Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Wender 3 stars

Dorfstraße 10, 91589 Vehlberg, Germany

#1 of 1 hotels in Vehlberg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1023 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    9

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing!

    We had a wonderful 1 night stay at this lovely eco friendly hotel. Helmut and his family were great hosts, friendly, helpful and even providing the evening entertainment. The breakfast was fantastic. There was so much choice. The location was great just off the motorway but in a quiet countryside location. We will definitely be staying here again. The size of the family triple room was perfect.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quintuple Room (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not applicable.

    Everything was fantastic including food. Should you want to stay here, advanced booking is recommended; we usually book rooms in 3-4 months in advance.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    To make it perfect i would have liked a bit bigger bathroom/shower. And window in the bathroom.

    Great location, close (by car) to Nuremberg and Rothenburg. Good family room with two king sized beds and sitting corner. Very clean. Very friendly staff. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I tried to have dinner, arrived a few minutes after 8pm, I asked If I could eat warm, reply was, no, Kitchen closes 8pm sharp. I had to drive 15km to find some warm food. But it was not only this fact, but with the attitude this was presented, that it is completely normal, that a Restaurant closes warm kitchen 8PM. I wonder Where all those super high ratings come from. The Room was an average Hotel Room, not modern, just OK. Price paid was above average for such a Hotel in such a location.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Arrival was a bit confusing - we found the Hotel locked and in darkness leading us to initially think it was closed! However staff arrived very quickly and checked us in... but first impressions matter ;-)

    Bedroom excellent... very very comfortable, great shower! Dinner in the restaurant was basic but wholesome... continental breakfast very good!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The mentionned restaurant isn't as good as noted in the previous comments. There was no trash in the room, just int the bathroom. The pillow int the rooms are not good, too flat and hence no good sleep at night.

    The breakfast was very good as wella s the localisation.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Quintuple Room (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not applicable.

    Hospitality, hospitality, hospitality. Although the kitchen was closing before our arrival, we could order dinner via phone whilst still were travelling to the hotel. Brilliant service. Many thanks. Room size, cleanliness is superb.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Close to autobahn.was very clean with large comfy room & balcony.great breakfast. Very friendly host Helmut. Lovely quite village in countryside.& well priced. Ample parking

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing we missed is lack of at least small fridge in the room.

    Fantastic place, with friendly and helpful staff. Great location, close to motorway but in small village . Good restaurant with good German beer 😊 nice comfortable room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A fairly nice hotel with good rooms and restaurant. The breakfast was very good. Unfortunately let down by an avaricious manager My partner needs extra pillows and my booking stated this but on arrival the manager( I think he was a family member of the hotel) could find no record of this. After some huffing and puffing he said he would find 2 pillows but he would charge extra 4 euros!! I was rather taken aback but agreed. Having got to the room we decided we didn't need them and cancelled. But at dinner he said the pillows were in our room and when I said we didn't need them he furiously ran upstairs and angerily removed them!! Rather spoiled the atmosphere.....we won't be coming back

    Good location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We liked everything about this hotell! Wonderful place near the highway. In a typical german small village. Tha staff, the breakfast and the rooms was just perfect. I´ve never seen a bigger room for 4 persons. We´ll be back next time we´re on our way to the south!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quintuple Room (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to wait a long time before dinner arrived with two young children.

    Good family hotel with friendly staff in the countryside. Ideal for a stopover on your way to your holiday. Big and clean rooms.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Refrigerator in the room would be an asset.

    The food in the restaurant was tasty and the local beer is quite an experience. The receptionist/waiter was a nice gentleman, with a good sense of humor.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is located in a country side with only 127 residential population. If you don't drive a car or ride a horse, it is hard to get there. No cooler, in summer,it's humid and too warm. No kettle, the only way you can get drinking water is to buy water or beer in the hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi could have been faster.

    A lovely place to stay! The room was big and bright. Super clean. We arrived after the restaurant closed and the owner got us a kettle of hot water, bowls and spoons so we could prepare hot cereal for the kids. The breakfast was amazing. Located in a nice little village but also close to the highway. Highly recommend.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quintuple Room (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was further from Rothenburg then we would have liked. No elevator so we had to carry our luggage up four flights of stairs. No screens on the windows.

    Nice hotel with a friendly staff. Enjoyed the breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was amazing!! The pictures just don't do it justice!! The staff went above and beyond to help!! The BREAKFAST, one of the BEST I have had at any location I have been too!! Thanks for a great place to stay for a couple of night!!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Natural smell from around farm (but only outside) - probably just seazonal issue :)

    Good place to stay traveling through Germany. It is not too close to noise of motorway. Very nice, smoked ham. Very nice, big room. With hudge barhroom. All in old style wood. Realy nice looking. Clean and not used. I forgot my sweter. I asked about it. Hotel service send it to me. Nice.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Minor...our hairdryer was too weak...and the breakfast a bit to german...but of very good quality

    Super clean. Huge room. Comfortable bed. Perfect for an overnight stay close to the motorway.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quintuple Room (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location was great. The staff was so nice and accommodating. The breakfast in the morning was perfect for our family. The hotel rooms were spacious and truly fit our family of 6 comfortably.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quintuple Room (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was a little of the beaten path but it was a great family owned guesthouse-very quaint and cozy! Our family of five stayed in a spacious 5 person room.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room (junior suite) was really big and confortable for 4 people. People from the hotel were really nice. We had a problem with our car and they help us translating in english what the service people said in german.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If the windows are open, a bit smelly beside the cowshed, and too many insects

    Very nice countryside/farm views, friendly staff and family welcomed.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    We arrived in the evening Reception did not know English Similar images really not the hotel itself Is near the barn full of flies

    Good breakfast In the dining room was very nice waitress

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Family with older children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    unfortunately the restaurant kitchen was closed at 20,30 - we could have preordered cold food - but we didn't know.

    Perfect for sleeping - close to autobahn. Very big rooms - and quiet surroundings.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The beds were too soft. There were no internet available during our stay. Mosquites around. No fridge in the room.

    Breakfast was good. Large rooms. Quiet in the nature. Helpful staff. Free parking.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is a farm next door and the smell you meet when you get out of the car is not very nice, however it doesn't get in to your room. The pillows are big but get flat when you lay tour head on it.

    Nice hotel, fresh, comfortable bed, brekfastbuffe very nice,

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quintuple Room (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff. Very nice countryside location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unexpected service charge

    Village Setting, outstanding accommodation

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to put here

    Pleasantly surprised that it was only 3 star. Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was good. I love the scenary surrounding it. Very peaceful. But the location a bit far out. Fast wifi connection

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    just missed some fridge or room bar

    quiet hotel, helpful receptionist, good breakfast, big room and bed with balcony

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant on site had a very narrow range of choices for dinner to offer.

    We very much enjoyed our one night stay in this place.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved the hotel, the staff. Everything was super clean and comfortable! We highly recommend it!!!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great quality interior. Lovely rural setting whilst being next to the motorway.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. It all suited what we wanted.

    Friendly host, excellent breakfast, good evening meal, comfortable room, very clean.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Liked everything

    Wonderful boutique hotel. Excellent food and great service.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quintuple Room (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beautiful wood work all around: furniture, design things. Very spacious rooms. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    WiFi a little hit and miss and nobody around to speak to . Situated next to a farm so smelt at times.

    Nice size room and a fantastic bathroom.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Super friendly staff and the restaurant was exceptional. The village of Vehlberg is adorable. Loved this place and would definitely recommend it!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very nice room, great breakfast. Kind staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows, closed bar on arrival, lack of bathroom amenities.

    Rural location near to motorway

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great hotel. Plenty of parking spaces, fast internet, large and clean rooms, and friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Clean huge room, comfy bed, good wi-fi, friendly staff, good breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was very pleasant and the hotel was spotlessly clean. Breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Very friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was good only heating could warm more.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was superb - will come again!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Small bathroom

    Big and clean room, good breakfast

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    perfect stopover off the motorway

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved it!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very comfortable hotel with the friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything is perfect

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quintuple Room (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not applicable

    Friendliness

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The atmosphere was great. Rooms were nice. Nice location close to Rothenburg.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wifi was a little touchy to get going.

    Comfy bed and great breakfast

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quintuple Room (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    A little out of the way.

    Great Breakfast

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    everything !

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing, everything was perfect

    Big room with table and very quiet and the view is beautiful and the breakfast very good

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    marvellous hotel in a beautiful landscape. very very big rooms and good breakfast

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quintuple Room (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    None

    Courtesy of staff, environment, food, everything.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was grand. Staff was helpful and so friendly.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dusty room Not comfortable with equipped towels

    Good breakfast Hospitality with kind staffs Large room Play ground for kids

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Quintuple Room (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was beautiful.. The staff was awesome very curteous.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Room was spacious and comfortable. Breakfast was great. Location was idyllic.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    On Sunday's, no hot meals available. You have to travel 8 km to first available restaurant.

    Good beds and clean. Helpful staff !

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quintuple Room (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    part of the hotel is temporary under construction

    friendly staff, clean room, cowhouse nearby

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wonderful decor and friendly staff. Nice view from room.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    slow wifi, more frankonian food instead of schnitzel, fries ....

    very friendly staff, good breakfast, good for young kids, very quite and off the city (25mins from Rothenburg ob der Tauber)

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The staff was very kind and helpful with our late check-in due to traffic. Also, 80 euros for two adults and two small children including a very nice breakfast buffet was excellent value.

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    An elevator would be nice

    Breakfast was good and there was a variety of food. The facilities seemed modern and updated. The Staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Slow and bed internet connection, but this is just a remark.

    the room was very big and comfortable. Very clean. Location was extremely good for me. Restaurant is serving good and tasty food. Place is very calm and quite, good to rest after working day.

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nothing was wrong.

    Everything was superb. The familiar room was very comfortable, spacious and with great privacy. Clean, calm and beutiful. Hosts were particularly friendly. Has a restaurant where the food is very good. Superb breakfast, also. Not far from Rothenburg ob der Tauber. Highly recommended.

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    a sofa-bed is not comfortable for sleeping

    good location for travelers by car, not very far from the highway; very friendly and helpful staff; very clean; on-site parking; good breakfast;

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    the price for 3 is already 100euros - but still worth it

    location is perfect for us because it is close to the motorway as we are passing on a long way home large comfortable room (and bed) good breakfast friendly staff

There are also 32 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: