Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Wyndham Garden Gummersbach 4 stars

Hückeswagener Strasse 4, 51647 Gummersbach, Germany

#6 of 9 hotels in Gummersbach

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 802 hotel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    7.5

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 60

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Value for money is perfect. The room large, comfortable. Beds very good. Outstandinf swimming pool and saunas. The only problem - a long waiting on arrival for chek in ( room eas not ready). With small childrens, it was not very nice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Neither the carpet in my room nor the bathroom floor have been cleaned, so wasn´t the shower tray. Furnitures weren´t wiped. The hairdryer was defect. My bed was not really made (the sheet has never been touched) - When I booked the hotel, I informed you about my mobility impaired. - At the hotel I first was offered a room that was accessible only by stairs. When I resisted, I got another one, a bit noisy, just beside the stairs (where everybody stayed to have a little chat, even during the nights) It was placed in a corner of the hotel; so I got - among others - a straight view at the construction bars beneath the terrace. The room itself was , to use a modern term, shabby chic.

    Breakfast was very good, the service during breakfast was excellent. - My room was spacious (double room instead of single); the bed was of good quality

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom could be newer but it was ok

    The place is so beautiful, the staff very friendly, the bar not only is so unique decorated, but also is comfortable and nice to have a before-bed drink. The breakfast was included in the price and very satisfying

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lighting in room not sufficient for reading/writing. Slow internet. Coffee served separately at breakfast came 2x rather in the middle to at the end of breakfast. Better install a machine at that rate.

    Big comfortable rooms with full length bath and fast taps. Oldy worldy restaurant with good food at ok prices. Staff friendly with sense of humour (bonus in Germany) Good breakfast with bacon, eggs, sausages and baked beans!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Could have been more toiletries and free slippers - but minor points

    Absolutely loved our stay. Beautiful building, very atmospheric and loved all the antique furniture (can't understand how some called it 'dated'). Pool was fantastic, as was the breakfast (very extensive but could maybe add mushrooms and tomatoes?) Slippers were not provided free (cost €2)and the toiletries could have been more extensive (body lotion, conditioner etc) - but these are minor points. Staff were lovely and friendly, especially the young chap at Front Desk (sorry, didn't catch your name :)) We will definitely be back! My son (with whom I stayed) worked in the Hilton Hotel for years, and I can tell you that this place is infinitely better in every way.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely hotel. Some people complain that its not worth the 4****. For me it is! The people who think that, probably don't realize that the price they pay is also not a 4**** price. My husband and I had a wonderfull stay. The ambiance is perfect, the breakfast is very good, there is not much choice on the menu (but the diner we had was super!). We didn't spent time in/at the swimmingpool, but it looked very nice. We had a comfort room, it was very spacious and clean!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The photo's on their website are giving a false concept or image of the hotel. We asked a comfort room, but there must be some differences between Wyndham Garden hotel standards. The easiest way to describe our room is: the smoking room of an old office or factory without the smell. Yellowed paper on the wall, laminated wooden floor, bad light, stains on the walls. We asked for a double bed, we got 2 single ones. 2 different seat's in the corner. In the bath room a leaking shower, a non-working ventilation system and some mold on the sealing and in some corners of the bathtub. We could hear everything happening above and around us (the toilet flushing, the TV, the couple in the next room having ..., people in the hallway, ...) The wifi worked, just at the door, 3m into the room the signal broke down. We were at the back of the hotel, our view was a hill side at 2m from our balcony filled with bushes and trees without leafs (which is normal in winter time), very depressing view. At breakfast we noticed the staff had no clue of the basic table etiquette. You shouldn’t take guests plates and dishes away when the are still eating, knowing to look how their knife and fork are placed on their plate is basic knowledge of hotel staff. We complained because we stayed before in a Comfort room at the Wyndham in Koblenz so we should know what a comfort room with a double bed in a Wyndham looks like and we thought it would be in ancient style, like described on the website of the hotel. And yes we do speak German, fluently so language was not the issue, but we got some arrogant staff, who didn't even listen to us , just defended them-self with a standard phrase: "The comfort room is a bit bigger, with a balcony, so what is your problem?" and "A double bed is only available in the weekend". - A balcony at the backside of the hotel with a depressing view in winter is not a comfort room.

    The distance to other cities and places is OK if your traveling with a car. If you're like us, liking old and ancient hotels which kept their late 19th century and pre WW I look, the dining spaces still have theirs. Maybe some other rooms too. The hotel has a lot of rooms, so plenty space.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It is an old and average customer service Hotel. However we had an incident in the room with the beer found the minibar. Someone/previous guest replaced the beer with water and put back the cap. My husband didn't notice and opened the bottle and found the color weird. He tried it, and was all water. We went back to the reception to tell them of this issue. The receptionist just asked us if she can taste it. Then says yes it water & went to give us a new bottle without any embarrassment & apology. I really didn't appreciate that!!

    The hotel has a nice exterior, but still need a lot of renovation inside. The Breakfast and bedding are ok. The swimming pool is a plus!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The very bad internet connection, dated rooms and limited car parcs (at least when there is e.g. a small conference) made me think "next time I go to another hotel". Also telhe IT programmes and old computers the staff use need am urgent upgrade. As a business traveller I need a digital incoice to forward to our book keeping which the system they use cannot provide .... dinner was good, but nothing special, same counts for breakfast. to me this seems more like a big, romantic (the Schlager picture collection and some other deco can be seen as tacky) guest house, not a 4 star hotel of the 21st century. So, yes, go there if you want to switch off, but don't if you need to work or like to be online for other reasons.

    If you are visiting the pretty area privatly, maybe for a hiking weekend with the family or for a wedding, this seems a great place. Spacious rooms, a romantic and/or cozy baroque inspired design, a nice pool and sauna as well as the option to book a massage. So, yes, go there if you want to switch off, but don't if you need to work or like to be online for other reasons. Friendky staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The menu in the restaurant was a little limited and did not change from one evening to the next, no daily specials.

    Very comfortable large room and bathroom. The pool and sauna were well maintained and attractive. The staff were all friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Just a littlebit outdated room.

    Good Hotel, littlebit outdated room and wellnes facility but clean, never the less enjoyed staying there. Very nice theme through the hotel, good breakfast and good restaurant. Enjoyed the bar. Great team.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smelly bathroom. Dirty swimming pool. Forgot my make-up bag on the day of departure in the bathroom of the room we were staying. Called a few hours later to ask to put it away but staff said the housekeeping didn't find anything. Shameful.

    Tasty food in the restaurant and friendly staff.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bar music was too laud, directly beneath restaurant room, due to that no "romantic dinner" possible :-(

    staff service especially in the restaurant was good Dinner in restaurant was very good

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bar staff were not very friendly, played music more appropriate to a night club which was off putting and detracted from the atmosphere. Double bed requested, we got two singles pushed together, not linked or made up with a double sheet so not comfortable and did not make for a good night's sleep sadly.

    The breakfast was excellent, plenty of choice, beautiful location, very good value for money. Reception staff were friendly and helpful. Room and bathroom were very clean. Quiet location which suited us well.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Swimming pool was lovely but when in the pool it smelled a lot. The gardens are in desperate need of upgrading and some general cleaning.

    The views were lovely and breakfast was nice. Really unusual hotel with character and great value for money. We stayed in a suite which was lovely but the standard rooms are just as good.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing

    breakfast was outstanding nice and chilly sauna big pool great nature very competent personal unexpected big rooms cultural and hystorical background restaurant & bar tv channels bath

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    we liked it all and would definitely visit again

    we had such a lovely stay here, 5 nights in an amazing room with a double balcony large bathroom with separate shower and bath. we had our own lounge with comy sofa flat screen TV in both rooms, huge double bed that was very comfortable. multilingual reception staff who were always smiling and friendly not matter what we asked. The breakfast was so varied, something for everyone and great coffee,tea and different juices. very peaceful location surrounded by forests, the town was walking distance. oh and nice and clean

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very old and tired in the communal areas and somewhat dusty

    Really big room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is a little far from the center

    The garden is beautiful. It is a quiet place.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not stable wi-fi

    Everything was perfect.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no stoom cabine

    Swimmingpool

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little bit outdated

    Good breakfast Clean Rooms Quiet location Friendly staff

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast

    Cleanliness

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    not my first time .very nice and kind staff. very good breakfast. beautiful location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very friendly staff, especially in the bar

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    That we have to pay extra for the parking space.

    Nice hotel with lovely swimmingpool. Great breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The original room we were given was totally unacceptable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A historic style facility with modern features

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The view from room was bad. No WI-FI in room.

    Comfortable and clean room. Very good breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    View from room

    The bed was comfortable and the food was nice

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really. A bit dated, but that's a part of the charm.

    Cool Hotel with lots of old Artwork on the walls.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is located in the quiet area with beautiful sights,and I wish to come back here soon

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Free Wifi is Very very bad , There is not wifi just the name , all the time is not connect

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower.

    Fantastic staff.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi connection for room 417 is so bad

    Nice and big room.can occupied 2-3 person for standard room

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was not well organised, not enough staff

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast, wifi, big room.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice and clean all ok price ok

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms need to be renovated.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the swimming pool doesn't work but there was not any information at booking.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Group

    We booked the cheapest room, which is not nice at all. It is in the semi-basement, difficult with my heavy luggage, and the single room is sooooo small. Not really comfortable. From the website you cannot see the difference between different rooms, but it is definitely recommended to book better rooms, totally different.

    Nice hotel with history, beutiful breakfast restaurant, the public area is generally very nice, and typical German country hotel.

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Imposing steel dining terrace support structure overlooking the garden patio and grass sun area.

    Characterful, surprising, shabby chic, what you might imagine as refurbed 70s health spa getaway hotel with a german feel.

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We stayed in two different rooms, both had very bad sound proofing. The other one had a connecting door to the adjacent room and we could hear absolutely everything through the door. Great hotel, but take this into account.

    Lovely hotel that has character, helpful staff and a very good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Rooms need updating and the settee was impossible - had 2 drinks at the bar and charged differently for exactly the same drink.

    On way to hook of Holland to catch ferry. Convenient distance lovely hotel reasonably priced. Lovely swimming pool and grounds Breakfast was very good and best coffee had all trip. Restaurant for evening meal was very good

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    I thougt the room will look a little bit better. It was old style from the 1980's. The wifi wasnt simple to use. I think it cost more than it should be cost...

    WE loved the restaurant and the bar and the hotel's ball room looked like a castle. The forest behind the hotel was beatiful. 100% Birdsong

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    absolutely nothing to complain about

    free of charge parking, very very polite staff, the breakfast was fantastic, the room was huge, absolutely loved the swimming pool /free of charge for all guests to use & open till 22h/, there was also a spa at the hotel, beautiful garden, had a very enjoyable and relaxing stay. the location may be a bit of a challenge for people with hmuch luggage and without cars, is not that far away from the town's center though

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Amazing place, nice staff

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children

    Cold on the way to the swimming pool. A bit expensive.

    Great staff. Large triple room. Very good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    No extractor fan in en-suite.

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Nothing !! Celler room was super but no view! Value for our money wonderful .

    Perfect for a visit to Cologne

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Super friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing

    Great place to stay. Good wellness area incl pool and sauna. Great rooms. Great restaurant. Parking just outside.

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The room quite big, the food, the swimming pool and sauna.

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Big room Pool Sauna

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Needs some modernisation. A bit outdated.

    Swimming pool is good. unfortunately sauna does not have same opening hours as the pool. Breakfast is good.

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2015

    • Business trip
    • Group

    hotel without the gym studio

    really nice staff deliciuos breakfast

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I don 't like dogs in hotels because it isn 't hygienic in carpeted rooms

    The excellent food in the restaurant and the swimmingpool

There are also 31 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 60

Browse Wyndham Garden Gummersbach traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: