Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Welcome Hotel Essen This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Schützenbahn 58, Ostviertel, 45127 Essen, Germany

#19 of 68 hotels in Essen

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1267 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    7.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is ideal near the shopping area (5 min.) And near the main station (10 min.) , the staff is very friendly and supporting. The breakfast was good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel should provide water in every room atleatst 2 bottels of water as we HV Already over India in all the hotels providing drinkinh water as long as u stay

    Did not take Break fast as left the hotel very early in the morning

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They should check the Coffeemachines in the rooms, stayed there different times. but mostly a problem with the coffeemachines(or not even in the room). But they solve it with coffee from the lobby bar.

    Very clean rooms, very quiet, close to the city center. Excellent staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - the receptionist during the night was not supportive and solution orientet - WIFI was not working at all - also cable internet was not working at all - television was not working and the only solution would be to change the room at 11 p.m. - breakfast expensive

    - the receptionist during the check in process and check out process was very kind and friendly - the location of the Hotel is very good - the room is equiped with good furniture - had a room to the inner garden, so it was silent, even one of the main streets is at the hotel - the parking garage is having enough spaces

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor WiFi, expensive breakfast so we didn’t pay for it, maid was coming early some days, especially the day we were checking out

    Clean and good room, value for money, nice location on a big road, coffee maker inside the room

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I chose that hotel because need use wifi....it's only one important criterio for my.And don't working wifi!!!!!And personal don't find solutions.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Surroundings are a bit boring, but a good hotel in this area.

    Nice hotel and good for overnight. Quite rooms although close to larger road. Close to tram and train station Altenessen.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t have the breakfast there. 17 euros for breakfast was too expensive.

    Very comfortable hotel. Nice and clean. The staff was really helpful. Most definitely staying here again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - breakfast 17 euro/person? that's more than 50% of the price of the stay for 1 person! - also prices in the bar were crazy high

    + good position + very fast check in and check out

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much, location is only Ok. The shower I had was a bit fiddly.

    Well run, comfortable rooms. The bar is pleasant and the staff excellent excellent.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Price

    Staff were very helpfull.Minibar was free of charge at suit rooms. The hotel is at very good location, close to center and Tram and also it was clean.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff could be a tad more friendly. They weren't rude, but very businesslike and on the coldish side.

    Overall quite an ok hotel. Prices could be a bit more attractive. There's free water in the lobby, this is kind of nice. A tea kettle in the rooms would have been nice though.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A very long checkout. Free wifi connection was unsatisfactory - one of our devices did not get access at all; the range and the transfer rate was very low.

    Hotel complied to our request to best accommodate with our cats perfectly - room at the quiet end of the floor, no staff visits without our presence. Staff is polite and helpful. Excellent parking with a lot of space. Very good restaurant. A safe in the room. A bathtub.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Warning for sensitive sleepers and/or traveling with dogs: This is a standard corporate hotel. The beds were awful. They must have purchased the absolute cheapest dorm room mattresses from IKEA. I had such a poor night's rest after 8 hours of sleep. I woke up with back and shoulder pain. Also, a warning for traveling with dogs. Both the booking.com and Welcome Essen hotel websites confirmed that the hotel accommodations were pet friendly. However, when I went to check out of a 4 night stay, they tried to charge me 80 euro for 2 dogs over 4 nights. The staff did not care to mention it to me during check-in, during my multiple inquiries at the front desk (with dogs), and there was no mention on the website. They just pointed to a small sign near the front desk. Luckily, when I refused to pay, I was able to get a refund but it was a wholly unwelcome experience. I will definitely not come back here.

    The location was great; the free water and fruit were nice as well. It is definitely appropriate for business travelers who can expense everything.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The only issue we had was with the Wi-Fi. Both the Free and the "High-Speed Paid" services were pretty much unusable.

    Really clean and nice rooms. Great location close to trains giving you easy access to everywhere. The staff was extremely helpful!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Although free wifi exists, it is pretty poor. My room (217) had no signal. I could get signal out at the elevator, but even that was pretty slow. Inside my room, nothing. The staff was friendly, but unable to move me due to the hotel being full. I found the bed pretty hard, but that is a taste thing. The pillows were not especially comfortable for me.

    The hotel location is pretty good, right near a tram station and an easy walk to another. The inner city and the mall at Berliner Platz were only 10-15minute walk. The lobby and bar area of the hotel is fine. The staff were helpful and friendly. The bathroom was good and the shower very good. My room had a small table and pretty good chair to just not be sitting on the bed. The mini fridge was nice to keep my lunches for the conference cold.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The streets of Essen, even in the city center during the nights are not safe at all. So for those travelling solo I would not recommend trying out the night life alone. In a group of people, or at least two people it is much better.

    The hotel has a great location. It is located just next to the city center. That is why it is very easy to participate in the city fest. The bed is comfy, and the bathroom has everything needed. It is a great place to relax and spent a vacation in Essen!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would be nice if vending machines gave change. Also, the eco-soap in the shower smelled slightly moldy — though perhaps that's just the natural smell of the soap. Regardless, vending machines and soap aren't deal-breakers; this is a fantastic hotel.

    Everyone at the front desk was extremely friendly and warm. The hotel has a nice bar area and a restaurant, with vending machines on the guest floors. The vending machines have a nice selection. The hotel itself, including our room, was beautiful and clean. Our room had a very comfortable bed, various chairs, a desk/vanity counter, a small table, a TV, and a spacious bathroom, with soap provided. It was easy to feel "at home" in our room and very cozy. As for other amenities, the WLAN (wifi) was easy to access. Parking is available too, underground, though it is not free (It's over 10 €, possibly over 15 € — I can't precisely recall, unfortunately.). The hotel even has umbrellas it is happy to lend you. As for the location, we were very pleased with that too: just a very short walk from the hotel to Mitte and the Rathaus. I've seen other reviewers take issue with the fact that, in their eyes, this hotel is not worthy of an official four-star rating. I'm not familiar with the official system, to be honest, but everything about our stay here was comfortable, and for a very reasonable price. In fact, we moved on the following day to a boutique hotel in another city, and even though the boutique hotel was much fancier by comparison, I honestly felt more comfortable at the Welcome Hotel than at the boutique one: at the Welcome Hotel we had both a more comfortable room AND a more convenient location. An excellent value. I have absolutely no complaints. All around, a great place to stay.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was rather warm, and it was very noisy when we opened the window. Our fault though, we didn't realize how to control the heat until we left .

    Great breakfast, and we got it cheaper then the originally advertised 18 €. Definitely worth it !

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    aircon broken so had to open window on front side of hotel. called night reception but didnt change our room had to open window and didnt sleep at all due to noise

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was told at check in that breakfast wasn't included but found out last day it was.

    Given large superior room and it was brilliant. So spacious and fittings first class.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Pork, pork, and more pork at the expensive (17 euros) breakfast buffet - bacon, bratwurst, ham, etc. Poor bathroom design - easy to flood bathroom and hotel room while showering Very slow free wi-fi (2M)

    Granny Smith apples at reception

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Poor internet one of our room did not have it at all. Expensive parking and food.

    Personnel professional and present. AC in room. Clean. Close to town centre and metro. Extra card to room. Really quiet in every room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    - mattress and pillows are super soft - Paid parking 18€ per day additional to the room costs - Homepage could contain more specifics about hotel, restaurant and bar

    + Location in the city center, but at a very busy street, windows put up a good sound barrier though + rooms are new, modern and clean + staff polite and quick + easy to reach via car and public transportation

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The neighborhood is not a very nice one. It is near to the city center though. AC was too noisy.

    The staff was friendly. Although they didn't accept my request to cancel the second night I paid for.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The Wi-Fi in our room did not work (we were at the end of a corridor) and had to sit in the doorway for it to work or go down to the TV room. However, we were advised that their internet provider had just been changed, and their IT colleagues would be looking into this.

    Bedroom lovely, comfy beds and clean and well equipped bathroom. Hotel very clean and reception staff were excellent, could speak very good English (our German limited) so really appreciated their bi-lingual skills. Nothing too much trouble, very friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was advertised as being sound-proof, but I heard hallway noise if anything more clearly than usual. For a 4 star hotel, the room was a bit worse for the wear, and things like an industrial size soap/shampoo combination glued to the wall rub then even more the wrong way. Add on to that a busy location next to a main traffic corridor and 18€ for their garage parking, and one was left with an overall feeling of impersonal, loveless treatment.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2016

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Did take the breakfast cause it was 17€ for each which is much more expensive than eating out. Overall the location is good, 5min walk from the center. The room was clean and of standard size. The staff was nice

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms on the street front are quite noisy when the window is opened.

    Top location, very close to the historical city center. It was great value for our money.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Wifi was somewhat unreliable at times. Pillows were so flat I wasn't sure if I was given an empty pillowcase.

    Restaurant in the hotel was pretty good. Staff were kind and helpful. Bar was decent.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was good

    Everything perfect

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The parking price is too expensive. No wifi available in the room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff and wifi not available in room

    Cleanliness and confort

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing I did not like

    Good location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cousiness

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is not included in price and is expensive

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    modern andmcomfortable

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very spacious and clean room, the whole hotel is very luxurious with a very affordable price! Very kind staff, and great stay overall!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    hotel key card does not work

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi - Internet (not even the paid worth the effort to try and use it).

    Personnel, Clean rooms, temperature, Bar

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights

    No water tap in toilet to make it Muslim guest friendly.

    Location, very helpful reception staff, cleanliness and ambiance, value for money...

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was cold in my room. It took almost 24 hours to fix the problem.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    check in at 15:00 only and very expensive food/bar

    clean rooms

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The room very clean and comfortable, staff very friendly

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Had a room with windows facing main road so quite noisy when windows are open

    Friendly, efficient and prompt service from all staff members

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise from the nightclub across the road

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast could be better.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Such a lovely place. You name anything that a first time traveler might need, you get it. Good location, very clean, and perfect location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    17 euros for breakfast ist a lot

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very close to city center. Convenient rooms clean and soundproof.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Snack bars in the room are not free so make sure you inform the staff begore consuming it.

    Best price

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everithing was just PERFECT !

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing...

    I did not have breakfast in the hotel , I went to a restaurant ..17 Euro is expensive for breakfast

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booking.com was not interested in my problem

    Very near to the city center

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The coffee machine in the room didn't work and there were no tea bags just coffee.

    Bathroom in room was immaculate

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows were too soft

    Breakfast

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor tv channels choice

    Very friendly staff, hotel super clean. Pillows were soft as a cloud!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast is to my liking!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paying for the car parking

    Exact place in the center

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    watercooker in the room

    in the city center minibar refrigarator

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    good airco car parking

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive breakfast Expensive parking Very soft bed, my back did not enjoy..

    Modern looking hotel, fair location, underground closed garage

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Didn't like being woken up by room service at 8am. It's not necessary - especially when we were checking out that day.

    Clean and modern hotel with nice decor. Quiet room. Coffee machine in the room.

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Everything was ok.

    Hotel is just a five minutes walk from the nice city center. Very nice Christmas markets in November and December. Rooms are not very big but have all you need and are very clean.

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The only let down was the resteraunt was closed which is not good for a four star hotel , if we had been warned beforehand then we could have changed our booking

    Friendliness of staff , breakfast very nice nice rooms

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Terrible breakfast with nerve-wracking staff that pick up every spoon, cup and plate you may be finished with, green boiled eggs and hardly any fruit or vegetables. First stay and they gave me a busy-road-side room, where i had to move the desk chair away after use, so I could get to the bed. Only a single small flat pillow and very price, no value for money. There is even an old condom machine hanging in front of the hotel in the street. This hotel is not living up to its name...

    It was clean

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Water in the shower changed the temperature randomly. Free Wifi was very slow, and reception the room not the best.

    Good location, comfortable bed, slept very well. Great breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    One of groups room had previously been used by a smoker & smelt. The reception rapidly offered another room.

    Very helpful polite staff Good location Great value

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Bad wifi No tea and coffee facilities in room

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Facilities rather basic in the room.

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Breakfast staff seemed a little absent We were able to get a dinner quite late

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    -reception staff was very professional (Dario Dujmovic) -clean -position

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    An immaculately clean, well-run hotel - I'll be back!!

There are also 48 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: