Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Villa Sommer

Friedrich-Franz-Straße 23, 18209 Bad Doberan, Germany

#1 of 13 hotels in Bad Doberan

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 490 hotel reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    9.3

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    9

  • Free WiFi

    9.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 17

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    6.3
    Breakfast was good, the room was comfortable and very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room in Souterrain with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The check-in process: we had planned to take the afternoon off and drive from Frankfurt to check-in around 18:00 -19:00. We signaled this check-in time in Booking at the time of the reservation. However I ended-up having to work that day so we only arrived to the hotel much later (23:00). Around 19:00 the hotel called me asking where I was and posed me some problems for arriving so much later than the hour I had written on Booking. The person asked me to call that mobile phone he was calling from so he would open up the door. We called the number at 23:00, no one picked up the phone, we texted and we insisted calling. Due to no answer, we rang the Hotel door bell. A man answered in the intercom and refused to open the door, did not acknowledge our reservation and did not check us in. Actually the person has cut the conversation in the middle and stop talking several times. We had to ring at least 3 times with the same result (the man cut the conversation abruptly). When I asked whether he could speak in English because my German wasn't very good, he also stopped the conversation and hang-up the intercom. Eventually a person arrived on a bike (around 23:30) and opened up the door. He was really nice at the time. However this entire process was completely unnecessary and even rude to the clients. Customer service was NOT the priority, especially after a 7+h drive in the middle of the night. For any but especially 4* hotel, this is unacceptable. Apart from this unfortunate episode, the staff was nice in the remaining interaction.

    Breakfast was good, the room was comfortable and very clean. Although it was full, the Hotel is really quiet (no noise). Apart from the check-in process, it was a pleasant stay.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    9.2
    Very comfortable rooms and bed;
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room in Souterrain with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very comfortable rooms and bed; great breakfast served almost personally; quiet location; just a few walking minutes from the city center and the Münster

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    10
    A very comfortable stay in this delightful hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing much!

    The bed was very comfy. The breakfast was good though it was buffet-style and so not all freshly cooked. Being able to watch the Molli steam train from the bedroom window was a definite plus!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    10
    A romantic place for lovers.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room in Souterrain with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The photos of the place make the public underestimate the location. A beautiful villa and a very nice room. A very comfortable bed and no bad surprises.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    9.2
    Very good location with a good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Furniture a little dated.

    Nice clean hotel if a bit old fashioned. Good size rooms with a good breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    9.6
    Good location, close to city center, very nice style of...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good location, close to city center, very nice style of building, excellent breakfast, even close to the train station it was quiet.....

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    8.3
    The train station of Molly😉
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The train station of Molly😉

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    7.9
    Generous sized room, close to the station and within walking distance of shops and restaurants
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Convenient location. Spacious room. Good choice for breakfast and friendly staff on hand.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2016

    5.8
    Room was big enough, clean and well maintained.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel is located around 14 km from Kühlungsborn beach so you'd need some form of transportation to reach the beach. There is not much to see in Bad Dobran so that can be a bit boring at times.

    Room was big enough, clean and well maintained. Breakfast was adequate.

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2016

    9.6
    Spotlessly clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Clear signage for the front door!

    Spotlessly clean. The cleanest hotel I have ever stayed in. Good buffet breakfast. Comfortable beds, well furnished room. Right next to the station - but no noise - perfect for anyone visiting the Mollibahn steam railway.

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    10
    We had a very nice time at the Hotel Villa Sommer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Espresso drinks for breakfast.

    We had a very nice time at the Hotel Villa Sommer. Comfortable beds clean spacious rooms and bathrooms. Very good made to order breakfast. Nice staff. Right across the street from Hauptbahnhof. Rode the Mollibahn to Kühlungsborn for a walk along the beach.

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2015

    8.8
    Todella siistit ja isot huoneet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Respa oli auki vain klo18, mutta sopimalla pystyi sisäänkirjautumaan myöhemmin. Aamupala oli hyvä, mutta piti päättää edellisenä päivänä monelta haluaa aamupalan tarjottavan.

    Todella siistit ja isot huoneet. Ystävällinen palvelu.

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2015

    10
    As a railway photographer, this hotel is a dream.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    None.

    As a railway photographer, this hotel is a dream. We are not all railway photographers, so what can we all expect? You are staying in an hotel which after the fall of the GDR was a ruin. It has now been lovingly restored to an accommodation with a lovely feeling of home to it. I stayed in a spacious room with wooden floor and a generous size bathroom. I was asked about my breakfast requirements on arrival, and the breakfasts individually composed, were served to my wishes every morning in the breakfast room. You are given a personal key for the front door and your room, and then you can lead an independent life. In spite of facing the railway station, my room was VERY quiet. No food other than breakfast, but plenty of outlets in nearby Bad Doberan.

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2015

    10
    This accommodation is truly superb.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This accommodation is truly superb. The property is a recently renovated and extended early 20 century villa and has been improved to a very high standard. The rooms are spacious, spotlessly clean with modern furniture. The breakfasts are excellent, how many establishments now use cloth tablecloths and napkins for breakfast as this one does, a true sign of the owners wishing to set a high standard. Hot breakfast food is cooked to order, much better than the luke warm egg, bacon and sausage in warming trays found in most places. The location of the hotel is excellent being immediately adjacent o the train station, giving direct access by rail to Rostock and Wismar, and the 'Molli' steam railway to Kuhlungsborn. In summary this establishment sets a standard which others should seek to achieve. Truly excellence achieved.

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2016

    9.6
    Room was great, Location close to the Molli, Breakfast great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room was great, Location close to the Molli, Breakfast great. Can't fault it.

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2015

    10
    I like every minute staying in this excellent small hotel.
    • Family with older children

    My staying was too short.

    I like every minute staying in this excellent small hotel.

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2015

    9.2
    Beautifully decorated and renovated
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Location, Comfortable and an excellent breakfast

    Beautifully decorated and renovated

There are also 2 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 17

Browse Hotel Villa Sommer traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: