonderful location. The breakfast staff was very friendly, and the breakfast was enjoyable. The man that checked us in was also very kind and helpful.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking a car can get expensive. The breakfast was okay.

    Fantastic location close to the old town. Good size room for a family of 4. Walking distance to all types of restaurants and shopping.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    This hotel has no tea or coffee facilities in the rooms however when we asked reception to make us tea it was not a problem just gets embarrassing asking all the time and the directions to the hotel from the train station were extremely poor thus we ended up dragging suitcases around for an hour and a half when we were told it was 3 minutes from the station Marineplatz

    We liked the quaint little hotel, it is positioned conveniently close to the trams which was great for getting around and once we found the hotel it was not far from Marineplatz. The staff were all very pleasant and very helpful when requested.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tea making in room

    Location breakfast staff quietness of location nearby restaurants and food market to buy fruit or bits. Would stay again tram very close Marienplatz very close

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to do the late check out, in case this may happen to you, please read all the emails the hotel sends, all the instructions are there.

    The location was very good, the staff was very friendly, the breakfast was good, the room had good space and was very clean, there is a laundry in front, the room had a bottle of water for us when we arrived.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved being near marienplatz and public transportation. We could walk everywhere. The breakfasts wer excellent. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The room was really fresh, new and clean.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our shower was a bit noisy and the guests next door were not impressed but overall everything else was great.

    Perfect location far enough away from the touristy square but only minutes walk away. Warm and comfortable hotel with very friendly staff. They were especially nice letting us have breakfast with them after we arrived home late from a wedding the evening before.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    * Corridors were very noisy which resulted in a bad night's sleep. Because of concrete floors and loud doors you could hear guests entering the floor at all times. How about carpet? * Very basic facilities; no toiletries in bathroom

    Nice breakfast

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking is a couple blocks away but that is common for hotels in this area.

    Location is great and price was much better compared to other hotels in this location. Staff is very nice and helpful. Sweet Lady working the front desk went out of her way to help us when we had questions! She is awesome! Room was clean but plain and small. You pay for the location not for luxury here. Breakfast was good and bottles of water were complimentary which was a nice bonus!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had some trouble finding the hotel as it is on a side street. We relied on google maps on our phone and it did not work well. Should of gone old school and printed out the directions before hand - our fault.

    Location was perfect for where we wanted to go in Munich on our way to Vienna. The room was very comfortable and breakfast was great.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It would of been nice to have coffee/tea making facilities and a bath... but these weren't a big deal.

    Fantastic location for central Munich. Very friendly staff, lovely breakfast. Clean comfortable room.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Very central location in Munich and the cute&sweet hotel. Fabulous breakfast with plenty of choices(huge fan for their coffeeO(∩_∩)O). Friendly and efficient staffs.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Terrific location close to the center and with easy access for the train to the airport. Very clean, easy reception with helpful staff. Breakfast was excellent. A good value for Munich which tends to be expensive.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Simple map to help one find the hotel at night would have been helpful

    Excellent location made up-somewhat-for high rates during Octoberfest. Small clean room was to be expected Good breakfast

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was tiny. Really tiny. But the bed was very comfortable and the room was very clean.

    Hotel am Viktualienmarkt has a GREAT location. Minutes away from Marienplatz and the Viktualienmarkt market square. A ten minute walk from a U-bahn and S-bahn station with trains to everywhere in Munich. Many, many restaurants within easy walking distance. Shopping and more shopping available. To get to the Munich airport from Hotel am Viktualienmarkt it's a 10-minute walk to the Marienplatz U-bahn/S-bahn station, then catch a single S8 train which runs directly to the airport. And vice versa, I presume. (Once you arrive at Marienplatz, it's a little complicated to find the Hotel am Viktualienmarkt because the area is so crowded that it's hard to make a good map but it's not difficult to learn how to get around once you're there.) Oh, breakfast is excellent -- a good choice of delicious, healthy items.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The weather was quite warm during the three days we were in Munich, so the rooms became a little bit stuffy as there was no air-conditioning, only a fan.

    Room was very clean. Location was excellent, around the corner for Viktualienmarkt where there were many food options. Staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Somewhat noisy at times on the street below our windows.

    Fantastic location! Short walk to Marienplatz and U station. Tram across the street a plus. Staff was caring and helpful when my mother needed a doctor.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Absolute great experience , perfect location staff accommodated with a car rental issue that we ran into as well as going out of their way to create ambiance for us.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Located in the heart of Munich, experienced and lovely stuff. Will definitely recommend this to other and hopefully would stay here on my next visit

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Hotel is positioned perfectly in the city and in a non-commercial area. The value is excellent for the money paid if you like to walk around Munich and like the local experience. Highly recommend it.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room we got had windows to the street - if you like to sleep with the windows open, you may want to ask for a room on the other side of the building. We didn't mind the noise for the two nights we stayed (weekend!), but it could be a bother during a longer stay...

    Great value for the money - perfect location, close to the old part of the city; excellent breakfast, bright and spacious room.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Elevator is very tiny, but wasn't an issue, but just a heads up!

    Great hotel right in near all the wonderful food markets and not far the city center. All walkable. Great location! Excellent Breakfast, clean, lovely. The staff was so nice and they made me a cup of coffee while I waited for my room to be ready which took about 5 mins.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was one of the best hotels I stayed in this trip. Despite being in a busy part of Munich, the hotel was quiet and relaxing. Breakfast was delicious, the rooms were clean and comfortable, and the staff were all very kind. It was a bit of a splurge for my travel budget, but it was well worth it.

    Stayed in August 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel am Viktualienmarkt traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: