Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Romantik Hotel im Wasserturm This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Kaygasse 2, Altstadt-Sued, 50676 Cologne, Germany

#45 of 223 hotels in Cologne

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1596 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Weird shape, location far from anything interesting, minibar empty. Went to internal bar coffee shop. Went three times to front desk to ask for service (as basic as to please open door to outside garden). Three of them were there... no other guests in sight. No one did anything... they just stayed there. Asked to talk to manager... nothing. I think this hotel is poorly run and in general (there are exceptions) staff is poorly trained. Hard to explain in a review but basically if you are going to Cologne there are better options. I was in a hurry but I made a mistake... I do not recommend this property

    Property was very clean and two of the staff were ok

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Maisonette Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    If you had a suitcase it would be difficult to get it to the Bedroom via the spiral staircase. I luckily only stayed the night so only had a backpack.

    The Water Tower Hotel is a very unique Hotel. I had a dual floor room that was connected via a spiral staircase. Bed was very comfortable. Big Window to look out of from the lower floor.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning. Room was starting to look a little dated and slightly run-down a bit.

    Staff were amazing. Helpful and nice. Interesting building.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The two main restraunts were closed while we were there, the main one st 2:30 pm we were told we could have dinner there by 6 pm they were closed for the night

    The hotel was unique and lovely room very comfortable and spacious

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only one minor issue based on both experiences here: the check out process is a bit slow and needs to be made more efficient somehow. On both visits there has been a queue at reception with people checking out at the same time - not ideal when you have a train to catch!

    This was my second stay here and it is now my first choice of hotel in Cologne. Comfortable room with an amazing view of Cologne, great service, fairly priced. The barman Felix makes a good Negroni and we had a nice chat. The restaurant on the top floor is excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Maisonette Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was pretty shocked when I was told that my double room for €140 a night (without breakfast) did not have air conditioning. We upgraded for another €40 to get air conditioning on the higher floors.

    Very nice concept. Feels very luxurious and looks very good. The food was very good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Maisonette Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning hot though cool outside Had a fan in bedroom that helped a bit Furniture in living room was uncomfortable Dark bathroom Spotty WiFi in rooms

    Nice bar and terrace Good staff Architecture was beautiful Comfy beds

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No real 5 Star (but prices eventually aren't either :-) service culture of a good 4 Stars Hotel. Outdated, sterile interior - not up to current (Hotel) design standards anymore (e.g. tiny TV :-) Magnificent building, interesting architecture but direct surroundings less attractive.

    Close to city center. Nice views from top floor and restaurant over the city.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Deluxe Room needs to be renovated they haven't the value of a 5 star Junior / maisonette suite are much better maintained

    The choice they made to propose also a lighter breakfast instead of the full breakfast buffet is rather nice

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is nothing not to like!

    This is the most remarkable hotel in an old water tower. It is seriously romantic and we received consistent five star treatment. The restaurant on the eleventh floor is exquisite, the views breathtaking, the garden is lovely and perfect for al fresco dining, and the rooms are beautiful. Architecturally the building is incredible and the decor is perfect. We ordered the ‘quick’ breakfast for 12 euros, which arrived with a delicious selection of breads, pastries, cheeses and jams on a little tier! Overall this hotel is very good value for a genuinely unforgettable stay. Go! X

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    gave me the choice of two single beds on booking.com but on arrival was told it was not possible for the room we booked.

    good value for money and good location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    little expensive, but it is okay

    fantastic intern design! private parking area. Fabulous "W" restaurant at 11F, it is so cool to view the city from there

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Maisonette Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Exceptionally massive room with comfortable chair and sofa, donning room with table, two bathroom, a large king size bed , champagne, stairs. Such a wonderful place of Romantik for Me and Mrs CANO. Love Romantik.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As above, our room could have done with a refresh and the staff at dinner were somewhat under pressure and could probably have done with some help.

    It is some years since we last visited, but the hotel and staff were as expected. Our room was fine although it could do with a refresh. The gourmet restaurant was closed as it was Monday but the bistro was fine.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Maisonette Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A hotel always depends on the staff, and Wasserturm was in the past always a reference for a distinct 5 star hotel visit. But things changed. Called at 12.00 to ask if my room was ready and I was told "yes no problem" I arrived at 12.30 and I was told that before 16.00 i would not have the room and I should take a walk in the city (it was raining) The rooms were not to 5 star level, in the bathrope I would a used tissue. No reaction from the staff.

    The hotel is definetly an architectual highlight which was one of the best places to stay in Cologne

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Maisonette Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sofa and chairs slightly uncomfortable in room but a very minor point. Breakfast too expensive.

    Beautiful double maisonette with coffee machine, complimentary mini bar and a great city view.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Maisonette Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom far too hot. Requested temp decrease each evening but it was still uncomfortable and I cannot say I slept well. Slept on top of the duvet all three nights of my stay with the window open. Drinks in the bar were very expensive. Unfortunately the two cocktails were prepared with flat prosecco so the “spritz” was minimal. We should have queried this at the time but were rushing out for dinner. The bar man seemed more interested in his personal affairs with his partner in the other room than the paying guests in the bar. There were no sockets next to the bed. No information was provided by staff - there was no upsell of the hotel’s facilities.

    Friendly reception staff. Excellent, central location. Unique design given the building’s history Luckily I had noticed a price-drop in the week’s leading up to our stay and I would have been really disappointed to have paid almost £200 per night for an average experience.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Maisonette Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Hotel is badly in need of a MAJOR upgrade, standard similar to former eastern Europe, no offence intended. This is a 3 star hotel AT MOST. They have a "Hornstein Ranking 2017" hanging in the reception, claiming it to be among the best hotels in Germany - what a joke. I can only recommend to avoid at all costs, unless you don't mind paying for something you are not getting. All in all, a big disappointment. Location and parking facilities, practical though.

    Practical location and parking facilities.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Maisonette Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Everything was fine with the hotel and the facilities and staff but their checkout procedure leaves a lot to be desired. On arrival block off the total cost of hotel from credit card then charge full amount on check out. Only then do they cancel the blocked amount. This lead to 4 of us having cards rejected as over credit limit. Took a few hours for the hotel to cancel the block transaction to free up the credit to pay the bills. FRUSTRATING after such a lovely stay.......

    Excellent staff

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Maisonette Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was incredibly hot so made sleeping difficult

    Full use of the mini bar free of charge An iPad with ALL the possible information you could ever need for your stay and surrounding area Great room service options

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Awesome old building with fancy interior. We liked the location - not far from the city Centre but in quiet place, the room design and very nice cosy bed. Strongly recommend.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant(s) and how bloody expensive it is to eat/drink. €7.50 for table water! The food was really good, however incredibly overpriced.

    Everything was great except the restaurant(s).

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Maisonette Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No English speaking TV channels available during our stay. But staff tried and suggested using room tablet etc to overcome this.

    Great room, Amazing location, Phenomenal architecture. Breakfast was amazing with amazing selection of salmon, mixed meats, cheeses and eggs cooked to order. 5/10 minute walk to all main areas of Colonge. Many quirky touches in the room. Only 10/15min taxi ride from airport costing 30-40 euros. Free use of Sauna and mini bar restocked everyday.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Expensive breakfast, bar & restaurant.

    Breakfast, delicious but expensive. Convenient to local transport. Free mini bar (but only realised on last day it was free! Welcome Printen!!!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Maisonette Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think it’s marketed as a 5 star, I’d say more 4 star. In parts the rooms is getting a tiny bit tired, with a few cracked tiles in the bathroom. But overall it’s great.

    I loved my break at Wasserturm. The building is awesome, really quirky but very well done. The room was great, very comfortable and lots of space. The location is really good, handy for the tram and easy to walk into the centre too. Staff are very helpful and friendly. The food is very good too.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Maisonette Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No individual thermostats for the room so too hot and couldnt sleep. The sofa and chairs in the sitting room very uncomfortable.

    The staff were super friendly and the locatin was quiet and out the way.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was one of the best hotels we have stayed in. The staff where very helpful, the rooms where very spacious and clean and the bed was the comfiest I’ve slept in

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom needs renovation, small windows, quite hot inside, very complicated room entertainment device - event staff can not explain the handling

    Architecture and atmosphere, luxus, very friendly staff, very good restaurant

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Maisonette Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Somewhat stark and predominately for business men. None of the usual leaflets/maps about the city at reception. Trestles for suitcases were delivered after asking and dumped, one on the floor, just inside the door. We had to take them upstairs to the bedroom in the maisonette room. Had to ask staff where the switch was on the Italian coffee machine. We asked for and received a kettle. No reading light, shallow desk. Uncomfortable furniture. Shaving mirror, when swung round into position obscured the light. Overall a triumph of chic over comfort.

    Convenient for City centre. Comfortable bed Interesting building.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Maisonette Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was very warm in the room. We slept only for a few hours due to the temperature. Check-in is also a bit late (15h) but we went for a walk in the city and enjoyed the christmas markets

    Incredible breakfast (best pancakes ever!) Beautiful location Very large room (superior room) Staff was very friendly Free tea, coffee, water in the room

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very old room. Bathroom in an appalling state, with leaking taps, tiles that are falling off the wall, lime scale everywhere. Rooms lack sound proofing. Furniture looks like it comes from the '80s. Very disappointing. When asking, we were told we had one of the old rooms. I would have liked to know this when booking.

    Beautiful building. Lovely reception. Cheerful staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The main restaurant closed for a private function. Restaurant left to us Menu very small. Location is a bit away from City centre. More so than booking,com suggested as a recommended hotel for Xmas markets The room is overpriced for the location and the facilities

    Very ready for our dog. Staff very helpful. Impressive building

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar was expensive and service very slow. Sometimes the barman couldn't be found.

    The ground floor is very beautiful and interesting and the staff very pleasant.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the service at breakfast

    excellent and nicely decorated room, good equipment (coffee, chocolates,...). The building itself is beautiful. To be able to visit the himmel und add restaurant while staying in the hotel is off course a extra benefit.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was unable to modify the reservation one week in advance. I had to pay for 3 nights even though I only needed 2. The bathrooms were unacceptable, very dated and there were bugs in the shower. Only espresso shots of coffee.

    The brick lobby was nice.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Canvas/plastic (under)bedlinnen. The balcony is all around the building so other guests start making nice romantic walks and talks at midnight in front of your bedroom.

    The building is beautiful. Breakfast is expensive but good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Maisonette Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    To get to the bed we had to go up a narrow, steep, high, metal spiral staircase. The steps were about 2 feet wide, just wide enough for a person. So we left our luggage downstairs. I feel this hotel should warn customers better the only access to the bed is a dangerous staircase - I chose this hotel because it has a lift, but had to go up these stairs. I did read there was a bed up stairs when I booked, but assumed that was a second bed. Once up the staircase the bed area, a kind of mezzanine, had no window, no air circulation, was stuffy and horrible. The ensuit up there was tiny and had a smal 1.5 cm step up of hard tile, which I hurt my foot on during the night. The downstairs bathroom had a wash basin set way back from the edge of the bench - just one more annoying, inconvenient thing about this place. The s taff were friendly, and strangely did not know there is a lovely Italian restaurant and 2 pubs with food very close by - it would have saved us a long walk the night before. On mentioning how we dislike having to go to bed up an awful staircase, the staff person said it would be better to ring and talk about the rooms when booking. From Australia? She had no concept of our problem. I suggest this place would best suit Germans in town for a visit, rather than travellers.

    The toilet paper was very good

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Maisonette Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything the service the location the rooms the entire place. Was so beautiful and it was the best start for our honeymoon. The location was in the middle of everything we didn't take a taxi anywhere all we did was walk that's how awesome it is.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Maisonette Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If there was one complaint it was that the hotel is not a centrally located for the main centre of Cologne. In reality it is a 15 to 20 mins to the Main Square near the cathedral. Which was where most of the activities were focused. However, when you understand more about the layout of Cologne you realise that there are lots of little hubs so from that perspective it is centrally located. The moral of the story do your homework!

    The Hotel is quite spectacular, from an architectural perspective how it has been converted to a hotel the quality of service the layout of the rooms and the comfort factor. Our duplex at two toilets, one on each floor which was helpful . The house is very stylish and the food options were good as well as the bar.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - The Spa - especially the Sauna - is a joke for a 5-Star-Hotel. - The Bar is really small. Yes, it's cosy, but we would've expected more. - The receptionist laughs at you if you don't immediately understand sth the way he means it. Experiences may differ and people have different tastes.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Maisonette Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Check out was a bit slow which was worrying as I had a train to catch. Not their fault really as they were very busy - just something to bear in mind.

    Great hotel walking distance from the centre of Cologne. The restaurant on the top floor with its panoramic view of the city is amazing. The hotel has a good bar on the ground floor too. Friendly, professional staff. Very spacious room. The free mini bar was an added bonus! The next time I visit Cologne this will be my first choice.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We were lucky that the weather was warm and not too hot. We had a fan which was sufficient for comfort but if it had been hotter we would have needed aircon.

    It was a charming unusual hotel in an excellent location. The staff were helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't have breakfast as was a bit expensive

    Lovely hotel. Beautiful decor. Convenient location. Great rooftop bar. Staff very helpful, upgraded us to a larger room which was excellent

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was 25 Euros which when we only eat a bowl of yogurt seems too pricey.

    The uniqueness of the Water Tower and the interior decor were excellent.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff were not particularly friendly. Our bathroom was very small given the overall size of the room. Breakfast is overpriced at Euro 26.

    Really unique hotel, amazingly renovated from a water tower. Quirky rooms which reflect the unique nature of the building. Location feels very 'out-of-town' but underground is just round the corner so easy to get into city. Restaurant food was good. View from the roof terrace was worth the stay alone - there is a bar and terrace up there which was amazing.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Standard rooms on third floor have not been refurbished recently and had no air cond, hence room was too warm.

    Very different hotel in converted water tower. Located within walking distance from city center and old town. Very nice roof top bar with great city view. Excellent staff at reception and roof top bar. Cost of parking in hotel garage was a bit steep.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Initial room had not air-con, and windows that were broken and could not open. Offered a room with windows that did open but was smaller than booked room. Then offered a similar room to original with air-con (still no opening windows) but demanded €40 more...after a firm discussion was offered at the same price. Declined breakfast as exorbitant @ €28 per head..great underground garage but really, €28 per night!! Upon returning to hotel around 9.30pm from walking into city center 15 mins) the lounge bar was closed..although earlier in the day we walked to the city center my wife was uncomfortable with walking home due to vagrants, immigrants and undesirables on the route in, felt very unsafe. One guy had a drain lid up and was fishing out items from a drain including a wallet he was pulling apart..so took taxi to hotel from dom Platz..Tried to the most famous restaurant in Koeln , 'Fuerth' but quality of food was poor, was there 10 years ago and was very different..sadly wont be returning to Koeln in the near future..immigration is taking its toll...

    Comfy beds...unusual hotel

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    An air conditioner vent fell out and hit my head which caused me to go to the hospital. I hope the wound will heal properly but it is still too soon to tell.

    The staff and location were wonderful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms did not have air conditioning. Although fans were provided it was far too hot during our stay. One of the rooms (we had booked three) was in poor condition, with a crack in the window and broken furniture and shower, but nothing was done when we told reception about it.

    The hotel was modern and quirky. The rooms were a good size and well equipped.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Maisonette Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The is no air conditioning and the air flow was poor in the room and thus really uncomfortable to sleep. It has a Michelin star restaurant on the 11th floor, but I was not available to go up and enjoying the view. I had to book the full 6 course meal to get into the restaurant. I think as a guest in the hotel I should have been able to have a drink on that floor and enjoying the view even if it was just for 1/2. I understand if they don't want u there all night. The food in the restaurant/bar on the ground floor was terrible for a 5 star hotel. The garden is beautiful but food described as "marinated tuna" but turns out to be "canned tuna" is not cool.

    It is a beautiful building.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff were fantastic - it was during a heat wave and they had already had a cold drink jug set up in reception and had put two fans in my room to keep the bedroom and living room cool. They were fantastic.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Maisonette Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately there was some heavy building works going on opposite the hotel, that started early in the morning. This is not the hotel's fault, but made it impossible to sleep after 06.30. Also, there was a problem with the temperature control in the shower, the water was either cold or way too hot. Both my friend and myself got burnt by the shower.

    The hotel is beautiful and unique. There was a warm welcome from the reception and the room was lovely. I enjoyed all the little extras, water upon arrival, drinks in the mini bar and nice amenities and bathrobe and slippers. Lovely to have a drink outside the hotel bar on the terrace.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning!!

    Stunning building! The only issue is the hotel rooms do not have air conditioning which made for a sleepless night! I pointed this out during my departure with no noticeable reaction from the staff!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Maisonette Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was so hot inside. You start to sweat just entering the hotel and our room was beautiful but there's no airflow so the bedroom was so much hotter than the main room. There was a bedroom fan to plug in but that's just a minor help. There's no airflow in the whole hotel except stair way. The breakfast is so expensive so we didn't partake. The parking is so expensive I found a garage for 3 days that was cheaper than 1 day in the hotel garage.

    It is a beautiful hotel and cool round design inside. The beds are comfortable and the bathrooms are cool design! We had a maisonette room and it was fun to have. The towels are so plush and great water pressure. Good location to the U-Bahn around the corner and a nice walk to the Rhein for the chocolate museum and other restaurants. The rooftop view with Resturant was one of the top highlights! 360* views of Köln and it's a top restaurant. But you cannot got to the rooftop just for a drink - that is not allowed (as we were told many times).

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room (maisonette) unbearably hot, no airco, just one window on the lower floor which only opened a few inches. Breakfast very expensive.

    Lovely building, nice rooms

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Maisonette Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel needs to be refurbished. There is no air conditioning, there are few windows, many visitors complained about the heat and lack of fresh air. we had to change room and our room was given to next occupant who then also had to change. No real apologies and poor man management. This is not a 5 star hotel. Maybe 3 star with upgrade.

    The location is good

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location is close to the center, but really empty at night. Not scary or anything, just not particularly nice. The view will be fantastic if you are lucky to have a room facing the Cathedral, but otherwise, you will just see the street. There aren't really any public view points and the roof terrace is only accessible to the restaurant's guests.

    Beautiful historic building, the room was quite nice and very spacious. Overall a nice experience, this hotel is fun to explore!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Dining options were a choice between "really expensive" on the ground floor and "ridiculously expensive" at the top of the Tower. We went to really expensive for dinner one night and it wasn't really worth it (although the staff were very good). Breakfast is similarly completely over-priced- there are plenty of cafes within 10 minutes walk that will do as good a breakfast for half the price or less. It is a shame that access to the rooftop terrace seems more or less restricted to customers of the "ridiculously expensive" restaurant as this should be one of the main features of the Hotel. The fitness centre is not well equipped

    Amazing room, with access to the mid-level terrace wrapping round the whole hotel so great views too. Good facilities in the room (proper coffee machine, tablet computer). The Hotel itself is an incredible structure and the conversion is really clever. Free drinks in the minibar, great bathroom, could not fault the room at all. All staff were friendly and welcoming.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Neighbourhood seems a little sketchy for late night walking. We stayed to major streets.

    Staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Hotel pictures were exactly as the hotel was and hotel was within walking distance of all major sites.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - shower basin was clogged - breakfast is overpriced, especially if you lack time to enjoy it fully. although it was a quality food

    + location + standard

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice hotel just a short walk from the city center! Can't say much as we literally just slept here as we arrived, went out and came back late at night!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Maisonette Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The hotel is located in a converted stone water tower. Rooms are elegant with a bedroom upstairs and a full living room and dining area downstairs. It was a unique store experience in a luxury hotel. We would recommend it highly to anyone, especially when compared with conventional luxury hotels without the historic atmosphere. The circular shape of the room with a Normas two-story windows was also fascinating.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel itself is stunning! Being on the 9th floor gave you a lovely view of the city although be warned other people have access to the balcony and can walk past/see into your room. The barman Tim was excellent and an asset to the hotel! The cocktails and drinks were fantastic however we didn't eat at the hotel so can't comment but from the looks of the menu, high standards have been applied. I fell in love with the exterior of the hotel and my mind was blown by the interior!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Maisonette Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately the rooms were a little neglected ..... Many great ideas and special features but a little worn. In both the downstairs and the upstairs bathrooms, there were problems with the hot and cold water faucets. We also were unable to control the temperature in the room. One of the coolest features of the room, a lit wall was broken.

    The hotel has great potential and lots of unique features. The loft maisonette rooms are spacious and comfortable. Room service breakfast is outstanding.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Maisonette Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That I couldn't stay longer.

    The hotel was absolutely beautiful!!!! It was so unique. The rooms were perfect. The distance from attractions and eateries were great.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Maisonette Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sadly no breakfast included in the room rate and the view is honestly not that amazing from most of the rooms

    Clean and comfortable rooms, minibar included

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Maisonette Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They get away with lacking service due to the wonderful building and the renovated rooms. Requested a specific room type (we booked the maisonnette) and were assigned a different one without asking. We were told it was an "upgrade", but when we asked to occupy the one we had booked, it wasn't available. Really poor fitness room (improvised in an old office room maybe?) and sauna (semi-functional, could fit maybe 3 people max. and no light of any kind). Had views to the cathedral, but they weren't particularly beautiful, sadly. Were disturbed by ringing in the evening and in the morning, despite "do not disturb" sign.

    The building itself is beautiful. Bed and shower (in the double de luxe room) were great. The hotel seemed calm and peaceful. Despite the shortcomings of the service, the staff themselves were polite at all times.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I would have liked the bathroom a bit bigger, but due to the architecture it is not possible.

    Great Atmosphere, lovely room, delicious (even if rather expensive) breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    An wonderful hotel, with possibly the best staff I have ever encountered. I love the historic building, the rooms, the ambience, the romance... simply outstanding. Have been back twice, and will definitely return when next I'm in Köln.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Maisonette Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    For those who do not like spiral cases, the rooms may be found uncomfortable.

    One of the most unusual hotels I've stayed over the years - located in former water tower. Very interesting set up of whole thing, good rooms, excellent breakfast and choice of restaurants. Great location

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Maisonette Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms very warm during the night. Bar service slow enough. The barman, while very pleasant seemed inexperienced. My expresso martini was not a cocktail. Me thinks he has no idea how to make one or how it should look.

    Staff very friendly. Location was perfect for us. Lovely building. Worth having a look at how it was transformed into hotel.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Maisonette Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Personally prefer a shower separate from a bath however both shower and bath were great so only a minor issue. Breakfast was a little bit pricy but you're close to town which means there a a wide range of options.

    From first walking in the door everything was perfect.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location itself is not on the nicest street but still within reasonable walking distance to most sites

    Such a unique place and the staff were just fantastic!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Whilst the Michelin starred restaurant was no doubt excellent, the menu was not very appealing and therefore we didn't use this restaurant, which was a shame because the view would have been magnificent, and we weren't able to take advantage of it.

    Lovely converted old water tower, with character. Well located - only a two minute walk from the nearest underground station so easy access to city centre etc.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Maisonette Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were very friendly and efficient. An amazing building, with its history visible yet so beautifully converted. The room was simply superb. There should be more hotels like this one.

    Stayed in January 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Romantik Hotel im Wasserturm traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: