Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Villa Elben This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Hünerbergweg 26, 79539 Lörrach, Germany

#1 of 30 hotels in Lörrach

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 713 hotel reviews

9.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.9

  • Comfort

    9.6

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    9.5

  • Staff

    9.8

  • Value for money

    9.5

  • Free WiFi

    9.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 64

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows were hard . It would be great if they would offer a choice : soft and hard Same for the bed cover too warm for this season

    Very nice staff, very clean room , good breakfast and romantic atmospher.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    In the beautiful forest, I found Villa Elben. When I arrived at the hotel, the bell of the church had beautiful songs in the evening sky. It was a lovely place. All the guests were calm and peaceful. They greeted gently each other. Everything was kept clean and beautiful. I felt Villa Elben is loved by everyone. I am so happy to stay Villa Elben. I will never forget this beautiful place. I appreciate Villa Elben and all the staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    We were delighted with the property, the staff, the cleanliness & quality of the rooms. The price was very reasonable considering the high standards throughout the hotel & grounds. The hotel is family run & the care & attention to detail is outstanding.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing.

    I know it's ridiculous to say but 'everything' was excellent. Service perhaps is the most wonderful bit. The fact that it's family run and has a pride in the attention to detail really shows. Room was lovely, G&T on the terrace - superb. Definitely coming back. Thank YOU for having us.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In hot summer days an aircon can be missed (it was a decent temperature during my stay)

    Very well maintained family run property with authentic character. The owner and manager is on the spot and personally checks out that things run smoothly. The staff is very friendly and service oriented. Little favors were responded positively like using the room for a telecon one hour beyond checkout time. The place is very classy and authentic up to the mascot a black labrador dog...rounds up the sympathetic and private atmosphere. I will come back!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Very friendly and helpful staff. We had a room in the new wing of the hotel which had a fantastic modern bathroom with a great walk-in shower. Hotel situated in a beautiful garden with lots of parking. Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No restaurant for dinner. No elevator, but broad easily negotiable stairs.

    Lovely, older, family run hotel. Modernized, bright rom. Plentiful parking, dog friendly, beautiful garden.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    everything was completely perfect, beautiful villa from the early 20th century,still owned by the family,but after the second world war turned into a hotel.We had a room in the villa at the front,in every way perfect,modern,nicely decorated and clean and new.very good beds!Super bathroom.There is also an extension connected with the villa with a bit smaller but still perfect rooms.We stayed here only one night on our way from Italy and Switzerland to the Netherlands

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the staff -owner? were very friendly and helpful. They even sent a taxi to the airport to pick me up personally. The room and bathroom were very modern and comfortable. We loved every moment of it. Very clean and beautiful location. We will be back with the family.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I see nothing need to be better, every thing is perfect

    the facility is very good, the room is very clean and the breakfast was fantastic , the staff are very freindly

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was perfect.

    A stunning B and B with gorgeous, large rooms (at least in the older part, where I stayed). Friendly, professional family staff. Excellent breakfast, which kept me going for most of the day. Peaceful. A quick walk into town and quick drive to Beyeler Foundation and Vitra Campus. I cannot recommend it more highly.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    A very pleasant hotel, very clean and modern inside. We had a comfortable room with a balcony. The grounds are lovely, perfect for walking our dog. You can park easily (and for free) and either walk into town or take a short drive.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit daunting to find out there was no lift, however, one of the staff took our suitcases up to the second floor. My husband carried them down. I could not have done this myself!

    Beautiful old villa with great views across Lorrach. Everything was immaculate and very unusual with antique furniture on the large square landings between floors, good breakfast and very helpful staff.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Absolutely delightful place, in a big park, everything is so charming and well maintained. We just felt so at ease. The breakfast was the best we had during our one week tour in Schwarzwald. The presentation, the choice of food, just wonderful. Last but not least, thanks to the personnel, extremely kind, and helpful. And we don't forget the very competent and smiling lady in charge (maybe the owner of the place?)

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything perfect!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Freshly decorated modern room that was clean and very comfortable

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing..everything was just perfect

    no breakfast as i am only having coffee and a cigarette...got invited to a coffee on the beautiful terrace

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wonderful location and building, very friendly staff (despite delayed arrival time), great value for money!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing serious but it was my second stay in two months...not recognized.

    Relaxing at Balcony and breakfast Nice sun setting view

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view is beautiful

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Finding a good restaurant nearby

    Really professional, and very friendly hotel with a fantastic breakfast

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing they could have done. The staff was fabulous.

    accommodations were above paar. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    • With a pet
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very beautiful building, very gentle and polite staff, everybody had a smile on his/her face.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I love this family run hotel. Everything about it is wonderful. Also very good restaurants within a short walking distance.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    NA

    Everything was perfect

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No nonsense. Comfortable. Polite. Friendly. Breakfast is good value for money and good!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing, it was perfect

    Our room was excellent, large, spotlessly clean and well equipped. The bathroom was particulary excellent.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Extremely kind staff, relaxing atmosphere, good breakfast and an all-around very pleasant stay. Would definitely book again when in Lörrach.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air con in rooms

    Modern, comfortable rooms; friendly staff; good breakfast selection; pleasant surroundings

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing!

    On our way to Piemonte we stayed in the old house in a very comfortable renovated room. Excellent breakfast. Very nice terrace.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely quiet clinically clean hotel in private woodland setting. Free onsite parking and Internet connection.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    There was a group of guests in the hotel lobby who made noise until late at night.

    I am a regular visitor to this hotel and find it every time very pleasant to stay there. The service is very good and the property is well maintained and every time there is a little further improvement, like this time the new pavement on the car park.

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Construction works outside a temporary inconvenience which should yield further improvements. Outside steps slippy when wet.

    This is a grand building, the staircase is from a stately home, a Grand Piano in the Hotel Lounge, The breakfast is extremely varied and our Spiegel Eier were excellent. And the price was very reasonable.

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It is a short but steep walk from the Bahnhof. However there a taxis outside of the Bahnhof so it wasn't really a problem. We only used a taxi when we first arrived with luggage.

    Our room was very clean . The hotel is situated in a quiet area so it was peaceful. The staff were helpful at all times and breakfasts were very good. .

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very friendly staff and we would like to say a big thank you to the young man who waited for us to arrive well after 11 pm due to a delayed flight into Basel. We took our small dog and we felt very welcome. The room was modern and exceptionally clean. The breakfast was amazing and the parking was free. A well deserved 10 out of 10.

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Everything was perfect.

    We love the old house set in its own grounds because it is so quiet with a lovely view from the hillside position. The choice at breakfast is always varied, fresh and some local produce. The bed, being modern, was a little low down but we managed.

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Parking can be a challenge, but the staff will work out any difficulties that arise.

    This place is exceptional! It is an experience to be enjoyed and savored. The hotel is a remarkable villa in a remarkable location with truly wonderful staff (family run) who care about their guests. The house is an architectural masterpiece, located up on a hill overlooking Lorrach with a view of Basel from the ground floor balcony. Ben, the black lab, is a treasure! We had one of the best stays we ever experienced on six continents.

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    On arrival later in the afternoon (17.00h) one person was doing all so it took quite some time (>20 min) to get a drink. We were thursty after a long drive. Pitty. Also, the nearest restaurant in the town center (with the dining place on a balcony) has shamefull pricing and poor quality. But offcourse, this has nothing to do with the hotel, be aware however.

    Beautifull old building with lots of charming details, very classy and well kept.

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    not a bad experience, maybe the mattress was too soft or is beginning to show its age, but it could have been a bit firmer.

    Very clean with a nice mix of old and new decor/super hotel staff friendliness by everyone/very quiet location and it was easy to find/very convenient to the pedestrian zone/excellent breakfast variety/English spoken by hotel staff was a big plus/great balcony area to relax with a drink or have breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had a very pleasant stay in Villa Elben. The room was comfortable, clear, clean and modern. The breakfast was perfect. The park is pleasant to see from the room and very quite. The price is reasonnable.

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    We loved absolutely everything.

    Superb hotel, compy bed, spacious room with balcony, amazing roof terrace and delicious breakfast could be enjoyed from balcony overlooking countryside, excellent service all the time, relaxing atmosphere. Spotless place in a very good location! We were staying for 10nights and would definietly go back. We loved it!

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lack of airconditioning

    Every thing else was to the most satisfactory, such as cleanness, very friendly staff, very capable administration. The location is in a beautiful and calm area. With 7 Euro taxi fare you are in the middle of town and next to the train station

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent, spotlessly clean, spacious & comfortable room. Breakfast on the terrace overlooking the garden was perfect. A very impressive place to stay!

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing bad to say.

    Had 2 nights on route to Italy. Great base to see Basel. A short train ride. The station is only a short walk from the hotel, but no traffic noise as the hotel is in a leafy area.wonderful breakfast. Really helpful staff and extremely clean. There are no evening meal facilities but there are too many to chose from in the town of Lorrach.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    the town of Lorrach , awful. as a single woman traveling I felt seriously ill at ease here. went into town for dinner and immediately felt nervous about my car in the paid parking garage. skinheads, tattoo parlors, sketchy people , couldn't wAit to get back to hotel. lots of cafés but look carefully, no one was eating anything but ice cream. maybe there was a different part if town but I didn't find it. would not return to this hotel for that reason as facility has no dining options. next time would drive a little further to either rheinfeld or Basel.

    super hotel. staff, facilities, bed, parking and wifi were all excellent. extensive breakfast buffet.

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    You must remember your key as no night porter.

    Proximity to rail station, room very comfortable. Great breakfasts. Happy staff who were very helpful. Good value.

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Inviting and pleasant staff. Friendly, personable and helpful service always given with a smile. Very relaxed and calming surroundings. More like your home than a corporate hotel. Every guest feels welcomed.

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2015

    • Couple

    There was any strange smell in our room. We opened the window and in 15-20 minutes it had gone. The blankets were separated , that is may be comfortable for many couples, but we specificaly like one big blanket and not separated beds. But it is "-" just for us.

    The hotel is beautiful, the stuff is very helpfull, good delisious breakfast with fresh vegetables, salads, many sorts of chees and other things. Pleasant atmosphere.

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything just excellent

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing.

    All staff were excellent

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Friendly staff, modern rooms

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beautiful property, quiet yet convenient location, excellent frühstück.

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing.

    The house itself.

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Everything I like

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Friendly and attentive staff. Location was perfect.

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    High standard of the property and the friendly and efficient staff.

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very stylish and comfortable room, bathroom, public rooms, terrace and breakfast rooms. Super breakfast and very friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    everything

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beautiful hotel very relaxing and clean ,would have liked an English speaking chanel on TV .

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very spacious and comfortable room. The bathroom was huge! By our special request there were vegan options for breakfast :)

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Everything just perfect !

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location, quite yet close to everything in Lorrach, not your usual run of the mill hotel

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    breakfast is so lux.

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    very good value for money, very comfortable, friendly presonnel, well located, excellent breakfast!

There are also 31 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 64

Guests also reviewed these properties: