Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel zum Brunnen

Bauernbräustraße 4, 86316 Friedberg, Germany

#1 of 5 hotels in Friedberg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 380 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    9.7

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    9.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 47

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    10
    After feeling very uncertain on first impressions, our concerns were quickly erased, perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is where it is, and ok the view is not great, but when you have the most magical town just outside of your door, it really doesn't matter.

    Chris was so friendly and helpful, we really felt like we mattered. There are currently problems regarding the underground parking, but Chris made sure our car was parked in a secure area, but as he said, this is not The Bronx, and this is so true.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    10
    Amazingly quietly elegant!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Chris greeted us with a very warm welcome. The hotel is immaculately clean, loved the beds and comforters and sleeping with the windows open! The breakfast was delicious and healthy and plenty of choices. Everything about this hotel is clean and friendly! Wonderful stay. Would definitely return! Thank you for the wonderful hospitality

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    8.3
    the manager was very friendly - spoke excellent English and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    finding the entrance is a little tricky as it is well set back inside a shopping mall

    the manager was very friendly - spoke excellent English and offered good advice on bars and restaurants

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    9.2
    We stayed in a suit room and it was enough for a family.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed in a suit room and it was enough for a family. Nice host! Thank you for so much care to our stay. Italian restaurant was good near by hotel!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    7.5
    It is OK place to stay in suburbs of Munich
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is not suitable for disabled. The bed linen and pillows are of a low quality.

    This hotel is in the center of the town. It was excellent location for visiting Christmas market. The railway station is in walking distance. It is vary convenient for visiting Augsburg and Munich.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    9.6
    Good central location near an excellent Italian restaurant,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is tucked away behind and above a small internal shopping mall and an underground car park, with access from both via a small lift or stairs.

    Good central location near an excellent Italian restaurant, the Town Hall and local shops. A modest walk to the Volksfest site.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    10
    Perfect stay at a lovely hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No negatives.

    On arrival we were met by a very nice member of staff (sorry don't know his name) who was very informative about the local area and provided us with a street map and recommended places to eat etc. The room was on the first floor and overlooked a courtyard at the back. The rooms were freshly decorated and modern. Bed were comfortable. Breakfast was continental and had plenty of selection. Also provided us with a couple of beers in our fridge on arrival, which I thought was a nice touch. Would definitely recommend and would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    10
    An excellent hotel with a friendly, helpful proprietor located in the heart of Friedburg
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    All was good so no complaints at all.

    We had the suite which was very spacious. The owner was extremely helpful and friendly. Arguably the best hotel we stayed in on our 3 week trip. Good location in the heart of Friedburg and within walking distance of the railway station. We had trips to Augsburg and Munich by train.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    9.6
    Hotel and place will stay in our hearts and nice memories
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    We loved everything about this hotel and if we ever go in this direction again we would like to stay in the same hotel. Before we arrived we had good communication via email and they didn't disappoint us with anything during our visit. Friedbrig is a little but very nice place and at the Hotel Zum Brunnen we felt like we stayed at friend's place. Greetings to our wonderful host Chris and others who work there.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    10
    I ♡ everything about this small family owned hotel!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wish the supermarket was open later but that has nothing to do with the hotell.

    I ♡ everything about this small family owned hotel! The bathtub was great and soda and beer was included in the room. The view was fantastic and the owner was super friendly. It felt like I was couchsurfing more than staying at a hotell.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    9.2
    Perfect stopover in lovely bavarian town
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is set back in a small shopping complex so not immediately obvious to find but not a huge negative. The on site parking was under construction but the hotel kindly arranged free parking within walking distance. We were able to drop our bags off at the hotel first so it wasn't a major inconvenience and would't stop us from booking again.

    We stayed in this charming town for one night on our way from Calais down to Austria. The hotel was clean and comfortable. Our room was spacious, very clean and quiet and we slept well. On arriving we had late lunch in a great little cafe recommended by the hotel manager, who was the perfect host. Breakfast was continental and enough to set us on our way. Very happy with our little stopover.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2016

    10
    Staff was excellent, truly attentive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was excellent, truly attentive. Rooms were comfortable and clean, and breakfast was great. Wonderful neighborhood in general and would love to come back!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2016

    8.8
    Cute village near Augsburg and nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It is a bit tricky to find because the entrance is inside a mini mall, but when you get used to it is OK.

    Christopher, the owner, nice fellow, very helpful and speaks English. He indicated a very good restaurant : Gasthof Zur Linde, very close and with good food and price. Good breakfast, good room.There are a lot of shops, super market , Saturn, near by. The hotel has CNN that was a plus because most of the hotels do not have. Petra, was very nice and helpful, helping us with a problem that we had with our rented car. Thank you again. We stayed there to visit Augsburg, Ulm and other towns nearby. It is a very good choise if you are with a car. It is easy to reach Augsburg and the other towns and the most important is that you will stay in the nice historic little town of Friedberg. I fully recommend it.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    10
    Above and beyond
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Chris is a fine manager. He helped my husband and me manage during a very difficult time, as did Petra and even the housekeeper. Thank you, Chris and family, for your support and kindness.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    10
    Delight of small village
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    lack of info about major motorway delays to the Munich Airport

    Location, small town, restaurant, tv, wifi, good for visit to Augsburg and overnight prior to flight from Munich airport. I would definitely return here if possible. Chris, the owner, was most helpful.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    9.2
    Excellent location & service
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The matraz in the bed is too soft, not comfortable.

    Nice breakfast, helpful and smiley staff, great recommendation for restaurants and bars. Free parking in the garage.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    10
    Very friiendly owners, great breakfast, super clean room, excellent internet, free parking in garage
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything thumbs up

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    10
    Nice place to visit the castles and the surrounding area
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Location (nice and quiet small town) "Automatic" beverage vending machine Warm welcome

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    10
    I would stay here again in a heartbeat. The hotel is in a great spot with underground parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The girl who met us was an absolute treasure and extremely helpful during our stay. Room was comfortable and shops were close.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    8.3
    Staff and location were great. Hotel was clean and functional 3 star boutique hotel whereas
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms was we ok but rather move basic then I am used to but were clean and functional.

    Breakfast was rather boring and uninspiring

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    10
    Very comfortable beds, good breakfast, very clean, free...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very comfortable beds, good breakfast, very clean, free underground parking, very friendly host, very nice and quiet small city.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    10
    This is an oasis of calm i
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Once the parking arrangements are explained, it all worked fine

    Everything

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    9.6
    i love this town!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Main entrance was kind of hided

    Nice quiet place near the city center, very friendly staff and good parking

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    10
    Recommended!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location and staff very pleasant and helpful. Breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2015

    10
    The location was charming and the room was very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast was a little light but sufficient because, considering that parking and breakfast was included in the price, you really can't beat it.

    The location was charming and the room was very clean. Chris gave us LOTS of great tips and recommendations. He thinks one step ahead of your needs and considers your comfort before his own. He has lots of experience about not only Friedberg/Augsburg but also Munich and around Germany. He even gave us two German-brewed beers on the house for "being from America"! How nice!

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2015

    8.8
    Very nice staff, helpful, polite and jolly,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    First floor reception could be a problem for some clients, although it worked fine for us and is more than compensated for by the friendly staff and good value for money.

    Very nice staff, helpful, polite and jolly, Nice breakfast, Garage parking with lift to reception floor area Good recommendation for dinner Nice town with pleasant walks

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2015

    10
    Friendly, well run establishment with very helpful,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing.

    Friendly, well run establishment with very helpful, excellent staff. Ideally placed for touring the area with good facilities and comfortable rooms.

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2015

    9.6
    Very friendly/helpful staff, central location, secure...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very friendly/helpful staff, central location, secure parking, large clean room with a bath, internet access. Excellent restaurant just 100m away. Only stayed one night on our journey to Austria but well worth the 5km detour off of the motorway.

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2015

    8.3
    The sympathetic host, wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The weather was very hot (hotter than usual), without airconditioning the room got a bit too warm and the rolldown shutters were really noisy so we left them as they were.

    The sympathetic host, wonderful. Nicely decorated rooms. Useful minibar. Quiet town. Lake nearby.

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    9.6
    Very friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The breakfast choice was a bit limited

    Very friendly staff. We were upgraded to a larger room which was lovely! There is secure (and free) parking in the garage. The town is rather pretty - an ideal stop-over if you're travelling across Southern Germany.

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2015

    10
    Brilliant place to stay, owner really helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Brilliant place to stay, owner really helpful. This is a hidden gem in a quiet location, beautifully furnished rooms, delightful. Lake near by was wonderful for swimming and the town had several choices of excellent restaurants.

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2016

    9.6
    Very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very friendly. Very good location near the motorway and yet in a nice village and very quiet. Very good private parking.

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2016

    9.2
    Extremely helpful manager.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast coffee a bit week!

    Extremely helpful manager. Very clean.

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2016

    10
    Chris on the desk is born to hospitality.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Chris on the desk is born to hospitality. He helped us with parking, luggage, tourist advice and more. Thankyou Chris.

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2016

    9.2
    Very friendly staff and nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything was perfect

    Very friendly staff and nice hotel

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2016

    9.6
    large rooms and great location in a lovely village
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    large rooms and great location in a lovely village

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2015

    8.8
    Great location centrally located in Friedberg.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A little hard to get to - in the middle of a shopping mall.

    Great location centrally located in Friedberg. Easy parking; nice breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2015

    8.8
    The view of the lake, excellent breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The Internet WiFi wasn't working at the room, only at reception.

    The view of the lake, excellent breakfast. The apartment was all new.

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2015

    7.5
    Room is clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi very so so so low speed Bleak fast

    Room is clean

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    7.5
    Nice room, very friendly and helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Lots of stairs and doors. Not so easy when you have lots of bags

    Nice room, very friendly and helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2015

    8.8
    Helpfull staff and free parking for Romantic Strasse...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Helpfull staff and free parking for Romantic Strasse travelers.

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    7.1
    Very nice and helpful owner
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    bad smell in the room even if the window was open when I came in

    Very nice and helpful owner

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2015

    9.6
    The staff is especially kind and courteous.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff is especially kind and courteous.

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2015

    6.7
    Nice owners, friendly and personal welcome, good breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Open windows at night meant you hear every detail of your neighbour.

    Nice owners, friendly and personal welcome, good breakfast!

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2015

    7.9
    Very helpful hotel owner.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A bit tricky to find. It is above a row of shops.

    Very helpful hotel owner. Nice clean room. Garage parking.

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2015

    10
    Location and the very helpful and friendly proprietor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location and the very helpful and friendly proprietor.

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    7.5
    Very friendly staff and a relaxed quiet hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Very friendly staff and a relaxed quiet hotel.

There are also 11 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 47

Guests also reviewed these properties: