Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Waldhotel Porta Westfalica

Findelsgrund 81, 32457 Porta Westfalica, Germany

#4 of 6 hotels in Porta Westfalica

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 534 hotel reviews

7.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    6.7

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    6.7

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 35

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    9.6
    I'm a returning guest here, affter the work it's a...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The WiFi is slightly different in every room, in some cases nearly unusable, in other part of the room it is perfect. They only accept cash.

    I'm a returning guest here, affter the work it's a perfect place to take some rest. Silent and calming environment. The rooms have a bit oldschool feeling, but everything is there, and working perfectly. The outlook from the rooms are hilarious!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    9.2
    At the edge of the forest
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The WiFi is slightly different in every room, in some cases nearly unusable, in other part of the room it is perfect. They only accept cash.

    Silent and calming environment. The rooms have a bit oldschool feeling, but everything is there, and working perfectly. The outlook from the rooms are hilarious!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    8.3
    Nice hotel for a family. I will be staying there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Poor lighting in room and bathroom.

    Good sized rooms. Nice location in the woods but far from any amenities. Good breakfast and a very friendly staff. Children friendly too - above expectations.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    8.8
    All the really necessary things at the edge of the nature
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The WiFi and cellphone signal strength was not so good, barely enough for work.

    It is in the middle of the forest, the last building at the end of the street. Silent and green, a perfect place to take a rest an go for a walk.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    5.4
    It is a great setting and rooms are spacious
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They have internet facility but it does not work. I was here on business and not having access to work info was very costly The curtains don’t keep out any day light so summer months are rough if you need to get sleep. They don’t have a credit card facility so payment is strictly by cash which I wasn’t told ahead of time and it was by absolute chance I had enough funds on me or this would have been yet another unpleasant inconvenience!

    It is a great setting and rooms are spacious

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    6.7
    Reminded me of my youth staying in a hostel
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    In the room there was no tea or coffee making, no hair dryer or drinking glasses. The breakfast was a very standard, continental breakfast.... You can not walk to a shop or restaurant with in the area. From the rubbish sacks the maids had in the morning, most people staying , took food and drink back to the hotel. There is no bar or restaurant for lunch or evening meals. They only TAKE CASH no cards. It does not say this on your booking or at the hotel desk on check in. Not good over Christmas,New Year or a Sunday as all the shopping centers are closed and you will have to find a ATM...have fun!! If the hotel is full get up early for a bath or shower as the hot water does not last long...I am too old for a cold shower!!

    The hotel was basic but clean. The staff were good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    10
    relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    quiet hotel central to our requirements

    everything we needed as location, room, access to visitation destinations etc. Nice quiet hotel in forest surroundings, just what web looked for.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    5.0
    Not my best hotel stay
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Wi-fi wasn't working, the staff couldn't speak English, it was really difficult to understand or to make them understand our requests. They have been quite absent except the moment we had to pay. Our shower was broken, the sink tap was broken. Very old building

    The room was clean

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    7.1
    Peaceful but not for business people
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wi-Fi was very hit and miss. Almost no phone signal for Vodafone. No desk in room. No toiletries (had to buy shampoo). Cash only accepted. No evening meal facilities

    Very peaceful location. Good sized room. Easy parking. <2Km from where I needed to be. Breakfast was nicely presented. Friendly people

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    8.8
    Friendy family hotel hidden in the woods
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms are a bit old-school

    Very friendly staff and a good breakfast. Beds are very comfortable. Perhaps this is not a 5-star hotel but the atmosphere is very good

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    7.5
    My wife and I, and our dog, needed a room for the night.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My wife and I, and our dog, needed a room for the night. Waldhotel is distinctly “1970s” but provided us with all we required.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    10
    Good place to stay for a night or two especially with your pet.
    • With a pet
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was very decent and staff was extra nice and caring. You can always enjoy the walk with a dog in the neighbourhood.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    7.5
    Good Value for Money! Balkony for smokers!!!!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I liked the most, that my room had a balcony... very important fact for me as a smoker. Wifi Connection excellent! BReakfast good!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    8.3
    Simple Hotel in a forest & mountain location
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    7.1
    Beautiful
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is very far from the living area. In the foresy

    Beautiful

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    10
    Take your dog for a walk before you leave.
    • With a pet
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I liked it all and the fresh air in forest nearby :)

    Everything was enjoyable :)

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    7.9
    good price - good place
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    small breakfast

    nice place

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    8.3
    The Location of the Hotel is perfect when one is searching...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Restaurants are really far away from this place and during cold weather, everything seems far away

    The Location of the Hotel is perfect when one is searching for a private space

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2015

    6.7
    The location next to the forest was very peaceful, and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bed sheets were what Germans call 'Frottee', which loosely translates as 'sandpaper'; no tea/coffee making equipment.

    The location next to the forest was very peaceful, and the balcony was much appreciated; the choice at breakfast was excellent.

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2015

    6.7
    the location and setting
    • Solo traveller

    bed was old and room very tired, the memory mattress seemed to be remembering the previous person and their sleeping position, bed was uncomfortable

    the location and setting

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2015

    9.6
    The atmosphere was great, I liked the hotel very much and my...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Internet signal had a very weak strength. Only on a balcony it was possible to catch some signal. No hair blower and schampoos were available.

    The atmosphere was great, I liked the hotel very much and my family too. Variety of breakfast was not the widest, but completely enough and it was tasty.

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2015

    8.3
    excellent location, the singing birds around wake you up,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the hotel could provide a botle on mineral water in the room as a welcome pack, (as other hotels do) ,a couple of plastic cups in the bathroom will help.

    excellent location, the singing birds around wake you up, restful place.

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2015

    7.5
    Friendly personal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hotel is old and one can see that in the rooms. TV not great. Shower head sprayed in all directions. Toilet flush is not strong. Only Cash Payment.

    Friendly personal.

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2016

    10
    Very good location close to A2 autobahn.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very good location close to A2 autobahn. Good breakfast

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2016

    6.7
    Peaceful sirroundings, balcony, located in the woods
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Outdated styling interior decoration of rooms

    Peaceful sirroundings, balcony, located in the woods

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2016

    9.6
    Location, breakfast and walks in nearby wood.
    • Couple

    Location, breakfast and walks in nearby wood.

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2015

    7.1
    Friendly staff, good breakfast
    • Couple

    Friendly staff, good breakfast

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    5.8
    The place, near to the woods
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Noisy rooms, bad matras

    The place, near to the woods

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2015

    10
    Very helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    9.2
    Clean & spacious room & bathroom with nice view of...
    • Couple

    No lift

    Clean & spacious room & bathroom with nice view of the forest. Excellent breakfast & helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2015

    7.5
    Surroundings are great, hotel is located in the woods, very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Surroundings are great, hotel is located in the woods, very quiet.

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    6.3
    No restaurant,some trek into town for a meal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    No restaurant,some trek into town for a meal.very basic of my entire 14 day trip possibly the lowest standard

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    8.3
    Quiet area, good quality of hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    none

    Quiet area, good quality of hotel

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2015

    9.6
    The availability of garage parking for motorcycles.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The availability of garage parking for motorcycles. Friendly staff. Good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2015

    10
    Breakfast, warm welcoming and spacious room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast, warm welcoming and spacious room.

There are also 10 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 35

Browse Waldhotel Porta Westfalica traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: