Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Villa Keller This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Brückenstr. 1, 54439 Saarburg, Germany

#3 of 6 hotels in Saarburg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 103 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    6.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 15

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    4.0
    After an advance booking of 3 weeks, arrived to hotel in total darkness and closed doors. No apology
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    After booking 3 weeks in advance, we arrived in the evening after a 15 hour journey. Repeatedly during the day we tried to call the hotel to say when we would arrive and to arrange for a meal. No answer, no forwarding message service so we were unable to talk with the hotel, When we arrived the place was in total darkness, no one at home. What to do ?. As luck would have it , next door was another hotel. Luckily they were able to accommodate us. The original hotel owners sat at the dining table and were as it were" on their day off ". Eventually they came over to us, no apology to us for the inconvenience, no excuse for the closed doors. They did accept our money for the reservation but didn't have the decency to inform us they wouldn't be there. This is disgraceful hotelier behaviour, at least they could have apologised but no it was insisted an email had been sent to us that afternoon. We did not receive any notification. In any case we were travelling throughout the continent. Our booking had been made three weeks in advance. Surely they had time to tell us they would not be there. This hotel purports to be of high standing. Despite the fine location next to the river Saar. I would certainly not recommend this establishment. One of the most unfriendly , inhospitable , unhelpful hoteliers I have ever come across

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    5.8
    Pleasant but nothing outstanding
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was on the third floor so internet was very weak/non existant. Staff were very pleasant but scarce which left us guessing where things were (breakfast room, access to the front porch etc). Also irritated by trains trundling past during the night.

    An airy room, clean ensuite, comfortable bed that didn't smell of fabric softener.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    9.6
    Historic house in lovely position by the River Saar
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing - all fine. Understood that as a listed building there was no lift. Restaurant being closed meant walking into town two evenings - but close by and with a good selection of eating places.

    Had very large corner room on second floor with view of the River - excellent. Main restaurant closed but good evening meal outside from the courtyard bar. Breakfasts were a highlight taken on the patio overlooking the River and castle - wide selection. Could walk into the town centre in 10/15 minutes. Historic house built in 1801 for a leather maker.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    10
    Amazing setting by the river with a view of the castle was unexpected
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My shower soaked the room but it was hilarious

    The antique unspoilt décor and features were amazing

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    9.6
    Very comfortable hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nil

    Very comfortable hotel.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2017

    8.3
    Great stay in Saarburg
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The house has the charm of time gone by, the restaurant is marvellous - food, drinks, service and atmosphere are all splendid.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    10
    A wonderful friendly family hotel, excellent service and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No Wi-fi in our room.

    A wonderful friendly family hotel, excellent service and perfect situated.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    9.6
    charming place to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfsst was good. Room was large and charming.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2016

    9.2
    Friendly and helpful staff/owners, good location and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I would have liked a double bed but one was not available

    Friendly and helpful staff/owners, good location and excellent dinner and breakfast with a good winelist

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2015

    7.5
    Stunning villa.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    When we arrived, we couldn't even get into the building. It was locked, no employees around and thankfully some other visitors were lounging on the terrace. They made a call to the management who informed them where the key was. We got no introduction, no explanation of the facilities, when and where breakfast would be served, etc. In fact, I had to go looking for management the next day and my encounter was awkward and cold...as if it were unusual for me to be talking with her. I don't expect much, but I do expect some kind of greeting by an employee and some explanation of the facilities, etc.

    Stunning villa. Location by the river was wonderful. The room was large, tastefully decorated and had a vintage feel.

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2015

    5.8
    The view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room we should get was smelly. Like between drainage and wet. No view. The one across had only single beds. So we upgraded and laid more for a decent room. No internet. TV mini size.

    The view.

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    7.5
    Nice walk along the path into Saarburg takes about 10mins.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The restaurant was closed on Monday & Tuesday when we were staying so the hotel was a little quiet.

    Nice walk along the path into Saarburg takes about 10mins. Plenty of places to eat.

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2015

    7.5
    Excellent meals and great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    see above

    Excellent meals and great location.

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2015

    9.2
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Everything

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2015

    8.8
    Position, area and food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Position, area and food

There are also 4 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 15

Guests also reviewed these properties: