Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Waldhotel Unterbach This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Rathelbeckstraße 319, Unterbach, 40627 Düsseldorf, Germany

#37 of 49 B&Bs and Inns in Düsseldorf

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 327 hotel reviews

7.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.8

  • Comfort

    6.7

  • Location

    7.5

  • Facilities

    6.8

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 30

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    10
    It' s a very nice and quiet place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It' s a very nice and quiet place to stay. There is a park very close and a nice lake. Every morning I woke up when birds were singing outside. Such a quiet place that sometimes I thought that I'm absolutely alone there. The staff give you a free card to take a bus to the city center.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    8.8
    Overall we enjoyed our trip and that is mostly because of we had good choice of hotel. Thank you!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Second small toilet has no hot water facility, so we didn’t use that much.

    The hotel was very good. It has all facilities which we really need for 5 days break. Heating system was fantastic, kitchen facilities were good. Children had seperate room, they really liked their stay at hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    7.5
    overall the accommodation was nice, with great public transportation
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the first and last day we had 2 young ladies (4 different ones) at the reception. not very friendly and definitely not helpful at all and the only language they spoke was german.

    we stayed for four days. The 2 days in the middle were very nice, because of the great young male receptionist. He made everything great, helped a lot and was very friendly

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    9.6
    Excellent property, with very friendly staff.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We had a problem initially with the shower head not staying in one place. The staff were great however and arranged for this to be fixed. The property is not near the center of town but as we had a car this was not a problem for us. I am not sure how it would be if public transport was the only way to get about.

    We had a very spacious room, with a comfortable bed. The staff were very helpful and the breakfast was excellent. The area is in a quiet neighbourhood. Initially we did not think that there were many places to eat but we actually found that there were several excellent restaurants within a short distance, including right next door.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    8.3
    Pleasant introduction to Germany
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Ideally located on the edge of town in the direction we were travelling and only 30 mins from the airport. Located in quiet street over three floors. The rooms were quite large and the beds comfortable. Our one man host was a delight and very friendly and helpful. I would call this olde world, almost hostel like with plenty to eat for breakfast. Loved the bush out back and the birds-reminds me of home. I would encourage the birds to come to the rear of the property as they mostly stayed away in the trees.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    7.5
    Free travel tickets to Dusseldorf and its various transport systems avoids having to drive in town!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Slightly minimalistic furnishing, eg only one chair for two people. Slightly untidy look to gardens at both front and rear. Breakfast room, while well lit has no outside view - we thought about this a lot and wondered whether it was worth considering moving the reception area to the current breakfast room and then using the current reception room as the breakfast room since that has lovely view to the woods? Stairs are a bit steep but my 81 year old partner managed them anyway. However front garden steps could have edges better marked, I nearly fell there on arrival. Garden could do with tidying a bit more and rear car park could do with spaces being more clearly marked, I was a bit confused about where I may and may not park, especially having made mistake of parking next door at front on arrival.

    Allowed us to drop off our suitcases when we arrived fairly early morning long before check in time. Our room was ok but not extra special. We really appreciated and made good use of the free Dusseldorf travel tickets that were included in the booking giving free travel on the bus into Dusseldorf (takes 40 minutes) and also the Dusseldorf underground and other bus travel there, making it easy to visit Dusseldorf Museums etc. That was a great plus point! Lovely wooded background outside our bedroom window. Quiet room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    5.4
    no lift, bit far from town
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was said to be in ground floor stinky dark room at first because nobody helped my heavy luggage,so I carried it by myself all the stairs. Nothing around but houses. I felt sick next day something toxic in the air

    white room with skylight,calm habitat

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2017

    5.4
    Friendly staff, easy access with public transport.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    responses by mail only after 2 days when was near the place, weak internet/bad connection, pulsing hot water in shower.

    Friendly staff, easy access with public transport.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2016

    9.6
    As advertised not central location but bus stop right...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    only very small problem some rooms accessible by steep stairs that could be difficult but unless that's a major problem don't let it put you off.

    As advertised not central location but bus stop right outside, bedroom and bathroom clean and comfortable. A good breakfast served in a pleasant dining room and staff were very helpful and attentive.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    9.5
    Staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard to park the car.

    Staff.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    10
    Every thing
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Every thing

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    3.3
    nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    very unfriendly and rude staff

    nothing

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    7.9
    Good value
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Good service. Proactive staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    8.8
    great value
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location near forest and lake so great for a after work run

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    9.6
    Everything was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    If you don't have a car, it's difficult to move around.

    Cozy

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    10
    Nice hotel, loving staff and good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Location, Cleanliness, Free Ticket for all transport.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    5.0
    No pubs, shops or restaurants in the area.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No pubs, shops or restaurants in the area.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    7.5
    Fantastic value for money
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    All little outdated.

    Very quiet location close to A3. Clean!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    7.9
    Nice Place to Stay
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Good restaurant with good food and friendly staff. Apartment was perfect size especially for business. Excellent WIFI. Good value.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    9.6
    Big comfy room, quiet surroundings, close proximity to our...
    • Couple

    Nothing! Alles Gut!

    Big comfy room, quiet surroundings, close proximity to our friend's wedding venue. Very helpful staff. Hot and comfy showers and baths. Decent breakfast selection. Value for money.

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2016

    8.3
    Hotel is located in a wonderful place with nature.
    • Business trip
    • Group

    The price was extremely high because of trade fair. I don't think that it is such expensive in another time.

    Hotel is located in a wonderful place with nature. You wake up with the sounds of birds in the mornings.

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2015

    7.1
    Clean and acceptable rooms.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Staff courtesy was not the best, I guess sometimes you get what you pay for. I asked one of the ladies in reception to help me top up my phone by giving her the voucher I had just bought because I don't speak German and initially she was reluctant to do it and only did it because I asked again please. One of the ladies however was very pleasant, helpful and polite. She really seemed to be such a nice person. I wish she had stayed permanently in reception for my whole stay!

    Clean and acceptable rooms. Good price. Despite not being in town it doesn't take long by public transport to get to it.

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2016

    7.9
    A nice familiar house
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The stairs are really high

    A nice familiar house

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2016

    9.6
    Staff very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Staff very helpful.

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2015

    7.5
    It was right next to a walk in the woods for our dog!
    • Couple

    Nothing.

    It was right next to a walk in the woods for our dog!

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    7.1
    no elevator
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    all was fine

    no elevator

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2015

    6.3
    walk with the dogs close to the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    bed was uncomfortable, noise from others , limited parking

    walk with the dogs close to the hotel

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    7.9
    quietness
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    poor wi fi service in my room

    quietness nature

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2015

    5.8
    Friendly receptionist.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Staircase is a death trap. Spider webs in the room.

    Friendly receptionist. Parking. Good water stream and temperature in shower.

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2015

    4.6
    Quiet location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Room was tiny and with a horrible smell of cigarette smoke and mold. No elevator, stairs up to rooms are are life threat!

    Quiet location.

There are also 13 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 30

Guests also reviewed these properties: