Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Select Hotel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Charlottenstr. 66, Mitte, 10117 Berlin, Germany

#256 of 579 hotels in Berlin

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1949 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    None.

    Perhaps the best location. Walking distance to checkpoint charlie, a lot of food & bars were closeby and right below was a huge supermarket which had everything a traveller could ask for including fresh fruits, deli & pre-made snacks (sandwiches) The staff was helpful and the room service was great. Really liked the cleanliness & safe facility.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was absolutely wonderful, it had everything you would ever need, modern, spacey enough and clean. Also had night curtains that make the room look like it's night even at day time

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Good location close to Gendarmenmarkt, and easy access for walking or for public travel around the interesting part of Berlin. Rooms clean, quiet, comfortable, good breakfast selection and good value for money. 3 nights in Berlin

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room looked out on a courtyard, but otherwise was fine.

    Modern style of hotel, very light and pleasant breakfast room, very helpful staff. Hotel is in a fabulous location and is a very good value for the money. Bathroom was basic but nice big shower (no tub) and plenty of towels/hot water.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing wrong with our stay.

    The room was excellent - if on the small side. Staff were excellent, extremely accommodating and friendly. Would happily stay again and recommend to others.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms are basic, although clean and new. Mini fridge was off and smelt bad when opened. I put some things in and only realised the day after. Lift was quite slow, probably because many were using it at the same time, so you may end up using the stairs to be faster, but otherwise the lift is new and large.

    Very clean room. Just round the corner from a supermarket, other shops and restaurants - excellent location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Ultra modern with clean lines and urban murals, very comfy bed, great shower. At Stadlmitte metro stop, very near concert hall. Good cafes and lunch spots nearby

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Check in time is 15.00 which is really late; was a big disappointment. The room was not spacious; toilet and shower were separate and one after another so when you come out of shower floor got wet. AC was not working. Hotel is close to u-bahn and gendarmenmarkt but not a perfect location to stay (there are many better located options in mitte).

    The staff was really helpful and nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms are relatively small and pillows are very uncomfortable and lumpy.

    The overall confort is good and the staff was very friendly. The location is perfect.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very small room

    Very comfortable and well decorated with fridge. Quiet and central location. Easy transport links. Very friendly and helpful staff. Was minutes away from my concert venue

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was tricky controlling the temperature of the room. The AC turns off when you leave the room or open the window. In general, the AC wasn't effective.

    The staff was extremely helpful and the location is great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower in the middle of the room kept leaking all over the floor. There was a lot of banging about and it wasn’t a very quiet room in general. There wasn’t any tea/coffee facilities in the room. The bed was two singles pushed together which was uncomfortable.

    The location of the hotel was brilliant and the staff were lovely.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Probably would have liked more towels, we haad one each & two small hand towels, but I would have liked couple more. They were renewed everyday tho, perhaps I should have asked??

    Very modern, clean & spacious.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great location, next to metro station; very friendly staff, nice room. Breakfast is also very nice, and has a great selection of health food such as fresh fruit and yogurt.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed there for 5days and all was amazing 😉 clean and comfortable room, beautiful view and also clean bathroom. Staff very friendly and helpful... just lovely, I hope to come back... thank you all

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Could use more amenities.

    The location is perfect. I did a two week tour of Germany and stayed at some lovely places from 4 to 5 star. This property is rated a 4 star, but in my opinion, could use some more amenities and updates to actually reach 4 star status. If you are looking for a convenient location with the basics, this property is perfect. Staff was very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was slightly odd - shower was next to the bed with no wall, meaning you could see whoever was in there (although glass was frosted.)

    Staff were very helpful and the room was clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms on the front are very close to the street and ambulances can be heard (traffic can't be heard due to the good quality of the windows).

    Friendly staff, very good location (walking distance from main tourist attractions), very good mattress and bedsheets. Big bathroom with bathtub, hair dryer, shaving mirror. Good quality bathroom products and towels. Good price for the area. Also, I loved that in the lobby there is a wall with city maps and helpful other flyers.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the quality of the bed linien and the bath towels was very low . The bed linien were very very hard

    location is perfect. The price is very reasonable, the rooms are comfortable and clean , the breakfast is not the peek point but it was fair comparing with the price

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lobby and room definitely appeared much bigger on the advertised pictures. Would have also preferred a more private showering facility.

    Location was great, staff were lovely and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I think everything was very nice. We didn't try the breakfast because I think 15 euros, is a little too much. But there were many cafes nearby, so you don't have to buy breakfast there. Alltough it did seem nice!

    Bed was big and very comfortable, also pillow was perfect. And in our room the bathroom was big and spacious. Everything went very smoothly, check in was fast and we could walk to all major sights just within 20 minutes. Very big shopping mall just about 500 meters and 2 metro stations within 200 meters. Perfect price and comfort ratio.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Heater, bathroom ventilation, hot water were all not working properly and they could not fix it. You won't get a lot of empathy from the staff. No room service so if you arrive late make sure you have food. Last but not least, the napkins say "good morning" in all languages but Italian (see picture attached).

    Breakfast is abundant, location is ok. Nothing else much.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small rooms, paper thin walls, bad bad bad WiFi, breakfast was adequate but not great, 15 Euro is too much in my opinion, for what you get.

    Good location. Good shower in my room. Bed was comfortable enough.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel's name is not properly displayed in the street sign so our taxi driver was pretty confused when we arrived at the address. The cleaning of the room had been a bit deficient, there were some papers under the bed that eventually appeared on the floor. The room has a pretty basic full body mirror which is sometimes helpful.

    The room was big although the bath had a pretty uncomfortable column that didn't help much in using some things. The bed was quite comfortable and the room was pretty insulated from the noise in the street.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The pillow was not the most comfortable but that was it. Everything else was PERFECT!

    Great Personnel, ready and willing to help with all our needs. The location is fantastic: 10 min walk to Unter den Linden, Checkpoint Charlie. U-Bahn is a 2 min walk from hotel. Would highly recommend this hotel and definitely will stay here again.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There's no water in freezer of room They didn't write the same name of hotel on external wall they wrote ( Muvum group hotels ) this name make confuse for me

    It's location at center near most important area that every tourist would like to visit it Staff they are friendly & so cooperative

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Centrally located and close to sights and Xmas market. Extremely friendly staff who were helpful at all times. Fresh, clean rooms with suitable facilities for a short stay.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Honestly don’t have one. More like a suggestion. Wish they had little shampoos & soaps vs shower gel squeeze bottle.

    Definitely can’t beat the location. The staff at night were super helpful. Lots of coffee shops near by and it’s close to all the Christmas Markets. The main train station is about a 30 minute walk.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar stopped serving hot drinks at 8pm as the “restaurant” closed at this time.

    The location for the purpose of our stay (the Christmas markets) was perfect!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is understaffed and service level isn't high. When checking in, the receptionist was also the barmaid which led to a long wait time. She was unable to find my room key or make me a new one. I was escorted to my room to be let in by the master key, with the instruction to knock on the front window to get her attention if I was planning to go out after hours. We got lost en route to the room. Same next morning. With a single person on reception there was a wait time to receive my room key before I could leave for the day. On check out, I asked for my hotel receipt to be emailed to me. Despite my asking in person, and the receptionist having my email address in front of him, he insisted I email my request to them so they wouldn't forget.

    Great location. Clean comfortable, no frills room. No extra amenities (eg. No tea/coffee making facilities) Good value.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Perfect location, great and clean room. Breakfast was not included and it costs 15 euro per person in the hotel, but there is a perfect place at the corner where you can buy really good breakfast for 6-7 euro.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paid 280£ for a basic room because it was basically the last available in the city. Very basic room, could hear everything from the corridor,no room service, no breakfast, poor wifi and tiny Tv

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff at check in very good, young man with beard. We had an issue with yellow sightseeing bus stopping before designated time which staff was not interested in assisting with. Also on checkout the tall gentleman with dark ponytail did not give accurate information to get car out of garage which required me to go back to reception from the garage.

    The facility and parking were excellent and easy to access; parking garage attached. Rooms were spacious and comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Arrived at around 2300 and had to ring the doorbell to get in. Maybe sounds capricious, but when you've been eight hours in a train, walked a mile to get to the property and you're carrying luggage, you want to just get to your bed.

    Perfect location for my business meeting and point of arrival. Simple, no fuss, but not trashy hotel, like other Novum locations (i.e. Munich).

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything. To begin, I am a Genius member with Booking.com for many years with over 100 bookings, and have NEVER reviewed a hotel in this manner, but after the experience, at, and after leaving this hotel, I am completely shocked by the unprofessional manner this hotel operates. Also, I have NEVER written this long a review, since like all of us, our time is valuable, however, I do feel the need to comment when something is wrong. As a result of this horrible experience, I was left on the corner of the hotel, on the street, with my wife and 2 bags, trying to determine where we could sleep for the night. We ended up sitting in Starbucks and booking another hotel to move to. Now for the review - First of all, the hotel name is still "Winter" on the outside, and after spending 30 minutes to locate it, and informing the staff about it, we were met with a nonchalant shrug of the shoulder, saying "yes, its not been changed" - that's it. We had booked a Deluxe Double Room with breakfast. We (my wife and I) left our bags at 1100, and returned to the hotel at 1800 to check in. When I asked for a spare set of keys, I was looked at, with a slightly annoyed expression by the receptionist, with an "ok" like it was an extra effort. Once we went up to the room, with our bags. The room was large and nice, however, it smelt like something had spoilt in there for days, and short of throwing up, we just turned around, and returned to reception to ask for another room. The same receptionist, asked us why we wanted to change the room, and when I explained that it was a very bad smell, she had absolutely no apologies, and just gave us keys to another room (they definitely had a lot of spare rooms, since when we checked later, we had rooms available - the reason I mention this is that they have lied to Booking.com later mentioning that they could not sell the room and lost the capacity).

    Absolutely Nothing

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No bathroom shampoo etc. the payment was taken from my account too early. also the hotel used their exchange rate which made it more than the quoted price.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    I got a written message to report to the reception (my colleague too). Our balance crossed €500 and we had to pay!?? It was my 4-th stay in the same hotel and while booking I gave my credit card and acknowledged the information that property may place the reservation on my credit card.

    Breakfast was good, with a lot of choices. The room had enough space for two.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Instructions on the booking.com page refer to the wrong U-bahn station to exit from, which makes it a much longer walk with heavy bags - there is a much closer station !

    Very helpful staff, wonderful location, very comfortable room. No complaints at all.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noticed some stains on the carpet in my room.

    Staff at reception were lovely. Location is pretty central and you can walk to many places within 10/15 mins but there is also the metro at Stadtmitte near it.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No problem at all

    It's was a great place staff was fantastic and pleasant and spoke good English location was perfect I will return so much history and very nice people would recommend to anyone top place

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wi-fi did not work properly

    I am very happy with the choice of the hotel due to the central location and great value for the money! The room was neat with comfortable mattresses and bathroom was very clean.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fridge in the room was not working which was a bit inconvenient though they let us use the one at the bar. The shower water temperature varied without warning which nearly burnt me more than once.

    The staff was friendly and helpful and the room was perfectly clean. The location was easily accessible to many of the sites that we wished to visit and it is easily accessible to the train. 24 hour desk was also great since we arrived very late on our first night.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff are okay but not super friendly. The sink doesn't drain water very well so I had to wait to wash my face after I brushed my teeth...

    Great location and discounted price. Good one-night stay overall

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location was great, very comfortable room for one person as it is rather small. But is perfect for a business trip, close to major tram and bus lines, tourist attractions and very clean and quiet.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Exclusive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Weonly got one coffee pod per person per day the hot water was off for a day and no one bothered to tell us. Couldn't check in till 3 o'clock and no one seemed that bothered

    The hotel is clean and in a great location for sight seeing , bars and restaurants

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was in room rather than being in a separate bathroom. Was unusual and not mentioned when booked, should be taken into consideration based on who you are sharing the room with.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff seemed very uninterested in the reception and felt a bit like they had something more interesting to do.

    Excellent sound insulation, did not hear the other rooms nor the downtown traffic and activities when we closed the window.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are rather bedraggled. No blinds on the windows means you wake up at 6 with sunlight streaming in. Staff isn't terribly friendly, maybe if they were paid better they would be nicer.

    The location is fantastic, right in the city center. The rooms are rather big. The price is decent, but I think that's because I got a good deal on booking.com. Full price isn't great.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cons: There is only one elevator and it is VERY slow. The sofa was old and peeling. The shower changes without warning between boing to cold, apparently due to water pressure.

    Pros: Great location, clean, friendly staff

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    not many cheap restaurants nearby, however there is a lot more within a 15 minute walk.

    Very comfy and clean room, very good size of rooms as well. Great value for money!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Do not book this hotel at all, if you wanna visit berlin. EVERYTHING WAS AWFUL, RUDE STAFF, VERY TINY ROOMS, I HAVE NO IDEA WHY ITS FOUR STARS ANYWAY!!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The shower in the bathroom was in an odd central location on the longer wall which meant when you showered the water went everywhere in the room. The water temperature changed a lot too and I did burn my hand on one occasion.

    The bed was very comfortable. The hotel was very reasonably priced and in a great location. Really easy to walk to points of interest or hop on the train/tube. There was a fridge in the room and with a supermarket around the corner it was a nice touch to buy drinks/snacks and keep them refrigerated. If we come back to Berlin we'll definitely stay again!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This time the room was a bit too small, but still good for this price in this location.

    Awesome value for money in the very center of Berlin, walking distance to many nice locations, two U-Bahn lines etc

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The location of this hotel is just perfect, you are in the heart of Berlin! I like to walk from one place to another, and I never had to use the subway! The bed is really comfortable, the shower is very good and the pictures do really translate what you will see once you arrive. Plus, the breakfast is awesome! I will definitely will come back!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a bit noisy because of the street. And very bright because of the lights of a shop.

    I liked the bathroom with the bathtub and the big breakfast buffet with everything you need for a good start in the morning and the bed was very comfortable for a French bed.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Internet access was terrible. I could not connect at all. There were quite a few things that I needed to deal with using the internet, but could only do that on the public computer in the lobby.

    The room was ideal for a single or couple, bed was quite comfortable. Liked the lighting system, you can never forget the room key that way.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room a bit small. Not much of other services. Taxi drivers are unsure of location , be sure to have your map ready

    Room was comfortable ' nice selection for breakfast, friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - it could have been a little more warmer in the room, because we had quite a cold weather.

    - nice rooms - right in the centre of Berlin - good services - Stadtmitte metro station around the corner - coffeshops, small restaurants and supermarket very close

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms towards street and Sound proof very bad. Water temperature is not stable in all rooms. Be were of burning yourself when showering. Called to staff with no solution.

    Location is good. Safe.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We have absolutely nothing bad to say about this hotel.

    Very nice and helpful staff; clean, quiet and comfortable room; right in the middle of Berlin's most important sights; reasonably priced.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I recommended this place because is in the center of berlin, very convenient to take a metro, also is very near to The Brandenburg Gate (German: Brandenburger Tor).

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A single blanket on a double bed? My fridge in the room didn't work, hotel was full so nothing they could do about it. There is no dinner menu.

    The breakfast

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Omg!!!...The worst hostel would have been a smarter choice!!!...It's an actually old building, and you have to sleep in a totally cold room, with the strangest shower cabin next to your head and a sink in the room, giving you a sense of prison!+you can hear even the people's breath from next door or the corridor....Talking about a cold room...in Berlin...-10!...well the aircon didn't work so I asked for help! Here are the steps to lie and mistreat a client!!! First a kind young man comes into my room telling me to wait and it will be fine...and I see him having a look of: ups ...no it won't!!!...and he comes back again to tell me: (being terrified from the manager), that it is broken but there is no mechanic? to fix it!!!...and I say: so...??? well...waiting again!!!...Then a young girl comes, trembling from fear, to show me a dusty, old calorifer behind the curtain!!!...that one wouldn't even get warm as it was an ancient one but I had to wait!...then she comes back telling me: You are right!!! It's frizzing here!!!...you'll change room! After 20min, I call them again and the same lady tells me that there is no problem with the heating so there is nothing to be done!!!...terrified by the same manager! Well I ask to finally talk to her and she is the most rude and non responsible person I have ever meet!!! Doesn't give a dum and tells me that the freezing room is warm enough!!! I have never meet such a lying- specialist!!! Furthermore, she is teaching those young guys how to look a person in the eye and simply, lie to him!!! Well, she is a profesionist...liar!!! I guess that is a talent as well! It's a shame for any business to be represented by this kind of people!!!...for those 2 days, nothing changed and I just want to forget that awful experience of ''staying'' there!...and paying for, of course!!!

    The location is being wasted!!! I wouldn't stay there again even for free!!!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed and pillows weren't very comfortable, maybe fine for other people but we didn't sleep very well. Other than that the hotel was fine.

    Good location, the hotel was nice and clean and staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is expensive but a fridge is included if you want to do your own. No tea making facilities.

    Fantastic location that was handy to all the main attractions, Christmas markets and transport. Rooms very clean and comfortable bed with plenty of room.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air con could be better.

    The breakfast was fantastic as the was so much choice. The room was very clean and the bed was really comfortable. The only downside was the room was really warm and the air con wasn't powerful but you couldn't leave the windows open as we were on the main road so was very noisy.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Some of the hotel staff were friendly, others weren't. Bar hours were difficult to figure out. Most rooms are very small, so this is probably considered more of a "crash pad" hotel than one to be enjoyed for its amenities. Our friends booked directly with the hotel and received a rate substantially lower than we received through Booking.com.

    Great central location as noted by other reviewers. Ten minute taxi ride to / from the main train station. Nice to sleep on a queen sized mattress in Europe instead of two beds pushed together.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom is at the same time the entrance of the room. So you walk through the bathroom to get to the bed. You get used to it and you can see it on the pictures, so it was ok.

    The location couldn't be better. Brandenburger Tor, Holocaust Memorial, Potsdamer Platz, Topographie of Terror and Checkpoint Charlie are all in walking distance (15-20 Min).

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Exclusive Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing I can think of that I didn't like.

    Location was fabulous and the staff were very helpful. It was walking distant to a lot of attraction spots.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    reception staff are not experienced at all. For example: Told people asking for us that we are not residing at the hotel! Are not helpful with various information. Nobody at the reception starting from 22.00 h. Asked for a hard bed (wooden plate or hard mattress), answer was they don't have any. The breakfast is the same for 5 days, no change. When asking for an invoice at check out, they said they can't do it and will send it by mail! Very bad experience and no value for the money.

    Location was good and the room was spacious.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi Internet didn't work. Room was quite small, but perfectly comfortable.

    Clean, comfortable, modern rooms. Excellent location (2 mins walk from Stadtmitte u-bahn station). Friendly, efficient staff.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I hated this experience.

    We drove around the block for a while looking for the hotel. We finally decided to enter a different hotel to ask for directions and it turned out that it was it, they just haven't change the name and logo from a previous branding of the property. Strike number one. When we arrived the manager was in a heated argument with the front desk ladies and ignored me for a while. Strike number 2. Upon arrival they told me that there was a system error and that, although they indeed received my reservation, they had no rooms available. They offered to book me a hotel in a different property of the same brand. This property had no parking and was more expensive. Needless to say, this novum guys will never see me again.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was SO small we could hardly turn around! We had almost no room for luggage or getting dressed. Almost no storage space for anything.

    Bed and bathroom clean and comfortable. Centrally located. Underground station very close by, along with shopping! Quiet room.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    People must ask the reception desk for internet password themselves. Didn't told me when I checked in.

    Good location. The internet was not bad. The room was big.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff was a little rude when we arrived, they were having understandable computer problems so it was taking a while to check people in, but they were not very friendly during this equally painful experience for the guests.

    I loved the location and the room was really clean.

    Stayed in September 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Select Hotel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: