Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Zum Bär This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Markt 8/9, 06484 Quedlinburg, Germany

#2 of 16 hotels in Quedlinburg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1008 hotel reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    9.8

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    8.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 55

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    The location was perfect. The facilities were excellent in an historic building. The breakfasts were very good. The staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very difficult to find even with GPS. Only after the hotel staff agreed to met me and guide me to the hotel, did I finally find it. A lot of one way & dead end cobbled streets. The GPS had me going in circles for over 40 minutes. Very small bathroom

    nice breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at the hotel, but there's not enough English info at the various tourist sites/sights. Surprising for a UNESCO World Heritage site.

    Lovely quiet room in the annex, 20m across the Marktplatz from the hotel proper. Fruit bowl as well as the usual water in the room on arrival was a nice touch - and the water being replaced when we had drunk it. Excellent, varied, typical German breakfast but with egg, bacon, meatballs - and fizz too! Impressive for a hotel of its class.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nor applicable

    Everything. The hotel staff made my stay very memorable. The New Year's celebration ideas were amazing. I loved all the special touches.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent location right on the main square. Despite other reviews to the contrary, our room was very quiet even though we overlooked the square. The room had an tilted floor, quite in keeping with many other older buildings in town, which added to the ambience. The room was very clean and the bed comfortable. The staff was very helpful. Loved this place and the town.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    We only stayed one night. Be aware the hotel has two accommodation sections. The one we were in didn't have a lift and we were on the second floor and needed to walk up two flights of stairs to our accommodation. My husband and I are only in our sixties and so managed without trouble. Just be aware if you have mobility issues to make this known when booking.

    This was an absolutely luxurious comfortable accommodation. We booked two rooms and they were side by side via a common front door, which suited our family perfectly. Both rooms were very spacious and the suite also had a large lounge in which we relaxed and chatted at the end of the day. We ended up having dinner at the hotel's restaurant because it seemed to have the most enticing and good value menu and we were right. Breakfast was excellent with a good array of food including bircher muesli which I love and the waitresses were prompt to attend to our needs and bring us good hot coffee. Later in the day we gravitated back to the restaurant to have an iced coffee, choosing it for quality over other cafes, before realising it was the same restaurant. We were again attended to promptly and in a friendly manner by a waitress who had recognised us from breakfast. She also gave us directions to places around the town we were having trouble locating through our guide book. We felt very well catered to and the iced coffee was superb. Great place.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Spotlessly clean. Luxurious towels and great shower. Quiet. The restaurant meal I had was delicious and the waiter went many extra miles to assist with non-dairy requirements. Just loved this hotel and the great attitude from everyone who worked there. They could not have been more helpful. Very good breakfast. I even forgave the lack of a lift.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet was not working at all. Someone would expect more destinguished menu in the restaurant

    Gorgeous location in the middle of town. Nicely renovated building which gives a cozy feeling

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a problem for us, but there were many stairs to the room which would be an issue for those less mobile.

    A lovely location right on the market square. A beautiful room with comfortable 4 post bed. The atmosphere of the square was delightful during the evening and we had a lovely dinner right on dusk.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much we did not like but towels were not very soft

    Great location Friendly staff Nice clean rooms Great breakfast Great restaurant Great onsite parking

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent location on the Marktplatz of Quedlinburg, though as we had a room only one floor up, it was a bit noisy. The carpark directly behind the hotel was very convenient and easy to find. Staff were pleasant and the room was well-equipped. Nice variety of foods at breakfast too.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I really loved the hotel. It has amazing character, my room was huge and beautifully furnished in keeping with the feel of the hotel and town. It was one of the most special and comfortable rooms I have ever had. The breakfast was very good, with a wide range of fresh and tasty options to choose from. The hotel position is great, being right in the Markt place . The staff were friendly and helful. I highly recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't connect to the wifi.

    The location was amazing. Our third floor room overlooked the quiet market square. The parking behind the hotel was easy to find and use. The owner works the desk and is super friendly. Everything of note was within easy walking distance. The included breakfast was amazing and waitress very attentive.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The location was superb. Very quiet and at the historic centre of a very nice town. The room was clean and spacious, the beds excellent. Parking is at the back of the hotel. The signpost to the hotel were clear and easy.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom was not completely clean, found a couple of hairs in the basin and shower, but otherwise very clean.

    Top location in the middle of everything, very cute rooms with nice little touches, comfortable beds and nice linen. Fantastic dinner in the hotel restaurant.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Located totally central right on the old market square, a bit tricky to find on GPS/Navi, as ours showed 2 differrent zip codes for Quedlinburg and the correct one is required (06484), also the front entrance address is on the market place, but the garage behind the hotel should be entered as Pölle 4, the way will lead through the cobble stone streets including a tiny back alley right to the hotels own parking lot. This is an old hotel with character, no elevator but assistance to carry bags upstairs is available. Ours was a good sized bed room with separate sofa that could double up as a third bed. Old charming decor, well maintained, quite bright when all lights are on. Bath well appointed, small shower stall but good shower. Bed comfortable. Good free wifi, good free parking, reasonable rates Free breakfast with good variety of continental breakfast with ample meats, cheeses etc but no eggs. Overall very good.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite - Annex
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Just a tiny disappointment that there's no magnifying mirror in the bathroom.

    Fabulous hotel; one of my favourites ever! Lovely building and such friendly, helpful staff. Couldn't have been better.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bedrooms are superbly finished. Fantastic view of market square from window. Very helpful staff. Excellent dinner and breakfast. Tremendous value and strongly recommended.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No wifi in the Annex

    A beautiful hotel in the center of the altstadt. Excellent location to explore the town and restaurants. We thoroughly enjoyed our evening meal sat outside in the market square. Fantastic value. Enjoy, before the town is swamped with tourists.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location, amazing nice and helpful staff, the breakfast was outstanding in terms of choices and quality. Very nice parking place, good Wi-Fi, very clean and cozy rooms, very good dinner experience in the restaurant of the hotel.Everything was just perfect

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing we can think of

    Perfect location with a good restaurant and good parking

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is awesome. Prime location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Alles was in orde.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Quaint, Cozy hotel in the dead centre of Quedlinburg. Staff is courteous and friendly and breakfast was really good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Really, one of the best hotels I have ever experienced.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Perfect location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good hotel in a great location with a great breakfast. Make sure you read the clear instructions if driving!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Car park right behind hotel. Nice place. Very helpful staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator. We were on the 3rd floor making it difficult to bring in luggage.

    Great location.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location, nice room, good breakfast, and inexpensive

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Location super right on Markt square, staff very friendly, good breakfast, nice room, parking on hotel's own two parking areas

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location cannot be beaten. Staff are friendly, breakfast is very good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing we can think of

    Great location on market square. Lovely terrace. Good food and good beer. Large room. Lovely new bathroom

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Best place in town, right on the main square. Comfortable. Good parking. Extraordinary breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    -

    - very nice room in beautiful building - very welcoming staff - superb location - could park the motorbike in the yard

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was big and beautiful. The staff was extremely helpful!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Excellent value for money and location excellent breakfast included

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    location on main square; relaxed ambiance; attractiveness of room

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely breakfast in a lovely hotel.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    Great location in a lovely old German town, located on old city town square with comfortable rooms and good breakfast

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi in the room didn't work for me.

    Comfort and cleanliness of the rooms were excellent. Location extremely central.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing..

    Great hotel,large room.The location is perfect in the main square.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a thing

    Wow!! Great location with all that you need. Great restaurant and breakfast! Friendly staff. And again , what a location!!

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had trouble finding the car park but should have believed the road signs not the satnav.

    Everyone was so friendly and ready to help, whatever the request.

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Loved everything!

    Loved the location! My room looked out on the main square. Easy walk from the train station. Central to all sights. Quiet, clean, comfortable room.

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No a/c if you visit in the summer.

    Great location. Hotel room was clean. Breakfast was good. Just a few steps away from hotel, at the tourist information center, you can get an English audio tour of the historic area.

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had to wait a long time to be served a drink and dinner. The staff were very busy. Parking was difficult.

    Location. Room in old building. Good breakfast. Pleasant staff.

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Thin yellow curtains - light woke us by 5.00 a.m. Room made up for 1 person not 2. Apology given with a nice basket of fruit but only pillow and duvet bedding sorted - not given more towels or glass etc though all reported missing from room. Found hair clip in the bed. Surly bar waitress when we sat out for a drink.

    Great breakfast and location

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Helpful and friendly staff, amazing location.

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Restaurant & Parking & Location

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nice building. Very central

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi did not work properly.

    Everything else was just FANTASTIC.

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Extremly unstable free WiFi

    Good location, nice friendly staff, good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything was lovely

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent location with room overlooking the market square. Beautifully presented rooms, friendly staff in a wonderful town.

There are also 21 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 55

Browse Hotel Zum Bär traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: