Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Novum Hotel München Am Hauptbahnhof

Arnulfstr. 12, Maxvorstadt, 80335 Munich, Germany

#322 of 349 hotels in Munich

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1061 hotel reviews

7.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.2

  • Comfort

    6.4

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    6.4

  • Staff

    7.7

  • Value for money

    6.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    7.9
    Generally, ok... but the location definitely is tops.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms were a bit small and the pillows are too soft. We were charged a bit high for the luggage we left behind for 2 days.

    The best location in all of Munich. The hotel is right across the Munchen Hbf, and the airport shuttle bus stops right across the street too. It is walking. distance to the Marienplatz and Karlsplatz. The hotel was clean, staff are friendly, food is not too expensive. If we come back to Munich we may consider coming back to this hotel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    7.5
    the bed was comfy.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the bed was comfy.the doors were difficult to open from the outside. no breakfast included in price of room,staff were lovely and very helpful.the location was convenient.the rooms were very plain and basic. no kettle or fridge. the rooms need more colour- they were very depressing

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    3.3
    Made the best of a less than pleasant situation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Filthy. Looked like it had not been cleaned for quite some time. Really expensive for total lack of quality

    Rough area, although not too far from nicer area.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    7.9
    Literally 100 metres from the main train station and around...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Although we booked a double room, we were put into a room with two single beds on opposite sides of the room. We were told to shift the room around to put the two beds together, which took a bit of work and is probably something the hotel staff should have done for us. The next day, they moved us to another room, which was a room with two single beds pushed together, and unfortunately they kept moving apart throughout the night.

    Literally 100 metres from the main train station and around a 1.5 km (10 minute) walk from Marienplatz. 24-hour reception made things really easy and the reception staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    7.5
    Great location and value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Building doesn't come with air conditioning (like most apartments), so we had to keep the windows open during the night. However the area was a little noisy at night (people talking outside, traffic noises)

    The location was amazing, it's right in front of the Munich Hauptbahnhof (also the station with direct access to Munich airport), about a two-minute walk with luggage.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    8.3
    Excellent location. Friendly staff, Comfy beds.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast was a bit expensive. But, since the Munchen Hbf was just across the street, and we can grab all sorts of food at a fraction of the cost. The pillows were a bit limp.

    We love the location best. We did not expect so much considering the reviews were mostly below 8, but when we arrived, we were happy to see that they have exceeded our expectations in some area. A big plus was the airport bus that parked just across the street, and leaves every 15 min.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    4.6
    Never again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was bery cold and the hotel turned off the gas for the gas heaters. Very cold at night. Not pleasant

    The licatuon near the train station was very convenient

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    7.1
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy given it being too close to the train station. No A/C, so we had to keep our windows open the whole night, which means more noise. Pretty small for a double room. No bathroom fan.

    Location. Literally right across the street from Munich Hbf, you will not miss the train. Walkable to Marienplatz. Convenient transportation.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    6.3
    Not too expensive. Very close to the city center. Good breakfast. No good parking close to hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No aircondition in the room, so very hot in the summer. Windows were very dirty. No longer stay parking near hotel, just 1 hour parking.

    Very close to the city center. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    5.4
    Good location. Friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no air conditioning, and even though it was a cool night, the room was very hot. Like every place we stayed in Germany and Austria, there were no top sheets, only heavy comforters. Clearly this is a cultural difference, but we don't understand what use very warm covers are in hot rooms. There were very few amenities in the room -- no refrigerator or microwave, only one chair to sit on. The room was very small.

    We needed to get to the airport early in the morning, and this hotel is across the street from the entrance to the main train station in Munich. The price was very good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    5.0
    More of a hostel
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It looked like bathroom hadn’t been cleaned for some time, hair on the floor, toothpaste stains on the shower curtain. There’s a bottle of water in the room, but don’t be too optimistic it’s not free of charge)) The room is tiny I barely had place to put my suitcase. In general it is more of a hostel room, than a hotel.

    I just needed a room for one night to go to the airport in the morning and the location is very convenient- 5 minutes walk from the main train station.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    5.4
    Location and they provide coffee machine in the room
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No Aircon No Fan. Too hot for summer period with no aircon. Facing road, too noisy as windows are to open since no aircon

    Location and they provide coffee machine in the room

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    7.9
    Amazing location, Room needs update
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We ended up with a room without air conditioning, big mistake in July. We had to constantly keep our windows open. Being in the first floor we had maximum noise from the street which made sleep more difficult. The carpet and paint seems like it’s waring out.

    It was right across the street from Radius Tours in the central station. There is a corner store for snacks nearby, and a laundromat a couple blocks away. The staff was always friendly. Munich isn’t cheap and this place was probably priced right around what it’s worth.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    4.6
    It was conveniently located.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is an older hotel that is currently going through a remodeling. Drilling and hammering starts at 9am and goes all day. The scaffolding was right outside our window with the workers going about their work every day. There is no AC and you can’t open the window unless you want a whole bunch of workers within inches of your room and your space!! We asked for another room but the remodeling is on the entire side of the hotel so there is no escaping it. They gave us a free breakfast one day which was not worth the trouble!!! We prepaid the rooms so we couldn’t leave. TV didn’t work, which was ok since we couldn’t spend any time in the room. We literally came at night, slept and left around 9am to avoid the noise. We didn’t return until late at night again. The bedding was clean and the service was ok. There is no iron or coffee maker in the room. Only a hair dryer.

    It was conveniently located.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    2.9
    If you like being locked in small dirty places, stay here. Worst hotel I've ever stayed in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was tiny and outdated, dingy feeling. The mattress was hard and plastic like something from a cheap summer camp. When I checked in I had trouble with the room key, instead of fixing it, they managed to get the door open. When it came time for me to leave the next morning I could not unlock the door from the inside. After several minutes of trying to exit the room, I picked up the phone to call the front desk, but the phone was not working. Finally after about 25 minutes I was able to lift the door while turning the lock enough for it to spring open. Serious fire hazard. Front desk didn't seem overly concerned when I informed them at check out.

    The location was close to train station.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    7.9
    Basic, clean, great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Basic would be the best word. The rooms are tiny and the bathroom hardly big enough to close the door but it was clean. I feel I have to point out there was a "gentleman's club" next (of a seedy nature) in case you are travelling with children. No problems from it but it may take some explaining!

    The location. Just five minutes from Munich's main station and about 10 mins to the coach station. Must mention the breakfast - additional cost but well stocked and lovely!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    3.8
    Disappointing, but good location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was rugged and the bathroom dirty. Bed not comfortable and the carpet was dirty. It was very noisy, especially in the middle of the night, when people enter their rooms. You have to leave the key in the hotel, so if you come back, you have to wait for the staff to hand it back to you.

    The location is good- next to the main station in Munich and walking distance to shops and restaurants.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    7.9
    Good place to just sleep in there - nothing extra.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing extra for more than 100 EUR per night. The breakfast is not included, water in the room is for extra 4 EUR. Room was dark with a small window, not very cosy.

    Quiet and clean place to stay. The beds are comfortable. The staff is well trained. No undesirable smells. The TV was great - could use flash disc to watch a movie.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    7.9
    Simple and effective
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only thing I didn't like was that at 9am you have cleaners hoovering and cleaning. No chance of sleeping over.

    The location is great, in terms of city geography. It is a fuss free hotel with more than enough for a relaxed stay over a long weekend. The staff is very polite and friendly. The breakfast is very nice with plenty of choices.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    9.6
    Clean, comfortable and pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast in hotel expensive. No tea and coffee in rooms

    Central, Opposite main train station with good transport connections. Staff friendly and helpful, clean comfortable rooms.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    9.2
    The location of the hotel is very convenient and the interior of the room looks very homey.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wireless need to be improve as it could not even load a internet page. Maybe intead of a non password wireless, your hotel may consider to lock the wireless system for only occupants to use.

    The bed was clean and well maintained with a welcome pack of Haribo sweets. The furniture of the room is made up of wood that feels very cosy.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    8.8
    Overall very good experience
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no lift for top floor so you have to drag your stuff by yourself

    there is a room at top floor. really enjoy it as it has 2 rooms with bath rooms and enough space for relaxation good city view as well

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    8.8
    Overall very good experience
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No lift for Top floor

    There is a room at top floor which has 2 rooms. We loved that as we were 3 friends and had enough space to relax only downside was that there was no lift for top floor so you have to drag your stuff by yourself

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    7.5
    I WOULD STAY THERE AGAIN.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    THERE WAS WAS NO FOOD IN THE EVENING.

    THE BREAKFAST WAS GOOD. I WOULD GIVE IT 7 OUT 1O. THE BEST THING ABOUT THIS HOTEL IS IT'S LOCATION. YOU ARE RIGHT OPPOSITE THE CENTRAL RAILWAY STATION AND SUBWAY.THE AREA IN GENERAL IS NOT GREAT BUT IT IS WHAT YOU WOULD EXPECT BEING SO CLOSE TO A VERY BUSY RAILWAY STATION.THE BUS FROM THE AIRPORT STOPS AND STARTS OPPOSITE THE HOTEL.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    3.3
    Dissapointed, to the max.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Waking up to moans of a prostitute next door is sick. Rooms are extremely hot and shabby for what you pay for. Excessive noise levels at night with drunkards running around.

    Not much.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    8.8
    Great location, good room size, comfortable stay right next to train station , restaurant and shops
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hygiene problem in room service was a big turn off that our glasses were not cleaned, the housekeeping just cleaned with paper for two days constantly we saw our fingers and wine stains on glasses. We cleaned by ourself before using.

    Great location, we stayed with our 3 and half year old daughter for 3 nights. Hotel is right in front of Munich main rail station. Room was good and big. WiFi worked fine. We enjoyed the stay in Novum. Good value for money.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    10
    Many thanks for service !!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    All already written above.

    Hello, we were happy in Your hotel. The only thing we missed it was kettle- it is small item and should be in every room with cups, few plates and spoons. Who will wish to have breakfast- they will pay that 12, 9 euros. Who doesn't plan to pay that some, anyway will not go down stairs to eat, because it is very expensive. Very very good idea internet, many thanks for that !! Staff was nice and very pleasant. Please tell them this. Many thanks and have good business, You are doing it really right. S.S.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    7.1
    Good budget hotel very close to main station.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Curtains in shower are a disgrace. A little more money should have been put into a suitable shower wall. Elevators are very small.

    Budget hotel very close to main station and city center. Very friendly staff, clean, small rooms, but with amenities and suitable for a few nights stay. Wifi is working good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    7.1
    Good value for price and location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was extremely hot. Of course no AC, but no fans offered either. Had to sleep with all the windows open, but didn't help any.

    Location and staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    5.8
    Location is good if you travel by bus/train, and also...
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Ordered an early booking at 7 a.m. - had a reply from the hotel with a CONFORMATION that this service is available for an additional fee 15 Euro. After arriving the receptionist told us that early booking is available only from 11 a.m. - I checked the confirmation e-mail and found some small text in German in the end. Seriously, hotel like this could write important additional information on international language.

    Location is good if you travel by bus/train, and also close to a city center

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    7.1
    One night beer escape in Munich
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was not as advertised, I especially requested the double size bed and got 2 single beds instead.

    I like the fact that it was just across the street from Hauptbahnhof (the main station)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    6.3
    suited my purposes but will not revisit.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Considering the price I was disappointed. It is a tired aged hotel, it really needs redecorating urgently. The room was fairly spacious, but in poor condition (bathroom door was very frayed...). I had to take the elevator to the last floor and then walk more steps, no help was offered with my luggage. Reception also did not provide me with any information about wifi.

    I selected this hotel mainly for the train station vicinity. It is right opposite Munich station. The room was fairly large and it had a coffee machine. The staff at reception was courteous and friendly. I didnt have breakfast so cannot comment on that.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    5.4
    Good location only
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The furniture too old and the mattress is not comfortable as well as the pillows The shower mixer is too old

    I paid 60 € and it was ok for the location I got but the I would never pay more for such old hotel & old furniture

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    9.6
    Decent room, good WI-FI, helpful staff & perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I liked the rooms, but having tea/coffee making facilities could improve the service a little more, it's a small thing though, nothing too bad :)

    Superb location, so close to the U Bahn & S bahn, rooms were decent and comfortable too

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    6.3
    For one night ok
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Single room they advertised for 14sqm had barely 7sqm! Very small room, too many lights inside and not soundproofed. Old hotel.

    Very close to the center and in front of main train station. Good WiFi. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    7.9
    February 2018 Trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was situated at the front, so there were lots of noise coming from the street. Minor noise only, didnt affect me from having a good night's rest.

    Super accesible to the main train station. Very easy to locate. Relatively quiet neighborhood.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    7.1
    We just spent one night in munich before our flight. It was OK for what we needed. Great location
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom was OK, except for the fact that the bath/shower faucet was difficult to switch. Water pressure low and water temperature was changing without turning the faucet.

    I was traveling with my two adult sons and I liked the fact that there were three twins size beds in the room.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    10
    Comfortable hotel and nice place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location, wide space room, very well bedding, friendly staff, helpful good service, clean, very good heating in winter, I didn’t go there in summer, so I have no idea about airconditoner if available.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    6.3
    Not my first choice next visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiny room and the attitude of the front desk staff was surly and not really welcoming

    Good location just across from the Hauptbahnhof ( train station), but room was tiny and the staff whilst efficient were not really friendly or welcoming. Friends stayed at another location on the other side of the station, about the same distance away and their room was larger and cheaper and the staff were much more pleasant. Will try the other hotel in a few weeks when we return to Munich

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    4.2
    Not value for money.
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    About booking website, it is fraud ... we have booked hotel with breakfast facility included in per day Price but hotel said breakfast not included in price and booking email we didn't not check before leaving to Germany.This is second time I faced bad experience. While booking showing different and getting confirmation email different. learning for me to ensure booking confirmation email is as per requirement or not.

    Not value for money.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    4.6
    bad experience !
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was actually freezing in the room - heaters were off when arrived ...the room was still cold at night after hours that the heating was on! I asked for extra duvet, but it was really a bad experience and I paid a lot since it was booked on the day!!! I would had never expect to paid such an amount of money for a freezing night

    close to the city centre

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    9.6
    A good priced hotel in a very good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing of any consequence!

    As I have probably said a number of times before, it is all about location, location, location! For our purposes the location of the hotel is ideal. On this occasion, we did not have breakfast at the hotel but from past experience the buffet breakfast is very good, albeit expensive. We could eat breakfasts out for three or four days for the same price as a single breakfast each in the hotel. Good quality continental style breakfasts are available within five minutes walk of the hotel. Unlike many hotels it had an adequate supply of power outlets where we needed them. We have stayed in some very high-end hotels that have plenty of power points but very few, if any, where they were needed.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    4.6
    Very disappointed from the time we arrived, I can't recommend this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was tiny and more like a hostel than a hotel room. Very disappointed for the money that was paid but as we were there during Oktoberfest I am sure prices were highly inflated however Oktoberfest finished on the night we arrived.

    Close to the Munich main station.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    3.8
    location was close to transport
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no failities .. very small room .. bar or club downstairs .. alot of drunks at night ... room key policy was awful.. u have to dropoff the key before you go out .. and every time u come back to the hotel .. you have to wait to get your key ,,,, very inconvenient

    location was close to transport

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    2.9
    Avoid it if you can...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Zimmer unconfortable... bathroom - a joke (old, shower with curtain, no fresh-air connection, old, Hostal-Style, but Hotel price...

    Small, simple, no atmosphere, staff quite unique, one guy tried to help and offered different room (which we finally accepted), but all in all... avoid if you csn !

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    4.6
    Great location but would not be my first choice for future trips
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpet was grubby, sheets had an ugly cigarette burn and bathroom occasionally smelled of drains. Room was noisy with the window open but too warm when the window was closed. With no a/c or fan, it was an uncomfortable week.

    Location -ditectly opposite the main station in Munich. Makes it perfect for first time visitors to find.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    3.8
    Avoid this hotelat all cost!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small rooms. No air con. 1980s decor. Made me write my credit card details on a piece of paper. Next to a strip club. Windows didn't shut properly. Walls very thin. Noisy. Very expensive.

    Nothing

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    5.8
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that three nights in a row I had to ask to have the televsion in our room fixed and still wasn't done was a let down. Not hard to at least atepmt to fix it and if unfixable try and make arrangements to move us. Granted we were given free breakfast for two not ings as an apology but this was clearing done due to a lack of options on their behalf and failing to do as I asked. Plus the vomit/questionable stain on entry to the room was not best pleasing.

    Location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    6.7
    convenience, friendly and very helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    noise, no fan or air conditioning, shower is so small that we burned ourselves when accidentally bumping into the lever.

    convenience, friendly and very helpful staff. Loved the bistro.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    7.9
    Not too bad. Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No airconditioning, breakfast/room service/restaurant facilities. Considering the amenities, I think we paid a bit more for our stay. The photo of the location looks like the Novum Kaiser next door, so a bit misleading.

    Didnt get any 'Genius perks". Walking distance from the main railway station and huge room. Actually we got more of an apartment for the 3 of us. Quick check in, although it took a while for someone to appear at the reception desk. Nice and comfy beds. Excellent location though and even though just off the main street, it was quiet and comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    8.8
    It met our requirements and we were looked after by veryt friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    There really wasn't anything we didn't like because it suited our purpose. That doesn't mean that there cannot be improvements. One or two small improvements that could be made might be to have a bit of shelving in the bathroom and some shelves or drawers in the bottom of the wardrobe.

    The location. That staff bent over backwards to accommodate our wishes.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    6.3
    Very convenient but we will look for something a little more comfortable the next visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No fan or air conditioning. We left the windows open and it was very noisy due to street noise from trains and young people partying. The room was pretty small with little place to hold your luggage. Shower stall is not easy to use because we accidentally burned ourselves when trying to move about.

    I liked the staff and the location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    7.9
    Staff was friendly, hotel was clean, only issue issue with no AC
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No A/C and since it's by the train station if you open the windows it was very noisy, nice hotel if you don't need AC. Bathroom was very small, shower curtain was in your way no matter what you did.

    Conveniently located next to the train station and not far from a Brewhouse. We were able to get breakfast and lunch at the train station and eat it at the hotel lobby. They even allowed us to take our dinner into their bar area.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    7.1
    Clean bathroom, comfortable beds
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We requested a double bed but received a room with two singles end to end. The room was hot, but opening the windows let in a lot of traffic noise (although this is probably unavoidable because the location is so central)

    Clean bathroom, comfortable beds

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    4.6
    Very uncomfortable and will never stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was the size of a prison cell, it was 30+ degrees on the day with the afternoon sun hitting the window of the room with no air-con facility in the hotel, carpet was dirty and full of stains, bed was small and uncomfortable. I will never stay in this hotel again. Should be rated 1 star.

    The location was great considering I needed easy access to public transport. Staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    6.3
    Very good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lots of sound from traffic, and we stayed on the 6th floor. Uncomfortable bed and pillow. Bathroom old and little smelly.

    Very good location, thats everything positive about this hotel. Only 10m from the hotel there is access to the Main train station.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    4.2
    Look elsewhere
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Communication poor -emailed in advance and no response, didn't answer queries, no response to questions at reception. Parking - not clear originally that it would be that expensive or not part of the hotel, only cheaper if you left car and didn't use.Poor cleanliness- carpet in room stained all over and looked old and not cleaned properly. Bathroom stained and shower curtain meant water all over floor. Generally tired looking hotel.Bed was very uncomfortable. The room was very hot, no fan, huge window but very noisy outside to have open.

    Location was good

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    7.1
    The location from the Hauptbahnhof and the reasonable...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was very warm and we were unable to sleep. The hotel does not have air conditioning and the room's window did not have a screen. Eventually, our room was so hot that we decided to open the window and let the bugs in anyways. Additionally, the close location to the Hauptbahnhof meant that we heard cars and people all night through the open window.

    The location from the Hauptbahnhof and the reasonable weekend price were the greatest advantages.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    7.9
    Good... but needs ventilation
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My family of 5 was split into a two bedroom and a 3 bedroom because they didn't have anything large enough for us. My real complaint is the lack of airflow in the rooms. We had east facing windows and unless the windows were left wide open at night, it got very stuffy and hot. If you were brave enough to leave the windows vented at the top you were greeted by the drunken revelry at 2 AM from the folks leaving the pubs. I also didn't want to leave the windows wide open because of the fire escape right outside our window. I know it's for fire safety but there is nothing to stop an unwanted intruder either. Darned if you do, darned if you don't. We went with safe but sweaty. A fan could help remedy this issue. I'm sure in the winter this is a moot point.

    You really can't beat how close it is to the train station. That was super handy. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Very accommodating in putting my family's two rooms side by side.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    8.3
    Great location, just wish it had A/C during those summer nights.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No air conditioning in the room meant that it became very warm at night when trying to sleep. Only option to help cool down the room is opening the window which means street noise and bugs. Only criticism of an otherwise very nice place.

    The location was fantastic. You can literally see the hotel from the central train station. Staff was very friendly and helpful. There's a bar/cafe attached that offers draft beers and pizzas. Rooms were a good size for the price, and bathrooms were clean and functional.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    6.7
    Visiting Munich - great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The carpet needs changing. One housekeeper butted into the room without knocking the door.

    Great location just opposite Munich Central train station. The Augustine Keller is just down the road.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    8.8
    Very well located - opposite Hauptbahnof Nord.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A hostel had opened almost opposite my room - noisy young people until 05.00. Room comfortable though bathroom a bit cramped.

    Very well located - opposite Hauptbahnof Nord. Room comfortable .

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    6.7
    The property was very conveniently located near train...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very warm - no air conditioner in room - there was a bottle of water in the room which we assumed was complimentary since there was no indication otherwise- on checking out receptionist said if we used water there was a 4 Euro charge- this was not mentioned at check in and no note in the room to say otherwise

    The property was very conveniently located near train station- great location for all tour stops and it was only a short distance into the centre of munich

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    9.2
    accessible hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the quality of the tap water is reallly poor. the water is very dirty! room is big. the environment is not noisy at night. you can find good wifi and very very accessible hotel. You can find supermarket and pharmacy nearby!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    7.5
    Excellent location, though it could do some improvements
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There are a few things I didn't like inside the hotel room I stayed: 1. No complimentary drinks inside the room. 2. Heaters are not working. Towel heater is not working as well. 3. Timber laminate floor finish is popping out and making creaking noises 4. Shower/bath tub is small when you close the shower curtains. And no matter how you try to maneuver, the shower curtains keeps on sticking to my skin- and I'm small size. 5. Some nights the room feels hot, even if the temperatures are cold outside. Need an AC (Maybe? Because I didn't see one in the room we stayed in). 6. There are brochure, maps and guides available at Level 1.

    The Hotel has an excellent location. It's very easy to find and is walking distance away from the Old Town. Room is relatively quiet (we were at the corner room at Level 7 - right hand side after you climbed one flight of stairs). Unless our next door neighbors are just quiet, and we were lucky during our stay. Staff are helpful when questions are asked. There's a vending machine at Level 1, in case you need a drink and the supermarkets are closed. Right across the street is Radius tours where we booked walking tours with excellent guides. At Karstadt (some 5 minutes away, opposite main entrance to Central Station) GreyLines tours offer day trips to Salzburg and Neuschwanstein.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    6.7
    Excellent staff, less excellent hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room extremely small, beds along wall , 2 ft from bed to other wall, Small toilet with minimum shower area. Very small window. Overall the room was hardly acceptable.

    The small window facing a main street with much traffic and trams still gave reasonable sound proofing.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    10
    Great location and staff. Sofa beds were a let-down.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately, the model of sofa bed in the rooms were a bit uncomfortable to sleep in and parts of the frame stuck out on either side.

    Great location and friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    5.4
    The location of the hotel and food was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The receptionists are not at all friendly. The location of the room was not good. We had to pay high price compared to the standard rooms and eventually had to climb stairs to reach the room.

    The location of the hotel and food was excellent.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    6.3
    Okay for one night stay in Transfer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of "fresh air" in the room. Dark carpet on the floors. Bottle of water at almost 8% (of the price for one night) seemed too expensive for the quality of the room.

    Closeness to Train Station, the reception hostess very welcoming. Silence.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2017

    5.8
    Not as good as advertised
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room - Comfort Double Room with Sofa - didn't match the pictures. Actual room was much smaller, not so nice, no Sofa, no carpet, just the double bed and an extra single, right next to it. I asked the night receptionist about the room and she said they didn't have the room showed in the pictures (?!). Telephone and heating didn't work. Room on the 7th floor, lift until the 6th - not informed. My reservation was collected in the thrash can, although I had informed I would check-in between 0:00 - 1:00AM.

    Convenient - across from the Hauptbahnhof, quite close to Karlplatz. Clean.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2017

    8.3
    Good hotel for affordable price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was really uncomfortable and wifi was very slow

    Location, location, location! Nice staff, but took them a lot of time to make the check in. Bathtub in the room

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    9.2
    It is in a very convenient location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Only the price of breakfast!

    It is in a very convenient location. We have stayed there a number of times over perhaps the last six or seven years. It is continually improving. This rating would not be the same if we stayed in their cheapest rooms. They are neat, clean and tidy but very small. We try to make a point of always booking a 'Comfort room'. They are somewhat larger with some space to "swing a cat". I believe they also have another grade of room above "Comfort" but we think the Comfort rooms are really quite good. We have breakfasts outside the hotel. There is a large number of places within a short walk where you can take breakfast. The breakfasts provided in the hotel are very good but quite expensive. We normally had breakfast for two for less than the price of one in the hotel.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    7.5
    Great location, so close to the Hauptbahnhof, it was easy to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Light-switches at the bedhead were in such a position that I woke myself up on several occasions during the night by moving in my sleep and switching on the light.

    Great location, so close to the Hauptbahnhof, it was easy to get around the city and see things

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    3.3
    Old fashioned hotel opposite the central train station
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was built in the 50s, looks old fashioned, furnished in poor taste, rooms are tiny, dirty, the carpeting is covered with ugly stains, the wifi does not work at all. Does not deserve three stars

    Proximity to the central train station

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    4.2
    Bed bugs!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bed bugs!!! + filthy carpet flooring

    Stayed in September 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: