Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Wyndham Garden Bad Malente Dieksee This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Diekseepromenade 13-15, 23714 Malente, Germany

#14 of 20 hotels in Malente

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1403 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.8

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 53

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    10
    Very comfortable bed, very nice pool and jacuzzi, fabulous...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (1 Adult + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Included dinner seemed a bit cheap (turkey ragout and rice), but nevertheless tasty

    Very comfortable bed, very nice pool and jacuzzi, fabulous lake view from the restaurant, very fair price (adult and child 65€ incl. breakfast and dinner).

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    3.8
    Bad experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed two nights with 4 adults and 5 kids for two nights. Old property and our family rooms need to be refurbished. The hotel was next to the lake and a great place to spend a few days 20 years ago. The size of the family rooms (1 adult and 1 teenager) are a desaster, because there is a small bed (90 cm) as a standard. We got a box bed for our teenager and we had no space left. Instead of getting a 3 course meal in the evening for EUR 21 per person they optimized their food costs by presenting a „buffet“. The smallest buffet ever seen. No sufficient parking space, no WIFI which worked (I have been told by the reception desk that Apple has a problem with their iPhones..). Never a 4* hotel. We enjoyed 9 days in the region and all other hotels were very nice

    Breakfast buffet

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    7.5
    TERRIBLE BUFFET DINNER
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room - Lake Side
    • Stayed 1 night

    the worst dinner buffet I HAVE SEEN FOR A LONG TIME. THERE EAS FLEISCHKÄSE RATHER THAN CHICKEN, TURKEY OR SCHNITZEL. WATERMELON IN THE MACDONIA, BUT NO ORANGE NOR FRESH FRUIT - ALL IN ALL VERY POOR CONSIDERING THE EURO 21,- PP PRICE. NOT WOURTHY 3 STAR HOTEL.

    TERRIBLE BUFFET DINNER

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    9.6
    Lovely hotel and vista, good food, facilities and service
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Teenager)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Small quibble: vegetarian dinner options a bit lacking compared to the fish / meat options ie omlette or bruschetta compared to fish fillet or pork escalopes - everything was tasty, though

    Fantastic Buffet breakfast and Leisure area with views across the lake. Half Board 3 course dinner excellent value. Close to Ploen & Eutin; Flensburg (90 mins) and Luebeck (60 mins).

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    10
    Nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It seems to me, after being a guest for several years, that restaurant standard keeps lowering. Breakfast could be more rich with more to choose from, evening half board could be more exquisit.

    The room standard is really good. The hotel building is just great and swimming area as well. The surroundings, the sea, the woods etc. are excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    9.2
    Great views over the lake from a very comfortable bed and...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Lake Side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wireless was sadly unusable and slow.

    Great views over the lake from a very comfortable bed and the balcony. Friendly personnel, great service, and good breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    8.8
    The staff at reception were great, they did their best to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room - Lake Side
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We were unfortunately given a single room in spite of the fact that we had ordered a double room. Staff at reception did their best to solve the problem, but the room we were given was not up to standard with the rooms we normally have when we visit this hotel (at least twice a year).

    The staff at reception were great, they did their best to make us feel welcome. The breakfast was (as always) outstanding!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    4.6
    basic sleep. not comfortable. not able to shower in raised shower had to wash up. Legs cannot raise
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Land Side
    • Stayed 1 night

    honesty from hotel regarding not set up for real handicapped room.

    showers not set up for handicapped .. they are step up and very small. No curtains in bathroom. Hotel across can see directly in. beds are like park benches. Toilet next to extremely hot heater will burn yourself sitting going to bathroom. restaurant food is good and so is personnel . All in all not a great place for handicapped people with mobility issues.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    9.6
    Relaxing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Lake Side
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No complaining.

    We liked the room we got near to the pool-area just as we asked for before we arrived. Super nice room with balcony and coffee-maker. We also liked that the pool-area was open from 7-22. The staff all over the hotel is friendly and service-minded. Nice hotel, and we have already been there 4 times. We will be back.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    5.0
    Need to stay, better to leave!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - Land Side
    • Stayed 1 night

    Horrible WiFi, small breakfest, very old furniture, very old and small elevators, damaged carpets, damaged shower.

    closest to the lake = best location in town

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    10
    The location was great, with a wonderful view of the lake,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Land Side
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location was great, with a wonderful view of the lake, and the staff was very friendly! It is also located close to several restaurants if you are looking to go out for dinner in the evening. It's a very nice place to go to relax, with facilities to enjoy such as an indoor pool, sauna and massage place. However, I do recommend you book the massage in advance as they might be fully booked. We also really enjoyed the breakfast in the mornings, which had a variety of choices!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    9.2
    Great Hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wellness area too small if there are many people. It would be worthwhile expending it.

    Very good food, very friendly staff, great view, nice wellness area

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    8.8
    fantastick hotel and not very expensive
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Lake Side
    • Stayed 1 night

    the weather - HI - HI :):)

    Super hotel and the room we got was extremely nice. Good surroundings and good walks if you have a dog. The staff very professional. The food in the restaurent is good. The breakfast lacks nothing. The stay is not particularly expensive compared to what you gets

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    9.2
    A full English availiable as well as Continental.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room (1 Adult + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night

    No tea/coffee in room.

    A full English availiable as well as Continental. I didn't have evening meal but the restaurant is 4* with superb lakeside views. Reception gave excellent help with a car hire problem. My room with a lake view had a REAL lake view. Would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    7.9
    Okay but not great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is starting to look a bit worn down in some places. The biggest problem with the place was the food. The main dishes at dinner were really boring and outdated. The breakfast was ok but below the standard of similar notrh german hotels.

    The hotel was nice with a great pool and spa area which our 2-year-old son really enjoyed. The location is also beautiful just by the lake. It is a great place to bring children. They are alowed to be noisy and the rooms are big and spacious.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    9.2
    friendly staff and lovely location make this a great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - Land Side
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms are basic

    Everybody was very friendly and helpful. The hotel has a nice restaurant with a great terrace at the Dieksee to watch for instance the sunset. Area is beautiful and invites for long walks and bikerides

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    7.9
    Good value for our family
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Lake Side
    • Stayed 1 night

    Booked a room and got the hotel to bring in 2 ekstra beds for our kids..All was fixed before arrival and no ekstra charge was made.. Breakfast was very good in a very nice restaurant with view over the lake. We spent some time in a nice pool and ate at some local restaurants charging very fair prices.. We could easily get tempted to come back some time..

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2017

    8.8
    Hyggeligt hotel i rolige omgivelser og spa.
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Land Side
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nnothing to complain about.

    We got a better room than we realy booked. with view over the see. room with space and very comfortable. we liked very well the wellness center and the staff.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2017

    7.5
    nice rooms and restaurant both with a wonderful sea view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It would be nice with a sign saying that the sauna area is for both men and woman. Just as a service for foreigners that aren't familiar with the German traditions. Slow wifi.

    nice rooms and restaurant both with a wonderful sea view. Friendly staff. Overall we had a great stay.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2017

    9.2
    Great option to combine relaxation and business if you are in the area
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - Land Side
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    To be very picky: the window in the bathroom could do with a thorough clean and a bit of new paint. The room had a balcony with lovely seaviews but the window could not be opened wide enough to step outside. Bit of a shame.

    This was my second time around. This time I stayed for 9 days and truly enjoyed my stay. Nice pool with long opening hours (7-22:00), sauna and lovely location at the lakeshore. Good breakfast. Nice service. I had to miss breakfast twice due to early appointments in Hamburg and the hotel put together a nice lunchbox instead. Great!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2016

    7.5
    5 nights in Bad Malente Gremsmühlen
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Land Side
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed wasn't quite long enough - I am 1m 93 tall. The shower drained very slowly.

    We were expected and check-in was easy. The hotel is spacious. Breakfast has a very large selection of hot and cold food. The restaurant has views across the lake.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    9.2
    Great and relaxing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Land Side
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nice spa area with a pool, and beautiful location directly on the lake. Our room was very spacious, clean and renovated. The lake-side view was magnificent - both from our room on the fourth floor and the restaurant/breakfast area. Shops and other restaurants were nearby (5-10 minutes' walk). I would come back any time.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    9.2
    Charming hotel, overlooking the lake (beautiful view from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Lake Side
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Parking the car was a lite tricky (not enough parkingspaces) but it worked out OK.

    Charming hotel, overlooking the lake (beautiful view from the balcony). Wonderful breakfast and great food in the restaurant. Lovely pool. The whole hotel had a charming, individual atmosphere (nothing fancy/modern, just the opposite of so many "sterile", boringly "modern" hotels, they all look exactly the same) , we are definitely coming back and can recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful place, near the lake!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Land Side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful place, near the lake! Beautiful wellness center Nice room

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    9.6
    Nice room with lake view, quiet and fantastic breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Land Side
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice room with lake view, quiet and fantastic breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    8.8
    staff very kind
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    elevator didnt work and doesnt go up to 3rd floor

    staff very kind

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    5.8
    Internet did not work outside the reception
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Land Side
    • Stayed 1 night

    Internet did not work outside the reception

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    10
    Good value for the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    It is always clean and comfortable and the staff provides excellent service

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    10
    Very pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Land Side
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nice breakfast. Attentative staff. Friendly atmosphere. We have been there 3 times in 2017.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    10
    Great hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - Land Side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything is Perfect ! I will come bac 100 %

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    10
    perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Lake Side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent Location Charming and relaxing area Perfect service

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    9.6
    Excellent location, top level service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Lake Side
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Housekeeping was delayed one day.

    The lake view was great. The room was big and comfortable. The breakfast buffet was excellent.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    10
    The views and the spaarea.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The views and the spaarea.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    7.9
    Location and view is just awsome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Land Side
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All hotel feels a tiny bit tired

    Location and view is just awsome

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    10
    Fantastic restaurant within the home;
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Fantastic restaurant within the home;

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    8.8
    brilliant view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Lake Side
    • Stayed 1 night

    Brilliant view from balcony over the lake

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2016

    9.2
    Lovely
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - Land Side
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi is a little weak at times.

    Located directly at the lakeshore, with a nice indoor pool and wellness area, good breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2016

    10
    Best in Malente
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Land Side
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ved helpful staf

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    7.9
    A nice location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Land Side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A very nice and peaceful spot direct on the lake with a nice scenery

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    7.1
    Fantastic location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was not serviceminded at all. Not a friendly attitude at all. Too bad since the hotel as such is very nice.

    Fantastic location.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    7.9
    Nice hotel, good location and helpful staff but the comfort in the room was not so good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room - Lake Side
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The beds was too soft/not good. The chairs in the room was not good.

    Lovely view and nice balkon. A girl in the reception was very helpful.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    10
    Great breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Land Side
    • Stayed 1 night

    wifi didn't work

    Great breakfast

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2016

    9.6
    The food was below standard.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The food was below standard. Breakfast was of poor quality, especially the bread and cheese. Dinner was not especially good either and it's the first time in Germany that We experienced poorly cooked white asparagus and a horrible sauce hollandaise. There where no managers to be seen at any time during our 4 meals in the restaurant.

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2016

    7.9
    Super location by the lake.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    We arrived at 21.10 ant the restaurant was closed at 21.00 and no other restaurant was open in the area. So we had to drive to the nearest McDonald's. Not good! I believe that at such a nice resort hotel as this, the restaurant should be open at least to 22 or 23.

    Super location by the lake. Great atmosphere.

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2016

    4.2
    We liked the nature and the suroundings
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The hotel is absolutely not a 4 star!! It needs a renovation; it was so humid in the room; carpets in the hole were dirty, old, specialy the one in front of the elevator; shame. Stuff not that kind, rather strange and reserved; morning buffe is aboslutely not on the level of 4 star, not even 3 star; It is not possilble to pay with a credit card in the restaurants around in the area??? In Germany?? Bill of 120 euros has to be paid in cash!! Who is runing around today with so much cash in the pocket?? So my husband had to stress and to run around in the middle of the nigt to find the cash, and we had to stay as a hostage in the restaurant! Horrible experience.

    We liked the nature and the suroundings

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2016

    7.5
    Decent breakfast with a great view of the lake in a very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    One of the younger female receptionists on our arrival (28.12.2015 at 15.00) lacks socail competence skills ie. little flexibility in dealing with various issues and furthermore poor English knowledge (she is maybe wrongly placed at frontline probably). We misplaced one of our keys for a couple of hours. The hotel has no spare keys, just one general master key for all the 70 rooms. Never experienced this principle before and very poor service.

    Decent breakfast with a great view of the lake in a very nice dining hall. Nice heated spa swimpool with good sauna. Good views from our rooms of the lake. Generally a nice 4-star hotel. Value for money.

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2015

    10
    Service
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    We arrived and they didn't register our registration. We had to spend the first night somewhere else even though we had a booking confirmation. They got us a new not so great place close by.

    Service Location Was fantastic Breakfast was great

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2016

    5.8
    Very basic facilities for the price, no blinds on a clear...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very basic facilities for the price, no blinds on a clear bathroom window

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2016

    10
    Nice wellness, big breakfast, nice lokation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nice wellness, big breakfast, nice lokation

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2016

    9.6
    Very nice area, personal very kind and welcoming, very good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Sauna was not really hot (50-60)

    Very nice area, personal very kind and welcoming, very good overall for a good price

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2015

    10
    Absolute Perfect charming Hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Absolute Perfect charming Hotel! Lovely rooms!

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2015

    8.3
    Very nice hotel with many rooms facing Dieksee lake.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Very nice hotel with many rooms facing Dieksee lake. Great spa with pool, jacuzzi and saunas. Good service and excellent breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2015

    9.6
    the location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the location

There are also 13 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 53

Guests also reviewed these properties: