Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Am Wehrhahn This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Oststr. 18, Stadtmitte, 40211 Düsseldorf, Germany

#136 of 206 hotels in Düsseldorf

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 356 hotel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.5

  • Comfort

    6.8

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    6.9

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 47

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    7.5
    Friendly welcome for city centre stopover.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's not five star luxury but you get what you pay for and it suited our purpose.

    This was my second visit - which says something - and the only significant change is that parking now costs €6 for 24 hours in a public car park next door which was locked overnight. Good location for shops and restaurants. Would go again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    3.8
    we asked the owner if he could order us a taxi to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    we asked the owner if he could order us a taxi to the airport because we were suppose to leave at night.he promised to take care of it. he said that one of the hotel workers can take us ,if not he'll order us a taxi - anyway "we don't have to worry - we'll get to the airport". At 3 a.m. no one waited for us,the street was empty so we couldn't catch a taxi and there was no one at reception. after 20 min. we found a way to order a taxi with an app - luckily the airport is 20 min away so we made it on time. BUT IT IS VERY IRRESPONSIBLE we could miss our flight....

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    9.2
    Cozy and lovely B&B !
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lighting in the room was a bit dim

    Extremely cozy B&B with a great manager. Comfy and clean beds, and modern bathroom even if on the small side. Room was small but not an issue for me as I knew what I was paying for it. Looked forward to the breakfast every morning - freshly cooked eggs to order and a very decent spread! Would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    6.3
    - very friendly staff, that was trying to help me with all...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    - the interior needs complete renovation (a lot of dirt on the walls) - no elevator. If you live on the top floor, you will have good training every day - tiny rooms - bowed beds - you can hear you neighbors on the floor going to the toilet.

    - very friendly staff, that was trying to help me with all my questions. - close to the city center - good breakfast, as for this type of hotel.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    5.4
    Wouldn't stay again.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    First night, room was not made. Smell of sewer gas in bathroom. Something smeared on bathroom wall (I'll leave it to your imagination). Very old carpet.

    Staff was friendly and accomodating. Price during a high-demand week.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    6.7
    Safe Parking costs € 6 only per day!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet was too small and sink smells a bit.

    Underground parking was excellent. It's just next to the hotel (not the one in front of hotel) and cost only 6 euro per day. It's closed after 21:00 but no problem to exit only. Nice buffe breakfast was include in this budget room price. And various selection of buffe. You can ask warm egg (baked, boiled etc..) and they cook for u. Plenty of cold boiled eggs, cut cheese, cut fresh fruits, salads. Ham, sliced cheese, brown and white breads, and warm round breads. Fresh orange juice, milk. Tea, coffee and capuchino (from maschine). Yogurt, serials, snacks cakes also available. Wifi was strong.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    8.8
    Enjoyed our stay and would recommend.. Will book again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The only problem we found was no lift, which made it hard work after a long days walking to walk up four floors of stairs - especially with suitcases. The only reason I have rated safe for babies/toddlers poorly is the fact that their is no lift not necessarily a safety issue rather a convenient issue.

    The property was quite central and staff friendly. Breakfast had good choice of food, a great start to the day. Cleaners in every day. We booked this hotel because the price suited us, we were not looking for a luxury hotel and this was perfect for the price we were prepared to pay. Would stay here again.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2017

    7.5
    Great location hostel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I requested lower floor when I booked because I read the reviews of steep stairs, but my room was on 4th floor. Pictures of the rooms are very nice but actual one was like hostel quality.

    Staff were friendly. Great location center of the city. Breakfast was better than expected. There is a cheap parking right next to the hotel.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2017

    8.8
    Excellent bed and breakfast stay in central Dusseldorf
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had a great experience at Hotel Am Wehrhahn. It is a small hotel and it is excellent for bed and breakfast stay. The staff is very friendly and Danny, the head of the hotel, speaks many languages and is very helpful and knows all around Dusseldorf. There are many stores and restaurants near by. We would stay there again.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2016

    9.2
    Small hotel that is beyond expectations!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There nothing that i did not like

    The location is central to everything from u-bahns to shopping areas. The staff including owner Dani are excellent n hospitable. Readily willing to do the extra mile to ensure I got what I needed. The excellent service, splendid breakfast and strategic location, surpass expectations of this small hotel.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2018

    7.9
    hotel owner very obliging
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    hotel owner very obliging

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    7.5
    In the centre, easy parking and good breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room

    In the centre, easy parking and good breakfast

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    2.9
    bad air conditions
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Think more above your customer.

    bad air conditions

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    10
    The owner is friendly.
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is not air conditioner.

    The owner is friendly.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    5.0
    The location - - - for Japanese people.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No lift!!!

    The location - - - for Japanese people.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    7.9
    Good accomodation and breakfast for a good price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good accomodation and breakfast for a good price

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    10
    Pleasing decor, clean, comfortable, nice hosts.
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing bad to say about the property

    Pleasing decor, clean, comfortable, nice hosts. Really nice breakfast fresh and well presented

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    8.8
    Fantastic easy stay in a welcomed hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were immensely friendly and couldn't do enough to help. Breakfast could made if asked.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    7.9
    The staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    7.1
    Value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Value for money

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    7.1
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was a bit noisy, construction site next to it could not sleep further than 8am on a saturday.

    Breakfast was very good!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    7.5
    I was happy with my overall stay. The Manageress was very kind and helpful. Breakfast was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location is perfect and I was happy with the Breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    7.5
    I was happy with my overall stay. The Manageress was very kind and helpful. Breakfast was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location was close to the shopping area and different restaurants.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    9.2
    Very good value for the money, the owner was very helpful!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room wasn't well sound isolated, but it wasn't very disturbing.

    Very good value for the money, the owner was very helpful!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    8.8
    De ligging was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Het

    De ligging was perfect. Je loopt zo de stad in.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    7.1
    Very comfortable bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    three stairs, no elevator

    Very comfortable bed

    Stayed in February 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    8.8
    Staff were friendly and helpful especially the girl at the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Staff were friendly and helpful especially the girl at the reception desk. Breakfast was just ok but they had plenty of cold boiled eggs. Also plenty of cake shops nearby

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    10
    Very nice owner.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Can honestly say there was nothing.

    Very nice owner. Sooo helpful. My room was lovely, it had everything I needed and a good shower. I can't comment on the breakfast as I didn't get up for it, too many bakeries close-by that I wanted to try.

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2016

    5.0
    Breakfast was better than expected
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had rooms on the 3rd floor without elevator. The pictures are better than reality. The rooms were old. One of the rooms had the bathroom in 3 different corners. One was the toilet, the other was the shower and to wash your hands you had to go to the third. There was a funny smell in the room and next morning at 09:00 the room service unlocked our door, opened, found us inside, closed the door and left. No knocking first, no apologies, nothing! It was 09:00 not 11:00 but they were cleaning all the rooms throwing the sheets and towels on the stairway. The one we had to use with carrying all our luggage from the third floor to the reception... Nice people, but I won't visit again.

    Breakfast was better than expected Location is nice. You can walk to the old city in 15mins The staff is friendly

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2015

    7.1
    Lovely helpful staff;
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Doesn't look anything like the photos in the pictures. Thought it was a nice hotel but was more like a guesthouse or bed and breakfast. No lift so my mam had trouble walking up 4 floors to the room and the dirty beddings were all over the stairs so you had to climb over it to walk up and down the stairs.

    Lovely helpful staff; great location

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2015

    8.3
    Very clean rom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Expensive for the standard and location. Alot of anoing sounds from the street makes you wake up alot.

    Very clean rom. bed is good. staff is friendly. 15 minute walk to center of Dusseldorf, but nice resturants are close also.

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2015

    9.2
    Our room was clean and cozy and we had tasty choices for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our room was clean and cozy and we had tasty choices for breakfaat. Our host helped us find our way around the city. He also helped us find another hotel since he was fully booked our second night. We returned to stay with him our third night in Duesseldorf. Friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2015

    9.2
    The room was cosy, but a bit smaller than we expected.
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    We had a room with a very special shower in the bathroom. A lot of stair so pack lightly.

    The room was cosy, but a bit smaller than we expected. It was clean and breakfast was good. This is family-owned hotel and we felt very welcome since the first minute.

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2016

    7.1
    Great staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Lots of stairs. No elevator. No lights in the stairwell

    Great staff. Good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2016

    6.7
    Location was good, receptionist was very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    A little bit dated, and we were on top floor so too many stairs to climb.

    Location was good, receptionist was very friendly. Very child friendly.

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2016

    9.6
    Manager / owner (man) was very very helpful and friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Manager / owner (man) was very very helpful and friendly

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2015

    8.3
    you could hear everythng from all your neighbors :)
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    you could hear everythng from all your neighbors :)

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    7.1
    Friendly manager, rich breakfast , clean and nice
    • Business trip
    • Group

    There is no elevator

    Friendly manager, rich breakfast , clean and nice

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    7.9
    Everything was great, good value for money and very friendly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Everything was great, good value for money and very friendly staff. Breakfast was also great.

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2015

    7.0
    Great breakfast, all one could wish for.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Great breakfast, all one could wish for. Twin room would be better as a single, its a bit cramped with two beds.

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2015

    7.9
    nice located, and included breakfast, clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    tiny room, the bed was extremely soft.

    nice located, and included breakfast, clean., friendly staffs.

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2015

    7.9
    Location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Location!

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2015

    7.1
    No eleminator
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    No eleminator

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2015

    5.8
    The staff was quite friendly and helpful.
    • Solo traveller

    The room photos are exaggerated, they do not match the reality. A false image is given.

    The staff was quite friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2015

    8.8
    Lage, Mitarbeiter, sauberes Zimmer
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Lage, Mitarbeiter, sauberes Zimmer

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2015

    7.5
    Comfortable bed, friendly staff, good breakfast, good...
    • Couple

    Rooms too small, poor sound isolation of the door and walls

    Comfortable bed, friendly staff, good breakfast, good location

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2015

    7.5
    Breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Small rooms

    Breakfast

There are also 19 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 47

Browse Hotel Am Wehrhahn traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: