Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Wiking This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Schützenwall 1-3, 24114 Kiel, Germany

#36 of 44 hotels in Kiel

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 809 hotel reviews

7.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    6.6

  • Location

    7.6

  • Facilities

    6.7

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    6.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 72

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Solo traveller

    The receptionist who did not bother to check my reservation and said that I he dosen't know about my booking and so on... Probably he was tired as I arrived at 23:00 and he was old enough to be able to welcome guests at midnight. He informed me that the property even has no parking spaces while on Booking.com the property mention that they have parking place.

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast buffet was very good. The room was just large enough for two persons with few extra space, all was very clean. They offer free wi-fi and mineral water.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom was not properly adapted to the size of modern man.

    The guarded parking connected to the hotel with direct entrance to the hotel. The cleanliness of the room and the general comfort.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs to get a bit more funky

    Central location close to transport Great walks along the harbour I enjoyed the Bunker museum and close to shopping Good value restaurants Quiet and attic room was great Good ventilation in the rooms

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Wifi was unfortunately broken. The bed was too short (feet in the radiator). I feel the price was high for the facility.

    Location next to a nice little park.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Be careful if you need the wifi. I had a room on the 1st floor and the wifi didn´t work at the room. The owner declared that it´s perfectly working. The lady at the reception argued that the mistake is in my lap top. This is a poor argument if my lap top catched the wifi perfectly at the reception desk but no chance at the room. Making hygiene in the small bathroom is a little bit stress. The shower box is extremly small and the curtain will be sticked on your body. Very small sink so that it´s difficult to wash your face. To conclude - the hotel would need investments in the bathroom and stronger wifi but within the current equipment the staff is kind and aims to make you comfortable.

    They improve by details your comfort by e.g. printed TV programm at the room, apples at the reception desk, chocolate and mineral water provided every day. I have got quiet room with windows to the yard but they have also rooms turned to the main street. It´s perfectly clean. Good place.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet and bathroom very small and l do mean small, dirty floor tiles. Therefore let the hotel down in value for money.

    Clean and comfortable room, good beds.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All was ok, just nothing too special :)

    Very good location, room clean and big enough, all pleasant. To have a balcony was very nice! Spent only a night and liked it all. Specially the location. Peaceful. Good to stay in the center with ok price! :)

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was located near main junction, the traffic was very noisy. Outside of Kiel center

    only 10 minutes walk from bus station. Good shower and Wi-Fi

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Small bathroom. Soft bed was not absolutely good for my bad back.

    Friendly staff, willing to help. Large room. Everything in the hotel clean. Free delicious apples. As a hotel from the cheaper range, Wiking is a very good choice.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Uncomfortable beds. Extra small bathroom Very noisy No air conditioning Needs decorating Staff not very friendly No bar/ lounge

    Free internet

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Suffered from extensive cigarette smoke from adjacent rooms. Rather small breakfast buffet and a bit overpriced(8 euro also for a 4 year old). Poor Wifi.

    Nice location. Playground across the street. Nice state of the room, felt almost newly renovated. Parking behind(free) the hotel or in basement(charge).

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lots of hair in the carpet from another guest which got stuck on our socks and clothes. Smokers on the balconies so couldn't have door open plus dirty ashtrays and kids not a good combination. Very cramped. Parking had a height limit (1.85m) not mentioned on website.

    location, balcony

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean, very friendly and helpful staff!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleaness of bathtube and ventilation

    Quite room, friendly staff, good parking and garage.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A nice balcony - but we missed a couple of chairs and a table, so we could sit out there and enjoy the spring

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small bed

    For an old Hotel very clean. New interior

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast is a little limited.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Underground parking is "challenging" -need a small car

    Location ,standard and price

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a bit noisy at times when a family with small Children stayed at the hotel. Otherwise it was a good Hotel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wonderful place in order to stay a few days.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The receptionist at check in was very helpful and a good sense of humour!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I missed a kettle in my room, I love to have a cup of tea in the evening.

    Nice staff, very tasty bread and good selection for breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiny rooms. Small variety of breakfast.

    Situated very close to city centre and harbour. Quiet room. Parking space behind hotel

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was very good!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Comfortable, quiet room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the double room was too small

    nice staff, nice location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was very kind and helpfull.The hotel is very close to the city center.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    couldn't sit on the toilet, to close to the wall

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No fridge or water kettle in the room

    Nice hotel, easy to find. Very nice staff, Sara was very helpful

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was very small and seemed larger in pictures. It was uncomfortable to shower and water would get everywhere.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Internet was fairly weak

    Very friendly and attentive staff

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No teapot, nor opportunity to get boiled water. Breakfast was not good for its cost.

    Bed is quite comfortable

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good, clean and friendly, fine for a night or two.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Toaletten för litet utrymme.

    Klarade engelska skapligt. Trevlig personal. Säker parkering.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Washroom is too small in size.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The attitude of the staff, especially the receptionist in the morning.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The room was too hot

    Breakfast was nice and liked the cappuccino!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The shower curtain in the bathroom.

    The room was very quiet. A fresh bottle of sparkling water everyday was great.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toalett was tiny and uncomfortable. Breakfast was mediocre and tasteless.

    Free parking. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2016

    • Family with older children

    Maybe the breakfast times could be extended during the week?

    Very clean facilities. Friendly and polite staff. Breakfast was varied and a pleasure. We thoroughly enjoyed our short stay.

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The room was for 4 persons, but should only have been for 2 adults and 2 very small children - not suitable for teenagers in same room as parents. Non smoking room and breakfastrestaurant smelled a lot of smoking!

    Nice simple continental breakfast. Easy to find and friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    No information about public transports available

    Excelent staff Very good breakfast A free botlle of water in the room every day! Walking distance from main raillway station 15 min

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    It was so good to have a wonderful park with an excellent playground just by the hotel, we had a very nice time there. As for the railway station it's about 15 min of walk which is also very convenient.

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Staff parking in centre of Outdoor car park and making it difficult for early starter to leave carpark.

    Outdoor car park and free bottle of water daily.

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Pillows were very thin but I'm sure if we'd bothered to go back downstairs we would've been given extra pillows, not a big problem and the only fault found!

    Staff was very friendly and professional

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Location, only a short walk to the city centre. Breakfast was good. Parking in hotel's own backyard made me feel safe about the car. I would stay here again if I am to visit Kiel.

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hotels location is not far from city center,only 10 minutes by foot,room is quite big,very comfortable,quiet in the night,sleep very well,but the beds could be better if they change.breakfast is not valueble. In a word, its a nice hotel anyway.

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Basic facilities but very clean. Bathroom is tiny for a clumsy guy like me! Need new sheets, ours had holes from wear in them but t h ey were very clean.

    The bed was great even though we generally hate the split bed double concept as one of us usually falls through the gap! This was probably the mist comfortable of these types of beds we had slept in. Heaters we very good.

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing bad, except strong tobaco flavour in a room for smokers... But this a room for smokers. :)

    Perfect staff, Comfortable room with a balcony, Good breakfast, Fast internet with a very good coverage, Private parking, Room equiped with everything you may need during a short stay.

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very comfortable room, super comfortable bed, nice balcony, safe and nice parking condition in back yard, 10 minutes to walk from in the middle of city centre, polite and friendly receptionist, breakfast good, great coffee. Very good value for Money.

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The wifi wasn't very good, but that's not important for me.

    I liked the room, the bed, the bathroom - but most of all the free parking, where I was allowed to stay also after I had checked out. Before I went I was told that German tv would not send live from the ski world championships, but I watched both cross country, ski jumping and nordic combined. Great!

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very small room!

    Situation

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    a bit oldish

    very central location,good breakfast

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    very cramped bathroom

    Bed and bedroom Ok.

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Not Good

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    My room, the breakfast.... I liked everything!!!

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I really like my room, that was quiet. The breakfast was easy and taste. The staff is very heloful.

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room is big and very clean, we stayed with our dog and the experience was fantastic. Friendly staff!

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The Hotel is gettig old!

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    In MY (evidently not all rooms) room the bath and toilet roomwas extremely small

    Location Friendly and helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    All was good

    Single Room on 4th Floor has bigger bathroom than most in hotel. Availability of free parking.

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Would love to have tea/coffee-making facilities!

    Great location, free onsite parking, friendly staff, free wifi, clean comfortable family room.

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Excellent breakfast, very helpful staff. Clean, close to city centre and to ferry port.

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2015

    • Business trip
    • Group

    a little far from station

    Simple but enough services

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The breakfast was excellent.

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bathroom is VERY small!

    We asked for a quiet room and got one at the back of the hotel from the main street, over looking where we parked our car.

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Clean room. Up to date. Easy to find. Friendly welcome and service.

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Quite good if you don´t expect too much.

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Small bathroom

    Good location, free parking, cleanleness, friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very small bathroom.

    Location. Free wi-fi and parking.

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Bathroom was tiny

There are also 32 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 72

Browse Hotel Wiking traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: