Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Wedina an der Alster This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Gurlittstr. 23, St. Georg, 20099 Hamburg, Germany

#23 of 323 hotels in Hamburg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 837 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    8.3
    Comfortable Stay in laid back small streets of St. Georg!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Urban S
    • Stayed 2 nights

    lack of fridge

    Comfortable Bed, very nice rooms, perfectly clean, cosy feeling, also very convenient location and although room facing street quiet, S Rooms sufficient for short stay, even had a kitchenette in the room, unfortunately no fridge?

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    10
    Beautiful and unique hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Urban S
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was very welcoming and the room was wonderful and even had a balcony. The area had many restaurants and wine bars and it was just down the street from the lake.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    9.6
    The very nice and peaceful design of the roots, + one of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room Urban S
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The last morning the staff at breakfast seemed a bit stressed. The most social and caring lady seemed to be off work.

    The very nice and peaceful design of the roots, + one of the best breakfasts I have had in a hotel, with personal and gentle staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    8.3
    A charming hotel in a quiet area close to the center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Urban S
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The duvet was far too warm and I don't like shower curtains, but that is personal.

    The hotel is situated in a very nice area, close to the city center (10 min. walk) and the Central Station (5 min. walk). It is extremely calm, in a tiny one way street. We had a wonderful room with terrace in the blue building. Don't hesitate to pay 15 euros extra for breakfast, it is more than worth it. A tremendous offer of fresh and healthy food, any drink you want, to enjoy in the huge garden if you feel like it. Wedina is perfect if you look for a charming place with a personal touch. Try "Café Gitane" in the same street : the food and wine are excellent !

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    9.2
    Lovely stay at this boutique style hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room Urban S
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely stay, comfy bed and I had my extra pillows as requested before my arrival. Bottled water on the table which was a nice touch when entering the room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    6.3
    Pleasant helpful staff, clean functional rooms.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room Urban S
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I didn't like the fact that the bedrooms were in a different building from the main reception. The hallway of my building - The Blue House - was very austere and unwelcoming, which may suit some people's taste but I didn't like it. There were no kettle in the room, which was also a disappointment. However, my main concern was the fact that the hotel reception wasn't manned after 12pm so if you lost your key card or if your key card stopped working (as they so often do) you would have no means of getting into your room. Not acceptable when you have paid 145Euros to sleep there!

    Pleasant helpful staff, clean functional rooms. The breakfast was good quality and fresh produce although it didn't offer a massive range.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    8.5
    Good affordable hotel in Hambourg
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room Urban S
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi did not work on my laptop Lot of noise in the morning due to works on going in building aside

    Nice modern room. Like the wood. Nice bathroom. Good bed. Good breakfast and I had a nice dinner (pasta plate) at competitive rate compared to restaurants around

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    10
    I'll definitely go there again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room Urban XS
    • Stayed 1 night

    Convenient location easy walking distance from station. Nice quiet location, with many places to eat and drink in the vicinity. Excellent breakfast in pleasant room. Choice of bedding possible if you arrive earlier enough. Definitely recommended.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    7.9
    Convenient & comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room Urban XS
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no closet which might be taken as understandable but given this, more clothes hangers could have been provided

    Room was small but stylish & very well laid out.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    9.2
    Modern, comfortable, near city centre and located in a nice neighbourhood!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room Urban XS
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast didn’t have many vegan options but it was nice and tasty anyhow.

    Very modern and stylish hotel rooms and also near city centre. The bed was very comfortable!! I stayed in a XS small room but it didn’t feel small and was very well planned. Quiet hotel and street outside.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    9.6
    One of the very few reasons that make me look forward going on a business trip.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room Urban S
    • Stayed 1 night

    I missed the Wildschweinsalami for breakfast. In the past (i.e my last 7 years) one of the specialties that, together with the other great things offered, make this breakfast buffet stand apart from the usual "full continental breakfast" offered at other hotels (quality, not quantity).

    An accommodation that truly fulfils the meaning of a boutique hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    10
    Really really nice, relaxing and confortable.
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room Urban S
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing I thought was not in the line of the hotel, is the space (for breakfast etc) where all the same tables/chairs are placed. For me, the space from reception to kitchen is perfect and inviting. The other space not so.......

    Since I travel a lot and stay in many high up hotels, I have the possibility to compare. I think Hotel Wedina is an Original hotel. Lot,s of thoughts behind it and some Arty Stuff. Loved it. Together with the lovely staff, it makes me to come back! Well done job! Because just with a nice design, you will not make a great hotel. Attention and friendliness make the difference most.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    8.8
    We had a perfect stay
    • Group
    • Double Room Urban S
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower towel could have been bigger. The cupboard was incongruously old and worn compared to the modern design of the room.

    Very good execution of renovation and adaptation works of the building. We liked the modern design.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    10
    Friendly, stylish and comfy in the city center of Hamburg.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room Urban M
    • Stayed 1 night

    You almost must take the hotel parking lot - there is no parking available in the streets around.

    The burgundy colored room was a dream - very nice style. I liked the real wooden floor and furniture together with the strong color - stylish, modern and comfy. Bathroom is wonderfully designed with stone floor, and very spacious. Recently refurbished and spotlessly clean.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    10
    Fun and comfy place to stay in Hamburg
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Urban L
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only downside is that the front door is up a short flight of stairs and there is no lift to the rooms. Carrying bags to reception is necessary, but help up the inside stairs is available.

    This is a great place to stay in Hamburg: close to the railway station and to city transit. Just a block away are shops and restaurants. The rooms are comfortable and the breakfast is varied and filling. Food and drinks are available through the day and evening and the lounge area is a comfortable place for your friends to meet you.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    8.8
    Staff were very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Urban S
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel is in a great location and you can hire bikes from reception for a small charge to see more than just the city centre.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    8.8
    A perfect place for a short getaway.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room Urban M
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room I was in had nice period elements, detailed wood work on the ceiling, characteristic wooden floors. The bathroom was modern, and the staff was friendly. I would stay here again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    8.8
    Lovely hotel in superb area
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room Urban L Plus
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed three nights and after the first night the capsules for the coffee machine were not consistently replenished - in fact we got fewer each day until we had none on the last day. The room info said we could get further supplies from reception at a small charge but when we went across to get some at 9pm (we were in a separate building to the reception) it was closed up. Our bathroom had an 'over bath' shower - be aware that this can be slippery. There was no bath mat supplied and no treatment on the bath itself to give a bit of grip. Our son slipped over as a result and hurt his back quite badly and scraped his arm. We told reception about this, so hopefully they will address the situation. However, not withstanding the above, we really did enjoy our time at Wedina and would happily stay there again if we were to return to Hamburg.

    Beautiful room in the Green House on two floors with a lovely (shared) balcony overlooking trees in the small garden. Beautifully clean. The location was great - the Alster lake a couple of minutes walk in one direction and 10 minutes walk in the other direction to the main train station with lots of lovely cafés and restaurants on the way. Staff in reception friendly and helpful with great level of English spoken - helped us with directions and info about the public transport system.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    8.3
    Great location, good price. No A/C.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room Urban M
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I wish I would have known there was no A/C. There's basically no breeze coming through the room so it makes for a stifling experience on a hot summer night. Also, there is construction that starts across the street at 7am sharp which was really, really noisy, but the hotel can't do anything about that.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    8.8
    Friendly staff and unique atmosphere.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room Urban S
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fresh orange juice would be a plus.

    Friendly staff and unique atmosphere. Excellent location in a lively neighborhood, close to the Alster and reasonably close to the train station. Newly rebuilt with good quality materials.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    10
    Excellent value in St Georgi.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room Urban XS
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    This is a great concept - a boutique style hotel in 5 houses on the same street. The reception is in one of the houses and includes a library of signed books and a cafe garden. It is close to the lake and the main shoping street in St Georg.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    5.4
    The location was good, close to the train station, many...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room Urban M
    • Stayed 1 night

    We thought we reserved a room in the hotel building but upon arrival we were told that there were no rooms available in the main building. We were then sent to another building (with no reception whatsoever) a few minutes away on a busy street. The room was a rooftop and our stay was definitely at a lower quality compared to where we had assumed we would be staying. The worst was they didn't inform us about this before we arrived and they didn't even apologize for it. I would have picked another hotel--most possibly at a cheaper price for the the same quality we received- but it was too late at the time of check-in to cancel the reservation. Disappointed.

    The location was good, close to the train station, many restaurants and places to visit. We stayed for one night and had a late afternoon train on the second day. The reception kept our luggages after check-out, which was nice.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    10
    Charming hotel, delicious breakfast, spacious room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Urban M
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sadly, history is ever-present in Germany. Lucky for me, all my grandparents (and some, but not all, of their family members) left Europe before the First War. They sailed from Hamburg. A guide to Jewish Hamburg would have been interesting to me. Perhaps your library did have such a book, but unfortunately we did not have enough time to explore the city.

    Wonderful breakfast. Lovely staff. Lovely patio area. Spacious room. Fine location.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    6.7
    It served its purpose.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Urban S
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room set up was very awkward and uncomfortable. The bed was upstairs in the loft and downstairs there was nowhere to sit. Very small, just had a small table and chair.

    Close to the train station and lots of restaurants.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    10
    Excellent choice
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room Urban XL
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet connection could be better. But the guys at the hotel already know this and are about to change the whole internet system so that it works perfectly.

    The gigantic apartment! The breakfast court yard! The staff!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    9.2
    hotel with a special touch
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Urban L
    • Stayed 3 nights

    can´t think of anything

    not an anonymous chain hotel very comfortable room modern bathroom individual touches, i.e. small garden, library excellent location in a quiet side street, easy walking distance to bars, restaurants, Aussenalster, main station and shops

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    9.2
    Surprise gem with superb hospitality in Hamburg!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room Urban XL
    • Stayed 1 night

    Special thanks go to Amancio at the front desk who was very kind and helpful. He made the extra effort (or two) to arrange evening activity which include telephone calls to Gran Canaria and more. The room itself was a nice surprice. It was in a separate (blue) building. Entering the house and the one meter wide long corridor took you back to the days of playing "Doom" on PC but this time unarmed. But in the end there was a reward, an interesting room in four levels including a balcony to an inner garden. The breakfast was mostly cold cuts, cheese and bread, added with müsli and cereals, but nothing warm other than coffee and tea. But all there was was very tasty. Good experience, nice memory.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    10
    Nice stay in a comfortable environment.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room Urban S
    • Stayed 1 night

    I stayed in a room, where you immediately had to go down stairs, which was tricky as I entered with quite some "Schwung"...A little hint would have been helpful.

    Haven't slept that good on my entire trip through Germany (travelled for 2 weeks with staying in a different hotel every day).

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    9.6
    The hotel was easy to reach on foot from the main train...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was easy to reach on foot from the main train station. Extremely comfortable beds and nice comfy rooms. We had one double and one triple room, both were equally good. If I go back to Hamburg, wouldn't mind staying there again.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    9.6
    Great hotel with a lot of character and comfort
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room Urban M
    • Stayed 1 night

    For us this was not a big problem but the parking is really challenging -- you need to angle your car into a really narrow elevator and parking space -- like literally 5-10cm on the side in some places. It's doable if you are very good at this stuff, have a narrow car, or have some help :) Later we found out that if you have a wide car, there are also more convenient parking spots available, so if this applies to you, ask!

    This is a great hotel in an excellent location -- it has all the comforts and design you need, plus character as well. The location is amazing, esp. if you like to walk or run -- a stunning lake with a 7km path around it is just around the corner. Breakfast is really good, and the staff are very accommodating.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    10
    Ticked all the boxes for a short stay in Hamburg
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room Urban S
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were a number of houses in the hotel complex and we would have preferred to be in the main block where there were other guests, and a seating area which wasn't available in our house.

    The location was ideal for the Xmas markets on the town Centre. It was close to the railway station for travelling out with the city. The room was small but clean with very comfortable beds. It was a quiet street given it was so close to the town centre. Generally a very convenient hotel for a short visit with easy access to galleries, shops and eateries.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    8.3
    Nice place for book-aficionados
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking is difficult ... at least it was for me ... narrow entrance, car elevator and box. If you have a rather big car you better look for a parking alternative.

    Super nice staff, inspiring atmosphere, interesting guests ... with some luck you even meet a one of your favourite authors in the lobby. Each room is dedicated to an author with a small library of his oder her books. I enjoyed some high-class bedtime reading. The hotel is walking distance to Lange Reihe - a vivid street with all kinds of restaurants, bistros and nice stores ... As close by as the restaurants is the Alster which is always inviting for a walk.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2016

    9.6
    A great find in the middle of Hamburg
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room Urban M
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is newly done, the rooms are modern, the beds are comfortable, staff is lovely. Will definitely stay again and will recommend to colleagues and friends

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    9.2
    Fascinating design, compact rooms, sucky wi-fi, but so great service!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wi-fi sucked, it kept disconnecting. Also I was in room 202 and the noise from the hallway was quite loud. People walking in the stairs and using the utility room.

    Theme of the hotel was great and breakfast was superb. Also staff were super nice.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    8.8
    very pleasant total
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Urban M
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was slightly too hot in the room when we arrived after a heatwave and opening the windows didn't cool the temperature much. The wood is beautiful, but a comfortable chair might have been nice.

    very comfortable bed

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    8.8
    Great location and amazing service
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room Urban XS
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was smaller than expected, no place to move around

    Great location and amazing service

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    8.8
    Very pleasant hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room Urban L
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My colleague was in a building further away.

    The refurbished rooms in the original building.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    9.2
    Great location, lovely staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room Urban M
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, lovely staff!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    9.2
    Loved the quirky decor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Urban S
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No lift.....no kettle

    Loved the quirky decor...fab shower and bathroom...staff v helpful

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    8.8
    excellent breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room Urban M
    • Stayed 2 nights

    excellent breakfast

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    10
    Great. The staff tracked down my lost suitcase and delivered it to our room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Urban XL
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds fantastic. Bathroom also.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    10
    Simple luxury
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room Urban S
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Friendly clean relaxed centtal

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    10
    The best hotel I've ever stayed in, will definitely be going back soon!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room Urban S
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The whole atmosphere, with all the books, the excellent breakfast and the lovely garden to relax in.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    10
    Highly recommended!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room Urban XS
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Simple but of very good taste. Consistent all across!

    Every design detail taken care of. Very. Satisfying

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    8.3
    Very good reception staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room Urban XS
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good reception staff. Helped with a very late check in. Good bed also.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    8.8
    Old building nicely redesigned with quality material.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room Urban L Plus
    • Stayed 1 night

    Old building nicely redesigned with quality material. Welcoming and relaxed staff. Ideal location in Hamburg.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    10
    Wunderbar!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Urban M
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator.

    Modern renovated rooms in an old house. Nice garden and breakfast room. Quality foods for breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    10
    Extremely kind and helpful staff!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room Urban M
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely kind and helpful staff! Lovely garden, windows that open, quiet room - and bicycle rental!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    10
    Great staff- very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room Urban M
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Stairs to upper rooms - mine will be difficult for me as I get older.

    Great staff- very helpful. Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    8.8
    Helpful attitude of the personnel;
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Urban M
    • Stayed 1 night

    Helpful attitude of the personnel; bicycles for rent

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    9.6
    Cosy place in the middle of Hamburg.
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room Urban M
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like the parking.

    Very friendly staff, beautiful hotel with nice garden.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    10
    Charming hotel in lovely situation and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smallish room and bathroom

    Lovely small hotel, very helpful staff, with great breakfast and an amazing garden to relax in!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    9.2
    Stunning design of rooms, quiet room, garden at rear, all in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room Urban L
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stunning design of rooms, quiet room, garden at rear, all in great neighbourhood.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    9.2
    I love it :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room Urban M
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the location for this is so perfect, everything you need is there

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    10
    Wish every hotel was like this!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Urban L
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Fantastic design and excellent breakfast. Location great!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2016

    7.5
    Great place for a group of friends stay in Hamburg!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room Urban XL
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Pillows were not very comfortable

    Great location. Excellent rooms - spacious & modern

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    9.6
    Layout of rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room Urban XL
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Layout of rooms

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    10
    Character, comfort and friendly staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room Urban S
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing hotel with character. The rooms are modern and comfortable. On a (relatively) quiet street in the city centre.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    9.2
    The place and the personel, embraced us and gave us a great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Urban XL
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place and the personel, embraced us and gave us a great experience in the center of Hamburg.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    10
    Excellent hotel, great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room Urban S
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wish I had more time there.

    Very friendly staff, was made to feel important.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    8.8
    Environment, atmosphere, diversity of the rooms, garden,...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room Urban XS
    • Stayed 1 night

    Price, internet

    Environment, atmosphere, diversity of the rooms, garden, homefeeling in different houses, good books and newspapers even for children

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    8.3
    The design is very modern
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Urban S
    • Stayed 1 night

    The lack of AC was a bit of a problem.

    The design is very modern

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2016

    9.2
    Location Breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room Urban S
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms without air conditioning A bit overpriced

    Location Breakfast

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2016

    8.3
    Good Hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Quadruple Room Urban XL
    • Stayed 1 night

    No lift to upper floor

    Very comfortable, clean hotel. Friendly and informative staff. VERY GOOD breakfast

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    7.5
    Very nice XL room and excellent breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Urban XL
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No lift.

    Very nice XL room and excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    9.2
    Excellent Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room Urban XS
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent Hotel. You have a choice of different pillows, excellent roomservice and the hotel is ideally located.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2016

    8.8
    The bed was comfortable and the room size was large and...
    • Solo traveller

    There is no lift, so if you are coming here for the Hamburg marathon, or have a lot of luggage, just be warned about the stairs!! There was a wooden seating area in the room; I think there needs to be more cushions. It looked very uncomfortable to sit on. The water coming out of the shower head wasn't as powerful as I would have liked.

    The bed was comfortable and the room size was large and spacious with windows that opened wide, which I liked. I think the hotel is undergoing refurbishment and the design of the room was brilliant with clean lines and a modern design. The shower was very large. The room was cleaned every day and the breakfast selection was quite good(eg quiches, quark, fruit, salmon, croissants etc). I had brought in my own breakfast for one day and the staff were happy to let me use the toaster. The reception staff were also very nice and advised on areas to visit. The location is about 5-10 mins walk from the central station; easy to find. It's less than a 2 minute walk from the Aussen alster, which was also easy to find. I would probably look at staying here again if I visit Hamburg again.

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2016

    8.8
    Staff friendliness and willingness to go the extra mile, e.
    • Couple

    Staff friendliness and willingness to go the extra mile, e.g providing a ground floor room. We asked for a tea-making facility, and they provided it at once.

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2016

    8.3
    Our room (City Small, 3rd floor) was lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We felt that the breakfast area didn't have the best acoustics (a bit noisy with a lot of people around) and the chairs were not that comfortable. Also, the hotel is being renovated at the moment. Our room was already renovated and there was absolutely no noise or disturbance, but it does take away some of the feel of a luxurious stay to see parts/rooms/garden that is not finished yet.

    Our room (City Small, 3rd floor) was lovely. Good lay out, furniture, good bed, luxurious materials used, fancy bathroom, other type of pillows available (via reception). The breakfast was great! Lots of variety, home made items, very good quality bread, fruit, you can order your egg and espresso.

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2016

    10
    Freshly refurbished in a clean wood style.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The only downside to a hotel mid refurbishment was the sound of builders on scaffolding. Otherwise, it was perfect

    Freshly refurbished in a clean wood style. Every detail finished to a high degree of finish Great breakfast with an eye to fresh and healthy. Great vegetarian options

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2016

    7.1
    Good breakfast, high quality food.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    No kettle, no mini-fridge, design --cold, concrete-- could be a little warmer.

    Good breakfast, high quality food. Room quiet --in separate bldg-- next to garden.

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2016

    6.7
    Good location close to the train station and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    When looking for a hotel in Hamburg we were really wowed by the photos/reviews of this hotel. The reality did not live up to the hype and we felt a little let down. Our room was very small, poorly finished, and tired. The bathroom was also poorly finished, a tiny shower area and shower curtain rather than a screen. To be fair the hotel does appear to be going through a refurbishment, however the advertised product does not currently match the reality.

    Good location close to the train station and the bars/restaurants of St Georg.

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2016

    9.6
    Very good location nearby restourants but on quiet ...
    • Solo traveller

    be prepare that rooms are in few buildings and you need to walk for breakfast - it is very close - all buildings are located within 100 m to main building . It is not a minus but I was a bit surprise - did not read carfully descriptions on web site

    Very good location nearby restourants but on quiet residentaial street. Very interesting breakfast - many fruits and vegatables. Pretty garden but it was to cold to use it. Very good staff - everything I asked in reception I was able to get.

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2015

    10
    We had an excellent experience because in addition to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had an excellent experience because in addition to the hotel being really nice, the staff went out of their way to help us recover our lost camera from the taxi.

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2015

    9.6
    I had a very quiet room and I appreciated the intelligent...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I had a very quiet room and I appreciated the intelligent choices which had been made for the furniture (in particular in the bathroom). The staff was very helpful indeed.

There are also 43 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Wedina an der Alster traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: