Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Villa Hentzel 3 stars

Bauhausstr. 12, 99423 Weimar, Germany

#10 of 25 hotels in Weimar

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 561 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 38

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We could not enter hotel for at least half an hour as it was locked, even though we informed about our arrival time in advance. We arrived at 7pm, and reception was supposed to be open until 8pm. Confusing instructions about which phone number to call in order to get the hotel door open for us. Hotel also refused to provide wifi connection. We had to pay extra for the parking and were only informed about it next morning. In case we parked outside in the street it would have been free. However, since reception was closed, nobody informed us about it in advance.

    Room was quite comfortable and clean, very quite outside. Seems to be well placed in Weimar.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Good breakfast, nice choice. Very clean room and bathroom. Comfortable bed and superb house itself. We had a spacious room with more than enough space for 2 weeks. The personal doesn't speak English, but we didn't need anything special from them, no questions, so it was not a problem.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We could not gain access to the hotel we arrived at 5/30pm, the hotel was not open we had to knock on the door and windows to try to get access, then the hotel's manager arrived and let us in.not very professional

    The hotel was very nice

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a statement that the villa Henzel was once a house of Rudolf Steiner in the explanation of Japanese booking. com sight. We followed after Dr. rudolf Steiner, so it was one of our big purpose to stay in Steiner's House.But there, we couldn't find any evidence and exact statement about that. Of course, the stay was perfect, but we decided to stay there because of that the hotel was Steiner's residence.So I'd like you ( the owner, and the booking.com) to make it clear!

    Location, staff,atmosphere, and you can also find good Bioshop near there, everything was so good!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It seemed like a facility that had once been very nice but had been purchased and was currently run by people who were driving it into the ground and not maintaining it. It was difficult to find on public transport. Much of the info on wifi was inaccurate. It had been raining and was a bit cold (so it would have been much nicer to have had something hot for breakfast). I had to bring my reservation to the office because they were trying to overcharge me.

    It was located near the park.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    CONS: The hot food supply at breakfast was sparing or non-existent; perhaps our lack of conversational German prevented us asking for more Wi fi was extremely erratic and unreliable. The towels we were given smelled musty and could have done with a good wash

    We had a one night stay while visiting the night markets, the Amalia Library, and the Bauhaus museum PROS: Grand old building Free parking if you’re early Quiet neighbourhood with elegant buildings 10 – 15 minute walk to town centre Bedroom 2.2 on the first floor has twin single beds, is quite spacious with period furniture and has a large balcony with chairs overlooking the street. The bed was comfortable and spacious. General Comment: This is more a B & B than a hotel. Reception closed at 4 pm on the day of our arrival (28 December) Request a room with good wi fi connectivity if you are reliant on a free service

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We arrived by train and found our way to the hotel easily by bus, using their instructions. The location is excellent, in a quiet, tree-lined street, next to the Bauhaus University and within easy walking distance of the town centre. Our room was elegantly furnished, comfortable and quiet, and we enjoyed the breakfast. The staff are helpful with advice about what Weimar has to offer and able to speak some English.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    You would need to check with the hotel if it has a lift, we didn't see one.

    A lovely room with balcony in a leafy suburb with easy parking and within a short walk to the city centre. Staff friendly and helpful and good choice of food at breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the old-fashioned hairdryer that didn't have enough power

    The Staff was very friendly and helpful, the street nice and quiet, everything squeaky clean and the room was large and pleasant

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No complaints.

    Spacious room, nicely decorated and very clean. My son left a new shirt in the wardrobe which was later sent back to him by post - thankyou for that. A few minutes walk to the city centre.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Walking distance into centre

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No

    Interesting house (Rudolf Steiner lived here) in very central Weimar. Quite. Parking

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was lovely, bountiful, & delicious!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cosy and calm location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms are spacious, and hotel is short walk to city center. Just stayed overnight, but would definitely consider going back.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast could have been more imaginative.

    A light and airy room in a quiet area, lots of green and within walking distance of the centre of Weimar.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    but should present itself as a bed and breakfast not a hotel because it did not seem to have any restaurant

    The place was nice a suitably located

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely friendly comfortable hotel, easy access from motorway and within easy walking distance from historic town centre.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Good breakfast, and good staff. We like the city and hotel location and the nice park.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wifi a bit erratic.

    Friendly staff.Good breakfast.Free parking. Easy walk to centre.Good value.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location. The charm of staying in an renovated villa. The ceiling was as high as the room was wide. Pleasant staff and very comfortable bed.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location is good for persons who have car, a very comfortable place and close to Bauhaus-University Breakfast is good

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    very small bathroom with very narrow shelf over the washbasin so there is no room for your toiletries, no tea kettle in the room (though it was a free tea available at the reception desk), undistinguished breakfast, no lift

    good location close to the town centre, nice staff, spacious room (although it wasn't the one showed on the bookingcom site)

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing

    period hotel in the culture capital, large comfortable room in a hotel a few minutes from Weimar centre. Excellent breakfast. Parking on site. ,Welcoming friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Family room with big terrace on ground floor was great and comfortable. Free tea at any time of the day. Very central and yet quiet. Parking car was no problem. Very friendly and attentive staff. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Only a few private parking spaces available, but there was free parking in the street. WiFi connection was bad and slow in our room. It can be crowded in the (very stylish) breakfast room at peak time. There were some cobwebs on the (high) ceiling of our room, but apart from this, the spacious room and the smallish bathroom were very clean.

    We particularly liked the nice atmosphere and the friendliness of the staff, and also the nice private terrace. The breakfast buffet offered an attractive and wide choice of fresh bread and cold food. Warm food however was limited with no day-to-day variety. We received a lot of apologies and two small bottles of sparkling wine to compensate for a wardrobe that could not be used during our stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No remarks

    Excellent value for money: large room with internal hall and large bathroom, very quiet and peaceful. Service very efficient, excellent breakfast with attentive service from the efficient breakfast lady. Private free parking for guests and wifi.

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing.

    Getting a Parking place, Very difficult and almost nowhere else to park, the street is always full of parked cars. But thankfully a member of staff made a place for me.

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The very nice historic building (R. Steiner used to stay there) located in a quiet street close to the town center and Park on Ilm. Service is very good; breakfast is great. Large room with very high ceiling; Clean and well decorated.

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bathroom/toilets are small, but still within bearable limits.

    Everything was spotless, staff very helpful and breakfast very nice. Free tea is available at reception.Extra water or wine is available from a fridge for reasonable price. Hotel is located within walking distance of city centre. Room was spacious.

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Management saves on small things. No complimentary water in room, no soap, no shampoo. Hey it's Germany and be lucky they dont charge extra for toilet paper !! Also if you book through bookings.com, they pass on the commission to the guest. We paid 7 Euros more than room price so the hotel saves the commission. Book directly!

    Clean, good breakfast, helpful staff and very quiet hotel within walking distance of town center.

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Very helpful and pro-active staff Good beds, cleanliness, and very quiet location.

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2016

    • Couple

    Bad wifi reception

    Very spacious and nice room

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Noisy bathroom fan

    Room with balcony

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Good location for walking into Weimar. Quiet street easy to find. Free parking.

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    nothing

    the windows, house and location and quietness during the night

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Parking is limited.

    Quiet location. A nice 10 minute walk to the bright and busy centre of Weimar. Lovely old mansion converted to a small hotel.

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    In a quiet street

There are also 11 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 38

Browse Hotel Villa Hentzel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: