Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Wald-Café Hotel-Restaurant This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Am Rehsprung 35, Holzlar, 53229 Bonn, Germany

#15 of 69 hotels in Bonn

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 214 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 23

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would have liked tea/coffee making facilities in the room.

    It is in a great location with easy access by bus to the centre. Rooms and public areas all very clean and welcoming.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My room was absolutely clean. Everything working prefectly. The furniture was boring and the view from the room was on the parking lot. For my single night stay this room was fully sufficient. For private vacation or recreation days not. Other guests told me about their rooms (on top level under the roof). They were fascinated.

    The surrounding was nice (forest). Large restaurant with good ooportunities to sit outdoors when weather is apporpriate. Additionally, a large winter garden is there. Room was perfect with respect to technical equipment (shower, toilette, TV, ...) and especially perfectly clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Business Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cold atmosphere in the room, not recommendable for a longer stay.

    Very friendly staff. Good dinner. Nice location. Room was absolute OK and had all needed facilitations

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They weren't that friendly when we asked for tips to visit in bonn. The room wasn't cleaned before we entered. Even though they knew we were arriving at 12. This can happen but just let us know beforehand. Finding a sock and dirty sheets aren't that nice! We needed to make our own table cause all tables were already used and not cleaned up yet. For me it was to pricy for what it was worth.

    I liked the location. It was 10 minutes from everything. The breakfast was okay, but nothing special.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It didn't really bother us, but when we arrived a large party of graduates was at the hotel for a party. It was a bit crowded and noisy.

    An attractive location. Short taxi ride into central Bonn. Good food in the restaurant. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Herbal good breakfast comfirtable room

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfortable hotel in a nice setting with nature around and nice restaurant

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Excellent breakfast included. Super helpful staff. Very good restaurant. Very convenient bus service to center of Bonn.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No peanuts with my beer!!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Business Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing, everything was really fine.

    Very nice location of the hotel, all rooms very clean, excellent food in the restaurant, nice breakfest.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was ok but not exceptionnal

    We had a nice big room and appreciated to be located near the woods. Food was excellent.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Position facility food

    Stayed in November 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The interior was slightly old-fahsioned, petty German style and the rooms were ordinary hotel style

    Excellent breakfast with big choice; dining in the serre virtually in the middle of the beautifully lid forest and decorted by a big old tile oven; and around-the-clock use of the sauna

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    In the rooms giving view on the parking area, there was a sharp smell of paints and detergents. Below in the garage, someone was working on oldtimer cars, which could explain this fact. Maybe a coincidence, but the smell was sometimes irritating and constantly present.

    Very quiet location, but anyhow close to city centre of Bonn ; highways very near. Very close to walking paths, relaxing environment. Good food at interesting prices.

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was no English speaking channel on the TV. Not enough dinner plates at breakfast.

    The size of the room and private bathroom, no glass walls for privacy.

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We were there during a heat wave, and the lack of air conditioning in the rooms and restaurant in a hotel of this quality is not acceptable. It made our stay unpleasant as we could not sleep due to high room temperatures.

    Nice hotel food good, room comfortable, breakfast good, easy to get into Bonn.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    very loud events at night (wedding) - good thing we were very tired that night and fell asleep anyway uncomfortable design of showers - you can accidently touch the tap with your back and the water will suddenly go cold or hot - but who cares for such fault!!!

    great location in woods - quiet yet around everything you would need breakfast included a nice restaurant if you are too tired to go to town - very good schnitzel

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    You need a navigation system to find it as it is hidden in the woods. But that makes it special

    Parking, friendly staff, modern bathroom, rooms with very good standard. I haven't tried the restaurant, but it looked very promising

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Could not find a toilet in the reception area. The flat screen TV was not top quality the sound being pretty dire.

    Quite position, close to motorways and easy access to Bonn. We stayed over Christmas week and found that Holzlar is just a quite suburb of Bonn, no restuarants just a few shops, which meant that we had to travel to Bonn for top shops and cafe`s and restaurants. The Wald Cafe staff were friendly and most spoke English, the restaurant food was excelent. We chose a Comfort room which was quite spacious.

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Far from the city

    Nice location if you want to be in a forest. Free parking. Great restaurant (both for dinner and for breakfast)

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Only issue is that WiFi signal in my room was very weak

    Excellent value for money. Spacious and clean room; extensive breakfast; free parking

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lovely meal

There are also 8 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 23

Guests also reviewed these properties: