Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Villa Tummelchen This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Schloßstr. 22, 56812 Cochem, Germany

#22 of 41 B&Bs and Inns in Cochem

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 135 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 20

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    6.3
    We needed to leave early in the morning before the breakfast...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Steep walk to get to hotel. Steep stairs to room. Very small bathroom.

    We needed to leave early in the morning before the breakfast buffet was open. The owner made us a breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    8.3
    Rooms were clean and spacious and provided great views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is really nothing to complain about, maybe the internet may be improved we had difficulties at times to get connected and mohave reasonable speeds (top floor) but in the restaurant section wifi is fine.

    Rooms were clean and spacious and provided great views. The host also offered great service.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    8.8
    Great place with a beautiful view
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking was a bit tricky. Also, the only way to the rooms is a staircase. That's a bit cumbersome when you have a large suitcase.

    The location was perfect. We were able to walk everywhere we wanted to go in town.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful view! Very nice place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was up the hill on a very narrow road; reserved parking just further up the street.

    Very nice boutique hotel. Great view of the castle. Very large room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    6.3
    Friendly, beautiful view, quite high up and so tricky for elderly people, a little overpriced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very high for elderly people and people with bikes. I travelled with my dad on bikes(who is 78) and he found it very tough to go uphill.I had to take his bike to the hotel. Then going back uphill at night after having visited the town is a challenge for elderly people.

    Loved the balcony, but were a little sad we had to walk all the way around and up to the top floor first only to go to the downstairs balcony as it is shut from the inside at night ! Great though that you could help yourself to drinks and sign for what you had drunk.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    7.9
    Too cute! Needed the workout.
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Wifi was in and out later at night the entire time, as I worked nights while there, this became a pain... Bed was hard, didn't sleep well. Oddity: composting toilet in my room was REALLY LOUD and smelled a little. No AC, but a fan was provided and all windows open. Everything was on a hill... the place was 1/2 way up the hill to the Burg (very steep), scraped my undercarriage pulling into and out of the driveway to unload luggage, parking is further up the hill, no lift in the building so up to 3 flights of stairs to get to room. This place is a workout!! Not for the out-of-shape. Also found that taxis can't drive the street up to the house, so no matter what you're walking it! I did not find any "on-site bakery"

    Owners were very friendly, knowledgeable about the area and helpful. English was really good too! House is clean, well cared for, rooms are great, and selection of aperitifs was tremendous! This place is too cute - great view from my balcony, big rooms, great breakfast!! And really close to town (if you don't mind the steep hill - it's a workout everyday, +3 flights of stairs)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2016

    8.8
    Cozy hotel, awesome view from the balcony
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They do not have lift so be aware if you bring large luggages.

    The owner is friendly. Good breakfast. The room and restroom are very clean. Located next to the path to the castle, which is the shortest way.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2016

    10
    Wonderfull-would stay there again in a heartbeat-
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is not a matter of dislike -it is an old city with old houses.SO a lot of stairs.Also you have to park up on the hill and come down a set of steps to hotel.It would have been good to know to stop at hotel, unload luggage-get the key for parking and then up the hill.

    People were wonderfull-hotel lovely-comfortable room.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2018

    7.5
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The male host was rude and abrupt and made us feel unwelcome.

    It was quiet and comfortable. The female hostess was pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    10
    Everyone was very helpful during our stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everyone was very helpful during our stay! Breakfast was great and the room was very comfortable with a great view.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    9.2
    The place was nice, welcoming and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place was nice, welcoming and comfortable. No elevators, so if you cannot walk steps, this place is not for you.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    7.5
    one of prettiest towns we've been to
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beautiful view of mosel river and overlooking the valley and town of cochem, one of the prettiest areas, enjoyed very much.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    5.8
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unable to pay by credit card despite this being advertised which caused a problem.

    Location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2016

    9.2
    Great breakfast, very friendly owners
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great breakfast, very friendly owners

    Stayed in November 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2016

    9.2
    Staff was extremely helpful and super friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Staff was extremely helpful and super friendly. We had to leave early, before breakfast was supposed to be served, but they ensured it was ready earlier, so that we could eat before leaving. They also took us to the train station.

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2015

    8.8
    Lovely hotel, good location within the village, free parking...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lovely hotel, good location within the village, free parking for a motorbike, really helpful staff and great breakfast selection in the morning. Would definitely recommend to friends.

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2015

    10
    We had a room with full
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Steep drive up to hotel, don't listen to the GPS it will lead you through the smallest streets that are pedestrian zones during the day, call ahead for directions !

    We had a room with full view of the castle, great host, fantastic breakfast, quick walk into town

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    7.9
    we had a room with sight on the castle: great
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    the wifi connection was not always ok...

    we had a room with sight on the castle: great the hotel is near the town center

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2015

    8.8
    The hotel is easily found and is clean and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The hotel is easily found and is clean and friendly.

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2015

    8.3
    vierw of the moselle and the csatle
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    vierw of the moselle and the csatle

There are also 6 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 20

Guests also reviewed these properties: