Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Metro Boutique Hotel & Restaurant This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Baseler Str. 21, Gutleutviertel, 60329 Frankfurt/Main, Germany

#145 of 221 hotels in Frankfurt/Main

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 437 hotel reviews

7.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.3

  • Comfort

    6.8

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    6.8

  • Staff

    7.9

  • Value for money

    7.1

  • Free WiFi

    7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There is no air conditioning, it was too warm in a room (no.1056), feeling is like you stay in a green house and there is no any chance to cool down, room has only 1 small roof window (room is in mansard) and ventilator which does not help at all, there was quite fresh weather if Franfurt (+19) during my stay, I cannot even imagine room brazier if hot weather outside will be in Frankfurt. Cleanliness is very poor, I saw big insects in the room, shower and tap is very old and of bad quality. Some peaces of tiled floor are disconnected from ground and just lay on it. Furniture is old, there is musty smell in the room. Everything is on dark colors, looks very grimly.

    Good location is the only good thing with this hotel, it is in a short walking distance from Main railway station and in reasonable walking distance from Messe exhibition center. It is convenient to come to Main railway station by S-train from Frankfurt airport and then just walk a short distance.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower could use a little work and water pressure wasn't great. Breakfast was average.

    The bed was comfortable (mattress a bit on the harder side, which is perfect for us). Despite being near the train station, the rooms were very quiet and we had a great sleep. Location was also good as you are near the train station and we were able to get around easily.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Breakfast room manager was awfully unhelpful, unfriendly. Real state of property is quite different than the advertised photos

    Reception staff was nice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were a party of 3 couples. 2 rooms we were allocated to begin with, in the 4*Villa Oriental, smelled disgusting! -Mould/mildew/damp. We were then moved to 2 rooms in their other Hotel, across the little courtyard, Metro Boutique, which was much better, although only 2*, but we were on the 4th floor and there was no lift! Couple #3 came back after our first evening out to find 2 men in their bed!! The hotel had registered their room as also being vacant, and let it out to someone else! As their were no other empty rooms, they were given the hotel's 1 bed apartment- a taxi ride across town, at 1am! They had to come back the next morning for their breakfast and were then given a good room for their 2nd night. The manager was very unhelpful, and just kept blaming the receptionist who had dealt with us. He very begrudgingly agreed us just a 10% refund, only after much badgering from us. So, 4 of us paid for 4*, and stayed in a 2* hotel, and our other friends received no recompense for their distressing 1st night.

    The location - it was close to the station, about a 5 minute walk, and the river was also a short walk in the other direction. The breakfast was good, although maybe some sausages and bacon, too, would have been nice. The 2nd room we were given was clean and comfortable (unlike the 1st!)

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room smelled and was moldy. The room window was open when I arrived but still it smelled a lot. The floor was very untidy and some floor tiles broken/loose. There was a cockroach on the wall. Not again.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff take money for no parking. First they said to return the money but at the leaving time another staff didn't refund. lift is not located comfortably to lift baby carriage. Equipment was quite old. Hotel was under renovation, even difficult to find the reception.

    The middle eastern design of the hotel

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The building is divided into two hotels, Villa Oriental and the Metro, so when you arrive at the Villa you need to be buzzed in then you have to drag your cases up and down stairs to get through to the reception. The internet/wifi was down so we couldn’t have keys. They insisted that we pay up front and in hindsight I can see why because after viewing the room we wouldn’t have stayed. Months earlier I booked 2 single beds but the oom had only a double which the manager kept insisting was two singles. It was clearly meant for one person as there was only one single doona and one set of towels. As we are two single women this was not acceptable. She said the hotel was full but if someone didn’t turn up we could have another room. I rang Booking.com in England at my expense and he made sure that the extra room was a available immediately.However, my friend could only have a hand towel as there were no bath towels until after 10pm. We had no wifi/internet the entire 3 days. Someone was always coming to fix it but never did. The rooms were supposed to be air conditioned but when I asked how to work it I was informed that I would only get heat as they now considered it to be winter and they only had 2 settings and it couldn’t be altered. They ended up giving us universal keys so that they didn’t have to keep letting us in and out of our rooms but that also meant a lack of security because they would open any door. Finally as we were leaving for the airport the day manager couldn’t find any record of us having paid so we had to wait 15 precious minutes while he rang various people to see if he could let us leave. I did have a receipt but it was at the bottom of my case and I wasn’t prepared to pull my case apart on the floor in reception.I should also add that the area is filled with beggars and junkies and was littered with refuse.

    The rooms have an exotic look but the best part of this hotel was the Nepalese restaurant adjoining it.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stay was good but the breakfast, never see like this, alot of flies on whole table & when we complaint to the attendent, she dont react & then we also complaint at receiption german boy, bring him at tye table to see his eyes. He asked to the lady but even then no action on it. Definetly we skip breakfast but surprise to lisen the reply from the boy that we will take care from tomorrow. We stayed a day only who knows what happen next day. So really its very bad stay at frankfurt.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little tired but good value overall. My room overlooked tram lines so some noise however that can be expected for location.

    Location is excellent and decoration is cute. Breakfast is generous also

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    After a long day of traveling, we arrived quite tired around 11pm at the hotel. The staff wasn't able to find our reservation and we waited at least for 20mn. Finally they found our reservation but we ended up with a twin room with 2 separated beds, which isn't convenient for a couple. Initially we've booked a double room with a big bed and they told us that it's no more available. We were really disappointed and the staff wasn't really helping.

    Nice decoration.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing as such, didnt stay for too long. Some miscreants at night outside hotel dont give a good impression, but they may be a function of late night in the city in the station region.

    Late check in at 12.30 midnight, somebody was there at the desk and promptly helped our luggage to the room as there were some stairs. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Electronic room key did not work, had to get duty manager to let me in (fixed next morning). Credit card machine not working, had to pay cash at check in. Room safe was locked. Décor getting worn / chipped and shower appears to have stain build up. Have to go down stairs at entry to reception and back up stairs to rooms.

    Convenient location close to the train station but away from the seedy area. Comfy bed and reasonable noise insulation from road / tram stop out front.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Infrastructure: entrance to the hotel not suitable for families travelling with kids and luggagge. Washroom in very poor condition in terms of shower and other accesories.

    excellent location, right next to the train station; which was great for us.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is a beautiful hotel. The decor and the ambience are spectacular. All of the details, from the "star lights" in the bathroom to the archway over the bed made for a beautiful and relaxing space. The location is great, the breakfast is large and the staff are exceptional. I would stay here again if ever i returned to Frankfurt.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    there are stairs that you have to go up and down before reaching the elevator, it makes it difficult with the luggage

    the decoration is nice, staff are cooperative

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    little smell from air conditioner

    Style , Bathroom and Shower Close to Main Train Station, walk to the beautiful main river area and City Carlos am Empfang super toll und freundlich (Guter Tipp mit Erbgut Brunch, Danke)

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The surrounding area of the hotel is pretty dark and quite difficult to find western / german food nearby. There are plenty of Kebabs and Asian restaurant, which is something we don't really fancy as we came from Asia :)

    the location is very strategic, and very near to Frankfurt Central Station, which allows easy access. The hotel is very well decorated, we really love the room , size , bed, and middle east decoration. The breakfast was good with lots of options.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poooooor wifi, can't even open a picture. The staff are not friendly except the reception staff.

    The location is really nice and the decorations are amazing.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Housing is an issue. Upon check in i recommend visitors to ask for: Tissue Box :( Change bath towels daily :( Remove trash every day :( because the will not remove empty plastic bottles without your instructions.

    Interior is bravo BUT

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would never take you for granted shame on you for such rooms to be 4 stars

    Shame on you for the 4 stars you put on your site, shame on you for that qualification

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    so noisy. And not worth the money value due to very old and not renovate. Bed dress very low quality..etching me hole night,room very very small

    Location in center..great!!!,

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel smells of food all the time, there is a restaurant on the ground floor. Guests need to carry their luggage up and down the stairs.

    Good location and helpful receptionist

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    "Free parking" covers 3 cars - in a 60 people hotel! Wifi did not work at all anywhere in the hotel. Our room stank of cigarettes and the cleanness of the floors left much to be desired.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Don't feel safe

    Location Some ?????

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It needed morr natural light

    Staff very friendly , very clean room and next to train station

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to complain.Indeed!

    I felt like the staff members were the younger brothers and sisters I would like to have. ANTONIO

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Took over an hour to check in

    Location was okay

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tea costed 3 euro

    The woman who works at the place for breakfast was too rude

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed bugs- got multiple bites.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    TV and phone are not working Bed is too small for 2 towels are only for 1 person

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    noisy plce

    loction

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    What they promised on booking.com is not actually there.

    Nothing

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overall

    This hotel Is horrible and Is not deserve even two stars hotels.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room, nowhere to open suitcase. Basin not in the bathroom.

    They gave a calm room and staff was polite.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No parking, and we didn't have hot water in the last morning

    Good breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that the name on Booking.com doesn't match the one written at the entrance of the hotel

    Simple, clean, good location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    I liked the hotel staff and staff was very kindly

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    weak wifi-connection, payment terminal didn't work for MasterCard

    stylish interior / design

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy room. Difficult to sleep.

    Oriental style

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was so uncomfortable,there was barely any bedding & pillows was terrible.The location was very sketchy.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    not clean, area of hotel

    location

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    room Atmosphere

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Evething was ok

    The style from he hotel

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    everything! Great ambiance! Lovely restaurant and hotel! Definitely recommend it!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the lift is not in a good place and the doors of it don't open in the floors There was no WIFI

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    THE BEST STAFF

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    the drainer of the bath doesn't work properly. no ventilation in the bathroom. tiny table in the room and impossible to work.

    great location

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    very poor wifi, noisy on the first floor from the road

    Great location. 2 minutes walk from the main train station. At the station go to the right exit and straight on to the street. Soon you will see a palm tree :) Clean and quiet street, considering the district. Very nice and friendly staff. Good breakfast. The original decoration of the rooms.

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Our Room was not cleaned daily Towels were not Changed even after request, no refill for bath accessories, in Breakfast nothing for vegetarians

    Staff at Reception was very good with smiling face & happy to help ... specially Mr.Mike... Breakfast area staff is very good too...

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Stairs between the entrance and the front desk, and even from the lift to the room

    Very unique concept, staff friendliness, location and Persian cuisine at the restaurant

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I believe that this hotel is not worth 2 star, no internet at all, breakfast very very poor, I advise to reevaluate this hotel as one star hotel.

    Nothing.

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This pretty hotel is just around the corner from Frankfurt (Main) Hbf. The hotel also has a very good Moroccan restaurant downstairs. Usefully, open on Sunday evenings too.

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Shisha Bar is existing which we discovered the on the next day. Not sure if the Shisha-pipe is functional or just aesthetic, it would have been great if the Guy (night shift) at the reception had promptly prepared /guided us to their own in-house bar, which instead he suggested us outside somewhere on the street.

    Very Friendly Staff lady, Liked the Room.

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel was completing building works which were noisy and disruptive. A leaking air conditioning unit meant that water dripped through the night, although the hotel moved us rooms for the second night it would appear that in warm weather this is a common problem.

    The hotel has a unique character.

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    It's near the train station so the area is not so great but the hotel, itself, is okay.

    Nice hotel with very helpful staff. Rooms were clean and quiet.

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Make sure to ask for a room at the back, because it is very noisy at the street side. We didn't like the restaurant in the evening. Breakfast is ok.

    Location is ok if you want to go to the Messe. Very near the train station and public transport.

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2015

    • Solo traveller

    Due to double booking I got a downgraded room. No wifi on the upper floor. AC was very loud. On the last day my room was double booked again by another guest. I offered my room to him. But the receptionist asked both me and him to pay full room charge. A rat was running at the hotel restaurant freely and none of waiters and waitresses didn't care about it.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    It seems that guests a little bit distub the personnel :-)

    In the heart of city

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Worst hotel. Broken Windows. Smelly rooms. Mouse in the dinning hall. Noisy. Pathetic.

    Nothing at all.

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    extremely poor wi-fi, cramped bathroom, the room smelled smoke, noisy ventilation.

    Nice staff

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The bedroom looked stunning, great location near the main station.

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group

    No Wi Fi in the rooms!!!

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2016

    • Couple

    Bathrooms could have been better.

    The location is too good. The front desk staff are very friendly and they are wonderful people.

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very friendly staff, clean room and ok breakfast. Close to public transport to go to the Messe.

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    good

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The Location is great, you can reach the Train station very fast. The rooms are very oriental and beautiful but very eng. The Toilette smells.

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    low-speed wi-fi

    exotic interior and good

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Everything

    The man was in reception was cool

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very small bathroom with no ventilation. No hangers at the closet Νο carpet in the room

    Interesting decoration

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Nutella was finished by the second day of our stay

    The receptionist-Mr.Michael

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    No thing

    The hotel very ckean close to the main train st The staff very helpful. Thank u

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The room window is facing the street and a bit noisy in the morning

    I like the decoration

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast was very good.

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Difficulty to reach rooms.furniture beaten up.old building.

    Location

There are also 40 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Metro Boutique Hotel & Restaurant traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: