Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Warteck This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Stuttgarter Str. 14, 72250 Freudenstadt, Germany

#9 of 32 hotels in Freudenstadt

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 375 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 70

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    6.3
    OK but nothing grabs you
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Flat atmosphere, owners not present at check in, you get a key code in advance and let yourself in. Room was OK, clean but a bit characterless. Busy town centre location- some noise form nearby restaurants and flats.

    Good breakfast, clean room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    7.5
    The owners were very accommodating and in fact moved their...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    When we arrived the street in front of the hotel was under construction, and there was no parking to be found. Parking is free but there is little available parking near the hotel. We also experienced noise from the street and the pub two doors down until 4 am and we requested a room change to the rear of the hotel for our second night as it was warm out and the windows had to be open as no air conditioning in the hotel. I also wish there had been an elevator as we had to carry heavy luggage up and down two flights of stairs though the owner did help us when we arrived.

    The owners were very accommodating and in fact moved their vehicle to allow us to park close to the hotel. They also moved us to a quieter room at the rear of the hotel after our first night when we were unable to sleep due to noise from people on the street and the traffic on the roadway. The breakfast was excellent and the rooms were clean and the beds comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    10
    A superb hotel in a friendly town
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Excellent, friendly family run hotel. Would certainly recommend this brilliant hotel and a few nights in Freudenstadt to explore the Black Forest area.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    8.3
    The room was extra-super-clean, bathroom included, so that...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We specifically asked for a queen bed and it actually had two mattresses.

    The room was extra-super-clean, bathroom included, so that our 8 months old son went everywhere. Also the breakfast was excellent: a wide variety of food, great taste and cosy place.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    10
    One of my favorite B & B's
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Wonderful B&B! Very near the Marketplace, which is a piazza of shops, restaurants and pubs. The restaurants seem to close by 7. Great location and good access to route 500 to Baden-Baden. Its an absolutely beautiful drive. Considered by some to be one of the 10 greatest droads in Europe. The hotel was charming. The owners were helpful and welcoming. The restaurant has a Michlin3 star rating and is expensive, deservedly so, but an extraordinary celebration of for all the 5 senses!I hope to revisit one day! Sorry I left a 5am and skipped what I'm sure was superb!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    9.6
    We will be returning!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were wonderful. The room was exactly what we expected from the booking site. The best thing was the restaurant: the food was 1st class. Very impressive breakfast buffet with all fresh produce. Ideal location: 100m from the central market square and its arcade of shops.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    9.2
    Lovely!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is a little close to a busy street, so sleeping with the windows open was a bit noisy.

    The breakfast was delicious and filling. The hotel was in a convenient location. Staff was very helpful. Nice rooms too - spacious. And the wifi worked very well.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    10
    The hotel was lovely, it had a wonderful warm feeling as...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all.

    The hotel was lovely, it had a wonderful warm feeling as soon as you went through the door, family run and it shows, everyone was so nice to us especially as we barely spoke any German! The restaurant is fab with wood pannelled decor and the food was amazing, we were also give some extra little treats compliments of the kitchen which included home made florentine's, delicious! The room was big, clean and modern with a nice break out area and soft carpet. I would really recommend making the effort to stay at this place which is also a perfect location for being in the middle of the Black Forest and accessible to all the main scenic driving routes. Also that reminds me, the owners even drove my husband up to the station to retrieve our car so we could park outside the hotel! Thank you to all for such a wonderful experience.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    9.2
    Schwarzwald is a great place for motorbike touring and this hotel is very close to the B500.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    With the Windows closed it can get warm in the room.

    Beds are very comfortable. Every morning fresh boiled, fried or scrambled eggs. You can choose and they make them fresh. Rooms are mordern styled. They are located very close to the main square.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    10
    Best Boutique Hotel of our Trip!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing! Best hotel we stayed at

    Stay here! The owner has a great thing going. She was friendly, helpful, and overall was our favorite hotel of our 10 day European trip. The rooms were completely modern, comfortable, and a great value compared to other hotels. There is a beautiful restaurant within the hotel which is the location for the amazing breakfast that was included. The eggs were cooked to order along with a choice of a hot beverage (also a breakfast buffet). Delicious! Although we thought about eating dinner the night before at their restaurant (fine dining) we opted for a Biergarten type place and found the perfect spot just a couple blocks away. Freudenstadt has a beautiful city center and was the perfect stop on our visit to the Black Forest. Parking was street side and free!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    9.6
    A great find
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    For a modest price this hotel was amazing, good restaurant, lovely room with all the facilities (although 3 flights of stairs - worth saying something if you cannot manage stairs and they would put you lower down).

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    10
    We were greated with a warm welcome by the family and staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were greated with a warm welcome by the family and staff. Very accomodating and friendly. Dinner was exceptional. We will return just for the food.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    6.7
    Won't be staying again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked 2 double rooms but was given one single and one double then was charged extra for our breakfast even though it states breakfast is included. Apparently so the owner said in Germany you have to pay breakfast tax? I don't think so but paid anyway to save a argument. Won't be staying here again this hotel is definatly overpriced for what you get.

    Beds we're comfy and shower was excellent

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2016

    5.8
    Mediocre hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No reception desk or staff, so left high and dry. We had to go round the back and ring a door bell which brought someone down to give us the room key and deal with the paperwork. She then disappeared. No lift, and we were in the third floor - many stairs with luggage. No assistance offered. One bedside lamp wasn't working, and a man has to hold the toilet seat up. Really not good enough.

    Good breakfast. Lovely big bed, nice bedding. Kettle and tea and coffee in the room.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    9.2
    Pleasant stay in a nice, well-appointed hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately, due to traffic, we arrived at 21:30 on a Friday evening and this was too late to get dinner at the hotel (or anywhere else in Freudenstadt).

    Lovely hotel close to the city centre

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    8.8
    Don't miss the breakfast here - especially of you like to start your day with a glass of prosecco!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Only that there was no air conditioning and temperatures were 33 degrees plus. There was one very small fan, I guess that we could have asked if there were any spares.

    The breakfast was fabulous and lovely, friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2016

    9.6
    A great base in the Black Forest.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Parking was a bit of a squeeze.

    The hotel owners were on site and absolutely charming; they couldn't have made us more welcome. Our room was spotless and well furnished. Breakfast superb.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    9.6
    Very nice, newly renovated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice, newly renovated. Not for people with disabilities etc because of many stairs and no elevator. Really nice breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    9.6
    Staff were very friendly and spoke great English
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were very friendly and spoke great English

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    9.2
    Very nice breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    10
    Good base for the Black Forest
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    It was comfortable and gad everything I needed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    9.2
    Very nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Almost everything

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    8.3
    Clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The kettles in the rooms are dirty as with s majority of the hotels

    Clean

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    9.6
    Comfortable bed, clean room, lovely staff.
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only stairway access to the accommodation so may not suit those with limited mobility

    Comfortable bed, clean room, lovely staff. Would recommend.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    9.2
    Great Place and delicius food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great Place and delicius food

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    8.8
    ./.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    ./.

    ./.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    8.8
    Very nice room - one of the best I've stayed in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Very nice room - one of the best I've stayed in.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    7.9
    The staff were very customer friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillow was too v soft and the room no.23 was too loud being on the side of the street.

    The staff were very customer friendly

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    8.8
    Fantastic steak, clean rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic steak, clean rooms.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    10
    Great breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too close to the main road

    Great breakfast!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2017

    8.8
    Nice short break in snowy Schwarzwald
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendy people, clean and comfortable rooms, excellent breakfastn

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2016

    7.9
    Quaint hotel in an excellent location, just a short walk...
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quaint hotel in an excellent location, just a short walk from the square. Staff were helpful and the breakfast was good.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2016

    10
    A great place to stay in Freudenstadt.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    An elevator to the third floor would have been great.

    The room was well furnished and very comfortable. The breakfast was outstanding.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    8.8
    It is a decent room to stay for one night!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is a decent room to stay for one night! All the people working there are very kind and helpful!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    9.6
    Viss bija lieliski!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only the noise from the street.

    Viss bija lieliski! Everything was great!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    9.6
    Super food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great choice and presentation at breakfast

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    6.7
    Breakfast was included but they charged apart
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was included but they charged apart

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2016

    6.7
    Locating property;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Locating property; not clear.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2016

    9.6
    Friendly service and fabulous breakfast choice and ambience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly service and fabulous breakfast choice and ambience

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2016

    9.2
    Breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    only the pillows were not at the level i would expect for this kind of hotel

    Breakfast well located in town center closed to all activities nice hotel in general, calm

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2016

    8.3
    Very friendly staff and helpfull, great breakfast buffet,...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    if you need wifi this is not the place to be. Wifi in room not working and very slow in Restaurant, really not up to standard.

    Very friendly staff and helpfull, great breakfast buffet, highly recommended. Walking distance from Freudenstadt center square where you find shops and good bars.

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2016

    9.6
    Wonderful family run Hotel in the center of town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wonderful family run Hotel in the center of town. Lovely big modern rooms, great breakfast and a fantastic restaurant, probably the best in Freudenstadt!!

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    10
    The welcome was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing. If you are on the top (3rd) floor, there is no lift, so either request a lower room or be prepared for a few stairs.

    The welcome was excellent. The management seperated the beds for us without any question or charge. The breakfast was top quality. Beds were comfy. Location perfect.

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2015

    9.2
    Well located and very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The furniture in the room where we stayed was not very modern but it was comfortable and super clean. Nothing negative, really.

    Well located and very clean. Very kind staff and delicious breakfast. Alternatives for guests with food allergies offered upon request. Free wi-fi.

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2015

    7.9
    Excellent breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was hot when we visited in early-July. The windows could be opened, but the room was facing the main street and noisy in the evening. One small fan was provided, which did help somewhat. Fortunately, the road noise was less from about 2200 - 0600. WiFi didn't work too well. Sometimes I had to go out into the hall to connect with their system - then I could return to the room to use it.

    Excellent breakfast. Good size room with up-to-date bathroom.

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2015

    8.8
    Staff friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room was noisy due to hotel being on main road.

    Staff friendly and helpful. Room was comfortable and clean. Breakfast was a step up from other hotels we were at with fresh fruit, bread and eggs to order.

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2015

    9.2
    The welcoming staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The wifi kept dropping out forcing reentry of the login code.

    The welcoming staff. Excellent service and attention to needs. The fruit at breakfast was delicious. The hotel is well located for exploring the town and within a short walk of the start of some lovely walks in The Black Forest.

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2015

    10
    The hotel was very comfortable and a great location in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The hotel was very comfortable and a great location in the centre of the town. All the staff were very friendly and always happy to help. We travelled on motorcycles and there was an area behind to park our bikes.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    9.6
    Very friendly family-run hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Street parking only, so had to park around the corner (although the city is very safe so no real problem).

    Very friendly family-run hotel. Close to the large market square. Excellent breakfast with an egg menu and choice of hot drinks made to order.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    7.5
    The hotel is on the main road within a walkable distance to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Parking was tricky. The hotel advertises "free public parking is possible on site - no reservation needed" but a word of warning: there are a few spaces behind the hotel but the car park is cramped with littered with items that have been thrown out. We were travelling in a large VW transporter and this car park was totally unsuitable. There is free parking in front of the hotel on the road side which is good if there is space available. We eventually parked the van opposite the hotel where it is free from 6pm - 9am. Generous spaces, room to manoeuvre The only drawback is that you have to remember to feed the meter at 9am the next morning.

    The hotel is on the main road within a walkable distance to the town square. Our room had extra glazing put in to dampen the traffic noises from the road. Dinner choices were good, rather expensive but food was amazing! There are plenty of restaurants by the town square to choose from if you want to keep to a budget. The room was very spacious, our bathroom was small and could have done with some refurbishment, the photos on the website are a bit misleading.

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2015

    6.7
    Clean room and bathroom, but small.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    No wifi because no one to be contacted. Seemed that we were the only one in the hotel. Dialed reception number, no one answered.

    Clean room and bathroom, but small.

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2015

    9.6
    A beautiful small hotel in the city centre of freudenstadt...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    We stayed on the third floor and there was no elevator, so we had to take the stairs. That wasnt such a big problem for us, but for some people it might be.

    A beautiful small hotel in the city centre of freudenstadt (only two blocks away from the main square). We stayed on the third floor, on a triple room (we were 2 adults and a 5 y.o. kid). The room was spacious and clean with a view on the street. Stuff was friendly and breakfast was excellent (in quality).

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2016

    9.6
    The restaurant is worth a detour.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Street parking, though free, is subject to stiff competition.

    The restaurant is worth a detour.

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2016

    8.3
    Excellent localisation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No personal at night, room cold, mattress could be renewed, restaurant closed.

    Excellent localisation.

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2016

    8.8
    A fabulous breakfast and great location in the Black Forest
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The Wi-Fi was very iffy and extremely slow.

    A fabulous breakfast and great location in the Black Forest

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2015

    10
    They had good scotch.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    They had good scotch. They returned a lost item.

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2015

    10
    Excellent location, middle of Black forest.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Excellent location, middle of Black forest.

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2015

    8.3
    We had an excellent dinner at the restaurant!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had an excellent dinner at the restaurant! We certainly shall go back there...

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    10
    Intimate, old world hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Intimate, old world hotel. Impeccable, friendly service. Outstanding restaurant

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    10
    Friendly staff, great location with an excellent restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Friendly staff, great location with an excellent restaurant

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    5.8
    Bruit de circulation automobile / camion
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bruit de circulation automobile / camion

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    8.8
    the stuff are good,the reastreraut is perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    the stuff are good,the reastreraut is perfect.only 200 metres to the market plaza

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2015

    9.2
    Very nice owner.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very nice owner.

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    9.2
    Kind and friendly attitude of staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    No parking No airconditioner

    Kind and friendly attitude of staff Good taste of dinner and breakfast Close to the city centre Very clean room

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2015

    10
    We loved the feel of the place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We loved the feel of the place. You have to have dinner at their restaurant. The food was excellent. The Chef is great.

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2015

    10
    Very friendly staff and good central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Very friendly staff and good central location. The breakfast was amazing!

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2015

    9.6
    Breakfast was lovely and staff really friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Shame road was so busy, particularly as weather was so hot so had to open the windows

    Breakfast was lovely and staff really friendly

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2015

    7.9
    In a good position with nice staff and good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Car park

    In a good position with nice staff and good breakfast

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2015

    7.9
    The room was clean and had everything we needed
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    There was no lift and we had to carry our bags up to the third floor

    The room was clean and had everything we needed

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2015

    7.9
    staff is very gentle and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    near street and a little bit noisy during night.

    staff is very gentle and helpful. close to hiking point. best breakfast and dinner experience!

There are also 11 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 70

Guests also reviewed these properties: