Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Waldhotel Forsthaus Remstecken

Forsthaus Remstecken 1, 56075 Koblenz, Germany

#28 of 57 hotels in Koblenz

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 338 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    7.9

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 52

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    10
    Excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea/coffee facilities in the room but water and fruit was provided.

    We ate outside on the terrace and our food was excellent and plenty of it. The staff were extremely friendly. There was plenty of choice for breakfast. We had a lovely walk through the grounds were there were plenty of deer and wild boars.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    10
    Ideally situated in nature park .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Ideally situated in nature park . Traditional German style property. Very friendly staff. Excellent local food. Very clean room. Looking forward to return there

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    9.2
    Lovely country location, not far from Koblenz itself. Good game meals.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The choice of food at breakfast was a little disappointing - probably because this is quite a small hotel.

    Nice, relaxing country location, but easy access to Koblenz itself by car. Very nice evening meal.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    9.6
    very pleasant first stay in hotel was so good returned the following week on our return journey
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing all good

    everything about this hotel was enjoyable. a little in the sticks but at least there was no loud noise at night so sleeping was good, the room was lovely the food was really good and cannot fault anything.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    9.6
    Peaceful Night in the Forest.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing of note.

    We booked Waldhotel Forsthaus Remstecken being an ideal stopover for us; we hadn't realised that it is surrounded by a wonderful "nature park" which was a real bonus! Great location, nice clean rooms, friendly staff and great food ... best steak I've had in years.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    9.6
    Peaceful country retreat with easy access to Koblenz.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    May be useful to have the food menu in English!

    Beautiful setting in the forest with deer, peacocks, rabbits and wild boar. The apartment was lovely with a large terrace.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    9.6
    Woodland Bliss
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Exit onto main road is tricky in heavy traffic.

    Pleasantly surprised to receive a complimentary upgrade to a Junior Suite. Wonderful woodland location.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    10
    Relaxing, peaceful and a great place to reflect. Thank you!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of a thing.

    I don't know how the lady made the scrambled eggs but they were delicious!!! The waiters George and Matthias were very sweet! Bob, Sue and Betsy added to the relaxed atmosphere.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    7.9
    A quite exceptional holiday. Beautiful area, lovely to be outside of a town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was absolutely nothing in English. At the very least there should be Fire Drill Instructions, in many languages. We had Google translate on our laptop, which helped. This dis not distract from anything, the holiday was wonderful.

    A delightful location in the forest. We were given a 2 bedroom apartment within the hotel. Breakfast was lovely, staff nice. We ate a couple of times outside in the gardens, just beautiful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    9.2
    Good stay close to Koblenz
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I realize I'm being a bit picky, but most German hotels have a better selection of bread.

    Very nice rooms and a comfortable, tucked away location. Wifi worked well and there is plenty of parking. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful quiet countryside location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautiful quiet countryside location Information in the rooms in English would be helpful. At night there are no hotel staff in the hotel and if there was an emergency we would not know how to contact anyone as the information was all in German

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful location, easy parking and delicious meal
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We went for a walk in the forest but unfortunately couldn't get a map at the hotel (the tourist information center was closed)

    Beautiful location, friendly staff and very clean

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    3.8
    Never again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This so called "hotel" is not clean and more like a pound shop theme park. Staff not over friendly. Arriving in the restaurant to eat at 20.10 we were informed that it closes at 21.00 and were too late(?) Internet did not function because they are in a forest(?)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    7.1
    Lovely location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had a twin room single occupancy. Got bitten by bugs in one of the beds. Swapped beds and was OK. Arrived late on first night so had an evening meal there. Waiter was quite offish with us as we didn't speak German. No English menus so he reluctantly translated the german one because the other table's guests were spending 900 euros and staying there so he didn't have time for us-his words! Plus his nails and fingers were dirty. If we hadn't been so hungry we would have left.

    In the middle of a forest with deer and wild boar enclosures- you can feed them. Lovely house. Clean and comfortable rooms. Good continental breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    7.9
    Nice place
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    everything was fine

    overall the pace was nice and relaxing. the staff was very friendly. The surrounding forest and animal park gets very busy on Sundays - a lot of families were visiting. The room was comfortable and we were able to keep our dog with us.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    3.3
    Extremely dissapointing rather stay home
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact we were not in the hotel has we were led to believe. Extremely unfriendly staff when we went for our evening meal on the first night. Accommodation was away from hotel and had to walk across to dinning room in rain for breakfast,and ring the bell to be let in has door was always locked. A small pathway to sit outside on chairs No view. No kettle provided so could not make hot drinks or even have any cold drinks has no fridge provided. Bedding was worn.....holes and frayed. Drinking glasses not washed or changed each day. Cob webs and dust in the rooms. All the rooms were very tired and made us feel unwelcome.

    The surrounding countryside,close proximity to Koblenz.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    4.2
    - It was impossible to sleep due to a marriage celebration...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - It was impossible to sleep due to a marriage celebration with high volume music and chaos up to 4 am. - although I requested a Gluten and lactose free breakfast it was not available anymore; - very bad internet Wi-Fi;

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    10
    A beautiful and peaceful stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Surrounded by beautiful forest and including a small indigenous wild animal zoo, you will get your best night's sleep in this lovely inn! Enjoy a walk around the large property, or take a serious hike on the trails near the hotel. Our room was clean and spacious. We loved everything about this venue!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    5.4
    Very disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff didn't seem to like working there, we were rushed to the room without any explanations, the man helping us with the luggage talked on the mobile the whole way and was gone as quickly as he could. At the restaurant, the only focus was that they were almost closing and we had to decide if we eat right away. No smiles from the waiters. We felt not welcome at all. The property did not read our booking comments. I booked junior suite because we traveled with a child and I wanted to use the bed and the couch in the room. Couch was not prepared for sleeping (there were some towels lying on it and there was a pillow/blanket in the wardrobe, but no covers so not usable for sleeping). Pillows on the bed were too thin, sleeping on them not comfortable at all. We also were hoping to spend some time after breakfast at the playground, with the ponies or animals but there was a sewage truck there when we left the breakfast and the whole thing with staff was so uninviting, that we just had a quick breakfast and left. I was very disappointed with this place and for the standard it offers, it was not cheap at all.

    The location in a forest is perfect for some outdoor activities. There are tables outside at the restaurant and at some of the apartments, so it's nice to sit outside & relax. Bathroom was nice.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    8.8
    A royaly breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed in a double room and I expected a better room for 139€ (breakfast included). The facade of the building is beautiful and luxurious, much more than the room itself.

    A royaly breakfast!! Very Nice hotel View on the Rhine from the room

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    9.6
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really although we missed a fridge and a kettle.

    Beautiful location and friendly staff. Restaurant was good and breakfast sufficient. Stayed in the building across the road and it was very spacious.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    7.5
    Magical location with a fairly good hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    -The bed is too short and I am not particularly tall... -The room was cold when we arrived and had to wait around 1 hour to have the room warm enough. -The restaurant close earlier in winter so beware of that fact and the restaurant is good but not extraordinary.

    The location is truly amazing, we went there in the beginning of December, and we woke up next to a frozen fields with deers, sheep and horses. It was quite a magical morning !

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    10
    The location, the food, the friendliness and helpfulness of...
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all

    The location, the food, the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff and the overall atmosphere. A lovely place.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    9.2
    Great food;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great food; quiet out-of-town location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    8.3
    Good selection for breakfast which was included in the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good selection for breakfast which was included in the price

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    7.5
    Good value restaurant on site
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good value restaurant on site Feeding the deer

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    10
    Very cute and nice place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything is ok

    Very cute and nice place

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2016

    10
    Will come again
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food excellent, staff very helpful. As a coeliac, they knew exactly what to do to ensure my food was suitable.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    10
    Absolutely beautiful place to stay
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Difficult to use after hours entry system

    It is a really beautiful place

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    9.6
    Short but excellent stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    A quiet place in a beautiful setting!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    9.6
    Idyllic setting in a nature park setting close to Coblenz.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Idyllic setting in a nature park setting close to Coblenz. Lovely choice of menu and delicious ice creams

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    7.1
    The location: in the middle of the woods.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Restaurant: a bit overpriced, stains on the tablecloth. Rooms a bit cold when the weather gets colder. Breakfast could be better (nothing warm, some fruits were rotten).

    The location: in the middle of the woods. Good welcome at the arrival. Pleasant staff.

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    7.9
    If you are looking for solitude in the woods, this is for...
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    The warm water out of the shower was a mere trickle. The service seemed a little bucksee and fly-by-the-seat-of-your-pants. When we arrived at 18:00 everyone seemed ready to pack it up, but ultimately the boss saw to it that we had an evening meal sent to the room.

    If you are looking for solitude in the woods, this is for you. Your only neighbours will be the local wildlife. Our spacious room was very comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2016

    7.1
    This location was perfect for families with young children.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    There are no family rooms at this hotel. If you arrive on a Sunday be prepared for large crowds of people. It was also further from the city then I would have preferred.

    This location was perfect for families with young children. There was plenty of walking trails, bikes to rent, ponies to ride, deer to feed, and much more.

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2016

    9.2
    Beds and room very comfy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We arrived rather late at 9.00pm due to heavy traffic and would have loved something to eat and or drink. We were told the restaurant was closed at 9.00 pm and no offer of food or a drink even. There were no facilities to make our own in the room either. My husband managed to get two shandies which we had in our room as the bar was closed as well!!

    Beds and room very comfy. Quiet Location ideal for us and our dog for an overnight stay as we were travelling through germany to Hook of Holland.

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2016

    7.5
    The hotel is in the middle of the forest at 10 km from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel is in the middle of the forest at 10 km from Koblenz. The quiet environment, the animal farm, the opportunity to walk in the immediate surroundings

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2015

    9.6
    It's a really nice locations.
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    It's a really nice locations. We arrived late but the staf still kept the kitchen open and made a really nice meal for us on arrival. It's also nice to wake up to deer and ponies out of the window and yet it's very convenient for Koblenz centre!

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    8.8
    We stayed in the Family Suite located on the first floor -...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing.

    We stayed in the Family Suite located on the first floor - No 8. It was nicely decorated and we wanted for nothing. The grounds are well tended and picturesque. The Hotel was in the middle of a wooded area, used by local families. The restaurant served good food.

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    10
    Fabulous location and excellent food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our original booking had gone missing but the staff quickly offered an alternative room at a reduced price which was perfectly adequate.

    Fabulous location and excellent food. Very pleasant staff.

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    9.2
    Beautiful, peaceful location in the countryside outside...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Toilet paper ran out on day 2; the magnifying mirror had cream or toothpaste smeared on the back; if you intend to use both bedrooms in the suite you need to let the staff know; there is nowhere to go in the evening once you have finished dinner as the bar closes early. But this would not put me off returning to this lovely place.

    Beautiful, peaceful location in the countryside outside Koblenz and close to the Rhine and the Mosel; attractive exterior with lots of character; nice old wooden staircase leading to nicely decorated, modern interior (family suite). Lots of room with pretty and practical kitchenette plus large balcony with excellent views of the many deer in the surrounding fields. Loved also the peacocks, goats, ponies and the wildlife information centre just across from the hotel; enjoyed feeding the deer. Will definitely return!!

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2015

    6.3
    This place seems popular among local families for walks,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Internet only strong enough in common areas groundfloor and staircase. No english language tv channels.

    This place seems popular among local families for walks, ponyrides and watching wildlife in enclosures. Busy during the day. Beautiful location and friendly staff. Restful sleep in the middle of the forest.

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    6.7
    Once the animal farm part had closed and hundred of people...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nice when it was quiet, we were in no hurry to be served with the evening meal but it took an hour to serve a couple of pieces of salmon at our table which we booked for 7pm. At 8 30pm all the tables around us were cleared the shades lowered and the area swept. The meal was ok but we felt that we were overstaying out welcome.

    Once the animal farm part had closed and hundred of people left the are it was fine. I just didn't expect it to be in the middle of a children's farm experience

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2015

    7.1
    Location and Dinner
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No one on site in morning to give us breakfast or to check out. Apparently an emergency prevented the one person on duty from coming to work. Didn't like the idea of no one on site. It took two hours for someone to arrive. Left without breakfast.

    Location and Dinner

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    10
    Great stay there, quiet and fresh air, away from streets and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great stay there, quiet and fresh air, away from streets and city noises. Wonderful decorated hotel and rooms. Rich breakfast buffet and next to the hotel are possibilities to ride ponies and see tiers. A must if you go to Koblenz or just wanna relax.

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2015

    4.6
    Location in the woods is nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Hugely disappointing. Upon arrival, I was informed the restaurant would close at 9.00 PM. When I showed up for dinner at 8.45 PM the guy in charge told me the kitchen was closed. I told him they said they closed at 9.00pm and he said: "you can eat but you will have to sit here" showing the darkest corner of the room. I said I wouldn't eat there, since they didn't make me feel welcome, and had dinner downtown instead. By such an arrogant behavior they lost the money of a 2 persons dinner and a potentially loyal customer, and earned this bad review on booking.com. No internet in the room.

    Location in the woods is nice.

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2015

    9.6
    Everything was very nice and great for nature enthusiasts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Not an issue as we had a car, but a car is necessary if you want to see Koblenz and surrounding area.

    Everything was very nice and great for nature enthusiasts.

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2015

    7.5
    Pet friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Unfortunately brief visit to restaurant; "We will close at 8pm." Main course delicious and very, very promptly served and cleared but with no offer or option of a second. All somewhat distant. Reserved to the point of tolerance. Polite civility; guests accepted, not welcomed. Sorry, but your guests pay your bills. Not good enough.

    Pet friendly. Quiet location. Good restaurant. Staff polite (despite the nuisance clearly presented by two unwelcome guests in an otherwise empty hotel.)

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    9.2
    Very beautiful place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Very beautiful place

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2016

    8.5
    Excellant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellant

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    9.6
    Very beautiful location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very beautiful location.

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    9.2
    Unusual location and very natural setting in the forest and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Few guests and early closing for evening meal.

    Unusual location and very natural setting in the forest and nature reserve.

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2015

    9.6
    The hotel was lovely and quiet,and the restaurant was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing at all

    The hotel was lovely and quiet,and the restaurant was fabulous...the best meal we have had in a very long time.

There are also 14 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 52

Guests also reviewed these properties: