Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Alpenhotel Wittelsbach This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Hauptstr. 48, 83324 Ruhpolding, Germany

#8 of 19 hotels in Ruhpolding

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 199 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 20

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    Just simply a very pleasant hotel; always a warm welcome by owners Anja and Marcus. Rooms are well appointed and comfortable with a bit of nostalgia but modern. Love the restaurant with great Bavarian dishes; excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Newly renovated rooms with 5-star beds! Owner Markus Eisman, wife, daughter and staff were exceptionally attentive. They will Not disappoint. Spectacular Autumn scenery and warm weather.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Their small double room is really small.. the attached bathroom even more so. Not their fault, but watch out while booking...

    Location is fantastic Breakfast is very good Staff is super friendly They have a vending machine with toiletries, which is very convenient.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    we liked everything

    The Owners and staff have done an outstanding work! its perhaps one of our best experiences ever. We strongly recommend this to anyone who is thinking about spending some time in one of the most beautiful areas in the world. You will feel welcomed and among friends.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only small point is that perhaps s complimentary bottle of water could be made available in the room.

    Everything about this hotel is great. Marcus Eissman the owner is probably one of the best hotel owners that I have come across. He is friendly, full of humour and cares passionately about his hotel, family and staff. The food is first class and the beverage and drink selection second to none. What more is there to say?

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Somewhere to put my toilet bag in the bathroom, bit a minor quibble.

    Staff were ever so friendly at this family run hotel. Bar had good choice of gins (I had a martini on the terrace) and there was real tea at breakfast (not your usual lukewarm water and a teabag). Decor was a distinctive, not your standard hotel style. Hotel was also conveniently on the Maximilian Way (E4) which I was walking.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room advertised as having a shower and a bath but it was a hand held shower over the bath so you had to sit in the bath (which was badly stained) and hold the shower over your head. Felt the description of the room could have made this clearer. It was very warm when we were there. No aircon and with the window open it was noisy first thing in the morning. We had a room with a window not facing the main road. Although the website was in English and both owners spoke excellent English the restaurant menu was only available in German and whilst the waitress was happy to translate we prefer to study the menu ourselves. It would have been so much easier if the menu was in English especially as the owners did speak English. One of the reasons why we didn't eat at the hotel. We had 3 rooms but the WiFi signal was only strong enough in 1 room. No coffee or tea making facilities in the room and a 2 euro charge for luke warm bottled water which in most hotels is usually complimentary. Had a very awkward conversation about where we could park at check in. Made to feel as if we were a nuisance or asking a stupid question.

    Great location in the centre of the village. Room was a good size. Breakfast was OK. Plenty of tourist information leaflets in the room.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Great Staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant, room and public rooms were attractive and immaculate. The staff outstanding in friendliness and helpfulness.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was a little dated, but very clean and comfortable.

    They have a beautiful garden and serve a delicious breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Everything is great! The staff always meet you with smile! Meal in restuarant and drinks in the bar were various and super!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Charming hotel, great location, great hosts and staff; always love coming here. No complaints.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly, attentive, and clean hotel

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Very noisy with windows open. Had room facing road/restaurants so noisy until very late (rooms facing garden maybe better but did not get that despite requesting).No air conditioning so unbearably hot. Wifi very patchy in room.

    Location in town handy for restaurants. Owners friendly and helpful (in a very professional , "cold" way). Breakfast good

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This Hotel was very much a family run business, the standard of English outweighed my German. Always helpful when questioned on local amenities.

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A great hotel with attention to all the details. They organized bed and pots for water and food for our dog.

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing! just the wi-fi signal was very weak in our room

    lovely place and wonderful staff

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    No aircon but at this price I didn't expect it.

    Great location, super helpful multilingual staff, great restaurant, fantastic breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Relaxed and welcoming.

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The fact I could come and go when I pleased.

There are also 6 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 20

Guests also reviewed these properties: