Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Villa Marstall This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Lauerstraße 1, Altstadt, 69117 Heidelberg, Germany

#6 of 66 hotels in Heidelberg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 653 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.6

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    10
    Fantastic hotel in the Altstadt.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I cannot think of anything that I did not like about my stay here.

    Beautiful hotel, very clean, quiet, and comfortable. Great location in the Altstadt.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    7.9
    Fine if you're not fussy
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was fine, but rather barren, quite bland. I was bit uncomfortable with the lack of a 24 hour receptionist. The hotel does announce this, but it felt a bit creepy to come into the hotel in the evenings.

    very warm and welcoming staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    9.6
    Superb stay in Heidelberg
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattresses a bit firm and lack of feather pillows

    Loved this character villa with wooden floors, furniture in keeping with style and delightful brick cellar breakfast nooks. Staff were superb and location couldn't be better. Would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    10
    I will definately look at staying at Hotel Villa Marstall next time I am in Heidelberg.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wonderful property - great location, comfortable and clean room and the staff was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was also very good (extra cost).

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    10
    Very warm, friendly and helpful service in an excellent central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing!

    Staff at the front desk were super friendly and helpful, as I had just arrived from the USA and didn't know what to do, where to go, where to eat, etc. The room 41 was lovely - great view and location!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    9.2
    Good spot!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi was a bit slow for what I've come to expect (spoiled :))

    Very nice place. Round the corner from the old city. Spacious rooms, very clean. Decent breakfast. Not super expensive.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    8.3
    Nice boutique hotel close to the old bridge with no hotel parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking was far and the road in front of the hotel was congested. The rooms are a bit small even the superior room. If I stayed here again I would just take the standard room since there wasn't much difference in the standard and superior rooms.

    The hotel was clean, the staff was friendly the location was good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    8.8
    Wonderful location, kind staff, and beautiful space.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Due to the special air filtration system, there was no thermostat to specify the temperature of the room. On the warm days in 85-90 degree weather, it would have been nice to make the room cooler. Lastly, the booking system (not the hotel) was confusing. I wanted a double room, but requested the double room for one person. I was scared that ordering a “double room” would mean two beds. This seemed to have confused the staff and they set out only one set of towels and pillows.

    The air was specially filtered, and everything was wonderfully clean. The windows were special sound proof windows, which was welcome on the busy street.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    3.0
    A romantic weekend coverted into a nightmare
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A nightmare trying to speak with reception manager o manager of the hotel. For more than 48 hrs they were holding the money of a prebook room plus the payment of the the two nights booked . I cancel one night, I had other people that wanted to rebook the room, never let me use it even for my own son and althoug the cancelation was for Saturday night, the reception said he will let me know by Sunday if they charged that night. Booking reservation was just for 2 nights, they let me changed from 3 to 2 nights, and then this hotel hold the guarantee plus the payment and we had some problems with payments because of the 765 eur blocked!! Never got a phonecall or message from any responsable of the hotel to explain the Situation. No one care about it. A pity since the hotel is well located, we went to the celebration of a college graduation and had a terrible experience with the hotel service. We were there for 3 days and no one worried about our request, no even a note.

    When we arribed and had great expectations!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    4.6
    Everything was fine until we have a misunderstood about our...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was fine until we have a misunderstood about our car and where we could park it. We understood wrong about the rules and conditions but the receptionist was very, very, very rude / impolite, doesn’t trying understand the all context and telling us that we were lying. We left very disappointed with this situation.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    10
    Fantastic location, historic centre, fantastic organisation,...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Fantastic location, historic centre, fantastic organisation, everything perfectly organised, courtesy and professionalism, breakfast prepared with care to detail. Excellent choice. I will come back.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    10
    Lovely hotel in old town Heidleberg
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff were lovely and friendly, the rooms were very tastefully decorated and the location of the hotel is perfect for exploring the old town of Heidelberg. I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel and I would absolutely return.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    7.1
    Short break in Heidelberg in an average hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The duvet on a double bed were 2 single duvets which were too small for 1 person. The room was wuite cold. I paid an extra 24 euros for breakfast,which was a waste of money. The buffet breakfast had very little on offer and I tried the scrambled eggs which were so dry I couldn't eat them. Really disappointing. I shoukd have saved the money and gone into the old town and had a good breakfast for alot less.

    Room had a lovely view if the river. The staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    10
    All together, my favorite hotel experience ever.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I can, literally, think of nothing I disliked about this place.

    This hotel checked all the boxes. Easy walking proximity to sites, restaurants, ATM, laundry, transportation, everything. It's positioned perfectly. That's the math of it. Regarding the art of the matter, the staff was excellent. I mean that in the literal sense of "they excelled greatly". The room was clean, spacious, and beautiful, and the view was gorgeous. Breakfast was great. Highly recommend, will be returning.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    10
    Great staff, room, service and location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was clean and the rooms were quiet considering how close to the road and courtyard this hotel is. The proximity to restaurants is bars was great.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    10
    - The room: Great view on teh river and the castle.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - The room: Great view on teh river and the castle. - The staff: Superfriendly, they did not only fulfil our room request but we even got a free upgrade! - The breakfast: Great eggs, very good choice of fresh fruit and vegetabels, tasty bread, apple pie, very friendly staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    10
    We loved this hotel and would definitely stay here if we returned!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nothing really!

    This hotel was in a fantastic location next to the river with beautiful views of the Neckar and backing right up against the old town, 1 min walk to the main shopping street. It was very quiet there in winter and the staff were extremely welcoming and friendly. The facilities were marvellous and we loved the big four poster bed that gave the room a rather fancy feel!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    10
    The villa is amazing and we are lucky to stay at room 9 with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The villa is amazing and we are lucky to stay at room 9 with a balcony and super beautiful view. The staffs are very kind and helpful and breakfast is great! It is also a good stay choice to travel with a 5 years old kids, they prepared a separated bed for my son!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    10
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to park in a public garage that was pretty far away which was inconvienent. The bathroom is also a little small.

    Great location. Room is fairly large.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    9.2
    Charming hotel overlooking the river in a good part of town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a little small thanks to a slanted ceiling. As a tall guy, it made the room feel a little tight.

    The location of the hotel was great. It was right near the old town and had great views of both the river and castle. There were several great restaurants within a block or two. The staff was friendly and helpful. The room was very clean and well furnished. It offered cool views of the river.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    8.8
    Fabulous staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It does back onto the main road. If you are out and about during the day, you will hardly notice the traffic noise. That said, I may return next year.

    Great service! Convenient location. Step out the door and you are among the coolest little back streets, cafes, shops... a great atmosphere!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    10
    Great location, staff and room. Would love to return!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were all very friendly and helpful. We really enjoyed our stay and would love to return. Location was great! Walking distance to everything or quick tram or bus ride using pass card.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    9.2
    Highly recommend this hotel for visitors to Heidelberg.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are small, but adequate and comfortable. There are no public rooms in the hotel, so you are either in your room or outside touring the city.

    Great location in the old town on the river. Easy bus ride from main train station. Breakfast was an extra charge, but well worth it with a large variety of foods and pleasant ambiance in stone cellar.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    9.2
    Overall everything was great and we enjoyed our stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived by car and the parking is off site (~5min drive based on traffic). We had to unload all our things and then take the car to a parking garage.

    Staff were very helpful and friendly. We had a room on the first floor with a view of the river. The hotel is right next to a main road but you can't hear the traffic which is fantastic because my wife is a light sleeper.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    9.2
    Lovely. Can definitely recommend this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There's a road that runs along the river outside the hotel which was pretty noisy, but that's not a fault of the hotel.

    Very convenient location. Lovely hotel. Beautiful room with gorgeous views of the river and the hills.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    8.3
    Good choice if you just want a clean place to stay if you don't want to socialize.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No gathering room anywhere in the hotel. Not even a chair to wait for taxi or to check in/out. Very loud street traffic noise from our room on the river side of the hotel.

    Location and cleanliness. Courteous staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    9.2
    Fabulous place to stay in Heidelberg. Highly recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not enough room for our luggage. We had 2 large suitcases and we had to leave them on the floor where they were obstructing our movement around the room.

    Great location in the old town. Charming room. Good bathroom. Comfortable bed. Good breakfast. Helpful staff. Easy to get to by bus from the main train station.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    8.3
    Location is superb, and the room was great given the size,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booking failed to inform the property of the number in our party, so once we checked in the price increased due to our children. Additionally, they only offered a nominal discount in the price for breakfast for our four year old, and no discount for our eight year old. Would have liked to get the breakfast offered but was not about to pay that much when knowing my kids they would only eat a tiny amount.

    Location is superb, and the room was great given the size, they made great use of the space. They offer a discounted rate at an area parking garage, but you have to get there early on the weekend because it fills up fast, as it did with us.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    9.2
    Wonderful location and room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can be a little noisy in the early morning as the rooms facing onto the river are also next to the road.

    We booked a deluxe room and loved the four poster bed and interior decor of the room. The location was very convenient in the heart of old town and the view from our room into the river was lovely.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    10
    The staff as ever were superb and this was much appreciated...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff as ever were superb and this was much appreciated as we had to change our plans at the last minute and they went the extra mile to accommodate us. Many thanks to Jessica and the team.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    9.2
    The room had a magnificent view of the river and it was very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only the lack of parking at the premises. However, you get a decent discount at a private parking facilities near by.

    The room had a magnificent view of the river and it was very pleasant room to stay and watch out of the window. It was extra clean to a degree that it is difficult to find. I highly recommend it to those who would like to be in the City Center. Forgot to mention the extra polite staff of the hotel who did very good work to assist us with any request.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    9.2
    Excellent location, nice room, no air conditioning!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a very hot day in Heidelberg and the room was too warm even with the fans on high.

    Outstanding location! Nice, comfortable room with great views of the river!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    9.2
    Wonderful location, great hotel, lovely staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking is in a public multi storey some distance away, 10 minute walk. That is the sacrifice you make for such a central location. You can drop bags off and then go park. We found the last two spaces in the multi storey...

    Great location, very friendly and helpful staff. Quiet. Our second visit, which speaks volumes, and we would happily go back if visiting Heidelberg again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    9.2
    Beautiful hotel in a perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no lounge or lobby and the rooms are small. They have a special rate at one of the parking garages but we weren't informed of this until we had arrived and parked at another garage.

    Beautiful hotel in a perfect location. Very helpful staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    9.2
    Heidelberg heaven at Villa Mastrall.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All really good. No complaints at all.

    Lovely, hospitable staff. Excellent breakfast and location in Old Town which is delightful. Loved Heidelburg and would recommend the Hotel Villa Mastrall. Excellent value for money.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    9.2
    Lovely location exceptionally nice staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The linens were pretty poor especially the towels no washcloths and very few toiletries provided

    The staff was exceptional and the breakfast was excellent

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    7.1
    Loved Heidelberg- we will be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we booked the hotel, we did so on the basis of the picture- 4 poster bed that looked great. Eventually, after a request and paying an upgrade that's what we got- the initial room was a disappointment. The parking was a 1/2 mile from the hotel- a non-issue for us, but may be a surprise to other guests- not convenient if you have trouble walking distances.

    Location: close to the Altstadt and all the sights.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    9.2
    Lovely location in a pretty and quiet boutique hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room could not be darkened very well for sleeping. Better block out curtains would be a useful addition.

    Lovely location and very quiet inside the hotel. Pretty room that was clean and neat. Loved the views from the windows. Easy walking from the hotel to all the special sites, including the castle.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    10
    Good!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Lovely little hotel in the city centre (near the famous bridge). They have a parking but is not near the hotel but it is a nice walk through the centre (and you get discount if you stamp your ticket by the hotel). We had a good stay and if we go back to Heidelberg we will book again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    10
    Great hotel on the river.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There's not much we didn't like. Honestly, I can't think of anything. We would stay there again.

    The room was spacious and clean, with a view of the river. The hotel is along the river. The staff was exceptional. They called taxi's for us, and booked us back in when we needed to stay an extra night. Breakfast was great. Although not included in the room rate, the price was of 12 euros was half of what other hotels charged. The location was excellent, in old town but not in a crowded area.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    9.6
    Incredibly warm reception
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was very accommodating and friendly! They were so sweet with my 2.5 year old - giving him treats and a toy car! They helped me (without my asking) to carry my luggage down the steps when they could see i am 5 months pregnant!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    10
    Don't miss this wonderful hotel in Heidelberg
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing

    Beautifully renovated old hotel. The bathroom was hospital clean, very well appointed room. The breakfast is one of the best ever and they're downstairs seller. Front desk couldn't have been nicer or more accommodating.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    10
    Wonderful small hotel on the river
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There is no lobby at all and the lights go on and off while you talk to reception because they are on motion detectors. Very annoying!

    Great spacious room with a view of the river.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    9.6
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We would have liked if they had tea coffee maker in the room.

    Centrally located very easy to walk to all the sites, the room was very comfortable and tastefully done.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    10
    Highly recommend. Great rooms overlooking the river. Perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints

    Nice location in old town. Right on the river. Easy to find. Beautiful rooms. Very clean and comfortable. Has AC-a rarity in Germany. Breakfast is typical for Germany....good food, good selection.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    10
    Number ONE spot to stay in Heidelberg!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    n/a

    Hotel staff were superb! Very friendly and helpful! Room was beautiful and perfect location- right in the heart of Heidelberg. Highly recommend and would go again!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    9.2
    Wonderful. Would definitely stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I had a room on the top floor room which had a sloping ceiling beam above one side of the bed. Easy to bump your head ! However, I consider this a minor issue, given that it was a charming boutique hotel in a great location.

    Location by the river in the old part of the town was just great. Made exploration of the old centre and the neighbouring hills with their ruins easy to do on foot The breakfast was excellent - a buffet with a wonderful variety to choose from. The breakfast room had several alcoves allowing a degree of privacy and giving a nice ambience. Staff were very helpful with minding luggage, calling taxis and notifying relatives staying at the same place of my presence.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    8.8
    Quant hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had a lovely four poster bed with curtains - like the fairytale beds in the pictures. It was a lovely room with high ceilings and a great view of the river. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. We arrived at 8:30am and they took care of our suitcases so we could tour the city while they prepared our room. The room was ready before it was supposed to be and they'd already put our suitcases in it.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    10
    worth staying would come again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    great location for exploring the old city and easily accessible by either taxi from train station or by public transport. Friendly helpful staff with excellent english. comfortable room (we had a room looking out at the river which was lovely). very secure

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2017

    8.8
    Welcome to the centre of Heidelberg!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    At least when sleeping with the window open, the street noise is somewhat disturbing, and it does not really calm down over night. The hotel has no lobby, i.e. you are either in your room or on the street (or in the breakfast rooom :).

    Hotel situated at the Neckar river, with direct access to the historic centre of Heidelberg. Comfortable, well equipped, clean room. Very good bed, nice bathroom. Stable and fast WiFi. Very friendly staff. Wonderful breakfast in beautifully refurbished vaulted cellar. Public parking at reduced cost (requires some walking, though).

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    10
    great stay at Heildelberg
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very helpful reception, in particular, Ursula, who was very solidary with everything. Very good breakfast, great location, quiet and very nice room. I really enjoyed.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2017

    7.9
    Great location, lovely staff, beautiful view- small room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very small. That's the only thing I didn't like. It's a solid middle range hotel with an exceptionally friendly staff.

    Mainly the location.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    8.8
    The staff was very helpful and responsive to our requests...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My only criticism was there was a strange smell in the room that I think came from a cow hide used as an area rug. It was noticeable when entering the room.

    The staff was very helpful and responsive to our requests and the location was exceptional.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    9.6
    Perfect location right on the river in the old town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Perfect location right on the river in the old town. Friendly staff with a great breakfast. Room was big, bright & comfy. Loved this hotel.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    5.8
    Parking is very far from the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is very far from the hotel. Breakfast was very simple, I was told the time of the breakfast so I asked if it was included in my room. The response was yes, when it came to the checkout, I was charged for it. It wasn't worth it and I won't come back because of this.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2016

    9.6
    Perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very comfortable bed, great central location by the river, beautifully decorated rooms, friendly staff and warm atmosphere. The perfect place to stay in Heidelberg.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2016

    9.6
    Quaint hotel in an excellent location to see the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff were extremely helpful. Location was perfect to walk through downtown and up to the castle. Also a perfect location if you're there for the Christmas market. Small rooms but typical for Europe, comfortable and overall excellent place. Make sure to try the breakfast at the hotel

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2016

    9.2
    Would come. Back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleaners getting ready bang doors and wooden floor a lot very early in the morning

    Very friendly and helpful staff, just the right size hotel; the breakfast was good value and a reasonable offering

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    10
    Could not have been a better start to our vacation!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This boutique hotel is right on the river and the room we got was a perfect place to recover from jet lag and then head out to investigate the neighborhood. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. I highly recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    3.8
    This is a Youth Hostel - do not be fooled, do not stay here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms are not like pictures, they are smaller than you could possibly imagine, you cannot even enter if you are in any way claustrophobic. Travelling for 35 years have never seen rooms so small - very uncomfortable. American girl on reception at night is horrifying, rude, dismissive, unprofessional - seriously we travellers should stop paying for this rubbish - this place is less than a Youth Hostel. Do not stay here - this place should be a Youth Hostel or an old folk's home perhaps, stay at a decent hotel - we checked out after one night and went to the crown plaza, a proper hotel. Cannot believe we fell for this place and did not read tripadvisor reviews beforehand.

    Staff in the morning were friendly and helpful - VERY UNLIKE the American girl who was on reception at night - she was frightful and scary, quite honestly the hotel was embarrassing, but we could have put up with that except the girl on reception was so rude and confrontational from the second we arrived, she will annoy you (perhaps dealing with all the complaints makes her this way) she is the only one there and she goes home at 10pm, there is no manager and no-one else there to make her responsible for her actions - beware, you've been warned ! :-) continue to support this if you wish this kind of thing to continue. I certainly will not.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    10
    lovely hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the 4 poster bed was beautiful and super comfy. lovely view of the river, great location in old part of town. staff wonderful - and nice samples of lindt chocolate at reception!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2016

    8.3
    Friendly & helpful staff .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking a nightmare but seems to be the same anywhere in Lucerne .

    Friendly & helpful staff . Good size room and nice breakfast .Close to all attractions .

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2016

    9.6
    Location, view from the window, competent receptionists.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location, view from the window, competent receptionists. Everything in the room spot on.Room 30 a bit smaller than expected. Parking not far at discounted rate - 8 Euro/24 h. Breakfast in the Seller is well worth paying, variety and service - great.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2016

    8.3
    Wonderful welcoming staff
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    wonderfully helpful staff; lovely spacious bright quiet clean rooms; easy walking distance to all the sights and restaurants, good wifi; ground floor front rooms have lovely view of the river but the windows were at head for passers by - the easy solution is of course to close the curtains but would have preferred to have them open to enjoy the view all the time.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    10
    Treat yourself and stay at Hotel Villa Marstall!! Great location!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was so excited about the breakfast place in the basement but found it a bit dark and hot. The breakfast was very nice though and also the room not bad, just not quite what I expected.

    Great spot, so central!!!! Staff was very nice and I would recommend this place highly.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    7.9
    Ideal location spot in Heidleburg!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I enjoyed the traditional breakfast they offered along with the North American style. A quiet comfortable spot. Felt comfortable staying there on my own.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    9.2
    Do not envy: come and see for yourself!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had a marvelous room overlooking the river and a wood on the other bank. The view is fantastic. It is very close to the center of charming Heidelberg. The staff are very understanding.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    8.8
    We explored delightful Heidelberg and stayed in comfort at the Villa Marstall.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    As often seen, the pillows were below the standard of the hotel.

    Excellent breakfast, polite and helpful staff. Heidelberg is a gem of beauty and charm.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2016

    9.6
    Lovely room in Heidelberg
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I have no complaints.

    The room was beautiful with a canopy bed and large windows that overlooked the river on one side and a pretty street on the other. The bath room had an good strong shower. The hotel reception was helpful and welcoming.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2016

    7.9
    Nice hotel well located.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a room on the top floor so it had lots of low ceilings and eaves. Not good for moving around. I am only short but I lost count of the number of times I banged my head.

    Good location and comfortable spotlessly clean rooms. We had a suite so had a lot of space.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    9.2
    Very nice and modern hotel located right next to the train...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very nice and modern hotel located right next to the train station - there is even an entrance to the train station so you don't have to go outside.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2016

    9.6
    Great comfort, excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We got a top floor room with a nice view, but had to be careful to avoid hitting our heads on the slanted ceiling.

    Great location. Very good bed, with firm mattress. Quiet room, with soundproof windows. Good air conditioning. It kept the room with comfortable temperature and humidity at all times. Excellent breakfast, served in a beautiful cellar. We appreciated the warmth of the friendly and attentive staff.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    8.3
    Busy day, quiet hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night

    If you are driving to the hotel, call ahead for specific instructions. Street is marked as a pedestrian walkway, but you can drive down to check-in and check-out. Parking is about 4 blcoks away.

    Hotel was a quiet, serene oasis after the hot weather and streets filled with pedestrians. Thick windows block out street noise.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    8.8
    Great location and staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was under par

    Staff was very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    9.6
    Quiet hotel in the heart of Old Heidelburg overlooking the Neckar River.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were on the ground floor facing busy streets. The windows are well-insulated and blocked out the noise.

    Stayed in July 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: