Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of wombat´s CITY Hostel - Berlin This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Alte Schönhauser Str. 2, Mitte, 10119 Berlin, Germany

#104 of 579 hotels in Berlin

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2245 hostel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.8

  • Free WiFi

    7.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was very comfortable, good lighting, big windows. Opened on the street, lively but noise not a problem. Very friendly and helpful staff; cleaned room daily. Location fantastic, easy walking to many things, but also transit system which we used (get the pass, it is worth it!!). Breakfast is a good deal, good selection and good value.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The traffic from the roads nearby was very noisy in the morning - had to keep the windows closed!

    We stayed in one of the apartments which has a living area, small kitchen and a balcony - it was huge! Nice and clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi doesn’t really work in the rooms and it’s still quite slow in the lobby

    There’s a power outlet by each bed and a light so that’s handy. The lockers are big enough to fit your hand carry in.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No room service available.

    The location is ideal for a traveler. Train U stop is at about 2 minutes walk. Most of the attractions are close, which you can go by walk of about 30 mins, but since most of the attractions are among the way, 30 minutes doesn’t feel bad at all. You stop and explore along the way. The staff at the hotel was very helpful. They offered breakfast for a nominal charge. I stayed in a private room which was neat and clean, and comfortable. A convenience shop (super market) is just a minute walk away. A big shopping mall, Alexa, is just one station away and it takes hardly 5 minutes to get there.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff weren't so helpful. I changed rooms and realised I left my belongings in the previous room and wasn't allowed to go back in to retrieve them.

    The facilities were great - good common area

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfortable beds, great central location. Close to metro station. Nice chill out zone downstairs. Clean bathrooms joined onto rooms. Lockers included. Luggage storage available. Roof top bar drink on arrival!

    Nothing

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wombat's was a very good hostel, in terms of location (1 min by foot of one train station) and overall accommodation. The bar in the terrace, together with the nice view from the top, make you very comfortable. The lockers were pretty large and its security very efficient. Beds had power plugs and a small table to place your things.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed sheets are oldish as well as blankets. It is hot at night although ventilator is available. There are many bars near the hostel, that’s why it is noisy outside all night long.

    Amazing bar on the rooftop! Pretty close to Alexanderplatz, only 8 min walk. Metro station is a min walk. Bathroom is clean. Convenient wardrobes.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a bit noisy at night sometimes.

    The rooftop gives you an amazing view of the city, the location is perfect and the rooms are very spacious, making it easy to share space with others.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were no soap, shampoo and body wash at toilet of the woman only room.

    Good location and VERY kind and helpful staff. There are nice restaurant near the hostel a lot!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet is abysmal; if you want any somewhat usable connection, you're forced to the lobby and hang out on furniture that has had probably hundreds of people use it the same day. Which, again, isn't uncommon for hostels.

    It's pretty much par for the course as much as hostels go. Staff is friendly, bar is fun, location is convenient enough to go sightseeing.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I like everything.

    I stay 2 nights in this wonderful hostel. I am happy that stay there. It's really clean and everybody so friendly. Food is so tasty. I really enjoy my stay. Most of all I like night shift reception. They are very helpful and nice. Thank you guys, for warm welcome and sweet hospitality. Cheers, Nina

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The ubication is perfect. Near town and near the train station. The staff was really friendly and kind. The place is good, confortable, clean and full of great people. They have a nice kitchen and an amazing roof.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There were a lot of teenagers on my floor making loud noises until late at night.

    Breakfast is good and also room and shower. The highlight is the terrace with an incredible view over Berlin. Staff super friendly as well. Excellent neighborhood, near from 2 subway stations.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When there was a fire, the staff did not give us any information on what was going on outside. And when we finally returned inside they said "Don't worry if you smell smoke in your room open a window".

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was OK

    Everything was perfect! Amazing terrace with best views, good location, helpful and polite personnel, bar in hostel, ability to rent a bike, showing room in the rooms :)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was a bit squeaky due to wear, so I was on upper bed and could not get down without noise

    One of the nicest hostels I have been to. Good and cheap breakfast, great terrace and all facilties

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Perfect location, good vibe, nice bar on roof and good size & clean rooms (private room). Staff was helpful and breakfast excellent for the price (4,50). Free luggage storage before and after check-in / out. Really enjoyed our stay, thank you!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms was not cleaned and this was very bad specially for dormitories. The bathroom sinky was also clougged

    Really nice breakfast for a reasonable price for the guests

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff could be friendlier and more helpful. Besides handing me a key they didn’t tell me stuff to do or anything like advertised or like other hostels do. They just wanted to be done with you. I thought it would be more but it wasn’t. Not as much like advertised.

    I stayed in a girls room and it was very comfortable with a clean ensuite. It had transportation near it but still felt a little more isolated that I’d thought. It was very clean. They store your bags if you get there early. The main area was super nice but no one was talkative.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived early before the check-in timing, and they allowed us to keep our luggage so we could move around the place. Checking in is very fast and smooth. The staff were very friendly and accommodating and the place is so Cool! the free drink, the bar at the roof top and all! Cool! Thumbs up! Highly recommended. Will surely be back!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing location, friendly staff, clean rooms and facilities, actually the private bathroom in the rooms was one of the biggest and cleanest I’ve seen in a hostel. AMAZING bar with rooftop terrace overlooking Berlin. I will stay here again next time I come to Berlin.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Bed in 6-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, in a popular area and close to the metro. Staff very kind and friendly. I really enjoyed the breakfast with the magnificent view of the TV Tower.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    This hostel is like a big hotel but with shared rooms. You don't have the hostel environment which stimulates you to get in touch with another travelers. You have only one bathroom per room and there is no bathrooms available in the hallways, so if the bathroom is occupied, you have to wait for your time. At the check-in they give you the sheets and you have to make your on bed, and at the check out you have to bring back the sheets with you. If you need a towel they don't give it to you, you have to rent it for 1,50 euro.

    The lockers inside the room are big enough to fit your luggage (medium size) and a backpack if you have it. Good bars and restaurants nearby and the location is reasonable near in a walking distance of Alexanderplatz (where is the TV Tower). At the bar, in the rooftop you have an amazing view to the TV Tower. Once you check in, they give to you a free drink at the bar. The staff is really kind and available to answers all your questions.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air France lost my suitcase in Poland and I could leave Poland until they found it. I let the staff of the hostel as soon as I found out that I could not leave Poland until I recovered my suitcase. Even though I booked a non-refundable room I think they should have been reasonable and sympathetic to my situation and not charge me for my reservation!!! It eas not my fault or change of plans that I couldn’t make it the trip to Berlin! I tried to negotiate with them that at least they could consider charging me only half of it then. Nope! No deal! They are always sold out and I DO NOT believe that my bed was empty during the days that I was supposed to be there!! They did not EVEN offered me to change the date!! I think this was very cold-heart rom their side not putting themselves on my shoes!!! They work with travelers mainly backpackers so they should be flexible depending on the situation!!! Because of that I was late for my barcelona reservation as well in another hostel and they were totally comprehensible and changed the dates with no extra charge!!! I got very disappointed with them, Booking didn’t help that much either and I would DEFINITELY NOT recommend them to any of my friends and acquaintances!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The wifi was really patchy in the rooms, but worked well downstairs where there are sofa bed type things to sit on with convenient plugs The matresses were a little bit thin, but not the worst

    the room was lovely with a little balcony to sit out on. The location was perfect for us so we could walk to most places and get the train to those that were further away. Free drink tokens were lovely

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A big hostel, clean and well organized, the place is perfect, lots of cafe's and other things around, u-banh is around the corner. I needed to stay a day longer, that was not a problem even during big holidays.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I found hair in my bad sheets, so that was disappointing. Believe it was just mistake but still not nice to see.

    Bad was comfy, nice facilities, good breakfast and lounge.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Apartment with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had an apartment with balcony. There was everything that a guest needed: towels, dishes, a small kitchen. I liked that there were a lot of windows and it was very sunny in the rooms. The apartment was cleaned every day during our stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The proximity of historic center and the area around the Wombat. I Felt confortable and I enjoy eating very near by the hostel. I enjoy having a big breakfast in the top roof before a whole day out and feel fine to come back an to have a fresh beer looking at the city at the end of the day! I recomend this place; Corinne 57 years old ;)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property is located next to Rosa Luxembourg platz U bahn station from where you can go to Alexander platz which is the central station. Plus REWE the super market is really nearby

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My personal bag was stoled even it was in the locker, not a safe place, lose personal things and my camera and the manager did nothing to help.

    Confortável beds

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had an very unpleasant stay here from moment arrived reception was rude. Had to wait until 3pm to check in hours after arriving and when you are travelling overnight and haven’t slept for 24 hours accomodation could and should be more accomodating. When I did get to room was filled with a bunch of goons. Staff were rude, room was uncomfortable. The city of Berlin was awesome so the visit was great pity the accomodation was so poor didn’t spend much time here other than to sleep wouldn’t recommend plenty of other hostels to choose from in Berlin would never stay here again.

    Rooftop bar the only decent personal space you get in this hostel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the room was very comfortable and clean, people very relaxed and silent. the area is safe and from the hostel you can reach many attractions and public transport very easily. the staff was nice, ready to answer your questions.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no bar or food to eat at night if you need to.

    The breakfast is so complete you can choose from fruits to chocolate, yogurt, etc and its not expensive. The building is very nice too.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nice comfy room, with ensuite and balcony; clean, helpful staff and great value all you can eat breakfast for 4.50. Location is also very convenient. Very enjoyable stay :)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only problem is the WiFi, it didn’t work properly and it went up and down, more down than up I have to say.

    The staffs was really helpful. The barroom, toilets and shower very clean and comfortable. The roof top and the breakfast are amazing.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 6-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds are very low and not situated for taller people

    The social atmosphere was very good. Lovely all girls dormitory and excellent facilities throughout the hostel

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 6-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows could of been better. But i didn't let that ruin my trip.

    The rood terrace was awesome, and so was the bar. The staff were really friendly. Would definitely recommend/go back here. Plus the lockers were such a good idea, I've stopped in many hostels and never seen anything like those lockers.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The cleaning of the bathrooms inside the dorms should be better.

    I've been booking stays at Wombats in different cities every time I get the chance. Berlin wasn't different. The hostel is located near the Alexanderplatz and there are tram stops and a subway station very close. There are good options to eat just in front of the hostel. The structure is good and the same as the other units. The best thing about this hostel is the terrace. You get an amazing view in breakfast and in the evening the bar opens. Which is always nice to hang out if you are too tired to go pub crawling. The staff was very helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 6-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing much! Only that there weren't any towels and we had to make our own bedsheets.

    The location: very good and it had a seriously nice view of the city! Staff: friendly and was always there to help if we needed anything, even at night. The rooms: comfortable and clean, but there weren't any towels and we had to make our own bedsheets. The bar: great, full of people and music(but not too loud), so we made some friends too. We also had breakfast there and they offer you so many things to eat and to drink with just 4,50€, so it is really worth it. There is also a really comfortable lobby where you can spend some hours and they can also keep your baggage for a while after the check out so you don't have to carry them around the city, if you are leaving the city much later. Overall we are very pleased with our stay!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It totally met my expectations. The location is very good, close the tube station. The breakfast is very good for value. I'd have like to go in summer as the terrace looks great. The staff is friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The kitchen was fairly small but wasn't an issue at any point. The corridors were sometimes noisy at night and woke us up.

    The reception and other communal spaces (particularly the bar) were very nice. The room was good though basic and the individual lockers were a decent size and didn't require a padlock. The reception gave out towels as required which we didn't know before arrival.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was so nice especially the guy who works at the bar upstairs .. there's such a chill vibe around the place really cool atmosphere would definitely go back again

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi in rooms doesn’t work. They give my a room in 6th floor and 7th floor it’s really noisy at nights, can’t fell asleep before 1am. Bar on 7th it’s really bad idea for guest on 6th floor.

    Location, staff, breakfast and services are much more better than common hostales.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Plugs away from mirror Kitchen 5 floors away No eggs left at 10am although on till 10.30am

    Most staff really great Except lady on reception morning 14th March Great location Fab bar upstairs

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The wifi was soso and breakfast could have had an extra touch. For exemple, waffles or something like just as the Wombats in London.

    Lovely hostel in the heart of Berlin. The view from the terrace is amazing, the hostel is confortable and has all necessary amenities. Rooms are spacious and you'll never feel squished. very good value.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only that would have been nice would be a comfy lounge area with a TV.

    Good sized lockers, which locks with your key card. Lovely shower, bedding and towel provided through Booking.com. Lovely helpful and friendly staff. Good Wifi yummy breakfast, and a free drinks voucher for the 7th floor bar which looks over the city! A great stay and great location!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    In one of the nights, the room next door was making a lot of noise around 1 am, and as we were in Berlin to get to know the city and wake up really early, we wanted to sleep. So I asked the reception to warn the noise-makers to keep quiet, and they did: problem solved. If I could give Wombat's one piece of advice it would be: to incentive people to stay in your hostels in all of your cities, you could offer the guests free things if ever staying in a Wombat's hostel for a second, third, fourth....time! There are some hostels that do that in South America and I found that really cool.

    Staying at the Wombat's Hostel was a great experience. I've been only there for 2 days in a room for 4 people with my girlfriend and we had a great time there. Just as we arrived, we got free towels, one free drink each at the hostel bar (which has some great prices of drinks but I also recommend walking around the neighbourhood to find some places to buy german beer for 1 euro). Our room was really spacious with a locker that worked with our cards to enter the room - great security and no need to padlocks. My girlfriend could use the hair dryer from the hostel for free - you only need to let 10 euros as a caution at the reception that you get back when you return the item. The room was cosy and the heater worked really well. There was a kitchen that you could use to make your meals as well as two fridges to keep your stuff labeled. Finally, they have a great view from the TV tower of Berlin!! I really think that I would stay at the same hostel if ever in Berlin or one of the othes cities that it's in.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Their prices can vary greatly depending on if you are going during a weekend or weeknight stay. Keep that in mind as you are booking.

    Great location and I felt very safe as a female solo traveler. The breakfast was a good value for the money. Wonderful hostel, comfortable beds, and quiet rooms!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattress was a bit on the thin side but not too bad.

    Good location. Easy to get to everything either walking or by tram or underground. Staff were friendly. Room and bathroom were clean. Light and plug by bed. Good size lockers in room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    WiFi could be better. One of us of left her jacket in waiting room and someone stole it - nobody has seen nothing...

    I didn't expect that this hostel would be so comfortable. There is everything you need: really clean and spacious rooms, a helpful staff, a bar, a good location and more - free voucher for a drink in a bar :)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wifi isn't the best--worked well for everything except phone calls. Not a deal breaker.

    Great location! Lockers were nice. Bar upstairs has great prices on breakfast and drinks. Easy to meet people.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hostel was clean with great policies about not drinking in the rooms or causing too much noise after 12! The bar and breakfast on the roof was very nice and the location was ideal, only a 15min walk from museum island!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wish the pillows were flufflier and the mattress more comfortable.

    The staff was alright. The breakfast was good and quite general, the wifi was quite good in our dormitory. It was easy to access and they have all the facilities we need like books to read, laundry, bar and kitchen.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 6-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were in Berlin for 4 days and 3 nights. The location is really good, super close to the subway station so it was very easy to go out. We stayed in a 6 bed girls room and we had a great time. It was very nice to meet other people. They offer towels for free and I think a blow dryer too. You can store your luggage there for free before check in and also after check out, which is very useful. Not an option to check in before 2pm though, so plan ahead. On our first nigth we went to the hostel's bar on the top floor and had drinks with our roommates. The drinks are very cheap and pretty good. They also have a pool table and I think some board games. One of the nights we went there some people were playing beer pong as well. I would just recommend going later, because that's when most people go up. The only thing we absolutely hated about the bar was the music. The girls who were working there weren't very nice either and the music was very slow and old. They had a spotify playlist which could've been much better. The hostel offers a all you can eat breakfast for only 4,50. It's very very good. They offer many different options of food, including some vegan options (which I was very happy about). They have 2 types of bread, some fruits, yogurts, granola, cereal, different spreads to put on your bread, boiled eggs, cheese and ham for sandwiches, coffee, tea, orange juice, soy milk. I think is definitely worth it. The common areas downstairs were pretty good too, they have a sofa/bed type of couch in the reception where you can chill and relax. There's also a table and a few puffs by the window where you can eat, use your phone, computer or whatever you want. They offer wash and dryer machines but we thought it was pretty pricy, 3,50 to wash and 3 to dry, and the machines are pretty small so you can't fit that much inside. There's a cafe inside the hostel, and 2 of our roommates really liked it.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 6-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    IT was very hot in the room even though we were opening the windows. There is no proper ventilation system in the bathroom and the fan is noisy.

    Fantastic Staff. Very nice breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lockers took a while to figure out, while out the heater was turned off which is a bit troublesome when its -14 outside as it took a while to get warm, take some id, card with a name as you have to leave it for the deposit for the key

    Good location, nice bar on top, the rooms were quite big, elevator, everything you need as its a big place that is versed in everything

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fault

    The best hostel I stayed in during my travels in Berlin. Loved it! Room was super clean(perhaps because it was mainly girls, maybe), and had lockers with key(card key). Staff was super nice and helpful whenever help was needed which was a couple of times. Keep the good work ). Location’s also, a tenner.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 6-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the staff are rude and unhelpful. The beds are not comfortable.

    Facilities are clean. Towels are free and you can borrow a hairdryer and adapter.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    In one of the nights, the room next door was making a lot of noise around 1 am, and as we were in Berlin to get to know the city and wake up really early, we wanted to sleep. So I asked the reception to warn the noise-makers to keep quiet, and they did: problem solved. If I could give Wombat's one piece of advice it would be: to incentive people to stay in your hostels in all of your cities, you could offer the guests free things if ever staying in a Wombat's hostel for a second, third, fourth....time! There are some hostels that do that in South America and I found that really cool.

    Staying at the Wombat's Hostel was a great experience. I've been only there for 2 days in a room for 4 people with my girlfriend and we had a great time there. Just as we arrived, we got free towels, one free drink each at the hostel bar (which has some great prices of drinks but I also recommend walking around the neighbourhood to find some places to buy german beer for 1 euro). Our room was really spacious with a locker that worked with our cards to enter the room - great security and no need to padlocks. My girlfriend could use the hair dryer from the hostel for free - you only need to let 10 euros as a caution at the reception that you get back when you return the item. The room was cosy and the heater worked really well. There was a kitchen that you could use to make your meals as well as two fridges to keep your stuff labeled. Finally, they have a great view from the TV tower of Berlin!! I really think that I would stay at the same hostel if ever in Berlin or one of the othes cities that it's in.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The front desk staff were very rude to us during every encounter we had with them. We have never been to Berlin before so although our questions may have seemed dumb, the excessive eye rolling from the staff was hurtful. We were totally polite so that behavior was not acceptable. Wombats in Budapest a few days prior was great with kind front desk staff so that’s why we chose to stay here. Too bad.

    Warm blankets on the beds, nice laundry room.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bar staff in the evening could've been friendlier. Wi-fi not good in bedrooms, but fine in the lobby and in the bar upstairs (open access- so positive!)

    Super friendly and helpful reception staff. Fantastic breakfast- all you can eat, great variety for €4.50 which sets you up well for the day. Just a couple of minutes away from Rosa-Luxemburg-Platz metro.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 6-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The fact that I couldn't stay longer haha

    The breakfast was a gem! Really cheap and variated! The whole atmosphere was great, and the 7th floor view was extraordinary! *Bonus: I had a crush on one of the reception guys hahahaha

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no towels when we asked for them first time, but next day it was ok. Also light above one of our beds (in 6-dorm) not working well.

    Friendly bar, great breakfast

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not very sociable! No real place to hang out and mingle. Good bike hire, recommend. But Rude staff (older gentlemen), and very grumpy rude barman (dreadlocks) with an interesting Friday night playlist.. I love Bon iver but not at midnight when you're trying to get excited about going out.. great roof top view tho!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast could be free-of-charge since I saw similar ones from other hostels.

    The place was very clean and it felt like I am staying in a hotel, not a hostel. It was just 20m from the subway station, which helped us to protect from cold. Beds and sheets were very clean. The staff was helpful and free PCs in the reception helped me a lot.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I didn't find any towel or soap for the bathroom. I needed to buy them once arrived in Berlin and this is not very comfortable. Regarding the bed, the bottom sheet was too much small so I couldn't put it on the mattress. I advice the property to improve these aspects.

    The position is strategic to visit the city center and east side gallery just walking or reaching the main train - metro stations. Plenty of pubs, bars or restaurant in the area. The room was pretty spacious and the service cleaned the bathroom and the floor in the room every day.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff is nice but they ask for an ID as a deposit and to my concern, this is a form of storage or processing of personal information, and so I question whether the hostel is the institution that actually has that legal right! Also having in mind the fact that I would have been left without documents for the duration of my stay! I asked for another option and it was fine to make a copy of my ID and a money deposit. So why they ask for the ID on the first place at all? - on another note - There were also small patches of mould in the bathroom and it was not satisfyingly clean. The worse are the blankets tho, very dirty! The common areas seem to be lacking a good attention in terms of cleanliness, but that's alright to some extent I understand in the end it's a hostel

    The staff is nice.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing accommodation, central location and the breakfast was brilliant for the price. Rooftop bar had a great atmosphere in the evening and the cocktails were so tasty. The free drinks voucher was a nice little surprise too! Definitely not like your regular hostel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A truly fantastic customer experience from check in to room to room service to check out. I highly recommend this hostel. Well done to the wombat team !!! Mark dublin

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Fitting the bed linen to the bed was a bit annoying, I did find that the sheet didn't fit the mattress too well but this could well be me not being very good at bed making.

    Comfy sturdy beds with good locker facilities and a serviceable bathroom. Good facilities in lobby along with a decent bar on the top floor in a trendy part of Berlin.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Some small things could be better. Late check-in isn't very comfortable. Tiny shower cabin with no shelves inside - nowhere to put your soap or other stuff while you're there. The double-decker bed: when the neighbor above me turned at night it made a noise and was shaky, so I often woke up. Also the roof-top bar was a bit of a disappointment: basically it's the breakfast space with an entrance to the rooftop. At night they just make the lights down and sell some beer and cocktails, but it doesn't make much of a real bar. In the summer the roof is probably cool, but in winter it doesn't add much.

    Clean beds, friendly guys at reception, very well-organized place, clear rules, all-you-can-eat breakfast available for reasonable price, great sofas in the hall to chill while waiting for check-in. WiFi was decent. And they gave me flip-flops for free, just because my size was only with an old design:)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was terrible as were pillows, maybe I’m being dramatic but private rooms that cost extra should have decent beds and pillows.

    Laundry facilities and good location.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Internet in the room was so slow that, in fact, it was non-existent; whereas in the lobby and the bar it worked very well. Just do no expect to check e-mails in your bed.

    Very elementary, but exactly what is needed. Very clean, despite most travelers were young backpackers. And breakfast was excellent for such relatively little money.

    Stayed in January 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse wombat´s CITY Hostel - Berlin traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: