Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Villa Sophienhöhe This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Sophienhöhe 1, 50171 Kerpen, Germany

#8 of 11 hotels in Kerpen

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 194 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 40

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We found the room to be chilly in the evening. We were disappointed that the room was not provided with tea and coffee making facilities,as late at night and early morning a hot drink in the quiet of the room would be good.

    The overall location, setting and hotel were excellent. The hotel was clean and tidy.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful stay. Beautiful location in a peaceful spot surrounded by nature. We had a standard room in the outside building and it was great, very comfortable, lots of space with a big window so lots of light and great views. The main building is incredibly beautiful, it is an old German Manoir perfectly renovated. We had a romantic and exquisite diner there at a reasonable price as it was delicious. Breakfast is also there and was also very nice. Staff is very friendly and they are also very pet friendly. Our dogs also enjoyed the walks around the property. We absolutely recommend it for a romantic getaway to relax and enjoy.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant used to be really good. This time we had over cooked salmon and very poor quality steak!

    Lovely location, ideal to take dogs on an early morn8ng stroll.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Due to having a business room next to the main house, leaves etc. could get in when opening and closing the door... also didn't like the fact that the cleaner knocked on the door at 9am (on a German bank holiday) and wanted to clean our room!

    Staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Accomodation was great. Comfortable bed. Clean bathroom. Nice location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no guest lounge in the hotel on the day we were there because all the reception rooms were being used for dining - a private party.

    Really lovely country hotel. The hotel is in a beautiful, quiet location, in an agricultural area. The staff were all friendly and helpful and we were very comfortable. The restaurant is excellent with a good choice of dishes on the evening menu and a first class breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    i got a room in a garden cottage, looked like a converted horse stable, low standard with very basic furnishing, uncomfortable bed, despite spring weather the heating was unsufficient with very cold stone floor, lot of insects sticking to door and window at night; traces of insects on the inside walls; staying in such ground level annex house feels more like camping than a business hotel

    very friendly and welcoming reception staff, very idyllic country-side location and nature setting

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is nearby military airport and you can hear jet fighters exercise. Not really a big minus more like information. I was not aware that my room is in outside building ( former stable I think) so you have to walk for breakfast between buildings.

    Nice remote place, parking, wifi .

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Maybe the room is a little bit cold.

    Large room Good dinner in the restaurant Quite place Fast and free wi-fi Not so close to Cologne but during a fair it's a good compromise if you don't find a place or the price are too expensive for a simple room in the city center

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is in the country. A car is definitely required, though taxi service, event late after an event in Kerpen, was very quick.

    The room was more than i had anticipated!! Beautiful hotel, beautiful setting and room that was beyond my expectations.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    rooms are a little outdated ...

    very friendly people food was very nice

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel was nice, rooms very comfortable, good internet, nice terrasse

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleaning wasn't at the top level.

    Hotel is a nice village

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only expensive wines on the menu. Pillows too flat. I have stayed in better hotels in German.

    Good breakfast choices.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms very quiet. Very close to motorway. Excellent restaurant.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Good breakfast, plenty of different choices clean room quiet and complete area is good for some relaxing walk and hiking & running

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    this close to the forest you may expect animal noise, but not above the ceiling of your room !!!!

    excellent diner as well as breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Style, location, guiet.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of information about surrounding area in room.

    The setting and outlook very peaceful. Able to walk to the village along the bicycle route.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    • Couple
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautiful building with story. Friendly staff. Big and very quiet room, good bed.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quiet, room, breakfast

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A kettle/coffee maker in room would be nice.

    A very nicely restored villa in country quite near Koln (about half hour drive to centre) where we stayed for a second time when visiting the excellent modern art museum there. Breakfast very good (though not as wonderful as last time when we had some home-smoked salmon). We ate in the restaurant this time which was good though rather pricey by German standards.

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    As a single I paid almost as much as a double room, although the room was located under the roof (so the worst location at the hotel). It wasn't warm in the room, although the heating was on maximum.

    The location is beautifull, the staff was very kind, breakfast was delicious.

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    We expected to be in the main building not the motel part. It felt like a roadside motel. Too expensive for what it was.

    The staff was friendly and accommodating. Room was very clean.

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Next to euro fighter base, although only a few planes flying, and not at night, the noise was very loud when taking off and landing. On the plus side, ideal for plane watchers!

    Lovely villa in the countryside. Villa lovingly restored. Dinner and breakfast superb. Stayed in one of the adjacent guest rooms, with a lovely rural view. Room and bathroom very spacious. Pets welcome.

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very handy place for a day in Köln using S-bahn ( a 5 euro/25 minute) ride from nearby (by car!) station with trains every 20 minutes. Very good breakfast. Did not try restaurant but had a good coffee on pleasant terrace. Our 'comfort room' in coach house building was huge with nice sitting area and kitchenette with fridge.

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Felt it was expensive for the type of room we had although it was spacious and comfortable. Remote location, so car essential.

    Staff very helpful and friendly.

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    service at breakfast was very poor. hotel needs some maintenance doing to get it up to 4 star hotel standard. Military jets screeched overhead during the day.

    terrace outside the hotel where we had drinks and dinner served by a great waiter

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    After a long transatlantic flight it was wonderful to be able to stay where it was quiet. We had our service who was treated very well. The room was Hugh and very comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2015

    • Family with young children

    Wifi was very hit and miss and no soap dispenser above the bath (though was in shower and above basin) Bathrobes would be a great addition.

    The staff were very cheerful and helpful. The room was huge, a big bonus as we were sharing it with our 10 year old son. Food in restaurant is well priced and delicious.

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Booked a comfort Double Room, but didn't see the promissed flat-screen TV, desk, Bath and missed the garden view (was view on the parking lot). Terrible odeur in bathroom. Spiderwebs at window and under sofa.

    Kind employees. Good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Closed on Sunday's. No staff. Key taped to the door. No restaurant, bar or mini bar. No kettle or coffee maker. After travelling for 9 hours we were faced with hunting for a restaurant in the dark in the middle of nowhere. In the end we are some snacks we had in the car and shared the one small bottle of water the hotel provided. Breakfast next day was excellent.

    Location - set in its own woods. Brilliant for walking the dog after a long journey. Also easy to get to from the motorway.

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I had a room in an adjoining building to the main hotel, which I had to walk across the garden to get to.

    The food was ok without being great

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Bathroom stone floor were rather cold

    Good location in countryside. Excellent place, when looking hotel bit outside from city side - nice and quiet.

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Away from anywhere - would be nice in summer. limited menu

    Nice room.

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Couldn't figure out how to work the TV, no instructions in English.

    lovely location, dog friendly and helpful cheerful staff.

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    furniture, tv, internet connection, location

    the room was spacious

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nothing. Everything was wonderful. Wish we could've stayed longer.

    Loved the crystal chandeliers in our room

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The service we received was excellent - lovely room and facilities and delicious food.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Friendly and informal staff and the parkland style garden outside.

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Don't stay here without a car, you need it. There is nothing around in the area.

    Very positive stay. Good food as well.

There are also 8 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 40

Guests also reviewed these properties: