Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Welcome Kongress Hotel Bamberg This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Mußstr. 7, 96047 Bamberg, Germany

#20 of 36 hotels in Bamberg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1052 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 62

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    9.6
    Excellent location, good price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Due to several activities, congresses and amount of people, the staff was to busy and special requests or refill of the empty dishes.

    Hotel's position is close to the centre, within just a few minutes walk. The staff is friendly and helpful. The breakfast is varied and proper.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    9.2
    I liked the location, it is close to the city center and has...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The wifi in the hotel did not work very well which was disappointing.

    I liked the location, it is close to the city center and has a view of the river.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    9.6
    Nice place, good location, professional personnel, a place...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Assigned room was the super-noisy one in front of the elevator, despite specifically asking for a quiet room during the booking. Had to ask for a change of room, that anyway the personnel kindly performed.

    Nice place, good location, professional personnel, a place that overall is well conducted and it shows

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    8.8
    Very pleasant and comfortable easy to walk to old town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quadruple room unavailable at the time we booked therefore had to book two rooms which made prices a lot more expensive for family.

    Beds comfortable, service very good. Breakfast included in price and the spread is very good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    8.3
    Walk to town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very narrow beds. We were not told we need room key card to turn on lights and power. Strange room numbering system.

    Within walking distance to city center. Parking on site (fee).

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    10
    a definite recommendation, would stay again in a heart beat!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    no complaints at all

    The location was perfect! within a lovely walking distance into the main town and major areas of interest. The breakfast spread was amazing!!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    9.6
    It was about a 10 min walk to either old town or new town.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was about a 10 min walk to either old town or new town. Location perfect for traveling with pets--there is a nice trail behind the hotel. There was also a dog blanket, food/water bowl, and treat waiting in the room when we arrived. The breakfast was delicious. Plenty of variety and there were plenty of staff tending to the tables and replenishing. The room was very clean and comfortable. I accidentally left jewelry in the room and once I got home and realized what happened I called them. They found the jewelry and are going to send them to me at no cost. The restaurant that is attached to the hotel was wonderful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    7.9
    Great restaurant staff, wonderful breakfast buffet, gorgeous location on the river.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was some confusion with my room not have it's own tea & coffee making facilities. I had a discussion with reception staff who informed me only the 'more expensive' rooms have this facility. Hotel management should make tea & coffee making facilities STANDARD in EVERY room.

    Wonderful breakfast buffet, it was really refreshing to see all the staff working at that time in the hotel restaurant were friendly, professional and welcoming. I especially would like to mention Viktor, he had a great energy & is an excellent brand ambassador for KongressHotel. I do not have any food allergies or intolerances, however I did notice there were many options for customers, especially those with gluten intolerances.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    9.2
    Very easy accessible hotel by car, very close to the centre,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very easy accessible hotel by car, very close to the centre, quiet location. Nice spacious room, clean and tidy. Excellent breakfast (worth the higher price).

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    9.2
    Position and staff were excellent, as well as the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was a bit short on the sweet side (not many cakes, croissants and the like, although there was plenty of marmalade and enough fruit).

    Position and staff were excellent, as well as the cleanliness and view from our room.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    4.6
    Misleading information regarding payment of bookings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I called customer services to explain that I was unable to travel due to family illness. The response was to offer a 10% refund. I accept that because of the short notice the refund was a small proportion of the total amount. However, I have just made a reservation to stay in a hotel in Bilbao in October and before confirmation, the hotel clearly states no need for up front payment, invoice to be settled on check out. Guess what?? The full amount was debited from my account shortly after completing the reservation. Not impressed.

    I made a reservation in January and made a booking on the basis that I would not be charged immediately. I was surprised to see that the full amount had been taken shortly after the booking had been confirmed. I was not unduly concerned as I had every intention of travelling to Bamberg and staying at the Hotel.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2016

    9.6
    Great location with easy parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was convenient and cheap! Which really is a plus when your hubby gets stressed with the European parking situation. Pet friendly rooms so that's why we chose it..Clean comfortable rooms. It's not right in the center of town but only a short walk to everything. The walk allowed us to see things we may have missed if we stayed in center of town. Superb breakfast buffet-we were so full we were able to skip lunch. The hotel has a restaurant just off of lobby area where we got a late night bite to eat. Very affordable for hotel eating and good too.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    10
    Simply the best!
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room 343 with equipment for disabled customers was excellent. The staff at the reception and the waiters in the restaurant were extremely helpful and very friendly. Perfectly customer orientated! Many thanks for your great jhospitality!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    8.8
    Bamberg
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows were very uncomfortable making sleep very restless. Too many people were at breakfast that morning. Very rude. Pushing grabbing. Not a leisure moment

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    8.8
    Recommendation: spend 2 days for sightseeing in Bamberg
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfastbuffet should be refilled more in time.

    Ideal Location of the Hotel: only a 8 minutes walk along the river Regnitz into Downtown. Cleanness, Service and Breakfastbuffet of the Hotel are really good!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    10
    Sending my mother back home one last time, RIP
    • Family with older children
    • Executive Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is not one thing I didn't like, Maybe the rooms can use a suitcase holder, I had to put my suitcase on the floor

    Great location, you can walk to the heart of Bamberg

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    7.5
    Nice hotel, over-zealous cleaning staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel cleaners were over-zealous, wanting to tidy my room before breakfast was over. I told them to please come back later but they never did. On my final day, even though the checkout time was 11am they wanted to clean my room at 8.30 and then 9.30. Not impressed with this.

    The room, location and friendliness of staff.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    7.5
    Room and breakfast were just great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room and breakfast were just great! Nearby river and much green with sidewalks

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    9.2
    City enviroment.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    City enviroment.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    2.5
    excellent
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    none

    breakfast, service

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    9.2
    Great
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet poor connections

    Location, restaurant, room

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    7.5
    Staff was very pleasant
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No queen size beds in all of the hotel and were hard.

    Staff was very pleasant

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    8.3
    Advent in Bamberk
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel located close to city centre, excellent breakfast, good public parking

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    8.8
    nice breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Executive Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nice breakfast

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    10
    Really liked everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Really liked everything. One of the best places I stayed in Germany.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    10
    A lovely experience, one of the best Hotels we ever stayed.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Friendly staff, well organised. Excellent breakfast! Close to center. Pet-friendly.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    7.9
    Good breakfast, roomy parking garage, very good wifi.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wifi limited to 2 devices.

    Good breakfast, roomy parking garage, very good wifi. Hotel is within walking distance of the Altstad.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    7.1
    one night in Bamberg
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast-room too crowded and loud - skipped it.

    just a footwalk to the historic center of Bamberg

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2017

    9.6
    Great,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds, who has two single beds in a hotelroom, when we pushed them together for the night, they were sliding apart.

    Great,

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2017

    10
    It was all wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was all wonderful.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    8.8
    The room was quiet and clean.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Wi-Fi connection in the room was a disaster.

    The room was quiet and clean.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    7.9
    Good level business hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows are too small

    Convenient location, clean rooms, good breakfast

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    9.6
    Proximity to river, hire bikes, great breakfast included in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had trouble logging in to wifi

    Proximity to river, hire bikes, great breakfast included in room rate.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    6.3
    Hygiëne if the room
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hygiëne if the room

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    8.8
    Almoust everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    shower leaks and bathroom floor is vet all the time. Drain smell in the bathroom.

    Almoust everything

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    8.8
    乾淨舒適的好住宿
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    wifi too slow &complicated join..

    breakfast,parking,friendly service, clean&comfortable room.air conditioned

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2015

    8.8
    The location by the river with a pleasant river walk into...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location by the river with a pleasant river walk into the city. There was plenty of parking in an underground parking building next to the hotel. The hotel restaurant with pub style meals which were reasonably priced.

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2015

    7.9
    The rooms are simple, but clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    For this price you would expect a little bit higher standard of the room. Very simple like in French network hotels.

    The rooms are simple, but clean. If you have a riverview room it is very quite and nice view. The breakfast buffet is very nice. Location is ok, only few minutes walking distance to the old town. Good and cheap parking.

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    10
    The location was perfect, screens on windows, air...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location was perfect, screens on windows, air conditioning, great breakfast, Super Staff! A welcome snack and bowls for our dog - cute touch! Great food in restaurant.

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2015

    7.9
    Location - walking distance to main tourist attractions.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Air con not working effectively in one of the two rooms we had booked.

    Location - walking distance to main tourist attractions. Breakfast quality and efficiency of waitresses.

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2015

    9.2
    Pleasant quiet location that's a short riverside stroll...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Pleasant quiet location that's a short riverside stroll from the centre. Convenient for sampling a Rauchbier or two at some of the brewery taps in the Altstadt but away from the noise of the late-night revellers quaffing outside! Delicious breakfast buffet.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    10
    Was close to town with a great view of the river.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Remodel made finding the desk a little difficult

    Was close to town with a great view of the river. Breakfast was awesome good variety

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2016

    8.8
    food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    food

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2016

    8.8
    The breakfast is fantastic.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Better to have some more vegetables

    The breakfast is fantastic. you can enjoy many sausage and nice tea

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2015

    7.5
    very quiet and good bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    big choice of breakfast but poor quality. pillows are too soft

    very quiet and good bed

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2015

    6.7
    Location
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    The impression given by the hotel is honest but nothing else.

    Location

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2015

    10
    Everything perfectly worked.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Everything perfectly worked. The staff was friendly. And the breakfast was reach and delisious. I'll come there again.

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    7.5
    Ok breakfast, sparkling wine for anniversary gift, not to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Ok breakfast, sparkling wine for anniversary gift, not to far walk to centre

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2015

    4.2
    good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    overpriced. not cosy. I expected AUTHENTIC hotel of Bamberg, but it was just business hotel

    good location short walk to old town

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    8.3
    Convenient location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Two twin beds rather than one double bed.

    Convenient location

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2015

    7.5
    Location is great
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The hotel is in need of upgrading

    Location is great

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2015

    7.5
    we have enjoyed the fitness room and sauna;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    we have enjoyed the fitness room and sauna; clean and well equiped.

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2015

    9.6
    Everything worked as it should starting from parking,quick...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything worked as it should starting from parking,quick check in,good bed,good shower,good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    9.6
    Clean room, Quiet place but not too far from old town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    20min from old town by walk

    Clean room, Quiet place but not too far from old town. Great breakfast. Great view(just beside river) big Park haus

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    9.2
    Cleanness and courteous staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A little to expensive

    Cleanness and courteous staff

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2015

    7.5
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2015

    10
    Convenient to town & had bikes available to rent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Convenient to town & had bikes available to rent. Convenient and easily accessible parking.

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    7.5
    availability
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    internet really slow. Maybe a mini bar. King bed would be awesome next time

    availability

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2015

    10
    Lovely walk into town by the river.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lovely walk into town by the river. really nice room. Staff friendly.

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    8.8
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Good location. Very frendly and helpful staff. Excellent breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2015

    9.2
    Hotel was just minutes walk from centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hotel was just minutes walk from centre. Ample parking available. Hotel was busy, but the rooms quiet. Recommended place to stay in a lively old town

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2015

    8.8
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location Affiliated pub serving good food and drink

There are also 26 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 62

Guests also reviewed these properties: