Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Winneburg This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Endertstr. 141, 56812 Cochem, Germany

#17 of 32 hotels in Cochem

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 337 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 41

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    10
    Overall, great value for money, relaxed atmosphere and not too far from town. Would revisit!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only negative was the said location of the place; it’s about 1 kilometre away from where it is advertised on Google maps & Booking.com-please update!

    We most enjoyed the hospitality given by the manager of the property who made us feel very welcome with his great personality!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    10
    Clean, comfortable and peaceful hotel away from the hustle and bustle of town
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked a couple of nights and wish we could have stayed longer. The staff and the governor are so nice and friendly. The rooms are very clean and comfortable and the breakfast was excellent. Ate in the restaurant one evening too and the food as great

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    7.9
    Weekend Getaway to visit castles
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Intermittent wifi

    Frank did a wonderful job catering to his clientele. Food is amazing especially the homemade wines, jellies & jams. Ample parking which has a trail that leads to several sets of castle ruined.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    8.8
    Great hospitality in a lovely place.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows and mattress could be more hard. And when it’s so hot a fan in the room would be lovely.

    Great hospitality in a lovely place. Very good breakfast included in the price. Free parking space, big terrace to sit and enjoy nature. It’s on the main road to Cochem in the middle of the forest but you can barely hear any noises. Frank is a great host! Was really looking after us. You can also purchase some good wines at this place in good prices (better than a shop in Cochem!)

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    10
    A great place for a really friendly local welcome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant serves superb food, the fresh trout was really tasty. The very local wines are a must. The location is ideal for all of the attractions in the area especially if you want to be just away from the crowds in the town centre. We will try and get back here as we only stayed one night on our journey back from Italy to England.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    10
    Food to die for and stars by night! Delightful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was great!

    I loved this hotel! It was just outside of town (2km) with a, no kidding, babbling brook running through the property. We had a balcony with lovely flower boxes. We could see the stars! The 1/2 board was amazing! Dinner was soup, salad, meat with side, bread, and dessert! Breakfast was typical for the area but the jams were all home made. The bread was warm and the selection very nice! We were delighted and would recommend to anyone!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    9.2
    The room was rather small but very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    N/A

    The room was rather small but very clean. The enthusiasm and input of the owner was outstanding: excellent food, fresh own baked bread in the morning and very creative tasty dinner. This hard working professional man understands very well how to take care of each of his customers!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    9.2
    Nice place to relax after a visit to Cochem
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi a bit troublesome. Could not stay connected even though a router was located in our room.

    Quiet setting just outside of the city limits. Nice onsite restaurant with good menu selection. Good breakfast and friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    8.3
    Great staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's not in the city center, but it's not far walking.

    Great staff! Very friendly, they speak very good English and German. Good and quiet location. Rooms are very good, for the price. If I go back I would definitely book this hotel again. I also loved the home made jam!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    10
    Frank was an excellent host.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Frank was an excellent host. We would have stayed longer to enjoy all Hotel Winneburg had to offer but we had to move on to our next destination. The breakfast spread (with fresh eggs from hens raised on site) was particularly memorable. Many thanks, Frank! (:

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    10
    What a pleasure!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Upon arrival we were met by the very friendly proprietor. We only stayed one night but will most definitely be returning to this beautiful German hotel. Very friendly service, lovely food, everything just right.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    8.3
    Good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good value. Restaurant food good

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    10
    Lovely find
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely find, 9mfy room and bed great breakfast, friendly owner and staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    9.2
    Owners with a big heart, doing everything to make their...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Owners with a big heart, doing everything to make their guests happy en welcome.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    10
    Comfortable, quiet, great value, excellent food, helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Large comfortable room. The daily breakfast was very good. Staff was very helpful. I will stay here again in the future.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    10
    Good location, great food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location, great food

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    9.6
    Nice balcony to spend some time if its raining.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is not the best if you want to be near attractions /city.

    The owner and his dog is amazing.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    10
    Staff so friendly and helpful and go that bit extra to make...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike about this hotel

    Staff so friendly and helpful and go that bit extra to make you feel at home

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    10
    Beautiful location between towering forest walls. And all day long sun in this valley.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly owner

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    8.8
    Great Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Mobile Phone Coverage Is LOW up in the Valley

    Great Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    10
    The price / quality was very good! Lovely stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely breakfast and a very good host. Everything was well maintained and very clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    6.7
    Nice location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very noisy rooms.

    Nice location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    9.6
    Friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    8.3
    Very friendly owner.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly owner.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    9.6
    Fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Road traffic noise.

    Staff were great. Food great. Wine fantastic.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    8.3
    A worthwhile stop-over
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely room, clean and tidy. Very friendly and helpful staff. Excellent evening meal at hotel - would recommend.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    9.6
    Cochem weekend visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The weather

    Lovley location friendly owner and staff excellent food good value for money

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    9.6
    Good quality for value
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staircase

    Very friendly people. Good price. Very fresh trout

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    7.5
    Very good rooms and comfort inside an unattractive building
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel seems a little lonely and old on the outside

    Good room, good bed, lovely owners. Beautiful breakfast and good wine shop!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    8.3
    Nice simple hotel with no frills
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakcfast a little later especially at weekend

    Nice and quiet at night for a reastful sleep

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    8.3
    The location is very good i the forest but still very near...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The beds are very squeky, the furniture little old, no soap container in the bathroom.

    The location is very good i the forest but still very near to the town, excellent hotel stuff, tolerant to a small kid.

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2015

    8.8
    location and frank(the owner) very helpful and gave good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    found the shower cubicle in our room a little on the small side, a big person may have trouble, otherwise nothing to complain about.

    location and frank(the owner) very helpful and gave good advice about area. And room was lovely.

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2015

    9.2
    Very kind people, nice breakfast and a big room with a own...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Only a few spiderwebs in the corner of the rooms.

    Very kind people, nice breakfast and a big room with a own small kitchen. The host gave us alot of information for things to do as a tourist. Free wifi and a lovely breakfast. Incl. a private parkingplace.

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2015

    5.8
    Staff was helpful, bed was comfortable and parking was good,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Bathroom could have been cleaner.

    Staff was helpful, bed was comfortable and parking was good, location was reasonable. Nice decoration in breakfast and dinning room.

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2015

    9.2
    Everything really, owner was very welcoming and pet friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Minor issue really, but as is usual in hotels we had twin beds pushed together - no issues but one was very creaky and one of us is a light sleeper.

    Everything really, owner was very welcoming and pet friendly. Great breakfast with homemade jams availble. You can also buy local wine and some brewed by the owner. Great walk to Winneburg Castle from Hotel. Would use again definitely.

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    6.3
    Breakfast was delicious, the service is great, very kind...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Natural surroundings are beautiful, but the hotel is at a busy road which is a bit too noisy. Because of the price we paid, i would expect a more peaceful room. The bedlinen is quite outdated, but clean. Our bathrooms was absolutely very clean, but In our room we found some webs with dust.

    Breakfast was delicious, the service is great, very kind people and perfect wifi.

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    9.2
    Room is very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It is easy to miss the entrance on the road when driving in. The room can have high noise from the road next to the hotel.

    Room is very good. It is big for 3 people. It has kitchen.

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    9.6
    This hotel was in a wonderful quiet location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    This hotel was in a wonderful quiet location. Breakfast and dinner were both excellent with gormet home style options. Breakfast had homemade jams and farm fresh eggs. This location requires a few extra minutes of transportation to the main town area but it's a 3 minute drive to the parking garage or a short taxi or bus ride. We will be staying again if we decide to return. The owner gave us all a firm handshake on our departure. This is a family owned business that the owners take great pride in running. We loved our stay here!!

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    8.3
    We had an excellent diner with very fresh fish and Nice wine
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had an excellent diner with very fresh fish and Nice wine

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2015

    7.1
    Staff and service was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Connectivity to City

    Staff and service was good

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2015

    8.3
    Hotel is small and run by family.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Hotel is small and run by family.very friendly. Nice room with balcony. If you dont mind a 30 minute walk from city centre perfect location to stay.

There are also 6 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 41

Guests also reviewed these properties: