Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Ahorn Waldhotel Altenberg This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Hauptstr. 83, 01773 Kurort Altenberg, Germany

#4 of 8 hotels in Kurort Altenberg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1038 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    7.3

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 17

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    9.2
    Will go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The doors to the outside area from hotel ( emergency doors) were always locked which meant you had to continuously walk all the way to the main entry / exit door. I would recommend that the doors are allowed to be opened in the stairs to give people the opportunity to enter the outside area without having to walk and congregate at the main door / reception area.

    The staff were very friendly and helped you with whatever questions you had. The premises were very clean considering the amount of people using the hotel and how long the hotel is operating. The hotel was dog friendly and staff accommodated the dog.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    10
    Far better than expected
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Plus Room ( 2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked a room here just for one night in the summer, but we wished to be able to stay longer. The hotel lays at a beautiful place in the mountains and offers a lot of different activities for both adults and children. The room was equipped with everything you could need. At breakfast there was a very wide choice. I can just recommend for everybody this hotel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    5.8
    The hotel is a great place for families with plenty of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The added extras come as a bit of a surprise so come prepared to use more money than expected. Example: mini golf costs 10 euro per family, billiards 1 euro per game. The package deal with meals included is ok and the food selection is large but the restaurant is packed with people, hot and the staff are only semi-friendly. We ate out several days instead. We often had communication problems with staff because we are not fluent German speakers. This also meant we couldn’t use the facilities to the fullest. Nothing is multi lingual in the hotel.

    The hotel is a great place for families with plenty of facilities for both children and adults to enjoy. The outside environment is peaceful and safe for children. There are some good walking paths located around the property but not much else in the area in terms of attractions, restaurants etc. Good breakfast and comfortable beds.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    9.2
    Easy-to-find location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Plus Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Minor cleaning issues - garbage bin was not emptied one day, a towel was removed but not replaced, nothing really serious Parking lot is a bit far from the entrance, with luggage it can be a tough distance to cover

    Easy-to-find location Kind and helpful staff (even in spite of language difficulties - some of the staff does not speak English, but they do try, so communicating with a mix of English and German does work perfectly), Breakfast and dinner were fine, rather varied courses, the kids around us seemed to love the waffle-makers at the breakfast, and the walpurgisnacht-themed specials and decorations were a nice touch Indoor swimming pool is neat Family-oriented programmes seemed to be fun

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    7.9
    I liked breakfeast, pool and simplicity.
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi poor, sauna was closed earlier and extra fee for it, the hotel said it was broken but we understood that they didn't want to set it up again.

    I liked breakfeast, pool and simplicity. Absolutely worth for the price.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    9.6
    Nice home in nice surroundings
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When people start saying that location or surroundings are great they sometimes add "but"... there were no "but" in this hotel!))) Clean rooms, nice staff, rich breakfest, a lot of to do - everything was great! Only restaurant might work a bit longer (that is why 9.6). But waitress kindly found good food for my kids after it was closed. Good place to go!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    4.2
    Very rude receptionist!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    1) Very impolite receptionist!!! The first time in my 42 years, somebody shout at me for no apparant reason! I was shocked to the core! I did ask why the shouting but i got no reply! 2) very small shower tray 50cm×50cm!

    Food was nice and resturant staff are friendly

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2017

    9.2
    Skiing and swimming holidays
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Plus Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It wouldn't be bad to have few smaller buses to reach different skiing spots from the hotel.

    The swimming pool was great! I have enjoyed swimming after a long day spent skiing. The food was delicious, especially the breakfast. The room was extra clean and the bathroom too.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    7.5
    Standard family hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Plus Room ( 2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Property is little bit out dated, food is sometimes a lottery.

    Family hotel good for a short stay. I would highly recommend the half pension.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    3.8
    Nicely lit cated
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Awful athmosphere.

    Nicely lit cated

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    9.2
    Very nice a la carte
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very nice a la carte

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    10
    Location wonderful , great for kids and hospitable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location wonderful , great for kids and hospitable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    9.6
    Nice place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean room and a quiet place.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    9.6
    Excellent gate away near Dresden
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Plus Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The coffee can be better

    The planty of options offered for breakfast

    Stayed in August 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2015

    7.9
    Lots of things to do with kids (playground, kids' room,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The hotel was crowded with people, so it felt like a "holiday factory". The parking place was a bit too far. Breakfasts and dinners were not that great.

    Lots of things to do with kids (playground, kids' room, minigolf, swimming pools).

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2016

    9.2
    Food was very tasty, big choice for breakfast and for dinner.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Food was very tasty, big choice for breakfast and for dinner. Swimming pool was great.

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2015

    8.3
    Comfortable bed!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The wifi kept cutting out. The buffet closed early and some of the food was cold.

    Comfortable bed!, Helpful staff

There are also 3 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 17

Guests also reviewed these properties: