Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Wittelsbacher Zollhaus This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Donaugasse 10-12, 94474 Vilshofen an der Donau, Germany

#1 of 3 hotels in Vilshofen an der Donau

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 369 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 40

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not too far from the train station. Right in the old town on the river front. Beautiful to be able to stroll along the promenade. Lovely little village with good selection of restaurants. Small boutique hotel. Very quaint. Good breakfast buffet.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited WiFi, only good in public areas.

    The location was very good, breakfast was excellent, loved the relaxed feel of the environment. Very helpful and friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location for our river boat trip. Very friendly staff and dog. Huge breakfast. Clean and comfortable building in the old town. Highly recommend this place.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Reception difficult to find (just a register near the kitchen on first floor), greeted by two large dogs running free in that area when we arrived. Hotel's parking space small and fully occupied, large public parking nearby, but only cost-free on holidays.

    Great breakfast buffet, clean room, central location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    parking limited out front, we arrived late as restaurant was closing so we were able to get a spot. Timing will be key. No AC, so make sure you come fall though spring if heat affects you. We were on the 3 floor and water pressure was not the best, but we made it work

    great staff, we arrived very late but they were waiting for us and even had beer available. They have a lift, nice for older people indeed. Place has a lot of character, as all older buildings so. We arrived late and the Christmas market was closed, but it look very nice, we will be back again to try it out. Great location to river, old city, etc. Room was warm when we arrived, heat was on, danke. Breakfast was good, no issues

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Like a lot of European hotels, the bed is split in the middle with 2 single duvets. No problem if your single , but if you're not.......! Also a bit firm for our tastes

    An old style hotel with modern amenities. Central to the old city and river cruise departures. Excellent staff. Great breakfast. And we loved Murphy the golden retriever hotel mascot.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location. Excellent for a cruise on the Danube. It can be walked. They took our bags to the ship while we went to town for a strudel. Nice staff and a nice dog

    Super clean and relaxing place. Excellent breakfast and restaurant.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing.

    A brilliant place with several public rooms decorated with many quirky objects. A huge choice for breakfast including Prosecco. Everywhere light and airy including the bedroom with windows overlooking the Danube. There is even a barfootball machine.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It served the purpose for our use!

    We stayed here because we were taking a river cruise the next day. PERFECT location to walk to the ship. Quaint place and perfect for us. No frills but perfect!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air-con, very laud church bells during the night every 15 minutes, we could not sleep because of the heat and the noise, very bad darkening of the rooms, the curtains should be longer and should stop the light.

    Proximity to the river.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Kitchen smell in the corridor, despite being on upper floor. WiFi reception not so optimal, probably due to the thickness of the walls or router location.

    Location easy to reach, on the way to Passau. Parking just in front of hotel. Walk in to town very easy, as well as to Christmas Market (arranged on the bank of the Danube rivers). Excellent breakfast, with so much choice.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Check in was a little confusing. A little bit of a language barrier.

    This hotel is in a great location. We were booked on a river cruise and just had to walk out the door, turn right, and get on the ship. Very convenient to the main street of Vilshofen. Our room was sparkling clean and comfortable. The included breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff, the Food AND the Overall Price benefit. The Cousine where breath taking. I was surprised how good the Food was. Normally i don't eat in the Hotel i stay.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really.

    Excellent!!!! Very nice room, recently remodeled, very comfortable. Best Cordon Bleu I've had in 25 years. Breakfast was quite extensive, fresh, plentiful. Most likely the closest hotel to AMA Waterways, river cruise dock.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No a/c. No fans. No screens on windows..

    Best breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Television stations were hard to understand to get to work.

    The breakfast was amazing. So many different options, it was hard to choose.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location, very nice stall, great breakfast, nicely decorated. Overall can only recommend.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no breakfast before 8.00 on weekends

    great hotel, nice staff, comfy bed

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly stuff, great location and the breakfast was amazing :)

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were large with good en-suites.very clean and comfy.The breankdast was first class

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was abysmal - too short and too soft.

    The location was nice, the breakfast was good, the staff was friendly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rather neutral place to stay, just to have a sleeping place. The breakfast was very well.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast great

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Across the street from the boat.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Service on check in was very poor

    Good location in an interesting little town

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was very cold when we first came in.

    It was very nice and i would come again.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All perfect

    Super Hotel. Very scenic, full of charming details. The room was large. Breakfast was amazing.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff were helpfull and friendly and they try to do their best to provide what we are asking for.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed was to low. No coffee maker in room

    Location to river boat cruise

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No credit card facility.

    The beautiful view.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely traditional hotel in an excellent location. Will definitely come back.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Historic building, friendly staff

    Stayed in May 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Short walk from train station. Wonderful place to stay for our AMA River Cruise to Budapest. Cute village, great breakfast in hotel, & our ship docked just outside our window. Hotel offered to take our bags to the ship for us.

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    They were remodeling the ground floor. Did not detract from service or our room however.

    Very close to the Danube where the river cruises dock. Also very close to the main downtown area.

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Totally great place. My first impression on walking in was that I might not like it. But the staff and the room won me over. It was one of the best places we stayed in Europe.

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Superb service. We had to leave early so The hotel staff provided us a bag with a lot of things to eat for breakfast. Nice spacious double room, lots of room for our 2 kids.

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    nothing! just perfect!

    I liked all, from the arrival, the dinner, the service, it was just perfect! The kitchen was an apsolute suprise! I do not remember when I had last time such a perfect steak!

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Excellent breakfast! Nice and proper room. Very kind staff.

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Poor WiFi connection.

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Building site

    Lovely staff!!!

There are also 12 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 40

Guests also reviewed these properties: