Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Romantik Waldhotel Mangold This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Am Milchbornbach 39, 51429 Bergisch Gladbach, Germany

#18 of 24 hotels in Bergisch Gladbach

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 113 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 26

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    7.5
    Pleasant stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast spread was poor. The dinner menu was poor and no veg options. Tried to make gormet out of the local food. Room was got cold during the nigh, not enough heating. (It was particularly cold weather during my stay)

    The ambience and place itself is in the nature and well take care. Full of nice details and beautiful ‘old style’ romantic decoration . The cutlery was silver cutlery!!! Pet friendly, nice staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    8.8
    Very pretty!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately the restaurant was closed for the holidays, the nearest outside restaurant requires a steep climb up the hill into town

    very nice location, perfect for a hike. All facilities were clean and in good shape

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    8.3
    Good food, both for breakfast, which was included in the...
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good food, both for breakfast, which was included in the price, and for dinner in the restaurant. Very quiet surroundings with interesting views. We were upgraded to a room with a bath at no extra cost. Plenty of free parking space.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    8.3
    Nice people for service and hospitality
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    To reach train station by walking takes approximately 15-20 min. But hotel lobby makes you comfortable for calling a taxi

    Service in breakfast, hospitality

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    5.0
    Expensive facility for this amount of money
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Cold room at arrival, broken flush, wifi very bad connection or not working at all. Breakfast with not many food options comparing to similar hotels, especially for this price.

    Nice hotel athmosphere and surroundings.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    9.6
    Good value, clean, quiet
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property was a very steep uphill climb to the Schloss, where my conference was held. This didn't show up as such on google maps.

    Breakfast was great - very fresh, nice Müsli selection.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    5.8
    Lovely location, disappointed as no dinner or drinks on not mentioned Ruhetag.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We apparently arrived at a German Ruhetag (No dinner, no bar/drinks). This was not mentioned on booking.com. We booked for the alleged very good cuisine in this hotel, so we were very disappointed that Sunday and Monday are days off at the hotel and you can't get food. I afterwards found out these offdays are mentioned on the hotels website. So we very much blame booking.com for not giving this important information. We suggest you add this on your booking.com website.

    Breakfast was good

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2017

    9.6
    Amazing hotel in a woodland setting
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing that I didn't like about the his hotel

    Beautiful relaxing location,out of town but only a short taxi ride to town. Wonderful and comfortable room, amazing cleanliness. Greatest breakfast, good choices of food and again great cleanliness. Really helpful and friendly staff - especially the lady in charge of breakfast! I only stayed one night, and wished I'd been there longer. I will definitely return!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2016

    5.4
    No atmosphere in winter
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very hard to find on a dark winter's night. Satnav confused by small one-way streets. No signposts. Restaurant closed on Monday night so had to drive to a restaurant to eat. The place was generally dark and deserted. I slept well but there was zero atmosphere in December (maybe it's a summer hotel).

    The room and bathroom were large and comfortable. Slept well.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2016

    5.8
    Quiet location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - Long waiting time for check-in: no staff available. Had to phone the hotel to have someone at the reception. - They also had to find someone to check me out in the morning (at 7:30AM). - Room in a detached building.

    Quiet location.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    6.3
    No opened restaurant
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No opened restaurant

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    10
    location, friendly staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    everything was perfect

    location, friendly staff

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    8.8
    Cosy
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Restaurant was closed and the information was not announced on their website

    Located on the edge of the woods , nice walking trail with our dog.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    9.2
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower in bath tub , to high to step in and dangerous , very sloped tub bottom .

    Great breakfast and good dinner menu

    Stayed in October 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    8.3
    This quiet hotel at the edge of the forest is very clean and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our room was on the top floor of the building, no elevator.No problem for us but for older people with lots of lugage it may be a negative point.

    This quiet hotel at the edge of the forest is very clean and has spacious and comfortable rooms.

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2016

    10
    All staff understands American English very well as well as...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    They do not include an iron & board, but they will press clothes for you (for fee). Only disappoint was reception staff did not know about Schloss Burg castle in Solingen (when inquired about other castles in the area)

    All staff understands American English very well as well as speaks English. Room was perfect, perfect breakfast, awesome dinner, and very good wait staff. Beautiful brook and walking trail right at hotel.

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2015

    5.4
    dinner was superb
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Arrived after dark. More or less impossible to find the place, then the entrance & car park were more or less completely in darkness. Next, steps! Far too many, all different heights, little ramps, the whole "more modern" area very badly designed & frankly dangerous, especially for my wife & myself who have bad knees. I am amazed that German planning authorities would permit such access issues! Much too expensive for what's on offer really.

    dinner was superb

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    9.6
    Nice house, room, furniture.
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Was just a few hours sleep, had no time to enjoy the area. We did not ask about Internet and did not have wifi.on the phone was no one to help us with this issue.

    Nice house, room, furniture.

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    8.3
    Staff were first rate.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Little bit hot as there was no air conditioning.

    Staff were first rate. Very helpful and friendly and contributed immensely to our enjoyment of our trip; especially the girl with the crazy red hair!

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    9.2
    Excellent owners and team.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent owners and team. Very good cuisine.

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2015

    7.5
    Very nice and quiet location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The shower was much too low for me.

    Very nice and quiet location. Good breakfast. Fast Wifi internet.

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2015

    7.9
    Very friendly and helpful.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The reception to the room is too open and exposed.There needs to be more cover because of cold or wet weather.

    Very friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2015

    10
    Very friendly staff, people which take care about customers.
    • Business trip
    • Group

    Very friendly staff, people which take care about customers. Easy check in and out. Calm down area, great sleep and fresh air. Very good mini bar.

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2015

    10
    Nothing
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2015

    10
    Staff exceptionally helpful and pleasant, parking secure,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff exceptionally helpful and pleasant, parking secure, food excellent, room spacious and comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2015

    5.0
    Location near the wood.
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Pillow, mattress and quality of breakfast.

    Location near the wood. Pure air.

There are also 7 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 26

Guests also reviewed these properties: