Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel zum Goldenen Löwen

Heerstraße 82, 56329 Sankt Goar, Germany

#13 of 19 hotels in Sankt Goar

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 67 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    7.1

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    6.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 13

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We loved our second stay at the Hotel zum Goldenen Löwen. The views and location can't be matched, the staff offered a warm welcome and helpful advice, and the rooms were up to date and comfortable. We're looking forward to staying at the hotel again in future years.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thought 10euro a dog a little steep. However, I know some people dont take care with dogs in hotels, and owners can be stung. Cash only.... however, bank right opposite. Now I know, I wont get caught out again.

    Traditional German property. Lovely staff. Great food...dinner and breakfast...the fluffiest scrambled eggs ever! Great value for money

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was nothing to complain about.

    very friendly service minded business. Arrived late and although the kitchen had already closed they still organized something tasty to eat for me.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    If you wish to pay by credit card, there is a surcharge of 4%. The parking meters must be fed by 9am.

    Pleasant, friendly, old-fashioned family-run hotel near the pedestrianised centre of Sankt Goar. Our room was spacious and overlooked the Rhine (as do most of the rooms) with views of castles on the opposite side of the river and I enjoyed watching the river traffic. Although the Rhine valley can be noisy with railways and roads on both sides of the river, the left bank seems to be the quieter side and we slept well as the main road was quiet at night. There were plenty of metered parking spaces near the hotel and parking was less expensive than in many towns.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We were on the second floor and a lift would have been a welcome addition, but our luggage was willingly taken up by members of the staff (all family, I think)

    This is a friendly quiet place in a beautiful position on the Rhine. The bonus is that the kitchen provides some really excellent freshly prepared food.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We enjoyed everything.

    Warm welcome, safe place for bikes - important for cyclists, the room was lovely with views of the Rhine and the opposite bank. The house is very old and has lots of atmosphere. Good value for the price we payed.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    The location with views of all the comings and goings of the Rhine right in front of us could not have been better nor the welcoming of the owners and staff of the Hotel

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't have a hair dryer in my room

    Home cooked food

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No wifi.

    Excellent location. Very friendly, hospitable and helpful staff.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff was very friendly and welcoming. The building seems to be historic / old, but the room was rather comfortable with view to the Rhine river, the mountains and the castle, and the bathroom is excellent (seems to have been recently renewed). Their restaurant is also worth mentioning. The breakfast and their regular menu are pretty good. St. Goar is a very small city, but the location of the hotel is central and right next to the train station entrance.

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There is no lift, but the stairways are wide and easy to use. Don't let that keep you from booking this hotel.

    The location of this hotel is so easy to reach from the train. Having the restaurant was a great plus. The breakfast is basic but all very tasty. The bath was modern and the room large with great view of the river and palace. Shopping and hiking and sightseeing all in one place. St Goar is a beautiful town

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Gorgeous views, spacious room, the owners were fantastic, and the main level restaurant was great. I'd recommend this hotel in a heartbeat

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No internet access during our stay so if you need it check before booking.

    Location, location, location.

There are also 4 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 13

Guests also reviewed these properties: