Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Weinbauer This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Füssener Straße 3, 87645 Schwangau, Germany

Review score

Based on 1232 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I would equate this hotel to a Travelodge in the UK. (No sole). Same beds with the wooden edge round them making it very painful to get in and out of bed resulting in bruised legs. Very small bathroom. The pillows were as flat as a pancake with the feathers long gone to non existent in places,

    Our room overlooked (sideways) the Castle. Very good breakfast, large choice. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's really not a problem, but the hotel is run by a different company then the restaurant. This means that you are not able to charges your restaurant and drink expenses to your room. You have to pay them separately. They accept credit cards so it's just a few extra credit card receipts that you have to manage in your pocket.

    The hotel has a wonderful little terrace to enjoy drinks and a very good European breakfast. It has been recently renovated so the room is very modern and clean. It's located about 1.8km from the city where the NeuSchwanstein castle is located. The walk is easy and enjoyable through the fields with a great view of the castle. There was plenty of parking and the staff was exceptionally helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Street View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Staff went out of its way to assist us. We had no elevator in this section of hotel and the woman at reception insisted on getting our heavy bags upstairs. Beautiful room. Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The promoted view of castle from room is true, but immediate look-down from balcony was onto a somewhat unkempt building with a pile of tires next to it (car repair?).

    Great small village location for one who wants to visit castle-land without the hassle of crowded streets and hotel area crowds. Short walk to a nice restaurant / brew house. Great breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It rained every day. Visiting the Zugspitze was a washout. I didn’t enjoy the high prices in Switzerland.

    This hotel was outstanding in every way! The staff was helpful and friendly. The room was immaculate. The bed was comfortable. Breakfast was delicious with a wide range of healthy choices. The in-hotel restaurant was reasonably priced and the food was delicious. The location was very close to Neuschwanstein Castle and other attractions. We went next to Garmisch-Partenkirchen and were disappointed. Schwangau would have been a better choice as a base and commute to nearby Linderhof Castle, Oberammergau and the Zugspitze. I wish that we had stayed in Hotel Weinbauer for at least three nights. Linderhof Castle was a much better tour than at Neuschwanstein and cheaper too! Travel safely. Be careful in Switzerland. They have photo-cops, narrow roads and everything is very expensive!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    The motion activated lighting in the bathroom was a bit annoying. It turned on when I wanted not to disturb others at night. On the other hand, it turned off automatically during shower.

    Great location, only a short drive to the castles. Delicious breakfast with freshly baked bread and tasty tomatoes. Sauna facilities.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea pot in the room and the maid left the patio door open and unlocked after cleaning our room. We found out only at the end of the day when we returned from sight seeing. Also the breakfast was mediocre.

    Close to the castles and the staff was really nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel is located by the noisy street Standard of the hotel is very low, rooms decorated in the specific style, the same hotel inside breakfast very mean I have chose the hotel due to very nice modern decorated rooms on the pictures in booking but my room does not look like this

    hotel is located very close to Castles - Hohenschwangau can be reached in 30min on food from some rooms view on mountains and Neuschwanstien castle very kind personnel clean room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    The sofa bed is not that comfort

    Wonderful place to stay for visiting the castle. Room (17) is really nice, bathroom is like newly built, breakfast is excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hot tub was only for 1 person, and I never got to use it because it was always being used.

    The room smelled like a newly built cabin, which was fitting for looking out and seeing the Alps and Neuschwanstein Castle! The spa was also very clean and smelled wonderful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is perfectly met our need. It is located in the heart of mountains and give you more excitement with green and lush fields. Staff is very nice and cooperative, facilities are superb and especially breakfast is good. Only I want to request that management will have to add the Halal food in the breakfast as we are Muslims and always prefer to eat Halal.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was very, very European and my kids struggled a little to find things they liked. A few hot options along with the cold meats, cheeses, and soft boiled eggs would have been nice.

    Room was very pleasant. Hotel is overall excellent for families—a large yard with a slide and some outdoor toys (we had lots of fun picking dandelions and finding snails), while my husband was able to do some work on his laptop in the sunroom, which had surprisingly fast WiFi. There’s a supermarket directly across the street for easy snacks, and several restaurants within 5 minutes walking. Plus, the views of the castles! They’re just up the road.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Single Room - Street View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very rude waiter in bar, told us to speak German when we were ordering a drink. Bar closed very early,

    Excellent location/ very efficient check in/out

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some better shampoo and hair lotion will be a nice addition to all the good experience we get there.

    Clean and comfy room with a lot of sunshine. The balcony was bigger than usual. More like a terrace. Beautiful view to Neuschwanstein Castle. Breakfast was really good with big variety of fresh food. Really nice, friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Lovely, helpful welcome. Room newly renovated and thoughtful. Great choice of fresh produce at breakfast. Really enjoyed the wellness centre especial the PhysioTherm, must try, English instructions inside the cabin, much better than a sauna. Great location, near the lake, close to Neuschwanstein Castle and Fussen. Would stay again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was advertised as accommodating 4 people, but there was only space to sleep 3. Fortunately, my children are small, so I was able to squeeze in one spot with our youngest.

    The view of Neuschwanstein castle was great!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room - Street View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You must have a cash. It s a problem to use only card.

    Very friendly and cheerful lady on reception!!! Quiet and cozy place. Highly recommended (may be not for a long stay, but ideal place for 2-4 days to relax)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room - Street View
    • Stayed 1 night

    A small glitch and perhaps our fault but........ We booked a double room which granted on booking said that children under 6 would be accommodated free if they used existing beds. On arrival the double bed had two single duvets and two pillows so we asked for another duvet and pillow for our 4 year old to use on the bed. When I checked out we were hit with a 10 euro bill which apparently was for cleaning the additional bedding. Hey ho!!!!

    It is a beautiful little hotel ideally situated for visits to the nearby castles

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Can't think of anything that needs improvement.

    We've stayed at the Weinbauer a few times and have always been very pleased with the facility, staff, and in-house restaurant. Rooms are comfortably sized and the location is very convenient to Neuschwanstein and Hohenschwangau. Plenty of off-street parking. Great buffet breakfast with numerous selections.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would recommend bringing your own pillow as the pillows were quite flat. Everything else was wonderful!

    The hotel was beautiful and the staff were very friendly. It was extremely clean and very close to the castles.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Being used to one king size duvet it was strange to have two single ones.

    Staff extremely friendly, breakfast amazing and room modern and clean. We loved the weekend there!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room - Street View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved it all!!

    What a fabulous place!! What's not to like? Friendly staff, clean warm rooms, opposite bus stop to Neushwanstein, free breakfast. Just amazing amazing amazing place. Felt like REAL Germany. Restaurant downstairs serves some exceptional food!!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    the mattess we used has a concave in the middle, results the sleeping was not very good. It might be a individual case only in that room. However if the hotel can check and improve it, it will be 10.0 perfect.

    The hotel is very very clean, the facilities are new and very good, all are branded facilities. The room is exactly the same as the photos. The staff is warm and helpful, guide us on how to go to the castle. can't be better than this. will definitely recommend this hotel to other friends.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room and bathroom is nice and very clean. The mattress wasn't the best and we didn't had a view from the room but still I am very happy with our stay! Breakfast was really good too and all the staff are very friendly and very helpful! Location is also great!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved the breakfast table, varieties of choice. Also the spa that is free of charge for the guests, with sauna, steambath and relaxing area. Short walking distance to excellent resturants and the in house resturant is awesome. You can see the castle from the guesthouse and on your way to the Kristall therme. Great location and parking for our rental car just outside free of charge

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The heating is a bit underscaled for cold winter nights, at least for my taste. But there were additional blankets available as standard so all was nice and cozy in the end :)

    Excellent location to visit the Neuschwanstein Casstle. Very romantic scenary, helpfull staff, really clean and well maintained hotel. The wellness center is an absolut must and exceeded all my expectations.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard to name anything because this place is great, but if we have to name one thing it’d be the pillows - a little flat and unsupportive for our taste. But we still slept well.

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Excellent food both at breakfast and in the restaurant attached to the hotel. Provided passes to use the local buses, which was unexpected and very nice. Parking right on site. Excellent location.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi is not great

    Hotel very nice and cosy, with nice staff. Comfortable and clean room. breakfast really good, and dinner in the restaurant was super!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not only is the hotel eye pleasing from the outside, it also is spectacular inside. Breakfast had a variety of fresh food for every taste. The location is very picturesque with a view of the majestic mountain range. What makes it outstanding are the people, very friendly, knowledgeable, and forthcoming.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately the WiFi was very unstable, needed to login every 15 minutes, and a bit slow. In addition the WiFi is not detectable in all parts of the hotel. Moreover you have to pay 3€ if you need room sleepers because the hotel does not provide them in the room.

    I liked the room, it was very nice and clean. The breakfast was amazing and the spa was very good. It is very near to the castles, reachable by car or walk. Hotel provides also public transport electronic tickets.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is clean and cozy. There’s a nice bathtub. The view from our room overlooking the church clock tower. The location is very convenient. I would highly recommend.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Single Room - Street View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel has limited accessibility and lift only served to handful of rooms. The beds are not comfortable & too cold.

    Staff was superb and very helpful. Check in was fuss free.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed a little to hard. But staff did add additional bedding which made it comfortable.

    Staff excellent, excellent buffet breakfast, location excellent, room excellent. Close to bike rental shop. Which made fire s great ride around town and lake.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Do not expect to have the same room that on the pictures. Nice rooms are only If you stay a week! Room was not clean ( found hairs in bed, nail varnish on shower, And so on ...) Nighmare!

    Breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited parking at the property

    Everything! This is one of the best hotels we stayed at for our entire 17 day European vacation! Wish we could've stayed longer! Location was superb, staff were very friendly and helpful and the breakfast and accommodations were excellent!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Street View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not the most atmospheric location - next to a busy street. Probably a function of Schwangau, which doesn't seem to have a compact center the way other cities we visited did. Harder to get around.

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Service in adjoining restaurant very slow, but plenty of others very close.

    Excellant room with view across fields to Neuschwanstein Castle. Ideal for touring the area including Oberamagau and Zugspitz mountain. English spoken with no problem. Very helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The restaurant downstairs is very noisy even if it is open until 10 pm. but people tend to sit there and drink. The mattress was not so comfortable as the middle was sunk so we rolled to the middle all the time.

    Everything was perfect including the breakfast, location, cleanness and the host was very friendly and helpful. Great place if you want to visit the castles nearby or explore the area.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room - Street View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wi-Fi speed could be better.

    Excellent location, comfy, short walk to the castles but isolated from the crowds, next to public transit, great food selection, very quiet room/good sound isolation.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very quiet village especially at night. Could do with a refrigerator & AC in the room, otherwise vey good.

    Very nice, friendly staff in reception. Felt vey welcome upon check-in. Good size room & balcony. Very good breakfast, just missing the apple jiuce. Beautiful surroundings.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift in front building, although on booking.com says the hotel has a lift. Old furbish, a bit smelly. No lift - again, because it was a huge discomfort to drag luggage packed for 10 days up and down the stairs. However, there is a lift in a building (wing) at the back.

    Breakfast. Nice and clean bathroom. Lady at the reception desk who provided very good information.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean rooms, lots of light and modern bathroom. You can have a view of Neuschwanstein from the garden and the balcony of the room. People at the reception were very friendly. Breakfast was also very nice. There's a nice biergarden/restaurant walking distance with a beautiful view. You can walk to Neuschwanstein visitor center

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was good, wasnt incredible. Also the restaurant in the evening was not spectacular, charged over 3 euro for water!

    Great staff, easy parking. Close to sights. Room is very nice, modern and clean.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Coffee was from an automatic. Would have liked it to be from a premade urn.

    Breakfast was super -- many choices of meats, breads, rolls cheeses, fruits, eggs, etc.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room - Street View
    • Stayed 1 night

    WiFi connection was poor.

    Very friendly staff, nice location, impressive spa area. Nice restaurants nearby. I sincerely recommend it for those who wish to visit the region.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room - Street View
    • Stayed 1 night

    I probably got the smallest room in the hotel on a top floor - so me (172 cm) had to be VERY careful with my head! It was L shaped and part of the room has lover (slanted) ceiling. It should / could be advised on booking that it is a room for midgets! I asked receptionist for advice to go to Garmisch Partenkirchen - advice she gave me was not correct (it would make me wait 4 hours in some small village for connecting bus!) Luckilly i checked internet for other options (I recommend Deutsche Bahn application- it also shows local bus connection and not only trains) If I were staying for more than 1 night I would complain about my room, for 1 night I was just careful, but not really happy

    + Breakfast was nice + I like wellness area with 2 saunas (sauna and hammam) adn garden + Location next to Rathaus bus stop in the center of the village, there was a small supermarket opposite of hotel. +It was great to stay in the village and be able to watch Neuschwanstein at dusk + bottle of water on arrival

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Spa facilities disappointing, steam room took 30 minutes to gain full operation. Jacuzzi tub accepted only 1e coins, which we did not have available.

    Friendly staff at Front Desk made a difference. Most hotels in Germany not so accommodating in our experience.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room - Street View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely great location 30 minutes leisurely walk along the countryside from Neuschwanstein castle, the bus stop right at the front of hotel, great view from hotel seeing Neuschwanstein castle stands in mountain and cloud. Great facilities -SPA, room smell natural fragrantly. So good expected breakfast. Staffs are friendly, very good English speaking and introducing Schwangau. It is worth a time to visit Schwangau and stay at Hotel Weinbauer.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That I couldn't stay longer !

    Fabulous room with views across to Neuschwanstein castle. Everything was top class. The hotel has its own, very excellent & genuine Bavarian restaurant. Staff could not have been more pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Street View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Internet was terrible. I know that internet in Germany is always bad, but in this case it was even worse.

    The staff was very friendly, very clean room, breakfast was good as expected!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Traditional Bavarian hotel which is very close to the two castles (around 5 min drive). We booked two rooms and could see the neuschwanstein castle from the balcony of one of rooms. Hotel staff is very helpful and friendly. We had a good breakfast and had dinner the restaurant with in the hotel. Hotel has free parking however, parking area is not so big.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room - Street View
    • Stayed 1 night

    No bus going there from Füssen after 8pm, so I had to take a taxi (it's only 10 Euro though).

    Great, friendly place, unbeatable price, excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Street View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would have preferred to have a kettle to make some tea and coffee in the room!

    The homely atmosphere the features of the hotel and the excellent food at the hotel restaurant! I have tasted the most tender meat!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room - Street View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Hotel is a short drive from Neuschwanstein Castle. We even had a view of the castle from our room. Beds were comfortable and shower was nice and hot. We enjoyed a continental breakfast in the morning, with fresh breads, meats, cheeses, yogurts, fruits, juices and coffee. The staff were very friendly and we enjoyed our stay. It is located in a very beautiful area.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nice, cozy and comfortable hotel! Very helpful and friendly staff. Excellent location, near the Neuschwanstein castle. Would definitely recommend for families.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I really liked this property! The lady at reception (who was also working in the breakfast room the day after) was very friendly and welcoming and she kindly waited for us to arrive without closing the exception desk, even though we were running a bit late. The rooms were comfortable and breakfast was very nice.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    1. internet keep on cutting off, if one does not use for a short time. 2. should have night box and code for customer who arrive late at night. this applies to all hotels we stayed this trip.

    good breakfast, good restaurant, staff very helpful.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Be sure to get a room away from the Main Street if you are a light sleeper.

    Location was perfect to see the castles. Having an on site laundry was a bonus. Good breakfast with standard German spread.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room - Street View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was rather small and, being right above the main street in town, I had to keep window closed at night to keep the noise out

    Only a couple of miles from the famous castles and the town of Fuessen. Very nice staff and facilities.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    WiFi wasn't really good (pretty slow and would lose connection constantly). Only little downside!

    Lovely hotel, free parking, friendly staff, tons of amenities like sauna, prime location (30m walk to ticket centre for the castles with quite the scenic view) and cute decoration gives you that cozy, alpine feeling!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great hotel located very near the main attractions! Loved the patio attached to the room, great view and nice to sit out in the evening. The restaurant was excellent.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very noisy road. Considering the price per night the breakfast could have been better. A choice of something hot, scrambled eggs for instance, would have made a difference.

    The very warm welcome, the restaurant staff.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Street View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Had a room on the main road. Some people absolutely rocket down that main road at night. Can be a bit noisy for some, but if you have a couple of schnapps before bed as I did you don't hear a thing.

    The staff at check in were great, knew who we were and even had a cold beer ready. (requested it on arrival!). Hotel is walking distance to the cable car that goes up the mountain and is right near the Castle. The rooms are comfortable and clean. Heaps of parking and is free. Stayed in Fussen last time and preferred Schwangau as it is a smaller place.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was a bit restricted space but sufficient in number. More folks should have smaller cars.

    Excellent buffet breakfast. Helpful staff at front desk. Great views of castles and Alps.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We didn't have a room with a good view. The balcony was cute but looked over backyards...not so attractive. Other rooms looked like they had good views. Just make sure you ask when booking.

    The staff and hotel were wonderful, very clean. Our daughter got sick and they couldn't have been more supportive and helpful with doctors and hospitals. The breakfast was really nice, the location was perfect when going to the castles, minutes down the road.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I have booked a room called "comfort" whith pictures showing a balcony. I received a room without balcony at the attick. I have asked the staff and they told me this is their comfort room and that other similar rooms were occupied. Take care on the room you book.

    The hotel is placed in beautiful village of Schwangau at short hiking distance of 1/2 hour from Neuschwanstein castle. The hotel has a decent restaurant inside, lots of parking spaces and nice view to the mountains

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    For a couple sleeping together, it's nice to have a large queen or king mattress. The queen mattress here consists of two separate twin mattresses that are pushed together to form one large mattress. That's fairly common and was still comfortable, but less than ideal.

    The room was somewhat plain, but clean and comfortable. There is free parking and the hotel's location is great for visiting the castle. We were fortunate to have a view of the castle outside our balcony, which was unexpectedly nice! The breakfast selections were extensive and perhaps overall the best breakfast we enjoyed on our two week vacation in Europe.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was well-appointed but a bit small which was expected and described as such online. However all the other aspects completely overshadow this

    Fantastic location with friendly staff. Excellent restaurant on site and a marvelous large breakfast buffet each morning. The location is wonderful and many of the rooms face the mountains with a Castle View. Make sure you get one of the rooms that cost a little more and do not face the road which is quite busy. Great water pressure and very hot water in the shower which was a very large stall.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Street View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing. Everything was very good to excellent.

    Breakfast was great. The hotel is close to the castles, good restaurants, and Fussen. Very clean and comfortable rooms too.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was good.

    Good location - you see the Newschwanstain through the window, the rooms are comfortable, huge bathroom, beautiful building. Good restaurant in the first floor. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Inside everything is very old and simple. This hotel has to be cheaper. We have traveled with two small dogs. We wanted to visit Neushweinstein and other castles and asked to live our dogs in the morning until we will come back (late check out, for sure we said that we will pay for it). When we were on the way back lady started to call us and speak German (I don't speak), she was very nervous (me atop after!!!). We came back and lady from reception said that she wants to come with us to our room to see something?? Well, OK. But it not very friendly. In five minutes we would take baggage and during check out you can do the same things!! We had 2 very small pocket dogs, there was no way to destroy something there. I would highly recommend to make a renovation there.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room - Street View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location next to main road

    Building exterior, terrace, food for dinner, staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Single Room - Street View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff is kind and helpful. Breakfast buffet is good and rich. The hotel is nearby the castles.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    How close to the castle, the beautiful path behind hotel❤️. Breakfast was great and love the coffee machine. The room was awesome!!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    there was nothing to complain about the hotel.

    All the staffs were kind and friendly. The room was clean. Breakfast was good. it was a perfect stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: